106 reviews

Mattermost

Open source workplace messaging for web, PCs & phones

4,4 /5 (106 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
106 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mattermost: Self-Hosted Superior Alternative To Slack

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Mattermost allows us to quickly keep connected to our colleagues across the world. It allows people to form groups and chat easily to many different teams, all within the same desktop app, web app, or mobile app.

Pros

This software is very easy to install and supports a simple Docker install, which makes it easy to keep up to date and secure. There are multiple examples on installing and running Mattermost in different cloud hosting environments, and the user community is also very helpful.
Running the software locally means you can keep a much better eye on its security and usage.
Its user management and directory integration is superior to Slack's.
The desktop and mobile clients are fast and easy to install/configure/maintain.

Cons

There's not much that I dislike about Mattermost. Its open source nature may put some people off, but paid support and enterprise licensing solve that issue immediately.

Jon C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Almost really good.

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Slack with AD integration at half the cost. But I still wish I could afford Slack.

Pros

Slack integrations just work on Mattermost. The theme choices are very nice. The ability to host my own on-premises server is very nice. Technical support staff is very knowledgeable and competent. I'm not made to feel like an idiot if there is some specialized knowledge that I don't have.

Cons

The Android client is extremely buggy and fairly slow still. Selecting a push notice to open Mattermost to view and respond in the thread does not always open the right thread and is always slow (even on LAN, with the latest gen of Android phone!)). The client MUST be snappy and it just.. isn't.

The Windows client becomes slower and slower the longer you have it open, so it must be restarted every day or two. It's a little buggy; sometimes new messages make your view scroll up instead of down. But it works well enough most of the time.

Valerian L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

not so bad to connect employees

Reviewed on 2020/07/13

Of course it saves my time. I can just send sms to colleagues instead of going to them.

Pros

It's easy to use. It helps me to communicate with friends and colleagues. It saves my time. Overall it is a good software.

Cons

When i receive sms i see pop-up window, but when i click on it, it returns to home page. and i have to search sms from contact list.

Tobias F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very intuitive and solid software which is perfect for running a slack replacement on premise.

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

A super and ready to use Slack alternative.

Pros

* The replacement of slack
* Mattermost has almost the same features as Slack
* You can host and run your own instance on your own server (For companies which hate clouds) :)
* You have a good overview of logs and you can see what goes around
* The statistics gives a good point when a dev team is productive
* You can easily create unlimited integrations which some internal stuff

Cons

* The lack of integrations (Slack is here over the top)
* The incoming hook limitation of maximum content length is the hell (Mattermost don't inform the customer about a message which was higher above the hard coded message size limit)
* UX in Slack is a little bit better (Slack is massively using websockets and eventstreams to fetch the actual team messages) -> You see always whats going on
* A 'Unread' channel (like in slack) would be a pleasure ;)
* A step by step guide for creating an integration would not bad for not advanced users

Imedo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

it was improvement

Reviewed on 2020/06/12

overall despite it being hard to install manually on smartphones it is way better than our past solution.

Pros

we had to change from past solution to mattermost, it was huge jump. mainly it's chatting way between company so its mainly informal and matter mostly offers modern chat features, custom emoji emoji etc.

Cons

getting mobile app and making it running is little bit hard because you need to know your chat server and its little bit hard for most people.

Athanasios K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mattermost is the every day reliable work mule that powers our team's direct communication...

Reviewed on 2017/12/20

Pros

It is an easy to use, open-source and free messenger, which can be setup either on-premises or hosted on a cloud platform, while also being docker friendly. Community extensions and plugins, as well as optional commercial enterprise-level support, provide infinite extensibility and flexibility options.

Cons

A few more service integrations, like audio/video conferencing, contacts/calendar sharing, attachments managing, better in-chat previews would be positive moves, although these features are getting improved version by version.

Scott B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Team communication on a budget.

Reviewed on 2020/01/18

Mattermost allows the team to communicate and maintain control of our data. It does take some time to setup and maintain, but it is worth it for attractive UI and options it gives you.

Pros

The cost. The fact it is free is what got my attention.

After that I found out I could self-host it, which made it even more useful. I can use Mattermost for my team(s) and still control my data. The interface is attractive. You can use a Mattermost app or you can use the web interface.

Cons

The install and maintenance is on me. You need to have enough time for the install and maintaining the server for the system. If you don't have the time, this is probably not the best option for you.

Dalibor K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Shipbuilding
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Alternative to Slack - opensource

Reviewed on 2019/02/25

Opensource alternative to Mattermost. Allows team communication on one place, especially for things that should be in chat-groups-discussions and not in countless emails that are hard to track in multi-user environment.

Pros

It is opensource, it has no limits like Slack and it allows similar experience/functions. It is not easy to set-up but once started it works with no issues on desktops/laptops.

Cons

Android app is not connecting to some servers (all I built). SSL certificate handling is a bit tricky.
Default way of creating users is sending them link (creating user/pass would be a good option).

Nazar L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great open source messaging application and slack alternative

Reviewed on 2018/01/01

Pros

The product is easy to use and there is lots of documentation on github updated regularly by developers and community. You control your data and security because software can be hosted on premise. Thread reply is much better than what slack did. Mattermost has short release cycle, feature vote forum, your voice matters to the company

Cons

Overall UI is not bad but in my opinion slack has much more beautiful look. Expiration time for authentication token is quite short, you would need to re-login every month or so

Nenad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Replace your old chat server

Reviewed on 2019/12/09

We replaced our aged Openfire and Spark server/client. Mattermost has much more functionality with less resource usage.
Recommended for in house installations.

Pros

Mattermost was really easy to setup, the additonal https configurations are also well documented. As for the user side,it is similar to slack

Cons

Single Sign On functionality is based on plugin, which sometimes doesn't work that well. Other than that,no problems performance or functionality-wise.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software. Helps us a lot in our day-to-day business.

Reviewed on 2018/01/08

Pros

Very supportive and open-minded team which helps where they can. Also open for new feature ideas. Almost en par with Slack but self-hosted which is a big bonus for companies in privacy concerned organizations.

Cons

The iOS app could be better. Complicated installation/update if you don't do it via gitlab-omnibus package.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great alternative to Slack, especially for the price

Reviewed on 2018/04/16

Pros

It's very simple to use and much much cheaper than its competition. Persistent chat is beneficial when working with teams across multiple time zones -- email notifications when I'm not signed in is great.

Cons

There is something that's somewhat intangible but for some reason Slack feels better. Slack seems more elegant, but overall, this is the only negative thing I could find about the software. Overall it meets and exceeds my team's needs for a fraction of the price.

Wesley C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Eases team communication across the world

Reviewed on 2018/12/02

When I get into work in the morning, i can easily and conveniently see what other members of our project have discussed, despite them being in other parts of the world.

Pros

Mattermost makes it convenient to communicate with different teams around the world. We can get snap updates when needed, create new channels to focus our communications, and it has a dark mode.

Cons

Sometimes I get connections difficulties.

Kandyse S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Software for Team Communication

Reviewed on 2019/08/25

I am overall pleased with Mattermost, in many ways it performs better than Slack and has promising prospects.

Pros

Mattermost has a very simple user interface and works seamlessly with minimal issues. It's a great alternative to other similar programs due to its accessibility and organized layout.

Cons

Mattermost could do better in making the performance better and smoothing out some the bugs that happens on Android devices.

Guy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Best overall when considering options and security

Reviewed on 2020/07/06

I like the ability to build very specific groups and control notifications in each group. Was a previous Slack user but Slack doesn't fit with our security requirements and the cost. The more MM can bring their feature stack closer the Slack, the better, IMHO

Pros

Our IT department shortlisted it is one of the few collaboration messaging apps that pass our minimum security requirements. One key feature to mark a post as unread is really great for me.

Cons

Not as feature rich as Slack but hopefully feature development progresses. Needs to handle nested replies better.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mattermost is a great collaboration tool for developers with persistent chat and formatted code

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

Easy, quick collaboration. Topical chat rooms. Social features such as tagging and hashtagging. Persistence.

Pros

I can spin up a new chat room easily for developers to collaborate on a new project or discuss a certain topic without a bunch of hassle. We can share formatted code snippets, paste files and images into our chats, search our history, and do all kinds of useful things.

Cons

I do not really have a con. I'm even using the free, built-in version that comes with the free version of GitLab and have no complaints.

Leonardo D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helps with the communication at work

Reviewed on 2019/04/24

All the employees at the company I work for use Mattermost and we are very satisfied by it.

Pros

I like it keeps all the history of the channels so when new people join they can access the previous messages.
The possibility of creating personalised emojis.
The fact you can flag some posts, making them easier to find whenever you need.

Cons

I think the mobile platform is a bit slow to use, it could be a bit faster.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent alternative to Slack if you need on-prem or do-it-yourself deployment

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Pros

It's open source, so you can tweak, audit, and customize to your heart's content. It can be deployed on-prem so you can meet whatever security requirements you have.

Cons

Doesn't feel as polished as Slack. There are a lot of little UI quirks that bother me. Aside from that, there's not much not to like.

Alex jared M.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mostly as a contributor, with some administration and end user experience

Reviewed on 2017/12/31

Learning to code through contributions.

Pros

Open source and flexible. I like being able to contribute to making the product and community a better place.

Cons

Sometimes it can feel unpolished. Cool little features can get added but more core functionality doesn't get implemented.

Santos S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I've had a pleasant experience so far with Mattermost

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

I'm not a frequent user of this software so I have not found a way to see a list of all sent attachments in message channels.

Pros

I love the look and feel of the web application - it's really intuitive to use and the response time to the questions I've had about the product has been really prompt.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

THIS ALWAYS CRASHES!!

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Pros

It is a decent platform to communicate for group projects. I use this weekly for a project involving 20 members.

Cons

This software crashes very often whenever I use it. This program takes forever to open, I'm not sure if it is just my computer or not.

Tim E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great user acceptance and ease of use

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Pros

The interface is pretty much self-explanatory. This is why the user acceptance is quite good. Customizing the interface is straight forward and can be done at user level.
The open source cummunity around Mattermost is really nice and welcoming.
Apps for every operating systems are available and easy to use once manually set up.
Scalability was never a problem with 1000+ users.

Cons

Setting up integrations is more complex than with Slack, where integrations can be installed with one click in the backend. There is an app directory, but the apps need to be set up manually. Once set up, they just work. Incoming webhooks are the only exception; they work out of the box.
Mobile perfomance is gradually getting better, but it's not yet up to Slack's par.
The Windows-app is not yet ready for big scale rollouts via group policies.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Slack substitute with similar features

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

I don't know about the overall cost, but I assume it costs less than Slack. Given that, it's not a bad alternative. I think it's main issues aren't so much limitations in functionality as just having a less user-friendly UI overall.

Pros

honestly, the most use we get out of this product is having fun with the wide range of emojis you can add to posts as reactions

Cons

There's something slightly less intuitive about the UI than similar competitors (i.e., Slack). Sometimes the search function in particular is confusing and could definitely be improved.

Viorel-cosmin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our day with Mattermost

Reviewed on 2019/04/19

We solve the need to have a Support/Chat/Client support software, with this we have it all in one.
It helped us keep communications across teams and countries painless.
Integrated with all entire ecosystem from Taiga.io to Gitlab for a better DevOps experience.
Overall every chance we had to contribute we toke it, thats why we decided to fully translate mattermost in Romanian language, do we did.
If you need a centralized devops collaborative platform, give it a try!

Pros

One executable binary, simple to upgrade and maintain!
Reliable self hosted alternative to other SaaS PaaS options.
Cross-platform applications ready to use.
Amazing open source community built around the product, friendly and helpful people!

Cons

It requires integration directory to allow users app deployment in mattermost ecosystem with ease.
A bot repository is missing, this can fir next to all others apps and allow users automatic deployments of any apps from the store.
Store idea is not a new concept, and a company that respects themselves should make use of own repository.
Allow users to safely deploy tested and 100% working apps along their Mattermost instance.

Sherrie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Communication for the masses

Reviewed on 2019/10/11

Mattermost is a great software to use with the virtual employee situation which allows the sharing of ideas, answers to customer facing issues, and the ability to communicate privately with leadership and/ or teammates. The chat is instantaneous, which allows for faster responses than emails.

Pros

Interactive media that allows instant communication with teammates and leadership, whether it was a question or just sharing of daily life.

The ability to host channels that was based on teams, programs, and specified topics. All individuals were able to have private groups to chat with friends, co workers, or teams.

Cons

The scroll in chats often moved so very quickly that questions and responses were missed.

Inability to customize responses such as color, fonts, etc.