40 reviews

ThoughtFarmer

Social, collaborative intranet software for organizations

4,8 /5 (40 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
40 reviews
Margo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Set Up, Use, and Exciting for Employees

Reviewed on 2021/03/10

ThoughtFarmer allowed us to finally centralize all of our company information into one portal. The setup was easy, and we enlisted representatives from different teams at our company to help fill out each team page. Employees were very excited about the launch and all of the setup and training was definitely worth having a working system that our employees like to use.

Pros

The onboarding process and training were extremely helpful. The software itself is highly intuitive so not a ton of training was needed to get us up and running right away. Our support representative was there to answer any and all questions, and the entire support team was extremely fast with all of our questions.

Cons

I have very few complaints about the software itself. Nothing comes to mind of anything I didn't like.

Brittany L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent Customer Service

Reviewed on 2020/10/27

The customer service team at ThoughtFarmer is great. Every time there is an issue, or we don't know how to solve a question, we reach out to the team. They are speedy with their replies, and usually have very straight forward direction and imagery to help solve the problem. Thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for all of your help in the first year of our Intranet!

Pros

The software is overall straight forward to use. The Thoughtfarmer community page is a great way to learn tips and tricks on various software capabilities that we didn't realize were there.

Cons

Challenges with employees connecting to the intranet when off of our Network - but this also may not be a Thoughtfarmer problem! This has made it a bit challenging for our jobsite employees (who never come into the office) to get used to using the Intranet and integrating it in their daily lives. But everyone in the office has had a great experience with it.

Josh A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Finally found the right Intranet!

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

It took far too long to find this product, and perhaps ThoughtFarmer needs marketing help, but this product is a near-perfect fit for our medium-size video production company. The organization and simplicity of this database will be easy for our employees to use, and hopefully they will enjoy using it.

Pros

I love the simplicity, user experience and features offered in ThoughtFarmer, as well as the ability to administrate without needing a deep IT background.

Cons

The calendar integrations are one-way, and can only come from ThoughtFarmer. We use other programs and it would be helpful if ThoughtFarmer could receive RSS calendar feeds, not just create them.

Pierre-luc T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ThoughtFarmer review

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

The product is great and the support as well. Everyone I talk to is very professional and very responsive. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Pros

Easy to use. It takes a few moments to get used to the card system. The administrative tools are great (especially with the new version 9)

Cons

If some0one leaves the company, we need to transfer the user's ownership to someone else. We don't always have the replacement right away. There is no way to know once the pages are transfered who it belonged to. There could maybe have a sort of history log as to who had the pages so that we could group them then transfer them to another person (maybe if someone changes departments and transfers them to another)

Robin F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fantastic and user-friendly intranet software

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Pros

ThoughtFarmer turned our intranet from an outdated repository of information to a dynamic site for employees. The kudos feature is great, and the news feed is really good. Very easy to use - all kinds of people (with varying tech savviness) have been posting news items. I like that we can target the audience, e.g. post specifically to leaders.

Cons

Adding header images doesn't quite do what's expected in terms of resizing images. I don't love that almost everything you do ends up in the activity feed, i.e. people creating pages and adding events to group calendars. Not all relevant to the whole organization and it makes some of the more pertinent information harder to see.

Peter S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

Pros

Ease of use, features, support, and flexibility.

Cons

Fully Microsoft stack. Not for Linux-only shops, unless go with the cloud version.

Karri K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2020/02/14

We really like ThoughtFarmer. Support has been excellent and the resources available through the ThoughtFarmer community are also a great tool to help troubleshoot and resolve issues as we learned a new program.

Pros

This is a great intranet software; by far better than what we had! We have a lot of options to set-up information to share company wide. It has been very effective in helping streamline procedures and helping keep everyone connected.

Cons

I wish the home page news carousel could be prioritized in an order other than when it is published. We have to go republish items we want to remain up there to bump off other new items that may have expired. For example, we had a company wide "wear red day" for heart healthy month. Once that day was over to get that message to expire we had republish ones that were behind it. We are also working through an issue with getting email notifications sent when a form is submitted. Support has been excellent!

Denise N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ThoughtFarmer for the Intranet WIN!!

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

Our company did not have any Intranet at all when we purchased ThoughtFarmer, so it was overwhelming to try to imagine how to sort and categorize all of our documentation. We utilized ThoughtFarmer's professional services to help us with it, and it was worth every penny!! They were so great to work this - their process is easy to follow and allowed us to get all of our staff involved. The results were a very logical and easy to follow Information Architecture that I'm not sure we would have ever gotten to without their help - certainly not in the time frame they made it happen in!!

Pros

Using this software is like riding a bike - takes a little practice using all the different features, but once you've done it a bit, it's a piece of cake!! I don't have to go back to notes to remember how I made something work a certain way - it's all very logical and easy to do time and time again.

Cons

I guess what I liked least about the software is that it uses rich text editor which is a bit different from Word, so it took a little bit to get used to. But that's stretching trying to find something negative to say... lol

Deann D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legislative Office
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Office Intranet

Reviewed on 2020/02/24

Pros

Navigation ease; notifications feature; ability to save links internally and external to intranet; main page banner to highlight important announcements

Cons

We require staff to follow certain pages (i.e., manuals/guides) to ensure they receive notification of changes; however, setting up new staff to follow the many pages is very time consuming -- need a feature that allows an administrator to select from a listing of pages. Would also be helpful if selecting a page to follow also prompts user to choose to also follow all pre-existing and new sub-pages.

Dave R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A strong and versatile social intranet

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Pros

Our organization has used ThoughtFarmer for 5 years and we have found it to be an invaluable communication tool that is quick to learn and intuitive. Collaboration has been made easy using this social intranet, regardless of the location of staff or their schedules. Technical support is delivered quickly and reliably through both their helpdesk and the helpful community site.

Cons

ThoughtFarmer's workflow elements could be more robust, but each software update adds more and more workflow pieces.

Anna Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-Friendly Interface For Less Tech-Savvy Team

Reviewed on 2019/07/16

Fantastic, quick customer service responses; we love that it is Canadian; user-friendly interface on the front and back ends. Would reccommend to anyone.

Pros

I feel like I do not need to be a developer or programmer to click around the back end with ease. The front end is also extremely easy to use for our staff, many of whom are older or less comfortable with using the internet as a whole.

Cons

I don't have much to say about what I don't like; I suppose our organization has had some very custom needs lately and it has taken some time to figure those out and get them set up, but ThoughtFarmer has done their very best to work with us and get them implemented, and it is shaping up.

Chelsea L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great way to communicate!

Reviewed on 2019/11/27

I haven't been working with TF long, but I have very much enjoyed the experience.

Pros

Most of TF is intuitive and is easy to use. I like that it uses a Word type format which makes implementing text easy. It's easy to use word files or pdfs or input photos and create links. The pages load quickly and easily and it's very easy to organize your pages, add new ones, or move other ones. One of the best features is that once a document or link is created, it will always be there, even if you move pages - the links won't break - making editing a breeze because all you have to do is edit the root document! The customer service is great and they are always willing to hear your suggestions and attempt to implement them!

Cons

There are a few things missing - the ability to add photos and move them around freely without left or right justification. I'd like things to be scheduled (totally possible) but with a take down or delete date. I'd also like to have a "view as" option so that I can see what I am posting and how it will look without saving and editing and looking and then saving/editing/looking over and over.

Tim K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Intranet Product

Reviewed on 2020/10/24

Pros

This is a great looking intranet, very easy to navigate and use. The search is very strong, quick, and in-depth.
From an administrative stand point it is very easy to manage as it runs on IIS and uses modern systems (ex. Amazon Corretto). Active Directory integration is nice.
The support team is fantastic to deal with; quick to respond and supplies plenty of information.

Cons

Could use a larger Knowledge Base. That's all I can think of!

Joshua N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Completely satisfied with our experience. Exceeded expectations.

Reviewed on 2018/05/29

Employee engagement
A great way to disseminate information
a social experience at work that helps users hear and be heard

Pros

The ease of use and how easily certain aspects can be customized are probably my favorite parts. But, it seems worth mentioning that the implementation process was also pretty enjoyable and informative. I feel like we learned a lot and were able to really launch something that our employees would engage. And they did.

Cons

There isn't a particular part of ThoughtFarmer that we don't enjoy. The only issue I have is... I wish it had a learning management system integrated. But, that's more of a just a wish/request.

Glenda L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy-to-use custom intranet

Reviewed on 2019/06/11

Pros

Customizable, user-friendly interface. Predictive search function is excellent. The staff at ThoughtFarmer provided excellent training for our team to get our intranet up and running and made it easy for us to transition from our old system to the new one.

Cons

We are happy with the software overall. There are a few areas where we'd like to be able to sort/alphabetize tables but these are fairly minor details.

Eric P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An impressive offering as a company communication channel, collaboration site, and central...

Reviewed on 2019/11/27

It has worked very well to be a jumping off point for communications. It has replaced our company newsletter, previous sharepoint intranet, other sharepoint and google docs shares, survey mechanisms, and previously paper-based forms.

Pros

It is extremely easy to use and intuitive for users and administrators for all the basic functionality. It was very fast to put in place. It has great analytics to look at engagement and use

Cons

Would like to be able to build security groups more easily in the software directly, but I understand this functionality is in development.

Erin F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Way to Keep Staff Engaged!

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

Easy, accessible, responsive!

Pros

This is a great tool to keep staff updated and able to access the tools they need to do their jobs.

Cons

There isn't much to not like. Maybe more design options.

Melanie Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Platform

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

We now have all of our material in one place and everything is easy to find!

Pros

I really enjoy the ease of use when creating content on our Thoughtfarmer platform. The pages and layouts are visually appealing and the support team is amazing!

Cons

It would be nice if we could upload Excel documents

Brittany N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ThoughtFarmer has been great to work with

Reviewed on 2021/02/15

My experience is great as we no longer need to move while looking to share documents or messages.

Pros

ThoughtFarmer has a friendly UI interface that makes it easy to navigate the entire software features.
Internal communications has been lifted by ThoughtFarmer.

Cons

Currently, all the drawbacks has been rectified by the vendor customer support, which they offer as soon as possible.

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Collaboration made easy

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

Pros

You can set up a corporate Intranet quite easily with this product. There are a lot of out-of-the-box cool templates, features and functionalities. Integration with Active Directory is also a very nice feature, the security of the sections of our Intranet isa based on AD Security Groups. Support is quite excellent also!

Cons

Document collaboration and and co-authoring is not really possible. Working with files is still difficult in ThoughtFarmer. You can upload Word documents , and edit it using a small app that runs on your computer. Unfortunately, sometimes the files get lock, and changes get lost. As a workaround, we've started linking files on Office 365 to collaborate instead of having the files directly on the Intranet.

Marie J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unmatched Customer Service & Easy-To-Use Software? Choose ThoughtFarmer!

Reviewed on 2019/11/27

Pros

The customer support team for ThoughtFarmer is exceptional! From upgrading to the newest version of the software to working out any issues I had with their features, I can ALWAYS count on the ThoughtFarmer support team to guide me through the process and resolve any issues.

Cons

My company recently upgraded to one of the more recent versions of the software. While I love all the new features that it offers, many features are still being developed or are in the pipeline for the future. Their new FormFlow feature has a lot of potential but still has a lot of limitations given that it's a newer feature.

Rebecca A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great value for intranet

Reviewed on 2019/03/25

We initially looked into ThoughtFarmer as a way to connect multiple offices and keep our entire company aware of corporate initiatives and news.

Pros

After a bit of a learning curve, it's very easy to use as an administrator. Once you understand the concept of adding pages/forums/groups etc, everything is based on that concept. The search functionality is excellent and used extensively by our staff. Being able to give people access to different areas/content or message everyone/individual groups makes it a very useful tool for a multi-office company.

Cons

If there is anything I would suggest it would be to have more integration with MS Office documents. Being able to edit documents directly in the software would be great. But on the whole it's an extremely useful software!

Nate R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Slick, glitch free, and adaptable intranet tool

Reviewed on 2020/01/28

We’ve built a community platform for lawyers and related professionals to share info and network. The granular access controls and security groups allow good siloing.

Pros

It works solidly and reliably. Very hard to break! I’m sure I’ve spent a thousand hours in this tool as an admin and power user. And the results look great in desktop or mobile.

Cons

Lack of integration with automation services like Zapier or IFTTT. It would be nice to have more ways to publish content to the intranet without manually logging on.

Cheldon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Been a couple years... my thoughts.

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

ThoughtFarmer has been great to work with and responded to our questions in a timely fashion. They always offer suggestions about how to achieve our goals.

Pros

The software is easy to use and added a lot of features to our internal portal that did not exist before. I like the interface and that I can find information easily and quickly.

Cons

Some advanced features require programming to enable the features or use them as needed. There is also not enough security built into the application framework itself.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We implemented ThoughtFarmer as our Intranet software 5 years ago, and are happy with the...

Reviewed on 2018/05/29

It's easy for employees to add content to the Intranet, also to connect all employees in the company

Pros

The product is easy to use, there's very little reliance on IT, customer service is great, usually get a response within a few hours

Cons

n/a, software has been continuously enhanced over the past 5 years, new features added to make the product more engaging, the company listens to its customers, and tries to add requests to the roadmap