See the survey
It's easy to use, loads quickly, and has information I need, from reports to a class list, at my fingertips.
It doesn't prorate fees for semester-based programs. A student joining week #4, for example, should have an automatic system to prorate and provide the late registrant with their adjusted amount to pay. It doesn't calculate so I have to do it manually. I'm embarrassed to tell the parent to follow these steps:
1. Go online, register and pay the full price, as that's the only way the registration can be completed.
2. Send me an email to let me know you've completed your registration and have paid the full amount.
3. I go into their family account after I have done the math, and do a credit adjustment for 4 weeks the family has missed at rate
3. I have to modify their account after the credit adjustment.
4. Next I have to issue a credit for $48 back onto their credit card (have to pay merchant card services extra fee to issue a credit
5. I send the family an email to let them know their statement should reflect a credit of $48 on it, within a few days.
This process takes at least 5 minutes. We probably have an estimated 40 or more students join our classes after we have already started our 14-week session. I, personally, have to do each of these prorate transactions by myself, often on days I've already taught 5 classes, and have a million emails to reply, and staff to manage. Please, please, prorate automatically for semester-based users. My SIL says it should take a programmer hardly any time at all to set it up to help us!
We do prorate for ongoing, monthly payment classes, but as you say, the up front semester based sessions do not have that option at the moment.
Have you thought about changing the class price every week? Would that be easier and cause less customer impact?
Contact me if you want to discuss that option.
I would like to see a few upgrades to YV. While I do think it is a good program I think it is missing some key features. In particular, you used to be able to adjust the font size in emails. That feature disappeared a year or two ago and has never returned. This seems like a basic function that should never have been removed. I also find that when I am writing a lengthy newsletter, the system tends to time out and freeze. It doesn't not auto save and on numerous occasions I have had to rewrite a newsletter 3 times due to this happening. I don't think it should time out when I am working in the program. I've also had issues with photos. Suddenly photos that I have uploaded and saved and previously used turn up as question marks in my emails - even when I try to re-upload them. The system does not give me a reason why they are not working and I can view them in my saved photos. So this is very strange.
An additional feature I would like to see is the client being able to print off their own invoice, receipt or statement that also shows tax amount when they access their accounts.
And finally I would like to see some improvements to the Kindermusik public site templates. They are extremely outdated looking. The price point is great for YV which is why I continue to use it. However I think it's past due time to make it look fresh and and hip.
Ability to clone sessions. Fairly easy to use. Price point is great.
Public site looks incredibly outdated - I would say by 15 plus years.
Lack of certain features as previously explained: cannot adjust font sizes, system times out/freezes, not all photos work, client access to print receipts/statement/invoice with tax shown.
Thanks for the review.
You have some great specifics there, and I am going to add them to the feature request area on the support site.
I don't know if you reported that image issue, but I suspect it is a known issue that we fixed a few months ago. It affected iOS mail and caused images to not load due to security settings needed for those mail clients.
Send us some suggestions for websites you like - we are periodically looking for new template ideas.
Overall I have had a very good experience with YourVirtuoso. The website is easy to use, even for someone like me who isn't that tech savvy. I can add class semesters/schedules easily, I can see family account info, class rosters and make switches on the back end if necessary. My teachers can be included on automatic communications which makes things easier. The customer service has been improving in terms of length of time of response and they are open to suggestions and feedback. Families generally have an easy time navigating the site, finding class schedules, registration, demo classes. I really like the online make up scheduler for ease with make up classes. There are quite a few functions that I have not used yet so I am still learning. Overall it's been a really great experience and I highly recommend it.
Ease of adding class semesters, schedules, coupon codes.
Needing to add "required field" for families who do not enter phone/address when creating account. I also run two summer semesters and I cannot create a separate Summer Session I and Summer Session II button for this.
We are looking at ways to allow more flexibility with Session icons. I'll let you know.
We've used Your Virtuoso for 9 years and couldn't operate our business as easily or successfully without it. We've had very few problems over the years but when we have, support staff was quick to resolve issues (mostly user related!).
Easy to use, dependable, reports contain the info we need, and class rosters are exactly what we require.
It doesn't pro-rate fees automatically. For example, when a student registers week #4 of our 14-week session I have to take out time to do a manual credit adjustment requiring several time-consuming steps. I look less professional when I have to explain to the new parent how we will refund their credit card after they pay in full. We've lost a few students over the years during the multiple emails back and forth trying to gain their trust that we really will put a credit of $48 back into their credit card.
Thanks for the great review Jeannie, and the feedback on pro-rating.
We do have automatic prorates for monthly (subscription) payment plans, but I suspect you are looking for a plan that is paid "Up Front" that would prorate based on which week of the semester it is.
It's on our list!
The back office is wonderful, easy for myself and my administrative assistant to use. The client and prospective tracking is indispensable to me, as I have quite a large mailing list after 10 years.
The website needs to be updated. I would like to be able to put streaming videos on the main page. And make it easier for my clients and prospectives to navigate the website. It also would be nice to have the capability to use automated emails with this software...I pay to have that done with another company.
Send me a Help ticket and I can explain how to add videos to your site. There is a help document too if you want to look there.
I assume you are looking for a series of mailings that go out automatically when a prospect fills out a contact us form? As you know, you can schedule mailing in YourVirtuoso, and there is one sent on an initial contact. There are workarounds for sending a series of emails, but they are not fully automatic.
I have been using Your Virtuoso for a number of years. The back office is incredibly helpful with record keeping, organization, and communication. It is ever evolving in response to users' needs and requests. Jerry Cobley and his team do their best to constantly improve and add needed features. The few things I am not as happy about may already have fixes and I just haven't found them?? They are that I would like to have greater ability to customize the web page graphics, and occasionally attach word docs or photos to group (class or school) emails. As I said, it may be possible I've just missed those. Thank you, Your Virtuoso for helping us get online and having so much worked out so beautifully!
Most of the graphics can be customized, so if there is one that you are not sure about, just submit a help request and I will take a look for you.
The best way to handle attachments is usually to upload them to google drive and add a link in your email or mailing.
It saves me time and gives my customers autonomy in making payments.
It continues to improve through regular updates. I can get and manage all the information I need (provided I don't encounter bugs, which has happened a few times). Taking payments through the website is much easier than processing personal checks. The Music Together template drop-down menus make more sense than they used to.
The template is still difficult for my customers to navigate. I don't like that potential customers have to create a profile just to sign up for a demo class. I am suspicious of those types of situations myself, as I'm always afraid I'll wind up getting spammed to death. There are still bugs sometimes. I really wish there was an option to include a blog page. The whole thing is somewhat pricey.
Thanks for the review and comments.
It might be good for us to work on those Cons a bit, so feel free to issue a help ticket. The "Try a Class" feature does not require a signup, so perhaps you are creating special classes and asking families to enroll in them as they would a regular class?
We can also support a blog on the site if you set one up with a free account at blogger.com for example.
I have used YourVirtuoso since I opened my studio in 2007. After taking the time to learn the system it has been wonderful for me. Customer service is prompt and professional when I have a question. It takes care of registering students, collecting automatic payments, scheduling and sending emails, and all my record keeping. It may take a little time to become familiar with the system, but the help is there and I have found it to be a great value. I never worry about it doing the job I need to make my business function!
It does what I need for my business - online enrollments, automatic payments, class lists and attendance, scheduled emails, and keeps all my records as well as provides a good professional website
It can be tricky to learn how to use
I have always been very torn about my experience with yourvirtuoso.
When I first purchased this website template and web services, I loved everything about it. I still am very happy with the back office services (ability to build class offerings for my center, financial reports, coupons, etc.) Overall, things are easy to use.
The biggest disappointment I have with the service is the customer service and the actual website template options. The service, while timely, is usually general and the staff seems short and non-thorough in their answers. This is just my experience.
The template options are just plain out of date. I was told months ago that there would be new, updated and relevant template options coming our way. While I understand that this is quite an undertaking, I feel like we have been given consistently inaccurate information. First, new websites would be available end of summer, then, in September, then, by the very latest, the end of October. Still have not seen a thing. I am so ready to jump ship at this point, but like I said, the back office software is what is keeping me with you. I am disappointed, but have hope!
I hope this review is helpful. These are my opinions based on my experiences.
Overall ease of use of the back office.
Love the financial reports, enrollment reports, and other reporting options.
Would love to be able to offer a shopping cart. So families can pay for more than one class (item) in one purchase.
Would also love to see the ability for my families to buy gift certificates in any amount (or in any predetermined amount) with an automatic coupon code being sent to them upon purchase (I realize I can create a coupon code and send it to a family, but wouldn't it be great if they could do it all themselves from their home?)
Is there a way for me to create a set of classes (say, Winter Term classes) and list it on the website without activating it? In other words, without allowing people to register? I'd just like for them to be able to view it.
Thanks for the review & feedback Kayla.
I am also frustrated by the delays in releasing the new templates. They are ready to go, but we are being asked to wait by MTLLC to coordinate the release with theirs.
There are a couple of options for displaying classes without registration. You can see them by searching the help system, but if they do not meet your needs let me know.
The Gift Certificate idea is a great one. I know a few folks have found ways to do it, but integrating it with our registration/payment system would be a big help.
I'll put it on our list.
I have used Your Virtuoso for a number of years as the owner of a Kindermusik Studio ranging in size between 200 and 300 students typically. I was elated when Your Virtuoso was originally released. It immediately made my life (and especially taking student registrations) tons easier. Suddenly I had registrations coming in overnight, without my having to do anything in terms of entering or even processing them. I find the account tracking, reports, rosters, and most of the registration components to be incredibly useful and have stayed with Your Virtuoso all these years as a result. It is a solid choice for a reasonable price, and I would certainly recommend that Kindermusik studios give it a look. I understand that the newest version also allows for online registration for makeups and even preview classes, additional features that I think are incredibly useful. My main issues with Your Virtuoso are that we often have problems with our emails being blocked since they show as being sent by Your Virtuoso rather than directly from us. I also needed a more customizable registration form over time as well as a different layout for the screens that parents see when they login.
online makeup scheduling
online preview scheduling
setup for automated payments
emails often get blocked when sent through Your Virtuoso
need a more customizable registration form and don't like the screen and pdf enrollment confirmation that parents get when they register online themselves
Glad YourVirtuoso is simplifying things for you.
Any suggestions on the confirmation pages? We can change those as long as it works for everyone.
Email deliverability is a constant challenge of course. Are there particular customers that have problems?
The pages the parents see are much better, mobile friendly, and more customizable in the new Version 3 if you wanted to look at upgrading?
I have been using Your Virtuoso for 10 years and love it. The flexibility it provides is just what I need. I love that I can set up billing, send out emails/newsletters and run all sorts of reports. From attendance, to income reports for tax forms, bank deposits, and more, it has saved me so much time every month. It is great that parents can access class information, make payments, schedule make ups, preview classes and that saves a lot of time as well. All my questions and any issues/concerns that come are promptly answered as well.
It does almost everything, website, enrollments, billing, make ups, mailings.
I wish the newsletters could have good formatting (like Constant Contact)
If you want to forward me your favorite newsletter format I'll see what we can do ;-)
I have used Your Virtuoso for many years. It is an invaluable part of my studio bookkeeping. I find it easy to set up and schedule my classes and great for keeping up with reports, attendance, and finances. My customers also find Your Virtuoso easy to use. Most of them use it for their online payments for my studio classes. Registrations are straightforward and payments are simple. Whether for an extended studio or Kindermusik only, I highly recommend Your Viruoso!
Ease of use and great tech support.
Kindermusik no longer uses it as one of their main reporting softwares. They developed their own in house version. This complicates things a bit, but not enough to stop using YV!
Thanks so much for the great review Pam.
We really appreciate it.
All-in-one product for maintaining customer data as well as marketing.
The customer service is stellar. If I can't figure out how to do something my concern is addressed promptly. The developer encourages suggestions for improvement, and the software is updated regularly.
Creating attractive newsletters/templates is a bit challenging unless you have a HTML/coding background. It would be nice to have a broader selection of ready-made templates to choose from for mailings.
Glad you are happy with our support and the setup process.
I will be assessing the templates for marketing emails again soon, so we hope to have some more nice options to add.
It is helpful to have not only class scheduling, but billing and mailing capabilities. I love the flexibility in setting up fees, payments, automatic billing (and billing reminders) and emails to be sent out. Being able to keep attendance has been very helpful especially for the satellite locations; I am able to see a families attendance record at all times.
Of the many options for payment plans, I am not able to total get it to do what I would like; have 8 payments even though classes run for 9 months.
Thanks for the review.
I have that payment plan enhancement on "the list" :-)
Email marketing, reports, credit card payment processing
What I like most about your virtuoso is all the reports that it can create and the marketing aspects of sending the reports to strategic age groups in the studio. I also greatly appreciate the credit card payment processing system and getting the money in my account in a quick time frame.
What I like least about your virtuoso is when a student transfers you have to manually go in and adjust the tuition for the remaining weeks.
We are looking at transfers and prorates to see if it can be simpler but still as flexible.
I have been using Your Virtuoso for approximately 13 years. I have been very pleased with its many accounting, Email and personalized functions. It's a quality program & service for the financial investment. The customer service is excellent. They always respond very promptly to my questions.
There are many capabilities that I like but most of all the ability to target customers based on certain criteria & print reports in a flash.
I would like some fresh new templates to choose from for the home page and be able to restore a session if I accidentally deleted it.
Looking at new template options. Do you have a style/example you like?
I have been using Your Virtuoso for many years, and it just keeps getting better and better. Gerry is very prompt in helping with any issues or questions I have. My music business has a beautiful website that takes care of all of my needs from providing information to prospective families, to accepting card payments, to keeping track of tax information (absolutely invaluable at tax time!). There are so many features to the website---too many to list. It is a great value for what is provided. I cannot imagine finding any other service that would provide all of this in one place. I am a happy customer since 2007! Thank you!!!
Ease of use, many features
You made my day!
As noted before, it has made my life so much easier. Oh, another benefit is the ease with which I can submit my class lists. I used to do that manually. Egad!
That it tracks my registrations and that folks can pay online. Also the ease with which I can contact someone for support.
The mailing function is not as easy as it could be. I probably need assistance to make my messages look professional and there don't seem to be as many options with the new marketing materials. But that is probably just ME.
I'll be looking at mailing templates again soon.
Hope we can tune that up for you then.
I have been using YV for several years now. The initial use and set up took some time, but I know the product well and probably don't even utilize all that it has to offer. Whenever I have had any issue, I have always gotten a quick response.
It has become much easier to use since I first started using the product. The upgrades have always been an improvement.
No specific cons for me. When I have any issue, I contact the support available and have always had success. They have even done the steps necessary to add "buttons" or videos to a page for me since I am not that technical.
I have just recently left YV as I could not get the features I was looking for. Families were seeing the amount for the year when they only had to pay monthly, when we moved students from one class to another, the financial portion went bizarre, and there were Canadian Tax reports that I asked for several times and never received. Customer support was not satisfactory for me. YV DID get me to a level with a business that was wonderful, but I have definitely outgrown it.
That you can do registration and payment processing all in one place
Transferring students always made the financial portion incorrect, having payment reports that were unreliable, not being able to get a proper Canadian Tax Report for Income tax purposes, That families had to see a yearly total when they registered even though we only charge per month.
I am sorry we could not meet your needs. I had hoped that the special mailing variable we created would provide a good solution to your Canadian Tax situation.
I understand the trade off between disclosing the total amount to be paid over the year vs potential sticker shock, and we were able to only display the monthly amount up to the final payment checkout.
We do respond within 24hrs to support requests, and try to exceed that target whenever possible.
We appreciate your business and your feedback, and good luck with your continued growth.
Customer service and maintenance are excellent! It's very easy to set the website up and to adapt it to my needs!
There are some quirks that irritate me like why are previews always scheduled a week later instead of the next available day? When I reserve a spot for a customer they frequently complain that they can't go in and pay because they are already registered!
Thanks for the feedback.
Can you call or send us a help ticket for those quirks? I think we can fix them or at least explain what is happening and how to avoid them.
I love the fact that YV makes the business part easier so I can concentrate to teach. However, I would love to see YV be more user friendly, adding pictures, videos and etc. these items just need to be much easier.
Easy to keep records for your business
Not user friendly for photos
I hope the new help widget and help documents can be useful in getting those pictures updated.
I understand it is a multi step process that can have complications with image size etc. I'll take a look at the process and see if there are ways to streamline it.
Your Virtuoso has been my "business office" since they first came out. I love it. Gerry is helpful and open to feedback. Before YV I was so disorganized and swamped with all the management stuff...to tears. Now I have time to teach more classes. Definitely pays for itself.
Once you know the program it's very easy and quick to set up classes, input family data, do specific mailings, figure out who has a balance due!
registrations and website all in one spot
It keeps all of my registrations, classes and taxes, etc organized. I like having my registration process and website all together
It's very hard to change pictures and text. I feel it looks a bit dated. I have no website writing experience so this needs to be user friendly
Thanks for the feedback Sonya.
I am thinking we need some video training and help content to clarify all the editing options.
I have used the basic level of YourVirtuoso for many years. It was a great way to transition from old record keeping to the specific business online management that I really needed. I've appreciated the responsiveness of Gerry and the team throughout my time with YV.
Focus on Kindermusik specifics
Basic level is not adaptable to my specifics. I know that I can upgrade, but the cost is a concern.
Understand the cost issue, but at $29.95 I still believe it pays for itself in no time ;-)