41 reviews

Solumina MES

Manufacturing execution system

4 /5 (41 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4
/
5
Value for Money
3,7
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,4
Customer Support
3,8
76% recommended this app
41 reviews
Brian B.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Dramatic improvement to manufacturing and quality control and risk mitigation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Huge. Aside from being paperless for the most part, the ability to quickly find data is the greatest benefit. Next, I would point to the risk reduction for data loss or missing data, as product cannot proceed to subsequent workstations without proper closure. Imagine gathering and copying data from 20 paper records kept in 20 different boxes that were put in long term storage out of state several years ago. Now imagine keying those 20 part identifiers into Solumina for a query and having the data returned in seconds!

Pros

Once dialed in, it manages inputs and outputs efficiently while providing very fast access to records.

Cons

I wish the font and icon size was customizable, and the green and red thumbs are tiny and too close together. I wish there were installation templates, or Best Utilization examples that would be useful for determining direction. As it is there is much left to the user, so the expertise of the user's configuration team is key to smooth deployment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

In supporting a difficult process, Solumina delivers sound features and superior customer support.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

consistent manufacturing execution through standardized process plans. Quality of product improvements through integration of lean and SPC tools into the execution system.

Pros

Far and away, the customer support in working to deliver a robust solution for Manufacturing Execution, Quality Assurance, and management of our Supplier Quality is the number one positive feature of working with iBASEt. They continue to work to address nuances generated by the ways we run our manufacturing environment, and have brought insights and recommendations for improvement that are 'outside' the scope of the software solution they provide.

Cons

All process planning is '0D' based - text oriented, with any 2D or 3D data that is desired for inclusion or that we want to use as the 'foundation' of process plans merely attachments to the text based plans. If I had to pick a second 'con', it is the inconsistent level of 'client to server' communication which negatively impacts remote users; iBASEt continually updates their code to make remote access better, but often as a result of OUR finding where excessive database calls are made from the client causing repeated 'round trips' to be driven across the WAN.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jon K.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

MES adjusted for Costpoint

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

Our company converts Solumina's version of MES to be compatible with Deltek CostPoint and additionally runs it through Citrix Receiver to all our work stations. The multiple layers of connections leaves us with a lot of slow responses and forced logouts. This is likely not really an iBaseT issue, but it's one of the biggest things we struggle with. However, for the most part when it works it works quite well.

Pros

The software has very good visual interactive displays to present work instructions. The software is also very customizable.

Cons

Being able to batch work orders together is something we were told was going to be a functionality coming to the software, but successfully being able to use this function hasn't materialized yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Christine G.

Solumina is great - 10/10 would use again.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

In my limited experience (and in the opinion of the team that evaluated various options and selected Solumina as the best), Solumina provides a greater amount of low-cost flexibility and customizability, and G8 offers a much greater out-of-the-box functionality than other commercially available MES.

Cons

It seems like customizations funded by individual companies are leveraged by Solumina into the next version of the software, but it doesn't appear that there is any type of pricing break for the software update to the customer that funded the development of the additional functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kent D.

We use this software in our daily business. It has a fantastic suite of capabilities.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Manufacturing in a paperless environment.

Pros

The software itself is wonderful. I would highly recommend it to business that need an electronic Work Instructions software. it allows the user to custom build different applications from Quality management to Supplier Quality as a well as Audit. Easy to use for manufacturing and the user interface is incredible.

Cons

Moving from previous versions is difficult and the migration process is cumbersome. Cusomter support is wonderful though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Quinton D.

Pretty efficient for the most part. Little slow at times toward the end of the day.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use. Pulls up the information that I need rather quickly. Requested information or material is readily available and concise.

Cons

There are operations that upon completion, stay on the same operation instead of forwarding to the next operation and making it cumbersome to have to perform extra clicks. Can be somewhat time consuming when you have to do that all day. Drops the database from time to time when you're in the middle of inspecting a Part.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Charles Q.

learning the system takes times but then it is a great system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/25
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to track your employees work ethics help with being more efficient as a manager, having all information at your finger tips is a God send.

Pros

by using this system traceability and accountability are at your finger tips. Being a manager this tool helps me with monitoring my employee.

Cons

there is much to much wasted time navigating through the system, there is a lot of having to go back and forth to get done what you have to get done

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Evan B.

Software is overall very capable, however, support is often slow and fixes are cumbersome

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Software is very capable to handle a very large amount of manufacturing situations out of box. Traceability and control are very strong points in ensuring a high level of quality.

Cons

Interfaces are convoluted and performance is not great. For more specialized industries or situations, developing solutions is expensive both to create and maintain, so outside processes or systems may have to be used.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ricardo L.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

very flexible for customizations but lacking in training/demonstrating features

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I'm able to customize UDVs to display more meaningful information and hide fields that are not used by the company. I can also substitute UDVs and create custom ones to have the exact data I want.

Cons

no visual training on software capabilities. There are written manuals but there should be a more visual training manual showing examples of the system and how it should operate

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Business users love the functionality. Could use architecture overhaul.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Empowers the business with capability to grow their manufacturing process (and product lines) without needing IT involvement.

Cons

Architecture. Is not open. REST APIs or C# libraries would be very helpful to allow automation. Data concurrency needs improved to prevent data corruption at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

John K.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

The shop floor can learn to use the system in minutes, authoring plans takes much longer.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

Much better shop floor control than using paper work instructions.

Pros

Easy to teach operators how to log on, find a work order and execute it. Standard text and glyph buttons for links are nice. The operators like and use them.

Cons

In G7, some weird ways to get to some menu items (i.e. not very intuitive). The G7 text editor is very basic. In standard text mode no spell checker makes for more revisions after the fact.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lisa T.

Have been working with Solumina for over 10 years and really like the application and all offeatures

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to create work instructions using the different tools provided and exploring new ways to improve processes.

Cons

Given our location, the location of the database and the amount of users, the application can be slow. There are some features that need improvement such as the inspection planning and the ability to tie the inspection definition into the process work plans.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Charles B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

I've used Solumina at my last two companies. I've been instrumental in developing the process and tr

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Real-time WIP Tracking, Data and Quality metrics

Pros

Ability to track as built history and have Quality integrated into it.
Great for complex lower volume assembly.

Cons

Custom reporting can be more challenging. Exports are easy though. May not be as suitable for high volume serial controlled assemblies (too many entries required) especially if the flow is not continuous.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Donna M.

Solumina MES is essential to our organization.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easily customizable and user friendly. It works well in a large manufacturing environment. The company provides great customer support.

Cons

If you do a lot of customizations, it is hard to keep up with the latest version of the product. This is not a fault of the software, but something to keep in mind when implementing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Charlene W.

Overall, Solumina has been a very positive system for our business since start-up.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is easy to use, both from the user side and the engineering development side. It was a great selling factor during our audits with the FAA.

Cons

The system processing is sometimes slow. Also, had a lot of bugs to work thru during start-up. Also, customer support has sometimes been lacking or not timely.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mark C.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Solumina G8

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/26
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Solumina for 8 years.

Pros

The new interface looks good. Unfortunately it is a Delphi applications that causes other applications to crash.

Cons

I think it is convoluted. Confusing. The database behind the application seems convoluted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Lori J.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good and Bad

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Configurability to your needs and processes.

Cons

You have to pay for custom reports. You never know what information you need to data mine so it is constantly changing but you can't create your own reports based on your needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

James P.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The traceability of paperwork was much better than paper. Also writing an alteration is easier than paper procedures.

Cons

It feels clunky and old. When it is run over Citrix, it is barely usable due to lagging.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kevin L.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Solumina MES is feature rich!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

Consolidated multiple applications across our manufacturing sites by adopting Solumina

Pros

Solumina provides a single point of information for operations for Work Instructions, Labor Charging, and discrepancy generation.

Cons

The complexity of the software and its features can present a learning curve to operators or process engineers, but once you are past that it has great audit features and stability

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Chris A.

Our company has been a long time iBASEt customer. We use Solumina G5, G7, G8, and MES.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is used at our location to run the shop floor. Operations would not be able to make product without it. Solumina is our lifeblood.

Cons

iBASEt's technology is stale and even in the latest versions, it is behind on the technology curve for Application and what it is developed on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

David T.

A difficult but rewarding journey

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Labor and time savings. The hardware is visible

Pros

Having data in one system has simplified certain aspects of the MFG floor. After getting up to speed it gets easier to understand

Cons

Takes a while to learn, not very logical compared to other programs. Creating custom reports is difficult if not even possible. At times we have to adjust how our mfg floor functions to accommodate Solumina's limited abilities. Interfacing with machines and 2d bar codes is extremely time consuming and difficult - far from plug and play. Training is more or less thru trial and error, since everyone runs their production floors differently. Several Solumina quirks like pop open windows getting smaller in size or text disappears or arrows move for no reason, ETC. Nothing to make me mad just annoyed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Alan S.
Industry: Capital Markets

Always prompt and provide solutions

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The data validity and capability to track multiple WO against plans. Also DB structure is tight with procs and triggers.

Cons

Super confusing looking and menu names can be abstract. Solumina G8 browser is not a good fit for a G7 environment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Td W.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great company to work with.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have used Solumina MES from iBASEt for over 15 years; and have found it to be very configurable for our manufacturing needs.

Cons

If I was to venture any kind of opinion that I like least about the Solumina MES software, it would be the Price.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

William W.

Not user friendly,

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

Central storage

Pros

The search view gets the user to almost every location for daily use. Actually very little that I do like.

Cons

Multi-media management, memory to small, not being able to adjust system setting fonts, settings that seem to make no sense like 100 character min. Word processor is outdated for the version we use. Not sure if current with best version in the market place.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Jim H.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

System unstable and lack of support.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

Most aspects of Solumina I like, but this is my first time in MES system and unable to compare another system.

Pros

Solumina tries to tie the different functionality and combine the searches for Manufacturing products.

Cons

There are times that Solumina is unstable and kicks user out or particular function stops working and IBase T is unable to explain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10