63 reviews

IndySoft

On-premise & web-based calibration and asset management

4,7 /5 (63 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,8
97% recommended this app
63 reviews
Kristin B.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Perfect Solution for Calibration Management Across Multiple Sites

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, IndySoft has greatly benefited our organization. The ability to have both calibration data and tool tracking data in one system has been the most beneficial aspect of the software. We have been able to deploy IndySoft at multiple locations globally to bring all sites into one system and standardize our process (previously each site had their own process and software). This has been incredibly helpful. Finally, IndySoft as a company has been great to work with. The IndySoft support team goes above and beyond to help answer questions!

Pros

Our organization was looking for a system that could perform calibration (acting as a commercial calibration lab), record calibrations done by third party companies, and track tooling in our facility after it left the calibration lab. IndySoft could incorporate all of those processes and more. The flexibility to design workflows around an organization's existing processes was the most attractive feature to us. We were able to configure the system to look exactly the way we wanted for our operators.

Cons

While the calibration features are very advanced, the tool tracking/ management features could be improved. Dedicated tool tracking softwares are organized to better support a tool crib process. In IndySoft you have to configure some of this yourself.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Kristin!

Thank you so much for the wonderfully detailed 5-star review! One of our main objectives is to be flexible to organizations so that you can direct how the software works, not us confining your processes to the box we have designed. I think you articulated perfectly how that is working for you across multiple sites.

Also thank you for the kudos to our support team - those are my favorite comments to read!

Have a good week and take care!
Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thomas C.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

An Almost Infinitely Customisable and Highly Powerful Asset Management and Calibration Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Processes have been clarified and streamlined, with added traceability and robustness. The history of all business events captured in a SQL database has enormous value, especially today where the analysis of large quantities of data can be performed quickly and with minimal training. IndySoft takes time and patience to deploy and configure and customise, but like any worthwhile software, it's value keeps increasing with every update, and every incremental internal customisation. It scales effortlessly, and once a company has an employee or team who advocate and develop it, it will continue to add value to a company indefinitely.

Pros

IndySoft limited only by your imagination and sometimes your will to explore its extraordinarily deep functionality.
For anyone who has the vision of how a system should best serve a business, and the will to bring it into reality, IndySoft can be the framework to facilitate it.

Cons

The stock UI is somewhat dated compared to other modern software (however the user can with some perseverance, completely redesign this to their own taste), and the underlying language for scripting is Pascal, however neither of these points significantly detract from the actual functionality of the software.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Thomas! Thank you for the excellent 5-star review! It is so wonderful to hear from a customer that has taken advantage of the customization capabilities within IndySoft to build a solution that is truly unique to your business and processes. And, we appreciate the acknowledgment that we are continuously improving the software. Take care, and have a great week!
-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel H.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with IndySoft is a positive. Once the system has been set-up, it does an excellent job in keeping our Metrology Dept. in compliance with Regulatory requirements. I find the system to be an asset to help me manage work flow and aid as a tool to review and approve employee's work.

Pros

Minimal screens to execute once system is set-up. Basic report functions are good. Can use system remotely from home. Delineate between basic equipment and reference standards in system. Won't allow past due reference standard to be added to calibration event.

Cons

PrintBuilder is a challenge to use. Cannot effectively delineate between Calibration procedure process and documenting limited range/accuracy requests from users. Number of fields available in Event Finder is too limited (hopefully better once we roll up to Version 12?). No effective way to run a report to verify calibration events related to suppliers when date done is back dated to suppliers "Date Done".

Response from IndySoft

Hi Daniel,
Thank you so much for the great review! It is so exciting to hear that Medtronic has an upgrade plan, I sense that most of your frustrations will be alleviated once you have a chance to upgrade. Until then, take care and reach out if you ever have any questions or issues!
Take care,
Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brad C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best Metrology software in the business! We run the whole lab off of the software. Great support.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

Record keeping. We run the whole lab on this software. From supplier control to Document control systems and corrective action. Huge benefit in being able to link all these systems together. You could adapt this software to anything.

Pros

Configuration. Being able to adapt the software to the needs of the lab while staying in the framework of the application. Not that you need to change that much out of the box.

Cons

System does not support electronic signatures from customers at time of pick up. Would like to see a system that allows for signatures such as FedEx, UPS. Customer comes to lab and can use a signature pad to sign for equipment picked up. On-Site or delivery would allow for signature that customer received the equipment or service.

A Gage InSite lite could be used on a Tablet PC that is synced with the application to allow for this.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Brad!

Thank you so much for the awesome 5-star review!

We appreciate you letting others know about your experience with IndySoft, so as a thank you we are going to add the electronic signatures feature you are requesting! Well, it was actually in our product development plan already, but we still do send you our thanks!

Keep an eye on our release notes in the coming months to see when the feature is added!

-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Debra R.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Love the product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

have had a good experience with Indysoft

Pros

I have been using Indysoft for a long time, I enjoy working with Indysoft they are easy to deal with and are willing to listen to any problems we have.

I have referred many customers in the calibration industry to Indysoft

Cons

product is easy to use once you understand it

Response from IndySoft

Hi Deb!

Thank you for the awesome 5-star review!! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about IndySoft on Capterra and all of the other referrals you have given over the years!
I hope you are doing well, take care!
Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roger E.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

The software is very powerful but would like to see a simpler format.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/02
Review Source: Capterra

This software provided us with the necessary tools to pass our ISO and TS audits.

Pros

The software is very customizable which allows for a lot of options in the appearance and format of our reports.

Cons

It is sometimes confusing because, when I change some titles, they do not always seem to work the way I expected.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Roger! Thank you so much for taking a minute to write a review! We appreciate you letting others know about how customizable IndySoft is and your experience with the software!

Happy New Year! Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mike L.

Excellent

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I can do most anything I want in the scripting.
Unlimited event types.
Customizable views and screens

Cons

Limited number of available fields in equipment finder results grid.
Limited vendor fields
Limited functionality of the Scheduling module (Linking multiple techs to a single WO job with multiple devices on it.)

Response from IndySoft

Hi Mike!

Thank you so much for the review! We always value your input and appreciate you sharing your experience with IndySoft!

Happy New Year! Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Steve S.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

IndySoft Client Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexible licensing. MS SQL back end database for corporate compatibility. Flexible configuration of user screens. Good reporting. Awesome customer support.

Cons

Importing of existing data could be easier.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Steve! Thank you so much for the awesome review! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with IndySoft. We especially love hearing kudos for our excellent support staff!
Take care,
-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Great Customer support.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/29
Review Source: Capterra

Keeping our calibration certificates well organized and tracking our gages.

Pros

Software is easy to use once it is set up. Other technician can easily start using it once they as trained.

Cons

Sometime not as easy to use, will have to make some changes to make it apply to what we are doing here.

Response from IndySoft

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We pride ourselves on our great customer support, so we love to hear from our satisfied customers!

Happy New Year! Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Aaron A.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

we love the product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

i most like the ability to modify the software and use sql to make it do what we want. tech support is great.

Cons

I wish there were more test point wizards so that we didn't have to use templates when creating new equipment

Response from IndySoft

Hi Aaron!

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about IndySoft!

Happy Holidays! -Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Conrad K.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Fantastic calibration management software. Indysoft is everything I could ask for.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's very easy to export any lists into excel. Creating a picklist of equipment was a game changer for me. Now I don't have to look up every single piece of equipment one by one. I can create a list of all my selected equipment and manage much more easily.

Cons

There is nothing not to like about Indysoft. Once you fully understand how to operate the platform, everything is relatively easy. There is definitely a learning curve at first.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Conrad! Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with IndySoft!

I hope you have a great new year!

-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darla A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Thoughts from a limited user

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

Search benefits are good, but somewhat limited. Again, we are using a very old version. Soon to be upgraded.

Pros

Search capabilities. The Help tab is useful as well.

Cons

We are using an old version (8), so the answer to this won't benefit you.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Darla!
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your experience with IndySoft. So much has improved since version 8, I really believe you will be wowed when you upgrade!
Take care,
Heather

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patrick F.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Incredible tool for management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to track, manage, and keep history on assets. Calibration, work orders, etc. all built in

Cons

Considerable learning curve due to just how much the software can do.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Patrick!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate you letting others know about your experience with IndySoft. Have a great weekend!
-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Michael B.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Indysoft Review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/31
Review Source: Capterra

Very good and there support is excellent

Pros

easy to use
easy to create users
not heavy on the sever it runs on
stable software

Cons

new version regularly released so can fall a number of version behind very quickly

Response from IndySoft

Hi Michael!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review IndySoft and the shout out to our support team! We appreciate it!
-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Matt G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Commercial Calibration Lab

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Commercial Calibration Software is the back-bone of a calibration lab, and every employee here uses it daily. I'm incredibly happy with the decision to move to IndySoft, and I would recommend it to anyone in a similar industry.

Pros

The best thing about this software is the team that comes with it. By design the software is built to be customizeable, so set-up is a process. The implementation team at Indysoft has been unparalleled from the very beginning. With their help, I was able to configure a software package tailored to my lab that felt like it was built from the ground-up for my company.

Cons

There is an answer to every problem I had, but a few more pre-built default layouts that showcased "intended-use" cases would be a welcomed addition.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Matt! Thank you so much for the awesome review. We know we have a great team, but it is so wonderful to have our impressions reinforced by our customers! I will definitely be passing your praises on to our implementation team! Have a great weekend!
-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Richard B.

We are still experiencing problems with backups and templates.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It does have many feature that we ares still learning about. For the most part it seems pretty user friendly, but in all honesty, my limited experience with these type of applications I have nothing to compare it to.

Cons

Seems to be unstable. We have templates that seem to change on their own or test point even disappear.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Rick!

Thank you for taking the time to do a review, we appreciate the feedback as we are working on continuous improvement.

Our software is very stable, so I think there may be some unique circumstance happening in your situation. Henry with support is going to be reaching out to you to see if we can get to the bottom of the issues you are having.

Happy Holidays! -Heather

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Adam S.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

IndySoft Review Aug 18,2020

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is going to make a huge improvement to our calibration process. Very happy with the software and the employees at IndySoft so far.

Pros

I like how you can customize the software to meet your sites needs. Implementation support is very knowledgeable and helpful in setting up the software with you.

Cons

I would like to see a chart on the homepage showing due, past due, and not due. Cloud-based software isn't fully 21 CFR Part 11 compliant without making the appropriate changes to the settings.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Adam!
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-star review! As info, we are working on a KPI dashboard for the Home screen that will have the data you are looking for - should be out sometime this year, so stay tuned!
Take care,
Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jerome C.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 11-50 Employees

If you like customization a lot this is your software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

Using Indysoft 10 years ago is different than using it now since they really stepped up on their support. With so much available to learn on the software now they have built a library of information and they reach out using YouTube videos and tutorials which helps a lot.

Pros

Software can be tailored to whatever unique needs or applications you may have. Most software out there can be limited to whatever is canned by the designers. Indysoft is different in a sense that data can be exported in so many different ways and can be integrated to other software such as MetCal or Quickbooks but it requires familiarity with SQL to fully use its potential.

Cons

If you are the type of user that wants something basic to run your process out of the box then you might not like this very much. You will love this if you're familiar with coding since it's a very powerful software that needs steep learning curve.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Jerome!
Thank you so much for the awesome 5-star review! As a long-time user, we appreciate the acknowledgment of how far we have come over the years in terms of support. That has definitely been a focus of ours over the past couple of years and it is good to hear that is showing!
Take care,
Heather

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Danae P.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

IndySoft LIMS review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

I am still learning the intricacies of IndySoft and there is a lot of capability that I am still not familiar with so far the experience has been fairly straight forward and simple to use. Shortcuts are key.

Pros

The amount of data that can be collected and the ability to customize.

Cons

Lack of intuitiveness for performing tasks such as data mining and report building.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Danae!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review IndySoft! I have no doubt that as you spend more time with the software you will continuously get more comfortable and learn more or the capabilities. Until then, if you ever have questions, please do not hesitate to reach out!
Take care, and have a great weekend!
Heather

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Vincent B.
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Overall, the best asset management/calibration software out there.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Organization and process efficiency.

Pros

Flexible, powerful, and can do just about anything. The customer support is the best I have experienced with software. Highly customizable and can adapt to changing business practices easily. Once set-up correctly, it is efficient to use and provides a high level of organization even with large amounts of customers and equipment.

Cons

Can be buggy at times. Have the ability to personalize, but that is often lost as the default views. Permissions do not work as expected sometimes. Workflow customizations can be difficult to understand and implement. Some set-up and features are not very intuitive. Often times I'll have to call to understand how to use certain features - but the customer service is the best and never give me a problem when I have to call often.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Vincent!

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We especially love to hear kudos given to our support team, I'll be sure to pass on your nice words to them!

-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Greg M.
Industry: Shipbuilding
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Indysoft

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to centralize out tool database consisting of over 700,000 tools and eliminate three other databases that were used to manage tools.

Pros

Integration was somewhat complex. However, once configured, the software is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

The configuration requires forethought and planning. If not planned out properly, change down the road can be difficult.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Greg!

I hope you are doing well!

Thank you so much for the incredible 5-star review. We appreciate you letting others know about how you were able to centralize multiple databases with IndySoft. Take care and have a great day!
Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Corey R.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

IndySoft has helped to greatly streamline and simplify management of our calibration equipment.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

Customizable templates, easy reporting, automated form/label generation, quick visual status indication, auto numbering scheme.

Pros

My favorite feature of the software so far has been the ability to create custom templates for common tool families, and easily modify all associated records by changing the template.

Cons

I wish you could setup custom shortcuts, as well as have the option to choose a custom color scheme that is easier on the eyes.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Corey!

Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with IndySoft!

To launch a shortcut in Dashboard, you can use the EXTERNALEXE tag in LayoutBuilder and launch any windows application from your Dashboard or Equipment layout. I hope that helps!

-Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul C.
Industry: Computer Hardware
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Calibration Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with IndySoft shows me they treat me the way they would treat themselves

Pros

The ability to make notes from previous calibrations / store procedures and work flow methods

Cons

sometimes the answer your looking to solve can be elusive...

Response from IndySoft

Hi Paul!

Thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with IndySoft!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ronald M.

Indysoft Calibration System works great and is pretty much maintenance.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The support team is great! The program is pretty much maintenance free. It's performance is good too. Happy New Year. The pricing is very reasonable too.

Cons

The software could be more intuitive when configuring events and other items, navigation and such, but overall a good program.

Response from IndySoft

Hi Ronald!

Thank you so much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with IndySoft! I will pass on your kudos to our support group!

Happy New Year! Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

James G.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

I have used IndySoft for a few years now and have completely satisfied.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Since I use it everyday I notice things about the software beyond the obvious

Pros

Ease of use of the software ware. have been able to adapt our system with Indysoft. Have been able to add all our tooling under different company's to separate them.

Cons

Generating Reports is hard. Too many options to choose from. Maybe more training would help with generating reports.

Response from IndySoft

Hi James!

Thank you for leaving a review, we are happy that you are happy! :)

Happy Holidays! -Heather

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10