Screenly

4,5 (24)
Raspberry Pi based digital signage solution

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(24)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

88%
recommended this app

24 Reviews

Jamison C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is just simple to use.

Reviewed on 2021/09/13

Pros

Easy of access, dependability and updating

Cons

It would be nice to auto update playlists by adding a folder so that anything in the content folder is automatically added to the playlist, but that may not apply to all people.

Timmy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Screenly

Reviewed on 2018/09/18

Excellent

Pros

Really easy to use very functional. The fact that you can time and queue the digital elements is fantastic. The turnaround time from when the media is sent to when it actually plays is very impressive. We are very happy with our partnership with Screenly. The customer service is excellent with a "can do" attitude to solving any operational issues.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike and at the cost it is better than anything other platform we have used on the market.

Response from Screenly

Hi Timmy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our software and we value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact [email protected]

We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

Murtaza I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free Digital Signage

Reviewed on 2021/12/10

Pros

We have been using screenly at our business places the good thing OSE (open source edition) is free forever and it can be installed on Raspberry pi which works flawlessly. it is very easy to set up the marketing content that can be uploaded through the web browser with the option to modify the air time that's a very interesting thing I can display an image on a TV with a duration of my choice. The weather and clock widget is awesome it detects the time zone and shows accurate information.

Cons

1. it doesn't support hi-res images like HEIC files.
2. This OSE version only works on Raspberry Pi it should also have been made available to Windows as this can be very easy for us to utilize existing Intel Sticks.
3. Screenly doesn't have a proper news widget by default or should have a news ticker option I think it lacks such options as of now it is very basic signage software.

Randy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Beautiful screens, not-so-beautiful features

Reviewed on 2020/12/30

Pros

The screens and resolution were beautiful on this product. Additionally, we were able to deploy hundreds of custom assets and playlists in a matter of hours.

Cons

We were siloed in to only using raspberry pi units and there were no transitions between graphics. When we changed the infrastructure of our wifi systems, the support documentation was zero help. We instead had to flash each of our 20+ units manually and reconfigure each on the new wifi. There should be an option built in to the ScreenlyOS image on the raspberry pi to modify wifi configs.

Trudy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Screenly quality is excellant with affordable pricing

Reviewed on 2021/10/05

We wanted to be able to digitally promote our programs and group fitness schedule throughout the fitness center and locker rooms. Using Screenly has improved our communication with members and has helped us market new programming and training events to our members more effectively.

Pros

I think the features of the Screenly software are helpful in being able to manage videos and graphics so you can promote what you want when you want. It's very customizable.

Cons

When there is a communication issue with one of the screens oftentimes we have to reboot the whole player. Unfortunately, our screens are hung up very high so this is not convenient. I have tried the reboot within the software but rarely works.

Nfon O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Screenly is simply impressive

Reviewed on 2021/04/22

Screenly is a software that i love cos it schedules my videos for a really long period of time and I can share my content to multiple screens and in multiple places that has helped solve a lot of my problems. But if the free and the commercial were more similar it will go a long way.

Pros

The fact that I can schedule content weeks in advance is a mazing. Also i can check the status of my screens, and get in control of your signage is simply impressive.

Cons

The only thing I did not like is the fact that you cannot use the free version to know the functionality of the commercial version. If this could be a little more similar it really would go a long way.

Jarrod W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2021/09/20

We have used Screenly for years now and everything from ease of use to the minimal times we've needed customer support has been fantastic. Great company, with an even better product.

Pros

This product is both easy to use and deploy fairly inexpensively as well. We use it daily for various tasks and it doesn't get much easier to schedule and deploy content.

Cons

I have no qualms with Screenly, everything has been great and only gotten better over time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Goodbye to Free

Reviewed on 2019/03/11

Very disappointed that first they cancel their free one-screen option to new customers but then turn around and disable accounts for pre-existing customers like us. No warning either. I discovered by noticing nothing was on the display and then when logging in to see the “account disabled” notice. Nothing I can do except purchase their monthly package that was overkill for our small organization. Since we can’t afford to pay, I’m switching over to info-beamer.

Pros

Was a really great option for our non-profit that couldn’t afford another monthly cost.

Cons

Nothing I can think of. It was easy to use and the free version had all the options we needed.

Brooke R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We Love Screenly!

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Pros

Screenly is very easy to learn and use. It takes only seconds to upload and swap images on our screens.

Cons

Sometimes the images will shrink from full size and that can be frustrating. I also wish there was a way to link the screens with the software we use for our website so images would automatically populate.

Ashley K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes our business functional!

Reviewed on 2021/09/24

This software has been deeply beneficial to our manufacturing plant to keep all employees up to date with company information. We are also in process of implementing Screenly to our other sites across the US.

Pros

It is incredibly easy to use and provides instant delivery of the media/information we post.

Cons

Everything is great! The only sometimes unfavorable this is the different folders for content versus playlists, sometimes I wish we could just drop the media directly onto the playlist.

Sam P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perfect for multi-location deployment

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

We have 15 devices deployed in retail stores across the country and we rarely experience any issues.

Pros

It’s easily deployed, easily managed, and the user interface allows for easily configuring things like video playlists.

Cons

It’s still has some bugs and it would be nice to have a more robust scheduling apparatus. Occasionally the devices will drop off the network and have to manually rebooted.

Brent K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

In house advertising and employee communications campaign

Reviewed on 2021/02/08

Very satisfied with the product and support they've provided.

Pros

Ease of deployment, scheduling, and no complicated firewall configuration.

Cons

Single administrative login. However, this was recently resolved in an update.

Linda T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Integra Technologies

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Overall I am extremely happy with Screenly Pro and would not hesitate to recommend this product.

Pros

The Screenly Pro software program has made a positive impact within our organization by allowing us to reach our employees throughout all four locations on all shifts. With Screenly Pro I have the ability to make changes and send messages as quickly as clicking a button. The recent updates have made this process even easier.

Cons

The updates to the Screenly Pro are immediate. When I remove a slide from the Content it is automatically removed from the Playlist which is immediately removed from the display screens. I wish there was a 1- or 2-minute delay. The employees are aware when I am updating the presentations.

David N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review for OSE

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

Excellent. Will definitely consider a paid version when it comes time to replace the OneLAN digital signage we have elsewhere.

I'd like education pricing and possibly local asset storage rather than cloud. We're a school and not a high turnover business

Pros

Free and can run on a Pi, can use Google slides. Everything a poor inner city school needs for a reception display

Cons

Again, just the OSE. Can't actively reboot it from the web interface, no means to check if it's still running (i.e. preview of what's on screen), which would be very handy if administering a screen from another building. I've had a couple of black screen incidents while playing about with the software setting it up.

Amanda D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Screenly - All your screens in one place

Reviewed on 2021/09/21

Pros

We use this software to manage content in multiple locations and find it is easy to use and everything you need is at your fingertips.

Cons

My only complaint is that you are unable to have multi-level subdirectories for content.

Conrad J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for advertising in my store!

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

Overall a very useful platform for advertising.

Pros

That it’s manageable from anywhere in the world and the very easy initial setup!

Cons

That there’s no functionality for PowerPoint files or to let the pages turn from one to the other.

Olegario M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great app

Reviewed on 2018/08/28

Pros

Easy to install and use. The free versión is fully functional.

Cons

Do not refresh the URL when there is only one asset

Response from Screenly

Hi Olegario,

Thank you for taking the time to review our software and value your feedback. If you have additional questions about Screenly, please feel free to contact [email protected]

We appreciate you being a loyal Screenly customer.

Best,
Samantha Richards
Screenly, Inc.

Vincent N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great but could be better

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

for still images and as a photomenue board it is great

Pros

the ease of use, it is simple to add and change photos

Cons

That I can not put up a functioning time and temp when and where i want it.

Cyrus C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and Easy to Use Digital Signage

Reviewed on 2021/09/24

Screenly has been a great service for us. Any time we've had an issue their customer service is quick and straightforward.

Pros

The ease of use. It's very straightforward to add images and assets to our folders and get them on our company TVs.

Cons

I only wish there were more tools, such as a way to add a pop-up banner on the bottom of the TVs. Thankfully, I've talked with one of the employees and they said this and more are the works!

Chad G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Increase Warehouse Visibility

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

It has been a useful tool. We use it to display daily info, messages, and even quick facts.

Pros

It allows us to create separate data on the different screens. We use this to help the different areas of the business keep track of their progress.

Cons

The software is a little harder to setup Wifi. It would be nice to be able to directly access the device after setup to configure the wifi.

Mark L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Great Idea; failing to deliver (all screens down)

Reviewed on 2018/08/27

right now, I would just like it to work; all screens are currently down.

Pros

Fills a need, looks to be great, easy setup and easy to use interface overall.

Cons

Paying for something that is not working.

Response from Screenly

Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We strive to do everything we can for our customers and apologize that we were not able to resolve this despite our repeated attempts.

We have released new updates that address the issue you were having and do see that your screens are currently active and in sync.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. If you'd like to discuss this matter further, please send us an email at [email protected] Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Samantha Richards
Screenly Inc.

Bastian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Great idea - software crashes constantly.

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

I was sold this software as an easy plug & play solution which it is not. We received the wrong software in the first place - then it took over a month to fix their software as they had a bug which showed all images in the wrong sizes and didn't display any videos. Half the time support does not read the email properly and only starts to help & assist when you make threats...very disappointing!
The one thing that was positive was our account manager who constantly was in communication and tried to fix the issue, we have been with them for 3 months and are still facing issues.

Pros

Easy to set-up if it works - our account manager

Cons

Customer Support & actual software - not working.

Kaitlin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Screenly is a Time Saver!

Reviewed on 2021/09/24

Pros

Previously, we were manually updating our signage TV by TV. By switching to Screenly, the management of our signage has become significantly easier and manageable. Everything can be done remotely with information being scheduled ahead of time. It even lets you know when the signage is down. It's easy to use

Cons

I wish the file management was a little easier, like putting folders in folders

Dustin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Free verison (Screenly OSE) has some bugs

Reviewed on 2020/11/25

Pros

I liked the sleek and simple layout of the software. Adding assets and scheduling them was easy!

Cons

There is a black screen between a video asset and an image. This is not a problem with the paid version as I understand.