15 reviews

ReqView

Software and Systems Requirements Management Tool

4,5 /5 (15 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,9
93% recommended this app
15 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Exactly what I want for a requirements management tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic - highly recommended for systems engineering and requirements management. I don't know why this tool isn't more widely recognized.

Pros

I wished for something like this software for years - a world above manual requirements management in Word or Excel, inexpensive, able to customize to whatever extent you want. I use it for tying together system/stakeholder requirements, design architecture, risk management, and verification testing. The support is top-notch - I've received replies within a few hours of every question I've asked, and they even implemented an update into their software within a few weeks of me outlining a particular issue I ran into.

Cons

Takes some learning to get it set up correctly and some additional examples to start from would be helpful. Exporting documents (to Word/PDF) is a little clunky.

Response from Eccam

Thank you for wonderful review! Regarding export to Word, please check ReqView v2.8.0 , which we released recently. This version introduces enhanced direct export of MS Word DOCX and MS Excel XLSX files. You will like it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Malcolm M.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

'Right-sized' between capability versus ease of use and maintenance.

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

An easy-to-implement and -maintain requirements management system. It doesn't try and be the answer to everything we have ever needed in our development process, which usually leads to overly complicated software which drives your system, rather than the other way around. ReqView fills just the slot we need it to.

Pros

We are a small development group that does not have the bandwidth to justify dedicated resources to learn and customize a complex tool. We have periods of heavy activity followed by months of not touching the tool, so ease of use was at the top of our list of priorities. Additionally, being in the medical device field, we already have many systems in place and do not want to disrupt what is already running smoothly. ReqView is very specific about what it is trying to accomplish, and does it well. It is easy to learn (we have only needed the online documentation) and the pricing makes it a no-brainer to start playing with. The product is definitely a work in progress, with new features being added on a regular basis. A couple of them have been as a result of requests I made personally, so you can't get better responsiveness than that! Rather than trying to do everything, ReqView provides straightforward import and export to standard MS Office software. For version control, we treat it like source code in a Subversion database, but it can be used on a shared drive. Updates are easy and automatic. It's not SAAS, which our IT department would have nixed for security reasons, plus there's not the delay involved with remote servers.

Cons

Customization of outputs to fit the needs of the project documentation is usually a bear, and ReqView is no exception. We had the same issue (except worse!) with previous RM software. Someone who is well-versed in HTML and CSS might find this easy, and there is copious documentation available at w3schools.com, but I admit to spending much more time to generate a half dozen or so output scripts than the rest of the first project in its entirety! Now they are done, so it's no longer an issue for the future, but it was a steep curve. Obviously, if you only need formats closer to those provided, your experience will be easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Luca I.

Perfectly-sized requirements management tool with all the most relevant features; responsive team

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has apparently been created by people who understand requirements management.

It checks almost all boxes that are important to me. It pretty much takes the good parts of DOORS, and leaves out the bad ones.

The ReqView team are very responsive, and attentive to the desires of their users. I have great expectations for future releases.

Cons

There are currently three different implementations (native app, web app, Chrome extension), all of which are missing a bit of functionality that's important to me, even though other implementations have it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Oguz Ö.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Enhancing Requirements-Engineering with ReqView

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

Previously we were doing Requirements-Engineering with MS Office (and lots of scripts).
ReqView enabled us to quickly switch to a Database driven tool. ReqView is easy to use and is effectivly tailored for lean documentation.
The JSON-Files of ReqView are easy to process with python-scripts, so we can generate Latex documents. And generate our traceability analysis.
In addition to Requirements, we also included RiskAnalysis into ReqView, which also was Excel-based before.

Pros

Easy to use, having most of the features needed for managing requirements in our projects.
Unlike many other tools, ReqView is not overloaded with lots of stuff you won't ever need.

Cons

Realtime Collaboration ist not yet implemented. Working two or more people on same documents sometimes is difficult. But it looks like ReqView V3 will include that feature soon.

Response from Eccam

Hi Oguz,
Thanks for the awesome review. Moving the team collaboration experience to the next level is our main focus at the moment.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Philipp B.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Reqview als an alternative to Excel

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

We use ReqView as the "front end tool" to specify system and software requirements for projects.
We use ReqViews project concept to include requirement documents from a product line and the option to define custom relationships between documents to extend, append or overwrite generic product line requirements with project specific requirements.
The "backend" is a set of scripts which will merge the ReqView files (product line requirements with project specific requirements), convert it to LaTeX and generate nice PDFs - all that automatically in a CI environment.

Pros

First of all: It's lightweight and not bloated like many other requirement engineering tools. During a relaxed afternoon you'll be able to have played with *all* of its features and have learned how to use it.
Also important: The database format is basically just plain ASCII which makes it easy to compare with earlier versions, easy to be parsed by scripts and easy to convert to whatever-you-want.

Cons

Currently a licence expires after one year. There are no liftime licences.

Response from Eccam

Hi Philipp,

Thank you for your awesome review! We are amazed how powerful automated document generation back-end have you set up.

Regarding perpetual license, we are flexible and can offer a longer licence period fitting your needs, for instance PRO license valid for 5 years.

Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stefan G.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Reqview for SW and System Requirements

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

I use Reqview to manage multi-customer complex projects, including HW and SW requirements. ReqView serves our purpose very well.

Pros

It is a lean tool, which is quick and has good performance. Easy to use, no unnecessary features. It works very stable and it provides all vital functions you need for professional requirements management.

Cons

Multi-user support could be improved, merging is difficult. It would be great if vector graphics (PDF pictures) and tables would be supported. An automated PDF-book-export feature would be nice.

Response from Eccam

Hi Stefan,
Thank you for your awesome review! We plan to introduce seamless team collaboration solution in the next major release, the work is already in progress. The other feature requests sound interesting. Lets discuss details on the Feature Request forum.
Thank you for your trust and being our customer for almost 3 years.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tom Y.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for Small to Midsize Companies who need to manage requirements

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/22
Review Source: Capterra

We are tracking requirements for a product in a highly regulated industry. ReqView allows us to manage requirements and risks from the system level to the component level with full traceability. The function is very similar to a limited DOORS product but at a fraction of the price.

Pros

The software manages requirements very well and allows traceability through the entire Requirements/Risk document structure. The basic functions are easy to use.
The ReqView team is very good at tracking user inputs to improve the software and they are very responsive to customer needs.

Cons

To use more advanced features requires at least a light knowledge of programming. I was able to figure out the features that I needed and the support at ReqView was very helpful and responsive when I did ask questions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roberto D.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Highly recommend ReqView

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

We've deployed ReqView across several platforms, even integratng with our Configuration Management platform (SVN). The program is highly configurable and our export documents are great.

Pros

The software is easy to use and Eccam has provided outstanding support to customize reports and templates to meet our needs.

Cons

Importing existing requirements documents is a very manual process, but Eccam has held our hands in doing so.

Response from Eccam

Hello Roberto,
Thank you for nice feedback. It is great working with you and your team.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bernd E.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

It works fine, very flexible and easy to use. I miss the possibility for trace and impact anala

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/08
Review Source: Capterra

Linking between requirements of different documents (but without analysis)

Pros

Easy and flexible. Use of standards e.g. json. The csv export is useful. Exporting from a csv is a useful feature, but sometimes it won't work.

Cons

I would like tpo have a intelligence in some rows. Referencing others and esecute a small script (e.g. LUA ). I miss the possibility to run two instaces with different projects.

Response from Eccam

Hello Bernd,

thank you for your review.

Regarding missing possibility for trace / impact analysis, you can generate custom multilevel traceability HTML reports enabling coverage / impact analysis. Please file a support ticket if you are unsure how to use this feature or if you have additional special needs. We will be happy to help.

Good news is also that we are going to release soon the first beta of Templated Columns feature which will enable adding custom logic directly in the UI. For instance you will be able to display additional traceability information from the linked objects (even across multiple traceability levels) or display value of a calculated expression (e.g. Risk Priority Number).

BR,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Robert G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Finally the right tool for requirements management!

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/26
Review Source: Capterra

It's my favorite tool to collect, organize, describe and distribute requirements in process-management, company-organisation and software-apllications.

Pros

I like the simplicity. The feature of the user-specific fields allows the use for various project types.
The links between the entries can be used to map complex networks.
With seld created templates I can help my colleagues to ask the right questions in a logical order.
With self cerated instructions I can help them to have more background and details.

Cons

The customization of WORD templates for professional outputs.

Response from Eccam

Robert,
Thank you for awesome review! If you need any help with customization of Word reports we'll be happy to offer custom services and tailor the reports to match your needs.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Torsten B.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Flexible requirements management tool with a responsive and helpful development team

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

ReqView is a very good comprehensive tool which is helping to manage dependencies of hundreds to thousands of elements without getting lost in several documents.

Pros

Its flexibility and configurability to very specific needs.
It allows to structure and trace needs, requirements, tests and everything you want to manage in the tool in the way you wish.
Very helpful is also the possibility to use the free version for viewing the database, which is managed by the license owners.

Cons

As every software which is not already used for decades, it has some bugs and inconveniences.
But, the very responsive and fast development team was always able to find solutions for these, when I reported something like that.

Response from Eccam

Hi Torsten,
Thanks for the nice review and good ideas you have suggested in our previous discussions.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Robert S.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Simple and functional but not expansive enough

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

Easy requirements management vs excel

Pros

Very easy to get started with and use, like a spreadsheet specifically designed for requirements. I like the plain text storage, since i can get keep it in a git repo for changes.

Cons

some areas are a little too basic + theres some annoying features of the workflow i.e. when jumping between docs the page will often jump to the top when you wanted it to stay on a specific requirement.

Response from Eccam

Hello Robert,
Thank you for your review. Can you please file a new support ticket providing more details about the issue with jumping between docs which you described?
We will fix it asap.
Thanks,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dawie A.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Initial thoughts

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/15
Review Source: Capterra

It is a simple and affordable tool (so don't expect it to compete with expensive alternatives) that gets the job done. I am a new user so this is only an initial view. First time I needed support the response was quick and professional.

Pros

It's simple and can do the basics without being cluttered.

Cons

Some customization (like creating custom attributes, reports etc), is not done a very user friendly way. I got by by copying and editing from examples.

Response from Eccam

Hello Dawie,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts as a new ReqView user. You can set up a requirements engineering project much easier now. Just reuse new requirements specification templates introduced in the just released ReqView version 2.6.0. These templates are based on ISO/IEC/IEEE 29148 standard and Volere process and they are configured with a common set of attributes recommended by the standard. When you create a new document based on a standard template, check the detailed instructions displayed in the right pane for further guidance. Of course, you can still tailor the templates according to your needs.
Hope this helps,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kenneth V.

Great software that is easy to use and most importantly, they are responsive to new feature requests

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software provides traceability within and between documents with customizable outputs. The web-based program makes working from different machines a breeze.

Cons

The fields sometimes exhibit quirky behavior. If I am editing a field and switch applications, the text is lost - it works fine, if I change fields before leaving the app; so the work-around is not a real problem.

Response from Eccam

Hello Kenneth,
thank you for your review. We will try to fix the problem with loosing edited change when switching applications in an upcoming patch release.
BR,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Stuart E.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Service, Great Requirements Tool

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Good balance of features against complexity.

Cons

Maximizing its use requires uses to learn some programming, both to customize the views and export results. Documentation is good and service is excellent - quick and thorough.

Response from Eccam

Hello Stuart,
Thank you for nice review.
Regards,
Libor

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10