17 reviews

ShopController

Automotive repair & fleet management software

4,6 /5 (17 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,7
88% recommended this app
17 reviews
Rodney B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A Really Good Program - Everything Flows!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

I'm glad I went with ShopController. It gives me everything I need to manage my busy shop. It works nicely with Worldpac and my other vendors, so putting together estimates is easy. Moving a work order along through the stages from appointment to invoice is a simple process, and it's easy to tell what's going on in the shop at any time. I was nervous about switching from my old, really basic program, but they assigned me a trainer who made it easy and worked with my schedule. ShopController support customized my screens so everything is laid out perfectly for the way I like to work. When I have a question, I know whoever picks up the phone will always be friendly and professional.

Overall
A really good program that will grow with my business.

Pros
No contract
Great support
Flexible - set it up to work your way
Access it from anywhere

Cons
None that I can think of.

Pros

No contract
Great support
Flexible - set it up to work your way
Access it from anywhere

Cons

None that I can think of

Response from ShopController

Thank you Rodney, we enjoy having you as one of our most valued customers. .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Don R.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I have the 8.3 version and I like it, I had tried out the 10.0, but it wasn't user friendly

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

it was easy to use, helped many times when we put in the wrong vehicle serial #, it would not accept it and we would have to go over our tracks and find Our mistake, especially with gov't inspections, saving us embarrassment with wrong vin #'s for vehicle insurances etc

Pros

the 8.3 is easy to use for people like myself who aren't computer savvy, It stays up to date with new vehicles,

Cons

it doesn't update part costs while in the process of an invoice , we have to go back into inventory to correct and update values each time (if you change the price on an invoice, and close the invoice it defaults to the original price, for the next job)

Response from ShopController

Don,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Shop Controller. We understand that you feel more comfortable with the previous version of our software. In the updated version, we have recently added integration with Worldpac Speed dial, Epicor, as well as Nexpart to assist in parts ordering. When you use the new software you will have the ability to have the parts imported from the parts catalogs right into the work orders. With the price matrix, increasing your margin has never been easier, as the markup is done automatically. We are glad to hear that our Carfax integration has assisted you in preventing data entry issues. We also agree that Carfax is a great way to save time in the data entry process when entering vehicle information. Finally, we value your business and look forward assisting you in the future.
Respectfully,
Shop Controller

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brian B.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

We have mixed feelings with this software. You have to remember we are not computer technicians

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/23
Review Source: Capterra

It allows me to run my business

Pros

The program is fairly easy to learn and use for basic stuff. It is easy to create Work orders and build new customer files. The search program works really well when looking up old work orders. Shop Controller was very good to work with to customize our profile

Cons

There are several glitches that still plague us after several years. The constant Save and Close procedure is a pain and when you are busy and miss a step it creates a back log. Once you learn the work arounds it is OK. The reports that you can generate are basically useless for any thing that I want. We also seem to loose contact with the main servers on a regular basis. Means a reboot of your computer to get back on line. Maybe our internet server but it is a major issue when the customer is standing in front of you ready to pay his bill. The transfer of our data from the old Shop controller program we were using was not perfect. Meaning we have to keep the old program going in the back ground to look things up. This is less of an issue as time goes on and as we build a new data base.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Steven Y.

Extremely satisfied customer since the start of our business in 2014

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is very easy to use by most anyone. Customization is achievable for your specific needs and the support staff is responsive, and will go the extra mile to assist you when you have a problem.

Cons

I don't see a tutorial we can print so that we can utilize the program to the fullest. There are some modules that we could use to help us analyze our business, but we are not familiar with how to go about doing so.

Response from ShopController

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your patronage, and we are glad that you find ShopController easy to use and customizable to your needs.

We are currently adding our Tutorial and User Guide as a link within ShopController, so it is easier to find and more readily accessible.

We are also adding Feature pages to our website, and we will be sending updates to our clients describing available features as well.

All of us here at ShopController are excited to assist you with all of your Shop Management needs and will schedule any additional training required.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jennifer K.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Love the program.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use. Keeps vehicle history information, customer information

Pros

User friendly. Customer support representative
has always been there for tech support wherever i have had any questions. I think we first started using the program when he first started in 2000, And went back to his program after a short lapse.

Cons

The newest program is wonderful, however we have stuck with the older version because it is more simplified version, not as many options we don't want or need.

Response from ShopController

Jennifer,
Thank you for the review and continued business. Please let us know if you would like a demo of the new features that were recently added to the software.
We look forward to many more years of assisting you with your software needs.
Respectfully,
ShopController

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tara T.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 11-50 Employees

We build custom vehicles and ShopController is the software that customizes along with us.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to customize reports in the Analysis section has helped me get a better look inside my data to help me manage my company better.

Pros

I love the ability to set our program the way we want to use it. Reports and screen views are easy to adjust to fit our needs as a shop.

Cons

My biggest issue has been training my people that have weak computer skills on how to use this system. It has so many options that it frustrates the 1,2,3 people.

Response from ShopController

Tara,
Thank you for the opportunity to assist you in your Shop Management Software needs. We understand that you may have some challenges training your employees, and we will be more than willing to assist you with the software implementation and training of Shop Controller. Please give us a call, and we will ready to help you in any way we can.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brad W.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

As a customer for well over 15 years, in my opinion they are the best on the market!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

It makes running the shop efficient and quick

Pros

For what we use of Shop Controller it is very easy to navigate. The way it is laid out is very easy to see what you are doing. The software's best feature is probable with the support. AnY time we have an issue they are quick to resolve.

Cons

My only issue is with exporting some file, but we are running original shop controller and Windows XP, so it's not really Shop Controller s fault.

Response from ShopController

Brad, Thank you for the review and we have enjoyed having you as one of our most loyal customers. Please let us know if we can assist you in any way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark V.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

This may sound odd. But dealing with Tech Support, I enjoy Their Love For What They Do!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/28
Review Source: Capterra

It Work

Pros

The software work! They Will Help Customize ( the program ) Your Shop Controller to Fit Your Needs!! The Software is always being tweaked for the good. When I have a concern/problem tech support is very happy to help.
The customer support team will bend over backward to fix the problem/concern.
I can't speak for all software services. But this one is Worth Checking Out.

Response from ShopController

Thank you Mark, we are grateful to have you as one of our most valued customers and look forward to assisting you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stephen G.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

we have used Shop Controller since 2005 and have been very happy with the older version, still have

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

simplified our workshop, saved a lot of paper filing and with easily access to repair history it saves a lot of time, it is also very affordable and support is always available.

Pros

simple easy to use keeping accurate customer files and history , does everything a small shop needs. features are very clear and easily accessible

Cons

lack of reports , we run a dealership and the reports of efficiency and productivity that are required are not in detail in Shopcontroller

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lisa M.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: Self Employed

love the product, the tech team is awesome !!!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

very user friendly I recommend this product to all my friends who are setting up new businesses to see if they can use this as well.

Cons

that you have to go through so many steps to download into quick books. and payments do not show up in the link when downloading

Response from ShopController

Thank you Lisa,

We always enjoy working with you and appreciate the business you send our way. Thank you for being one of our most valued customers.

Respectfully,
ShopController

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark L.

Alliance is a great company to work with. Very customer focused.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The simplicity and user definability are great for making it work for your business. This software can be easily modified to work well with virtually any company or business.

Cons

Like any software, getting your people to embrace change is hard. It would be great if we could buy implementation services for the software.

Response from ShopController

Thank you for your review and feedback, we are looking into ways to add implementation into our support services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Rainer G.

Really Customizable and tailored to your needs.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I was hesitant to go with Shop Controller because I am not their average client and I really felt my needs were too unique. I could not find any service software that met all of my needs. After a few months using the system I have to admit I could not have done better. They really customized the software to my business. They helped me hide everything I did not need and even added a few custom features. I want to thank Steve, my account manager, for all his effort to make sure everything was up to my standards/requirements. It integrates perfectly with QuickBooks avoiding me a lot of double typing and saving me a ton of time. Their support is fast and they are always eager to help you. I would recommend Shop Controller to anyone who appreciates good customer service and need a solution that truly fits their business.

Cons

It does not work with Mac OS X. Although they set me up with Parallels Desktop and it runs great.

Response from ShopController

We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jeff G.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

It is nice that I can access Shop Controller from anywhere

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I can access records and monitor the shop even when I am away. This is a professional management system that I would recommend to others! Plus the cost of it is very affordable since we have a small shop.

Cons

With a small shop, this management system does just fine for us. Some of the reporting is basic but it shows us the details of what matters to me and my techs.

Response from ShopController

Thank you for taking the time to review ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jake A.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Customer Service right when you need it

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great experience with ShopController. Customer Service right when you need it, you talk to a real person and they really make the software tailored to your needs. Tons of Features, I don't even use it to its full potential. 5 stars and I will recommend it to anybody who owns a shop.

Cons

TheY have a great training and support group, but I would like to also have access to more documentation besides the user guide, so many features I feel I could take more advantage of the software

Response from ShopController

Thank you for reviewing Shop Controller. We appreciate having you as a customer and look forward to assisting you..

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Conrad K.

Shopcontroller is an excellent tool for managing an automotive repair business. I am satisfied.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Tracking technicians growth, scheduling repairs.

Pros

I love the ability to easily schedule all of our work in one place. Also, the ability to track my Technicians hours and productivity was a game changer and assured that their work was getting done.

Cons

I do love this software enough to justify the price, but if I had to point out anything I didn't like it would be pricing. We do not make much income and pay a decent amount for this service. However as mentioned I will continue to pay for it.

Response from ShopController

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Art T.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Worse shop program

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Not much horrible product very slow can't even put a logo on the ro's

Cons

Not user friendly, very slow system and horrible customer service

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Lee L.

Affordable shop management system with reliable tech support

Reviewed on 2016/10/14
Review Source: Capterra

Lashley's Garage would like to thank shop controller and their staff for all the great support. We would recommend this professional management system to any professional repair shop looking for a great and affordable shop management system with reliable tech support.

Response from ShopController

Lee,

Thank you for your review of ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support