49 reviews

Device42

Automated IT infrastructure visualization & management tools

4,8 /5 (49 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
49 reviews
Earl G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!

Reviewed on 2018/02/08

Pros

Product is easy to learn and put to use
We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product
Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code.
New features being added all the time
API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation

Cons

I can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO

Kevin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Device installation use and troubleshooting

Reviewed on 2019/01/10

Overall the product is value for money. If you invest the time needed you will be rewarded with a powerful and comprehensive computer resource audit database.

Pros

Simple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool.

Cons

Fiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly

Jeff C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great ITIL Software

Reviewed on 2018/08/24

It has improved our level of service and support to our end users because of the ease of finding information quickly.

Pros

One of the most comprehensive software packages I have used to track IP's, inventory, network and server information. Great search capabilities.

Cons

It took a little bit of a learning curve to figure out the best way to enter my data. Once I got that down it was OK.

Jeffrey A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The CMDB we have been looking for.

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

An independent hardware/software inventory system that can generate reports for renewals and keep track of hardware locations.

Pros

Very responsive support. Collects a lot of information from the devices themselves. Easy to make bulk additions or changes with import/exports to Excel.

Cons

This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Admittedly I have little experience with this software

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

We never went past the review process. It just wasn't bringing what we needed to move forward. I

Pros

They had some interesting features, i like the rest API and the link to Jira. They did seem very strong in the integration department.

Cons

The overall interface was not what we hoped for. It was difficult for us to find something and all the relationships that were important to us in an efficient manner. Too many click through steps. We were looking for a more complete CI picture.

Response from Device42

Hello-

Sorry for the late response and thank you for the feedback.

We recently released a new version with a new UI and a new reporting engine that should help fix a lot of the cons you posted.

Please see the blog post below and if you'd like to setup another free trial please let us know and we'll be glad to set that up and get you on the phone with an engineer.

https://www.device42.com/blog/2018/04/device42-gets-a-new-look-in-milestone-release-v15/

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Device42 review

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is
appreciated by our change manager.

Pros

Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

Cons

The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros

D42 support is very quick and to the point.
Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily.
This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase.
This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies.
It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons

Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports.
No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite.
sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning.
No CLI option

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product and excellent support

Reviewed on 2017/12/22

Pros

We use Device42 to implement our customer environments. It gives us a great overview of the customers IT estate and enables us to track inventory and server layout connections. Their Support is really responsive and helpful and when an issue or feature request is put in support works with development and the customer until the issue is fully resolved and tested

Cons

This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good software

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

Pros

Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

Cons

The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Device42 Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/30

We use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn’t imagine not having it.

Pros

Device42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it’s an appliance. Their support is excellent — you can tell that they put customers first.

Cons

I have a few feature requests that I’d like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).

John C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great customer support

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

We were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.

Pros

Extremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.

Cons

Although I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.

Ezra O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

D42 Review

Reviewed on 2018/08/28

We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros

It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons

It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

Dustin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and service.

Reviewed on 2018/08/09

Pros

This product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!

Cons

There are no cons on this product other than going to version 15 requires another virtual machine. But that's minor.

Paul P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software, amazing support

Reviewed on 2018/08/01

It's great for keeping track of all inventory. This is exceptionally helpful with the number of leased devices we have as we have custom reporting alerting us when they are about to expire.

Pros

Very comprehensive software. Easy to run custom reporting that suits our environment. Able to attach documentation to assets. It does it's job exceptionally well. The support for any questions or issues we encounter is exceptionally good. I submitted a simple ticket via email and it was resolved within 10mins. Any ticket I've submitted for assistance was updated very quickly, and if the issue was more substantial, their techs would follow up consistently.

Cons

Backup options are a bit limited to use what is pre-configured. Would be great to be able to use a backup system like Datto, but we were able to work with the pre-configured solution.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Value for money

Reviewed on 2019/03/25

It's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.

Pros

The functionality of the software and the various options for discovery

Cons

Assessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud

Hindi - J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Device 42

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

Pros

Easy to use and have multiple choices for scanning all platforms

Cons

Application mapping and impact it’s a little complicated tree

Rajesh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Device42 Review

Reviewed on 2019/05/02

excellent

Pros

Autodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface

Cons

No support to auto discover ucs servers

Andreas Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential

Reviewed on 2018/03/15

Pros

- Easy to use
- Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs
- Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)

Cons

- Licensing
- Full and direct application HA failover missings

Zack G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen

Reviewed on 2016/09/15

I've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...

Pros

Ease of installation and functionality

Cons

Price

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support.

Reviewed on 2018/08/06

Pros

For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation
It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

Cons

At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

Christopher G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment.

Reviewed on 2019/04/30

Overall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products.

If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.

Pros

The feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team.

Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours.

They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).

Cons

We have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World

Reviewed on 2017/11/20

Pros

I have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.

Andreas Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good IPAM Solution

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

We gained following efforts :
- global IPAM solutions
- active IP usability tracking (ping Sweep)
- Service Now Integration (REST Integration)
- Single Source of truth for network items

Pros

We use this tool as global IPAM solution also for automated processes and its working very good. API is clearly documented and support is always willing to help

Cons

Some usability concepts are not so common as compared to other IPAM products (e.g. Bluecat), which needs more time to get familiar with the concept (e.g. subnet move, split, merge).
But support is always open for guidance and feature requests

Rob S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful and simple asset management for the data center

Reviewed on 2018/05/22

Automated inventory and asset management

Pros

The customer service is really top-notch. The software itself is easy to install and use, and it's very powerful. Compared to other inventory and asset management applications I've used, Device42 offers a lot more functionality and a lot less hassle. The engineers release an update every week or two, and these updates often contain substantial improvements. The product just keeps getting better and better with every iteration!

Cons

As powerful as it is, Device42 is still missing a few features that would be nice to have. Not all hardware is supported for automated discoveries. However, I'm confident that the D42 engineers are working on it!

Uri U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Device42 is THE CMDB!! look no further!

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

We use Device42 as the source of truth for our automation deployments.

Pros

Simple, clean and it has API functions that allow us to access the information on any platform.

Cons

It does not have mobile app access and the site is not optimized for any portable devices.