77 reviews

Upper Hand

Innovative sports and fitness software

4,1 /5 (77 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
77%
recommended this app
77 reviews
Natasha H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Customer Service!

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Customer service has been exceptional.

Pros

We initially go it for our training sessions located at our warehouse location. It has been great especially with the app. Coaches are able to see on their end if they have anyone signed without having to go us. Clients are able to sign up via the app if they didn't get a chance to do it ahead of time. We also use UpperHand to create a new website which has been great overall.

Cons

You can't group programs together. You have to do multiple links for the same event.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Natasha,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled to hear about your positive experiences with our app and customer service. We appreciate your feedback on how we can continue to improve to better serve your needs.

Thank you again and have a great day!

Kevin G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

UH Implementation

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Very good so far. A couple hiccups in the beginning but most of that was our team learning the SW and how to navigate around. The UH Post Sales and Customer Support teams are very good.

Pros

The SW platform allowed us to move off the "freeware" we were using to a combined platform at an affordable price. Although some of the features are not very intuitive, there are ways available to get what you need done.

Cons

Initial setup was not easy as there was no way of importing customer data that we had from other platforms, so we had to have all of our customer profiles created from scratch. Not a big deal, but time consuming.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Kevin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We're happy to hear that our training and support teams have been helpful in getting your staff onboarded to the software. We are looking forward to growing with you!

Have a great day!

Chris M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Support, Developing Product

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

We have a facility with multiple zones, with different thigns going on in them depending on the day , and even hour. The software helps us keep everything staffed, organized, and paid.

Pros

We like how easily we can add and change things and how it tailors well to our use case. The team is also very responsive and the software continues to improve.

Cons

Reporting needs to be stronger and more actionable.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.

We're excited to hear your positive feedback that our software has been great for your use case and easy to use! We hope you find that our updated reporting features within the UP Financial Suite add value to your business.

Thanks again and have a great day!

Jameson K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great start and potential

Reviewed on 2020/01/22

It has certainly given my coaches more independence to function on their own and manage their own sessions. I have needed to send out fewer reminders and be the "middle man" much less.

Pros

I like that it is automated and allows for me to focus more time on delivering my services rather than registering and recording participants

Cons

I would like the communication to clients to be more customization and I would like my clients to have an easier time navigating the software. I receive a lot of "please help" emails for relatively simple and common things. (like signing up for a session or unscheduling a session).

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Jameson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with Upper Hand! We are glad to hear that using Upper Hand has allowed you to focus more on delivering services to your clients and less on admin work! That is our entire mission!

Also, thank you for sharing feedback on communication. Our most recent updates were focused around improving the communication with new event reminders and we have much more coming! Plan on hearing from us soon to schedule a call to review these features and get your feedback.

Thank you again and have a great day!

Myles C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Feedback

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

UpperHand support has been outstanding. We are new to the system, but any questions we have had are quickly and easily answered by the support system here. I like that, even though we are new, I feel like we will get answers quickly to help us operate efficiently and provide that quality care to our customers.

Pros

I like that the software allows for us to schedule and book lessons, rentals, and more with ease. It is nice that the calendar view helps us see and access sessions directly from that same view.

Cons

It is frustrating with the payment set up. It is difficult that the way a session is booked also completely dictates how payment is done. For example, if someone wants to schedule say 8 weeks of lessons. If we book it one by one, as 8 individual sessions, payment is set up as 8 individual payments. So they come in and say, "Oh I'm paying for all of this at once". We then have to physically go in to each event and pay those out individually. That is annoying and time consuming, but that is the less cumbersome of the outcomes.
In the other way, lets say we book someone for 8 sessions and set it up as 8 sessions in the system. Then the client comes in and says "I'd like to just pay for tonight". We can't even do that. We would have to delete the entire event and re book it as individual sessions because the payment would be set up where it wants the entire session paid for all at once. It would be awesome if we could just pay for what they want and the event would mark it as such. Something where we click what is being paid for and the system holds the balance or lets us know what is still unpaid or needs to be paid would help a lot.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Myles,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! In addition to your positive experience with support, we are happy to hear that Upper Hand has allowed you to book lessons and rentals with ease, and that you've had a great experience with the calendar!

We also appreciate your feedback on the various use cases regarding client payment. This is something our team is actively working on, in addition to a few other exciting payment-related enhancements. If you have more feedback, please let your point of contact know and they'll be happy to schedule a time and provide an update on the timeline of these features.

Thanks again for the review! Have a great day.

Matt P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Tons of potential. Powerful software for what you pay. Needs some tweaking in areas on admin...

Reviewed on 2018/01/25

Pros

The ability to create events and set a schedule is great. Inviting new clients is easy and from my customer feedback it sounds like registering is a pretty easy process.

Cons

On the admin side there tends to be some areas that take a few too many steps to complete a process. Whether it's changing details in an event, or simply trying to see who is registered for event, it tends to be a much longer process than it should be to retrieve or adjust the information. A quick pull up on the calendar of who the attendee(s) are for an event would be nice. The process to find that information now is quite time consuming and can be frustrating.
There's seems to be bugs in random stuff you do. Having events randomly not show up in the calendar can be frustrating. Double booking has never been an issue as the system still reflects the proper availability for an instructor, but on the admin side, I need to see the schedule in full detail.

Response from Upper Hand

Thanks for the feedback, Matt! Since you posted this review, we have solved most of the issues that you have listed! Below are the updates:

1. Easy attendee view from the calendar
2. Simple event check-in drawer
3. Weekly calendar view and customizable calendar columns
4. Ability to "clone" events so that you can easily duplicate/edit existing events

We're always working to address bugs as well, so with more specifics on that, we can certainly get them cleaned up. Thanks again for the feedback!

Brad E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

Scheduling is very easy to use in this software

Pros

The software has improved tremendously, and is a great tool for a baseball & softball training facility. The software is easy to use, and very user friendly.

Cons

The software needs to be tied to gift cards and the cash drawer. This is very important.
Need better reports too. Inventory management - making inventory adjustments - needs to be easier.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Brad,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you have seen improvements in our product over the past few years, and we appreciate your feedback on how we can continue to meet and exceed the needs of your business!

Have a great day!

Sarah A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer service is second to none. The Upperhand team is knowledgeable and always willing to...

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

Pros

As a small basketball organization, Upperhand software has provided a platform for our clients to register for our training online, as well as schedule their sessions and keep track of their payments. As a result, we have become more organized in tracking the payments we receive. We have also been able to build a database of clients and can streamline our communication with them through the software.

Cons

As with any software, we as an organization have to monitor and update payment and scheduling information through the Upperhand system. For example, if an athlete forgets to schedule his/her training session, we have to go in and manually schedule it for them. Otherwise, their credit will not be deducted from their account.

Response from Upper Hand

Thank you for the review and your continued support, Sarah!

Adron T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

Pros

The software is easy to use and set up and my clients also love it.

Cons

I don’t like that I can’t keep my filters the same in the event section

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Adron,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with Upper Hand! We are thrilled to hear that the software is easy to use and your clients love it.

We'd love to better understand your comment about event filters, and invite you to reach out to your support rep so they can help.

Thanks again and have a great day!

Ronnie G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Puts administrative tasks in the palm of your hand

Reviewed on 2016/11/05

Great product! It allows you to set things up and get it out to the public in minutes. Your clients have the convenience of registering at any place and on any device.

Pros

I can set everything up without having major computer expertise.

Cons

The software offer more flexibility.

Response from Upper Hand

Thanks for the review Ronnie!

Gabriela P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

D-BAT COS Review

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

Very responsive when we encounter our issues

Pros

It’s organized, and we now enjoy receiving reminders for camps, clinics, and lessons.

Cons

It’s not retail friendly at all. We encounter so many issues daily as far as scheduling lessons, camps, and clinics. We have a lot of issues editing contact information, and we have always had issues with our app connected to the system.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Gabriela,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad you find the camps/ clinics/ lessons aspects easy to use. However, we are sorry to hear that the retail functionality can be boosted for your use cases. We have taken your feedback to our product team so that we may continue to improve to better serve your business and clients.

Thank you again, and have a great day!

Rodney B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

THE BACKSTOP @ MAVS

Reviewed on 2020/11/10

Very pleased so far

Pros

It is much more user friendly than scheduling softwares I've used in the past. With great customer service!

Cons

The fact I can't publish a daily calendar on my website. Very useful to my company and our members as the calendar helps them determine when to come to the facility or not.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Rodney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you find our software easy to use--that is one of our main goals! However, we are sorry to hear that our calendar functionality could be improved. I've shared your feedback with our team in hopes of scheduling a product feedback call.

Thanks again for your feedback, and have a great day!

Jim L.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Was sold as alternative to Mindbody, far from the truth.

Reviewed on 2018/02/23

Pros

Support service was very good. One of the customer rep helped with sorting things out and was fairly available. From a sales standpoint, they make sure you feel comfortable and are persistent with you.

Cons

This software was sold with many promises that just didn't deliver. Having to pay the annual cost up front should have been a warning sign. We were sold on the concept this was a cheaper/better alternative to Mindbody. We were also sold on the fact we could get rid of our Shopify store. Once we paid, we soon learned the membership feature was still months from completion. We then discovered that replacing Shopify wasn't close to an option. I would have canceled at this point but they had our payment for the year. The disappointing part was we showed them our website, Mindbody site, and all the programs we offered and were told repeatedly Upper Hand could do nearly everything we needed ( or would soon). The membership features poor reports, the app was confusing to customers and was very limited in what we wanted to feature. We ended up using the events feature quite well, but then discovered the only way to provide refunds to send the customers emails to Upper Hand and they would issue refunds. Rather inefficient. It's a shame because they are based right here in Indy and we hoped to support local business. After complaining and asking for some sort of refund, I was told they would only refund the first two months on the year but couldn't refund the last few months of the previous year because "the books were closed". No offer to refund any of our annual payment. It's a shame but at the end of the day, I see we are not alone.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Jim,

We are terribly sorry that you had a poor experience using Upper Hand. I know that upper management has been talking with you to make sure that this all gets resolved amicably.

If you could follow up with them, they will make sure that these issues are quickly resolved.

Thanks!
Upper Hand Team

Bj M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great concept, and greater customer support!

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

The concept is great, although the product is still buggy and often undergoing updates and redesigns. The customer service is great, They have gone to great lengths to meet our specific needs, and make up for any shortcomings of the software while the kinks are worked out. Upper Hand saves us a lot of time and makes the registration and payment process seamless for our clients. We will continue to use Upper Hand, and look forward to the new interface being fully integrated!

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Errors in registration availability for clients, dual interface system, lack of some capability in a new interface.

Response from Upper Hand

Thanks for the review BJ!

Josh E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing customer service

Reviewed on 2020/02/08

Danielle & support group have been amazing patient & helpful with us. Miriam mainly is the one in constant contact with Danielle and/or hub and they’ve helped her so much she then turns back and trains our Staff

Pros

Very user friendly but we are still learning!

Cons

retail receipts aren’t emailed to staff/no partial payment option

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Josh,

Thank you so much for the review!

We are ecstatic to hear about your experience with our support team - I've passed the message along!

Have a great day!

Vince S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Should be easier way

Reviewed on 2020/11/10

Pros

Clients can join easily off my app on phone.

Cons

Should be and easier way to cancel or contact customers off the calendar.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Vince,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that your clients find the app easy to use! However we are sorry to hear the functionality could be improved for your business. I have passed along your feedback to our team with hopes of scheduling a product feedback call.

Thank you again for your feedback, and have a great day!

Rami K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

Just had my first strategy call with customer support representative at UpperHand and she was very helpful in answering all my questions and showing me how the software works. I also spoke a few times with an individual named Josh who was so damn persistent at getting me on board, I can't help but feel inspired by his hustle. Highly recommend you join the Upper Hand team to grow your business!

Pros

Ease of use. Simplify my life.

Response from Upper Hand

Thanks for your review Rami!

Eric K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Great product. Always improving and awesome customer support!

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

As my business grew, I was looking for a solution to manage it more efficiently. I looked at a number of different options but Upper Hand was the only solution that was "all in one" for a private coach like myself. The support is awesome. They are always listening and looking to make things work for the customer. I'm excited for my business to grow with Upper Hand.

Response from Upper Hand

Thanks for your review Eric!

Peter D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upper hand Review

Reviewed on 2020/01/30

Overall I have had a very good experience with upper hand their customer service support is extremely efficient

Pros

Overall a very good product reasonably priced and very good customer service

Cons

I think the software overall is very good with constant upgrades

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Peter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We're thrilled to hear your positive feedback about our product, customer support, and constant upgrades. We put a lot of work into those areas, so we're glad to hear it's serving the purpose!

Have a great day!

Freddy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly and great features

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

Pros

Tabs are easy to use and build registration links. Customer support is very responsive.

Cons

Would like to have more access to be able to add/delete certain things. I feel like I have to ask support as opposed to there just being a button to do it myself.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Freddy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you find our software easy to use and positive experiences with our customer support team. Thank you for your feedback on how we can continue to improve!

Have a great day!

Sandi L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

New User

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

Being a new user we are still figuring out the system and find it difficult to "undo" some of the problems we are running in to. Customer Support has been great about helping us with work arounds and more importantly, escalating problems that aren't fixable to the design team to see if they can implement some needed changes.

Pros

It provides a means to keep our appointments organized.

Cons

It doesn't let you manipulate much for our specific need.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Sandi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you have had a great experience with our support staff.

We're sorry to hear that you've found it difficult to undo certain things, and we'd like to learn more about the specifics you're referring to. We will be reaching out to setup a product feedback call to learn more about these use cases.

Again, thank you for the review!

Sal R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

DBAT Chatt

Reviewed on 2020/02/03

Pros

It seems to be a very usable software with everything we need in our business.

Cons

Biggest drawback is the lack of training that we received. And for the most part we struggled to get quick response to problem solving as they arose. Tho that has changed greatly in last week or so. Again, most likely due to training issues and not program issues

Response from Upper Hand

Sal,

First off, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that our software does everything you need to operate your business. However, we are sorry about the lack of initial training you and your staff received.

We hope that having our staff on site at your facility over the next two days will help solve this issue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Angela M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upper Hand

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Pros

Upper Hand is the ultimate sports software and really does give you the "upper hand". Ready to use and all the information you need right at your fingertips.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about this software.

Response from Upper Hand

Hey Angela,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear you've had a positive experience with our software!

Have a great day!

Paul H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Upper Hand and my basketball camps

Reviewed on 2020/01/21

All in all, Upper Hand works well with customers. The communication with the customer is so important and Upper Hand works hard to match the customer with the proper support cast.

Pros

Upper Hand assists with the process for a novice like me. This is very helpful for my summer sport camps.

Cons

Just learning how to use something new can be challenging to someone like me.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for your review! We are excited to hear that we have made a difference in organizing your summer sport camps, and are thrilled to hear you have had a positive experience with our support team! If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out.

Thank you again, and have a great day!

Trinity D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works great for what we need!

Reviewed on 2020/11/18

They’ve all been great and very helpful!

Pros

Clients can view schedules and book all on their own. I can view and control all coaches schedules.

Cons

The processing fees for taking credit cards although it is standard.

Response from Upper Hand

Hi Trinity,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear you've had a great experience with Upper Hand, and we look forward to continuing to grow with you!

Have a great day!