508 reviews

ActivTrak

Contextual User Activity Monitoring

4,6 /5 (508 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
508 reviews
Diana B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tracking and Visibiltiy

Reviewed on 2020/08/26

Activtrak is a great tool. During the pandemic it gave us visibility to user activity and continues to assist us daily in process improvement

Pros

Activtrak gives management and users the ability to see what they are viewing as well as KPI Reporting to track productivity of users so that evaluations can be made of how to improve a user or particular positions productivity.

Cons

Inability to import activtrack users. Upgrading to a newer version sometimes loses the continuity for a person.

Jose luis V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Information security

Reviewed on 2020/07/29

This is a reliable solution and is one of our most important investments yearly.

Pros

This software let our company provide a more secure environment and add our final customers proof of that we have no "strange" vulnerabilities.

Cons

You need a lot of time to deploy and and make actualizations on the information you need to have a 100% service up and working.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Features are impeccably accurate and in line with the advertised elements

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Pros

The ability to monitor employees’ and their workstations through a single interface is an upgrade in my work area. Time tracking and productivity analysis have helped me greatly in my work and are currently my favorite features out of all the great features of Activtrak. I have tried other software with similar promoted features but it slows the system down, with ActivTrak, the system works well and there seems to be no lag period. It is great.

Cons

A live feed of the employees’ screen is not available. It would be a great addition if features include live feed because as of now, screenshots are just available.

Micha B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love This!!

Reviewed on 2016/11/03

ActivTrak is great. It allows us to monitor employees remotely, block harmful or distracting websites, and overall helps us find ways to boost productivity and helps to insure safety on our endpoint devices.

Pros

This software is very easy to use, invisible to your end users, and the best part is that it's free for up to 3 users, so you can try it out before you commit to subscribing.

Cons

No cons

Response from Birch Grove Software

Hi Micha!

Thank you so much for this review! We love hearing success stories!

If you'd like to be featured in an ActivTrak case study, please contact your Account Manager and we can highlight your improvements in productivity and safety!

Thank again!

Ramiz
ActivTrak
Marketing

Tim B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A good monitoring product to keep an eye on productivity

Reviewed on 2018/03/15

Pros

I use this product to keep an eye on my employees, block sites that they shouldn't be going to while on the clock, and to track productivity of my agents.

Cons

I have the free version of the product and my biggest issue is that when you get to a certain amount of space used it stops recording screenshots and will not let you access any information. If you don't happen to log in for a few days and you hit that threshold then all of the information at that point is considered gone as you have to delete it all in order to start recording again or access your info which is annoying. Or you can upgrade to the paid version and this wouldn't happen but the free version is perfect for that I need it for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product and Service

Reviewed on 2018/01/22

This product can do exactly what they are advertising. You can set this program up on a computer and once that computer is logged into, the program is tracking at all times. The activity report is very detailed and it shows when a screenshot was taken.

Pros

You can see screenshots of different time intervals and you can export the time to excel for records. It has very easy to use interface and track the productive time effectively. it also provides two factor authentication along with Active directory integration which completed the feature list.

Cons

All the stored information can eat up your hard drive space very quickly. No OCR for screenshots it captured and no keylogging mechanism is provided.

Naveen kumar B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive and Easy to use, Among the best

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

I travel a lot due to my work profile, Activtrak makes my employees monitoring easy.

Pros

almost impossible to detect
user friendly dashboard
optimum space to store screenshots
free to use for 3 devices
simple installation process

Cons

could have been more economical for paid versions.
to check out pricing you have to create an account.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ActivTrak Can usher in the future of education

Reviewed on 2019/12/07

Overall ActivTrak is great! I think that, as more schools embrace technology in the classroom, this software will be an essential component to the new and improved learning process.

Pros

I like that this makes data collection and analysis of my students easy for me. My students use lots of adaptive learning software and it helps to be able to view all their data and productivity in one place.

Cons

Sometimes the software loads a bit slow. I will want to quickly find data and it lags a bit. I also really wish there was a way to view productivity within certain time windows.

Jose M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

1 year Review

Reviewed on 2018/12/10

It took a full hour for me to review all of the bells and whistles and get used to the software. After that, it was a breeze and easy to use. Being able to monitor my employees from anywhere in the world is just fantastic.

Pros

-Ease of use
-Very Accessible
-Live Viewing

Cons

Out of the 5 times I contacted customer support, there was only one time that took longer than usual for them to respond. Other than that, everything was just dandy.

Brian G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good until recently

Reviewed on 2018/01/11

Great understanding of my employees' ability to focus.

Pros

Great picture of what your employees are doing with their time and no computer slow down. Reports are easy to run and can handle multiple screens at once.

Cons

Will not work with certain security products installed on the machines. Overall very positive experience but we are struggling to use now with McAfee.

Randy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great way to keep track of workstations with compliance requirements

Reviewed on 2018/01/11

I can review usage from my company computers and ensure they are not acting in a bad manner.

Pros

It wsss simple to setup and the users are not impacted in any way. Kind of best of both worlds. The details received let's me complete audit reports for my compliance review much quicker than before using the product.

Cons

I have had a couple of agents stop working and require a reinstall. Having a built-in alert for devices that have not checked in for xxx number of days would be a good addition.

Tiffany W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice price and easy interface

Reviewed on 2019/09/15

Easier for customers to sign up for classes and make their monthly membership payments online.

Pros

Easy to navigate for customers. Nice and easy interface easy to use for admins. Automated alerts, ability to track Productivity.

Cons

No way to type in words in a search bar to easily navigate what youre looking for. Would be nice not to have to scour through the website looking for what you need. Easier to type it in a search bar box at the top of the page

Serghei P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall great experience

Reviewed on 2018/02/06

Pros

The account was easy to setup, as was the agent installation. This was made possible with clear and concise documentation. Also appreciate the flexibility of the reports, and last but least the great support offered even if we're using it within the free license limit.

Cons

At times I found the organization of the reports and categories a little cumbersome, by my own logic and other software used in the past, but this might be down just to personal preference.

Tony T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great customer support, wish it had a few more features

Reviewed on 2018/01/12

Insight into user behavior

Pros

Easy to install
Unobtrusive and almost completely invisible to the end user
Compatible with antivirus and other security applications
It does what is claims to do

Cons

Limited customization for enterprise type deployments, for example I would like to capture screenshots more frequently but at lower resolution
No keystroke logging - I understand the philosophy behind not doing it, but enterprise customers need this functionality

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Pros

I love the fact I don't have to have the software on my computer and I can just look on a browser to see if my employees are getting their work done. Also it doesn't show up in the programs running in the background, so nobody know this is even on their computer.

Cons

I've noticed after a week it will stop syncing and then I'll have to reinstall the new software. It's really frustrating and I don't know how to get it to stop this.

Kim M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This software allows me to easily review my employees work each day which provides peace of...

Reviewed on 2018/01/12

This software allows me to preview my employees work frequently and provides peace of mind. Their productivity has increase dramatically knowing I'm watching!

Pros

I receive frequent screenshots. I've made my employees aware that I'm checking this often and their productivity has increased dramatically.

Cons

There is a one day delay in viewing their work. I'm unable to see what they are doing in real time.

John michael T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very satisfied! It's easy to use!

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

Pros

I was able to monitor my employee real time. I can check their task anywhere instead of being around in the office just to check for their task. It's also hassle-free. This app is value for money.

Tamara S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This program is great for tracking the productivity of employees or family memebers

Reviewed on 2018/06/11

Tracking of all activity on employees or family members. I can know what documents are taking the most time, what projects are being worked on, and if there is any goofing off taking place during scheduled work time. I like that it also tracts idle time.

Pros

It seems to be very thorough in tracking. I am able to categorize applications and websites as productive, unproductive which helps with quick analysis of activity and productivity. The screenshots are very effective also. I am able to look at the entire team, or just an individual's usage.

Cons

Learning to get around the interface was a bit challenging, and I think I still have some learning to do to be more efficient. I haven't quite figured out how to use all the functionality.

Carina H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It helped me to keep track on who is not working and who is.

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

It is very user friendly.
Easy to install
Easy to use.
The customer service is awesome.
I did not have to go through a manual to get to know this product.
One of your consultants contact me to know if I am happy and getting on well with the program so it is a Pro that customer service is so good.

I am a very happy customer.

Omakoji I.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It helps me to keep track of my weekly performance.

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

The recent screen-shots feature gives an employer, an actual view of an employee's
activities. In addition to that, an employer can also see what an employee is doing in real-time.
The alarm feature is also a great way of alerting an employer that an employee is spending
time on unproductive activities. Furthermore, an employer can know what an employee is
spending most of his/her time doing. This can help the employer better allocate tasks as
required to the employee or make some other decision.
It does more than track an employee. It also can do the job of a router or firewall by blocking access to certain websites.

One of the features about rescue time I really like is the weekly digest feature which is
available in ActivTrak.

The single page approach taken makes ActiveTrak easy to use and overall user friendly.

Cons

The Color and lack of appealing graphics for the graphs and charts in the administrative panel. The layout and balance between positive(non-white)space and negative(white) space.

Craig N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for productivity tracking.

Reviewed on 2020/08/13

ActivTrak was a useful productivity tool before the Covid19 lockdown. As an existing customer, we have managed to use the tool to identify those struggling with connectivity, productivity and working hours.

It has been an invaluable tool for our HR team when needing data as evidence.

Pros

Ability to classify applications/websites as productive or unproductive to determine productivity levels and understand workloads.

Cons

The interface can be a bit of a maze. Multiple ways of getting to the same page and at the same time sometimes hard to get back to where you have been before. Not always intuitive. Once you have been using it for a while and the data set is larger queries can take some time to return results.

Sean H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Monitoring

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

Customer Support was amazing, I accidentally deleted some very important information. They worked hard to help me to recover as much as possible.

Pros

Offers a great way to monitor employees with scheduling screenshot alarms.

Cons

Nothing, the software is great. The only exception would be the limitation on the free tier. If you go over the data limit your only option is to delete all data or upgrade.

Lakshmi A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

Pros

Pretty simple console for performing complicated tasks and easily monitored dashboard. This has the different views for different level access makes it a unique product.

Cons

Adding extra fee storage for the free tier could help in better exploring the product and also access to screen shots for limited time would work better

John M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Absolutely worth it. Great piece of mind.

Reviewed on 2018/01/11

Overview and accountability of user activity. No more no less.

Pros

The live reports and the categorization of the activities. Customizing good/vs bad by industry is important. What might be improper at a bank is 100% fine for my users, and I can program it as such.

Cons

Historical records are clunky. It's either NOW or EVERYTHING EVER. Hard to just pick a day and go from there.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Works very well.

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Tracks everything lol.....does a good job of it.

Pros

It does what I needed it too; and more. I like the graphs the most. I easily lets me see what sites are being hit the most within my organization.

Cons

Probably the little pop ups in the corner where it looks like a technician is waiting to speak with me. Just annoying.