40 reviews
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,8
90% recommended this app
40 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Ranching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Using the Professional Plan to Manage a Breeding Farm

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

Managing the breeding farm is now efficient and doesn't have a paper trail. I love CRIO.

P.S. If you have any trouble at all or questions about the program, they get back to you right away! I messaged the company about a problem that I was having, I received their initial reply within 5 minutes. 15 minutes later, my problem was solved and I'm still smiling about their customer service.

Pros

Incorporating tech into the barn is intimidating. During my search for a barn management app, I went back and forth between apps comparing features and prices. FYI, CRIO has the most features and the best price.

As for features, logging and tracking breeding services was my primary concern. CRIO is one of the few that has comprehensive breeding documentation! In addition to that, the software will generate reports for you. My most helpful chart; Mares that still need to be CIF (certified in foal).

Cons

For every equine professional that doesn't have time to sit down and plug in all the data, just do it. It's tedious at first but once everything is scheduled, it's easy peasy! CRIO will send you notifications for coggins renewals, vaccinations, de worming and much more!

The big flaw for me is that a mobile app doesn't exist yet (Keyword being yet). The team at CRIO has been working on an app that will hopefully be released by the end of this year (2019).

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks for your words! It really motivates us to maintain the level of service! Thanks for trusting us!!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lindsay L.
Industry: Farming
Company size: Self Employed

Ton of features A+ Support

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/06
Review Source: Capterra

I've been on the hunt for a barn management app that was geared towards breeding farm. THIS IS IT! Tons of customization, record keeping, reference horses, detailed Info for stallions and mares. They've been expending with things like boarding, invoicing, training, competitions and more. REALLY fast friendly support if something hiccups too. I can't say enough good about this software. Looking forward to a mobile app in the future to make it even better!

Pros

Aimed for breeding barns and sales. Still learning all the features and this software has met almost every want.

Cons

Waiting for a mobile app. The feed section is complicated. Was hoping for something where I could print a stall card for each horse that had their feed, meds, turnout, information on it.

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks Lindsay!
About the STALL CARD, we already have that feature. We will contact you to help you set it up. It includes Diet you can print a QR to display information on your phone.
The iOS App is in development.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alex M.
Industry: Ranching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

I’ve been overall happy with it. Customer service is excellent.

Pros

Easy to use, good price. I like the barn set up, horse tab, and the expenses tab.

Cons

Although it’s easy to use. Configuration is difficult. Many of the tabs are useless to us. Few instructions. I’m still finding features I didn’t know it had. Boarding tab is useless for us, even that’s our main part of what we do. Invoicing is ok but need a way to delete them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Niki P.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great horse records software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

We use this software to keep records for over 100 horses on a breeding and competition farm, horses range from mares, stallions, foals, young horses, through to our competition team. We find the software intuitive and comprehensive, and importantly, cost effective. We can track all the things we are interested in and the dashboard is a great quick visual. Right now we are using it to record basic horse info such as name, pedigree, DOB, colour, sex, location, owner, etc, we also record breeding info, health records, competition results, horse movements, contacts, various information in the notes section, reporting, and for keeping track of horses for sale and their sold status. There is so much more we can do with CRIO (invoicing and tracking costs for horses for example) and are working towards using more features. Of course there are things we would change and enhance, nothing comes out of the box and fits everyones needs, but the support has been really great and some changes have already been made to better suit our needs. Like any records system, this software is only is good as the information entered, we think its worth the effort.

Pros

Its intuitive, it was very easy to add horses and start using it effectively, it allows us to record all of the information that we are interested in for our horses. The visuals are great and easy for all stakeholders to see the information they want, love the Dashboard. Dynamic Groups are great for automatically putting horses in meaningful groups and displaying them on the dashboard In terms of horse information, there really isn't anything missing and most of the various sections can be customised to fit our requirements. Being able to add notes and pull those notes up easily via a report is also a great feature. We also love the fact that that the system will automatically show us things like siblings and offspring and we can download all information onto spreadsheets or run reports.

Cons

Nothing much and in our experience, there are ongoing enhancements. The main one would be that it needs an App, the system is responsive but difficult to use from a small screen such as a mobile phone. My understanding is that an App is being developed.
Would also like to see enhancements to reporting and more ability to customise reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jonathan G.
Industry: Ranching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

5 stars for Crio Online

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Inventory has been a lot easier with Crio as well as recording and remembering key important dates in one central location.

Pros

Almost everything, I like being able to track health and vaccine records, diets, training records is a big one too! I like the breeding portion of it to manage broodmares. It is very helpful if, like us, you have broodmares, training horses and horses competing to track each horse to its individual needs. Very easy to use at an affordable price!

Cons

Only snag I really don't like is the boarding feature is difficult to customize. Once a horse is boarded for a couple months and then canceled that horse cannot be reinstated into boarding later if he returns and he cannot be reactivated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dorota R.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: Self Employed

Helpful software for the management of equine business

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software offers numerous options for storing information about horses. Each horse's profile can be completed with details on its origins, physical characteristics, training and competitions, travel, dietary needs, breeding, pedigree and inbreeding percentage, shoeing, and others. The information is easy to input and update, and there are automatization features which make data entry very efficient. The program is user-friendly, in that it is thoughtfully designed, intuitive and very easy to learn to use. It is also pleasant to view.

Cons

There are some small technical elements that could be improved. For instance, once I view a theoretical pedigree, and then want to go to look at another hypothetical pedigree (cross with another mare, for example), then I cannot just go one step back, but have to start the process of making the hypothetical pedigree from absolute start. The program does not make it easy to switch between horses when looking at the horse's profile. It requires going to the main menu. Also, if duplicates of a reference horse were entered, the program does not allow for easy deletion of the extra horse profile, and replacement with the correct one. Other details, such as automatically placing the cursor in a window to type or autocomplete, would make data entry much more easy. The price is on a high side for anyone who is not a professional breeder.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

The software is closed all our workflow gaps and improved overall farm/horse maintenance.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to keep electronic health records of all our horses, keep track of our inventory, upload/share videos/pictures, and track all daily activities by our Farm Maintenance staff.

Pros

CRIO is the only software that met all of our needs and is open to our suggestions/requests for future developments.The ability to work one on one with team to create/modify workflows and system functionality is excellent, we could not accomplish everything we have without the team.Turn around time for modifications/system questions are always realistic. The system is extremely user friendly both administrative and front-end.

Cons

I have no cons regarding CRIO, everything we've added to our "wish list" was completed and is now in Production with little to no issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Ranching
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Handy Program for Horse data tracking

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/26
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to maintian and search for all horse data, including photos, medical, shoeing, it's a great tool

Pros

Cloud based, easy to use, having all my data easy to access from phone, tablet or computer anytime is the best tool

Cons

cannot export to excel, otherwise all features are very good

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks for taking the time to write the review!! BTW, every report can be exported to Excel, CSV or PDF... let us know what you need to be exported to excel and we will include it!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

At last a friendly equine software!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can enter information for multiple horses at the same time.

Hability to give public access to the information of horses to sell.

Embed information of your horses in my website or share in social media.

Features for each area of my equine business.

Cons

I needed some new report types, but they created them for me in a few weeks.
Some other reports are still missing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Amazing Product!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

Integrated Solution

Pros

I found CRIO after very long research between a lot of Farm solutions. In my opinion its the only product available in 2 languages and with all necessary features. The support is very competent and fast if you have any questions, I can highly recommend Crio for everybody who runs a Farm related to Horses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Arlene O.
Industry: Farming
Company size: Self Employed

Equine mgmt software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Help to track all of my horses. Their medical and breeding needs as well as maintenance

Pros

Ease of use. Ability to manage all aspects of my herd

Cons

Hard to edit from my phone and some of the time the edit screen moves around

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks for your words, Arlene!

I can tell you that we are releasing an iPhone/Android App in the first quarter of the coming year... and you will be able to view and enter information even when you don't have access to the internet. Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gabriel M.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Complete and easy to use

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

We chose CRIO because we were able to give it a try it using its fully functional free trial. It allowed us to compare it to other products and see that it has more features than most, while at the same time being friendly and easy to use. We also based our decision on the fact that we are small and didn't really have a big budget to invest in software, and CRIO offers reasonable plans according to size.

If I had to highlight just one thing about CRIO is the openness and availability of its owner/main developer. Whenever we had an issue we could contact him directly and he quickly helped us and solved our problem. We also asked him for a feature that CRIO didn't have: exporting reports to CSV format (which we required for our accountant who manages everything using Excel), and he decided to develop this at zero-cost for us since he thought it would benefit other customers too, so it was a win-win and we got what we needed in short time.

We've been using it for almost a year now and are quite happy. There are really nice features like being able to create barns on a canvas, and assign different permissions to different users, we use this to guard against less tech-savvy employees from deleting horses, etc. We'll have a clearer idea later this year when we measure our performance, but we all agree that CRIO has helped us improve and be more efficient and organized.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nikki S.
Industry: Farming
Company size: Self Employed

My crio

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Crio helps me keep all my equine records in tact run reports and know my income and expenses

Pros

I like the features it has and how extensive and informative it is

Cons

Not much i don’t like there’s a few features I’m
Sure I’m not using properly but still is a great software

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks Nikki!
Just let us know if you need help to better understand the system to maximize the benefits you get!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Camilo A.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great horses software :)

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

We use CRIO ONLINE to track all of our horses' info, their health and farrier records, breeding, training and expenses. It has lots of ways to customize and it is very comprehensive.

Our vet has access and she loves it! No need to send me reports about what she does, I can access the information from my iPad anytime I need it.

Pros

Week after week you enter and you see some new options or improvements. The last one I found is that you can create QR codes and images to share in instagram or facebook.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pamela C.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using the system for the last 2 years and our needs have changed, so our demands on crio changed also. Crio's team seamlessly did this to accommodate our requests, multiple times.

Pros

The software is user-friendly and adaptable to the needs of the clients.

Cons

If there is something that is not working, the crio team's leader is very swift and efficent in assisting thus eliminating any stress.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bronwyn V.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Functional software for the discerning breeder

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

A well balanced software suite obviously designed by people that understand horses and that suits both small and large breeders with functionality and ease of use at the forefront of the users experience.

Pros

As a breeder of quality Warmblood sport horses it is important to us to keep accurate pedigrees and bloodlines of our horses and this software allows us to do so and modify it considerably to our specific needs and requirements.

Cons

There are a few little quirks but nothing at all major and these I am sure will be ironed out in future updates as most already have over the years we have been using this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joaquin D.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great help for organizing the farm

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/03/04
Review Source: Capterra

Everything we could think of was included in this software. Whatever wasn't available, they made from scratch just for us. We can even send links of the horse's profile to potential buyers! Keeping updated diets, trimmings, expenses, it's all included and so simple to use. Can't recommend Crio enough, especially for Spanish speakers

Pros

Simple, reliable, esasy to use and personalized.

Cons

Spending lots of time uploading information

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ana G.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Every horse owner should have it

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Sometimes keeping track of all health charts of too many horses is difficult, I share it with my vet and never missed a treatment again!

Pros

You can keep track of every horse born and the inbreeding percentage.
As an Iberoamerican horse breeder this helps a lot to breed mares with new studs.
Also, I keep track of all the health/pregnancy aspects. Simply love it!

Cons

I have no complains, used it on mobile with ease as well as for desktop

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks for the time to review our software, Ana!
If you are using it on the cellphone now... imagine when we release the iPhone/Android App! It is scheduled for Feb/March 2020.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Eden K.
Industry: Veterinary
Company size: 2-10 Employees

CRIO for Equine Management

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

CRIO helps us store important information on each of our horses, aswell as other farming notes. It is easy and reliable to use.

Pros

Organises the data well, the layout/design is easy to read, can use easily on mobile phone

Cons

A little bit slow to load. Also a 'back' or 'return' button would be helpful to get back to the previous page. Finding it takes awhile to get back to pages. Maybe can have more drop down tabs from the top menus? Would be quicker to access information

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rafael M.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Hello

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

Amazing

Pros

The product is amazing.

I just asked a lot of Times for some way thats more easy to see ALL of the weights and heights in the same report.

Cons

Nothing. Every thing is OK! Thank you anyway

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Alyce P.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 2-10 Employees

One Easy Accessible Place for Your Horses' Information and Costs

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/02
Review Source: Capterra

I manage a boarding and training stable. I need to keep track of all our clients' horses health and feed needs as well as our expenses.

Pros

Whether you are boarding, breeding or training stable, this software puts your horse information in one easy accessible place.

Cons

It would be great if you had an app for a smart phone. My business is largely outside and the app would make info easy more accessible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dee H.
Industry: Law Enforcement
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great for tracking expenses

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

I enter my expenses quarterly and then come tax time I just print it off and take to my accountant. It has made it really easy to track my expenses.

Pros

I use this software to track horse expenses for tax purposes. I like the ease of finding expenses for a certain period or category.

Cons

I only use the expenses section so I feel like I’m paying for a lot of product I don’t need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jodie G.
Industry: Farming
Company size: Self Employed

Not enough stars available

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

I have used a lot of equine management software over the years in an effort to manage our many horses and the multiple things that we do with them. Crioonline is absolutely second to none. But more than just the general idea and functionality, the support and continual development of the product is outstanding. The team at crioonline actively take an interest in your business and what you are trying to achieve with the software. Whether it is to manage one horse or two hundred crioonline is outstanding.

Pros

It is the complete package for managing my horses.

Cons

I cannot wait for them to release an iPad/iPhone app

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks Jodie!
What a great review!
We are starting with an APP for Android and iPhone/iPad... soon you will have news ;)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tracey C.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Product

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

I think our experience has been excellent so far and we look forward to growing our business and the functions that we use.

Pros

We have only recently purchased this software for our Standardbred agistment and breeding farm and are still working through all the functions and its capabilities. The support given at every turn has been fast and clear with their instructions. We are very excited going forward in using and learning the many features of this product.

Cons

I still don't have enough of an understanding or used enough as yet to have a least.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jennifer W.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great program!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/01
Review Source: Capterra

This is a very detailed program. Its helped me get all horses of all breeds and disciplines in one place. I love the reporting features. I print a report for my customers when a horse finishes the training cycle. It looks great! I haven't tried the invoicing yet because I use QuickBooks. But may start next year. Their customer service is exceptional

Pros

Customer service
Detailed or summarized
Professional look
Easy to navigate
Easy to install

Cons

You have to manually click for vaccine reminders- but this is easy to work with because I print out a monthly report show7ng sho is due

Response from CRIO Equine Software

Thanks for your words Jennifer!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10