220 reviews

WebTitan

DNS-based web filter, malware/phishing protection & security

4,5 /5 (220 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,5
96% recommended this app
220 reviews
Scott W.

Extremely good blocking of spam, a bit hard to use though.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very good blocking of spam messages.
Works with any e-mail server setup.
Provides extra layer of protection.

Cons

Difficult to use their web interface, as a lot of the parts don't make sense. No simple method to setup multiple users quickly and easily. But once setup, it's pretty much set it and forget it. Also, you lose 99% of control of incoming messages at your e-mail server. Which may or may not be a bad thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Cody F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

OpenDNS features without the Cisco pricing

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/05
Review Source: Capterra

I have had nothing but good experiences with WebTitan. This includes support and billing services as well as product functionality.

Pros

We replaces an onsite Barracuda webfilter 410 with the WebTitan service and did not miss a beat.

Cons

What's not to like. No hardware to maintain, simple setup, more than adequate reporting, similar feature list to competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Webtitan easy to implement and excellent performance

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

It is a solution that can be perfectly integrated and it really is very effective for what you are looking for.

Pros

Its easy implementation and excellent administration make this product very effective.

Cons

The truth is there is not much that I dislike, maybe it would work a little more in the interface but it really has a good performance!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Promising, but Still Needs Some Additions

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

We use it as a content filter, and to help us identify if there seems to be malware on a device. I believe that we have been able to reduce the number of False-Positives from our previous solution, but we end up doing a lot more whitelisting, and I wonder at times if we're catching everything we should be.

Pros

Our primary reason for changing to WebTitan was cost. We had be fairly happy with our previous solution, but they kept driving up the price, forcing us to look elsewhere on our limited budget, and WebTitan was willing to work within our price range. One of the things I have found that I like about WebTitan is in how it displays some reports. Within the web console, it is easy to see if blocks are in a series, or hit and miss throughout the day. It also gives an easy to see overview if the block count is due to a single piece of software trying to "phone home" at a single URL, or if there seems to, instead, be an effort by the user to get to prohibited content via a variety of URLs. Overall, easy to use solution that works off of categories, but still is easy to whitelist or blacklist given domains, etc.

Cons

Two short-comings readily stand out for our needs/desires.
1) There is no "P2P" category. While there are legal and legitimate peer-to-peer websites and software, we want to block such activity, and limit access to such software as much as possible. Without the P2P category, we're left either with an overly restrictive policy blocking all download sites and then whitelisting a lot, or we stick with only blocking "illegal"/hacking/etc, and then blacklisting P2P sites that aren't caught in that as we find them. Neither is ideal.
2) The emailed reports are not nearly as helpful as the web console reports. I cannot seem to get it to show the same list of blocked attempts in the email. I can only get a block count by category along with a unique domain count. But without being able to see the domains along with timestamps, I have to keep going back to the console to decide if action is required or not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Mark S.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Some Customer Support Agents Amazing, Some not so Good

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/25
Review Source: Capterra

Everthing about web titan service and support has been great, except my interactions with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] as noted above.

Pros

I purchased Web Titan to block all thing pornographic from my computer. This your software has done very well!

Once blocked, I needed to ensure I couldn't get back into the account, and the only way to do this at the moment is to change the email associated with the account to one that I don't know.

So I reached out to your support and asked them to change the email address associated with the account, so I can no longer access it. Technical Support Engineer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] helped me out with this and made my dreams a reality. He did a great job and I'm thankful for that.

Cons

After the initial setup and email change, I needed to blacklist a few more URLs, including facebook, because there are plenty of sexual images on there.

I reached out to support to quickly add the URLs, (to avoid wasting time changing the email back and having me do it), and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] responded, and was incredibly rigid and resistant to helping. Basically, he's the kid at recess that tells the teacher on everyone, saying he would reprimant the support agent ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) that made this happen in the first place.

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] did an amazing job. It's [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that should be in trouble, if any, in my opinion.

Anyway, account manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] talked to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], calmed him down, and convinced him to blacklist the 5 websites in my account. The job is now done and I'm happy as can be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mike R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Webtitan - works well but hard to troubleshoot

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It seems to work as advertised with very little management of it.

Cons

Troubleshooting through history is very limited. Without setting up a syslog server to send logs to, it only has it's history page to look through. Within this page:
- I can only filter by day, but not using a specific time range in that day.
- I cannot search by destination using the FQDN, although it gives the field
- I cannot filter by Effective Policy
- I can filter by user, but due to the setup on the site, much of the user shows up as Anonymous
- There is an export feature, from which I can use Excel to do my searches, but it only exports the records visable on that one page. With the amount of endpoints I'm using, that is only about 6 mins worth of logs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Muhammad S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Web Titanic

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its a great SAAS proxy server.
You can allow and block website base on their types.
You can whitelist some domain so they never get blocked if they are under blocked category.
You can Blacklist some domain so they are always blocked if not included in blocked category.
You can add role based user for management.
I really like creating and installing Certificate to by pass or allow traffic for specific period of time. It make management so easy.
I really like the alert functionality that can notify you if someone tries to access restricted websites

Cons

It doesn't provide any feature to disable addon on browser, so user can bypass it by installing vpn plugin.
They doesn't provide any support to integrate Certificate with MSP like Kaseya, so if you have big network, its very difficult to install certificate on each endpoint using conventional way.
You cannot add more than one email in notification.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Derek A.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Easy to use, works well!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

WebTitan has provided us with a stable web filtering platform that has worked well for us for many years. We feel comfortable that it is blocking and restricting as we have configured it to do so.

Pros

WebTitan is fairly easy to setup. It is available as a cloud based solution or on prem. You can get as simple or as complicated with your filtering as you like, it will handle most situations with ease.

Cons

There are still some issues with mis-classified sites being blocked when they should not be. The web interface could be updated a bit and organized a little better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dalton J.

I needed a spam filtering service for our nonprofit's website.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software works behind the scenes, allows me to add sites I want blocked, or choose from lists generated daily (as spam comes in), and block them as desired. I also can release or whitelist based upon my desire to see more info from the blocked email.

Cons

Kaspersky has a bad reputation in the USA. I have sent a question to the company about this, but received no response to date.
This software uses their tools to do its work. Also, some emails I want to see come through, and then in the reply thread, an email that has passed to me gets blocked as the original sender replies to me. Then I have to look for it, whitelist it, (sometimes even copy / paste that email address in my approved senders list) to ensure the thread to continue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Garry K.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Webtitan and TitanHQ's other products are a great blend of functionality and ease of use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use and easy to setup and maintain.

Pros

Ease of use is important for my company so my assistants can help monitor and adjust settings as needed. TitanHQs support is great as well.

Cons

It can take a little time to tweak content settings sometimes but it's still faster than the other firewall products I've used in the past.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Baleseng M.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It has helped with my Internet usage, help to cache and control which websites are allowed.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Webdownload management, quick proxy cache.

Pros

Webfiltering and it works nicely with Linux. Web interface friendly and easy and friendly to use., nice reporting and real time activities.

Cons

It causes the application Linux operating system to freeze. I have to restart the OS but this happens on Vmware.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ciaran G.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 201-500 Employees

WebTitan Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a good experience with WebTitan and the associate support

Pros

Robust system, very few issues, needs a reboot 1 a year if we have any problems.

Cons

Not that easy to configure, some issues with allowing sites to some users an not others

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Marcel C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Flexible and efficient protection for spam.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

We are quite confident that we are well protected from virulent mails and spam.

Pros

We choose the cloud version which minimise the installation process, with the cloud version, we are can easily monitor and administer the tool which is very useful. The interface is user friendly and easy to work with. Support is efficient and respond quickly which is a very important point with such a product.

Cons

We would like to be able to sort colomns in the quarantine area to help sort out bad mails and remove them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bjarke V.

We have been very satisfied customers for many years, we are still amazed how well it's performing.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, the capture rate, the amount of false hits. It's super low by the way. Maybe 1 in 2000. Customer support, Titan is super responsive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Cosmin S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good and easy to setup

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

I was able to filter websites within the organisation

Pros

I am the person who set this up for a company and I like how simple the process was. After I receive my credentials to log in, I was able to set the filters in less than 30 min. On the end-hosts side, I just needed to change the DNS servers and the filter was working.

Cons

Over time, I discovered some domains that were placed in wrong categories. Also, I will like to have DNS servers in Europe for faster responses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

James W.

Good, simple, reliable software.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Set up is a breeze and maintenance is virtually nonexistent. It really is an easy product to implement.

Cons

Web Titan is a little pricey in my opinion, but I guess it is within market value. I would also like to see an option to filter by locatio within History reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Troy S.

Best Bang for your Buck

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Increased productivity and network security.

Pros

The interface is as simple as it gets. Everything you need and nothing you don't. Customer service has always been prompt and effective. The support team has always been able to resolve my issues on the first try whether it be on the phone or via email.

Cons

There are a couple of features I wish were implemented, but given time I think it will come together.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt E.

Great solution for a good cost

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Robust, reliability, it has a great intuitive portal. Catches a lot of spam with not a lot of false positives.

Cons

Slow load on the quarantined page. But doesn't hinder its use. I think the UI could use and update for mobility

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Arron M.

No more calls from ISP for illegal content downloads on our public WiFi

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The price is better then OpenDNS and that I can get a daily report emailed to me of blocked request.

Cons

The renewal process is a little aggravating . Wish there was a way to just do it through the dashboard

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bryana K.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Quick and easy to use

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Control of multiple devices from one location with overrides available when needed.

Pros

It's easy and affordable. Much better than running software on local machines because you aren't slowing down local machines with extra software. And you can do maintenance and make changes through any browser. If you need to control a lot of devices, you can do it with WebTitan in one location.

Cons

There will always be sites that misidentify themselves as something other than what they are. If a porn site labels itself as "travel", it will be accessible despite the block.

Some perfectly acceptable sites will be blocked, so you will need to whitelist some things. The first month of use there will be a lot of adjustments to make.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mike P.

Quick and easy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

Easy deployment of web filtering

Pros

Fast setup and deployment. WebTitan interface allows you to manage every user and setting from the single console

Cons

The interface doesn't show the DNS address. It also isn't as intuitive as other competitors. Not a big deal, but those would be nice to have. There is also no support for workgroups, must have AD

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ken W.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Works great for our 22 locations

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Keeps employees from mis-using work computers

Pros

The stability of operation. There's never been an issue of web blocking. The tracking of the attempted sites is also a huge plus.

Cons

Web interface is a little cumbersome, but support is great in helping out with any questions. They walked me through the actual setup

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan J.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The use of Spamtitan in our network is been a great benefit to our office.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Better spam filtering and reduced phishing attacks

Pros

It's cloud based and it takes the network traffic of spam out of our network since we don't receive emails until it goes through their filters.

Cons

That it's cloud based, so if there is a network outage there and we don't nnow, we won't get any email.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jonathan M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Fantastic, and easy to implement

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/08
Review Source: Capterra

We route all DNS through WebTitan for extra protection and security. The system is fast, reliable and provides the additional layer of protection that we need. Can't be beat for the price.

Pros

The system was super easy to setup and manage.

Cons

Nothing, this can be setup over a cup of coffee.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Des W.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Once set up it works well

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/16
Review Source: Capterra

Happy customers we are an MSP

Pros

low impact on user experience OTG agent is small footprint
DNS proxy is able to run on a hyperV setup

Cons

OTG agents do not auto update this means a manual update on each laptop and remote PC
Obtaining the latest released OTG version is a painful process

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10