Showing 38 reviews of 27

Sematext Cloud

Cloud-based application and infrastructure monitoring tool

4,8 /5 (27 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 38 reviews of 27
Chao Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Worth switching from other logging aggregation

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Satisfied but need more time to evaluate

Pros

I just switch from ELK. Sematext is a surprise to me. It is so easy to integrate and so easy to use. The web UI is so intuitive and the query syntax is so easy to use even if you are not a technical guy. Compared to ELK, it is a real cloud service, you never need to worry about you lose the logs .

Cons

I haven’t found so far. Only thing is the price is a little bit high for a standup.

Response from Sematext Group

Hey Chao! Thanks a lot for your feedback. If you ever have any questions regarding how to manage your pricing and keep costs optimized, feel free to reach out to our team in the Sematext live chat.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Much More Than Log Aggregation

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Sematext is a proven and reliable offering, without a single outage I can recall in the past 2.5 years. The customer support is amazing and queries are answered without fail within a couple of hours. They are constantly working on the product and increasing their offerings. They offer customers the chance to trial new products and give feedback, which is fantastic.

We use Sematext for:
* Log Aggregation
* Monitoring and Alerting
* Incident Investigation
* Log Retention
* Debugging

I love how we can easily set up alerts on logs and receive Slack or OpsGenie notifications when events occur. I would highly recommend Sematext as a vendor.

Pros

* Super Reliable
* Excellent Customer Support
* Constantly Adding Features
* Constantly Improving

Cons

There are very few things not to like about this software and company.

The way accounts are set up, where you have to log in then "become" the account owner to see your logs is strange, and needs to be explained to each new user.

Response from Sematext Group

Hey! Thanks a lot for your feedback regarding the RBAC. We've worked on several improvements in the way you can configure account permissions for every member of a team. Feedback like this help us a lot to understand what should be improved. Thanks again!

Clayton S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Wonderful product

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

Very easy to use
Good support staff
Efficient and easy billing

Cons

User interface took me a second to get used to

Response from Sematext Group

Hi Clayton! I'm thrilled you like the product. If you have any more feedback regarding the user interface and how to make it simpler, I'd love to hear you out!

Ben R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Sematext shows one unified view for all of our Docker log, events, and metrics!

Reviewed on 2017/11/08

Pros

Docker Metrics and Docker Logs all in one place! Correlating between logs, metrics, and events is awesome! Hosted Kibana without the hassle of setting it up ourselves.

Cons

Sometimes the UI can be a bit cramped, and slow. Features of the UI, like getting a list of events when correlating is not as intuitive as it could be (little spreadsheet icon). Logsene searching has a learning curve. Having logs, events, and metrics on one page can be cramped, and sometimes results in the page becoming unresponsive.

Response from Sematext Group

Hi Ben! We really appreciate your review. We've put in major effort in fixing the correlations. We now have a Split Screen feature that will improve the UX significantly. Read more here: https://sematext.com/product-updates/#/2020/new-split-screen-to-correlate-and-pivot-between-metrics-logs-and-much-more

Claire R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great monitoring

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Very positive, love the UI and ease of use.

Pros

I really enjoy the flexibility Sematext allows

Cons

Integration was less straightforward than anticipated

Arpit K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SOLR-Cloud monitoring using Sematext

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

Pros

The ease of setting up the monitoring for a giant Solr Cloud setup.

Cons

At times the data showed up slightly delayed than our expectations, however it is not something that happened frequently enough to escalate the concern.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good monitoring product

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

I have moved the company into docker containers. Semester has been very helpful to show what is happening with our container infrastructure.

Pros

Ability to drill down to see exact metrics. Ease of use.

Cons

None. I like it. Trying to get company to commit to larger engagement of SEMA text.

Roy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice and easy

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

Lightweight
Easy to install
Easy to use

Cons

I didn't have any issues with the product

Debodirno C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One stop solution for infrastructure insights!

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

I used this to manage my infra and this has really helped me a lot to understand the usage pattern of the app and also helps in safely predicting when the load will be high and when it will be low. Finding out memory leaks for JVM has also been very easy when I was trying to get insights about GC and JVM pool.

Pros

- Very detailed reports
- Installing an agent happens in a jiffy
- Very intuitive UI
- Good support from the Sematext team

Cons

- Documentation missing for old agents - Ubuntu < 16
- Agent once crashed - cause is still unknown!

Response from Sematext Group

Hey Debodirno! Thanks a lot for your detailed feedback. If there's anything else we can help you with, feel free to reach out!

Lucas P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IoT log monitoring made easy

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

We have been monitoring a fleet of IoT devices with Sematext.
Using it we can quickly send data from the devices and analyze it later, making feature development faster and debugging way easier.

Pros

Easy to use and extremely fast to filter log data.
Ready-to-use Java and Android libraries made integration a very fast process.
Main UI is very similar to Kibana, and it also provides the full experience if you need it.
Fast and knowledgeable tech support.

Cons

There are rare instances where the UI becomes unresponsive or slow.

Justin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Logging at its finest

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Overall great experience and we use it daily. Have had no real issues

Pros

Logs are sent quickly and the search features work great.

Cons

Have ran into issues running out of log storage for the day which can impact production logging

Response from Sematext Group

Hey Justin! Thanks for your feedback. I'm thrilled you like the product. Regarding log storage, we have a feature called Daily Volume Limit. This is a limit you can configure at which Sematext will start rejecting logs to prevent overly high costs. You can also set this limit to a higher value at which you will not lose production logs, but risk paying a bit more.

Steven I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our experience with Sematext

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

We are using Sematext as a logging solution for early detection of unanticipated error conditions, both server-side and in our front-end JavaScript. We needed a system that would provide enough context so we could debug any issues detected. Overall, Sematext does the job. By logging what's going right as well as what's going wrong, It's pretty easy to understand the broader context.

Cons

It is a bit pricey, but not out of line with other products in this space.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best monitoring tool under the budget

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Pros

Easy to setup and configure addons.
Log Monitoring & Infra monitoring is good.

Cons

None, it suited within our budget.
You can add option for real time monitoring. The current poll interval is 1 min I guess.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very easy to work with

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

Sematext is very easy to navigate by providing a nice interface environment without complicated clutter. The documentation is also amazing.

Cons

It needs more integrations with security tools.

Response from Sematext Group

Hi! Thanks for your feedback. We've added security tools to our roadmap. Stay tuned for updates!

David C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good For Monitoring

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

Great for monitoring Solr, with great memory use graphs.

Cons

We wished the retention period was a bit larger for the free tier.

Response from Sematext Group

Hey David! Thanks for your feedback! We recently released a Logs Integration for Solr as well! You can now drill down to Solr-specific logs and debug issues even faster.

Szabolcs S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A cool managed service coming from seemingly technically versed people

Reviewed on 2017/10/31

Easy setup, no-headache operations, flexible and instant sizing and fantastic technical support

Pros

Fantastic technical support, even feature requests (for sematext-agent) were sometimes implemented within hours. Sematext even setup its EU data center (partly) on our request. Thank you very much!

Cons

Business arrangements like a custom contract or plan sizes are not so easy and speedy to "implement" - but that's only a non-technical issue in the case of bigger probably public corporations.

Joseph H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Straitforward and easy setup.

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

Pros

The software was quick and easy to get up and running in our test environment.

Cons

There were some glitches with their management console, a little to much email notifications.

Response from Sematext Group

Hi Joseph! Thanks a lot for your review. We've taken the time to implement a new flow for email notifications. Your feedback was very useful. :)

Akos K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use log management solution

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Great tool to monitor infrastructure and your users. Online resources and trainings are useful.

Pros

Fast and easy setup, no additional network configuration is needed. Docker container monitoring is easy with this tool. You can set alert rules. It has a nice UI with a lot of charts.

Cons

More information about data protection policy is needed to use it in production.

Response from Sematext Group

Hi Akos! Thanks for your review. It means a lot! I hope our Privacy Policy - https://sematext.com/legal/privacy/ can give you some of the answers you are looking for to use Sematext in production.

Clinton B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Quality is outstanding in this service

Reviewed on 2018/03/15

Pros

i like how they come out with new features over short periods of time. This service is getting better all the time!

Cons

I do wish I could get a hold of support more but they always get back to me in a timely matter. no complaints

Guilherme G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Way more than a log tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

Sematex has become increasingly essential in our tool set. It goes far beyond a simple log manager, delivering valuable information from this huge amount of data.

Pros

Sematex has impressed us in recent months for its ability to deliver robust tools for analyzing and mining the information present in our logs. Through its customizable Dashboards, we can analyze very important statistics both to characterize the behavior of our users and to help us identify problems in our code.

Cons

The experience of using the Sematex interface has improved a lot, but it is not always so intuitive to find the resources we want. Reading the logs is also not as clean as I would like to see.

Response from Sematext Group

Thanks for your feedback Guilherme! I'm really happy you like the product. If there is any more feedback you'd like to share regarding the Sematext user interface and experience, I'm happy to listen. Thanks again for your time.