41 reviews

Solumina MES

Manufacturing execution system

4 /5 (41 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
76%
recommended this app
41 reviews
Ricardo L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

very flexible for customizations but lacking in training/demonstrating features

Reviewed on 2018/05/18

Pros

I'm able to customize UDVs to display more meaningful information and hide fields that are not used by the company. I can also substitute UDVs and create custom ones to have the exact data I want.

Cons

no visual training on software capabilities. There are written manuals but there should be a more visual training manual showing examples of the system and how it should operate

Jim H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

System unstable and lack of support.

Reviewed on 2019/04/23

Most aspects of Solumina I like, but this is my first time in MES system and unable to compare another system.

Pros

Solumina tries to tie the different functionality and combine the searches for Manufacturing products.

Cons

There are times that Solumina is unstable and kicks user out or particular function stops working and IBase T is unable to explain.

Chris W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solumina is user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Provide work instructions for aircraft flight controls

Pros

Lists the most recent revision of the travelers you need to work on. Easy to add pictures to work plans.

Cons

Would like to see a description field. This would facilitate faster retrieval of repair work plans.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

good products

Reviewed on 2019/09/03

Pros

it has great features to help with your day to day process.

Cons

some of the features needs to be more user friendly.

Tony J.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good software for storage, retrieval, and linking important docs necessary to support quality.

Reviewed on 2018/01/22

Pros

Linkage of appropriate documentation is very easy for users and administrators. Controlling information exchange/view to appropriate users is also straightforward. Having the ability to establish sign-off criteria within each particular work order is also excellent.

Cons

Navigation is not logical and could be simplified for user interaction. This would simplify training.

Zipporah L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solumina Review

Reviewed on 2017/03/30

This iBaset conference was a great way to receive information about the product. The sessions were a great way to learn how other people use the product. They were also great for those who are participating in an upgrade

Rasean H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

We are in the process of implementing Solumina. No actual use yet.

Reviewed on 2017/05/11

We are in the process of implementing Solumina, so we have not realized any benefits yet. Although we expect to eliminate/reduce paper, increase traceability, and improve compliance.

Pros

I like the capability that the software has to eliminate/reduce paper records for manufacturing and at the same time ensure that the process is followed, increasing compliance.

Cons

Out of the box, Solumina is not designed for our industry. There is a lot of functionality/features/terminology that is standard in our industry that is not present in Solumina.

Tyler P.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

So far so good

Reviewed on 2017/05/11

Pros

Great support from iBaset. Our implementation has been a challenge but so far it is going pretty well.

Cons

a lot of customizability required for our case. This isn't a reflection on the software but really just a nature of the business.

Christine G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solumina is great - 10/10 would use again.

Reviewed on 2017/05/12

Pros

In my limited experience (and in the opinion of the team that evaluated various options and selected Solumina as the best), Solumina provides a greater amount of low-cost flexibility and customizability, and G8 offers a much greater out-of-the-box functionality than other commercially available MES.

Cons

It seems like customizations funded by individual companies are leveraged by Solumina into the next version of the software, but it doesn't appear that there is any type of pricing break for the software update to the customer that funded the development of the additional functionality.

Charles Q.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

learning the system takes times but then it is a great system

Reviewed on 2018/05/25

Being able to track your employees work ethics help with being more efficient as a manager, having all information at your finger tips is a God send.

Pros

by using this system traceability and accountability are at your finger tips. Being a manager this tool helps me with monitoring my employee.

Cons

there is much to much wasted time navigating through the system, there is a lot of having to go back and forth to get done what you have to get done

Evan B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Software is overall very capable, however, support is often slow and fixes are cumbersome

Reviewed on 2017/05/11

Pros

Software is very capable to handle a very large amount of manufacturing situations out of box. Traceability and control are very strong points in ensuring a high level of quality.

Cons

Interfaces are convoluted and performance is not great. For more specialized industries or situations, developing solutions is expensive both to create and maintain, so outside processes or systems may have to be used.

Donna M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solumina MES is essential to our organization.

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

It is easily customizable and user friendly. It works well in a large manufacturing environment. The company provides great customer support.

Cons

If you do a lot of customizations, it is hard to keep up with the latest version of the product. This is not a fault of the software, but something to keep in mind when implementing.

James P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/05/10

Pros

The traceability of paperwork was much better than paper. Also writing an alteration is easier than paper procedures.

Cons

It feels clunky and old. When it is run over Citrix, it is barely usable due to lagging.

Kevin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solumina MES is feature rich!

Reviewed on 2017/05/15

Consolidated multiple applications across our manufacturing sites by adopting Solumina

Pros

Solumina provides a single point of information for operations for Work Instructions, Labor Charging, and discrepancy generation.

Cons

The complexity of the software and its features can present a learning curve to operators or process engineers, but once you are past that it has great audit features and stability

David T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A difficult but rewarding journey

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Labor and time savings. The hardware is visible

Pros

Having data in one system has simplified certain aspects of the MFG floor. After getting up to speed it gets easier to understand

Cons

Takes a while to learn, not very logical compared to other programs. Creating custom reports is difficult if not even possible. At times we have to adjust how our mfg floor functions to accommodate Solumina's limited abilities. Interfacing with machines and 2d bar codes is extremely time consuming and difficult - far from plug and play. Training is more or less thru trial and error, since everyone runs their production floors differently. Several Solumina quirks like pop open windows getting smaller in size or text disappears or arrows move for no reason, ETC. Nothing to make me mad just annoyed.

Edward M.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solumina MES fits the needs of my team and organization.

Reviewed on 2018/01/25

Pros

Solumina MES is a great application with many features and iBASEt can customize the application to support various business models and business processes.

Cons

User experience for Solumina MES is not intuitive. A learning curve is expected however working around the interface is cumbersome. As part of the implementation team, the customer service and consultants I worked with could be a little more responsive and helpful.

Diana K.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Safety oversight in VAB while workers are using Solumina. Looking over their shoulders at...

Reviewed on 2018/01/18

Pros

I can review the procedure from anywhere other than where it's being used on floor. The document cannot be lost like paperwork where people forget to bring it back and loose it.

Cons

We lost internet connection and people had to wait until it came back up. It's slower to buy off than paper is.

Michael C.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This seminar gave me a much better understanding of Solumina.

Reviewed on 2017/05/11

Pros

I feel like this is one of the better ways when a company wants to move towards paperless programs. All of the information is stored digitally and can be easily accessible if stored on a network. Essentially convenience and making sure each step is done correctly as listed are what I like about it.

Cons

The problem with going digital is that if there happens to be an outside issue like a power outage or a form of hacking, there's vital information that could be put at risk. Consequences could include loss of data and possible external export of classified information.

Jon K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MES adjusted for Costpoint

Reviewed on 2018/07/17

Our company converts Solumina's version of MES to be compatible with Deltek CostPoint and additionally runs it through Citrix Receiver to all our work stations. The multiple layers of connections leaves us with a lot of slow responses and forced logouts. This is likely not really an iBaseT issue, but it's one of the biggest things we struggle with. However, for the most part when it works it works quite well.

Pros

The software has very good visual interactive displays to present work instructions. The software is also very customizable.

Cons

Being able to batch work orders together is something we were told was going to be a functionality coming to the software, but successfully being able to use this function hasn't materialized yet.

Lori J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good and Bad

Reviewed on 2019/05/03

Pros

Configurability to your needs and processes.

Cons

You have to pay for custom reports. You never know what information you need to data mine so it is constantly changing but you can't create your own reports based on your needs.

Mark C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Solumina G8

Reviewed on 2018/07/26

I have been using Solumina for 8 years.

Pros

The new interface looks good. Unfortunately it is a Delphi applications that causes other applications to crash.

Cons

I think it is convoluted. Confusing. The database behind the application seems convoluted.

Chris A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Our company has been a long time iBASEt customer. We use Solumina G5, G7, G8, and MES.

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

Pros

It is used at our location to run the shop floor. Operations would not be able to make product without it. Solumina is our lifeblood.

Cons

iBASEt's technology is stale and even in the latest versions, it is behind on the technology curve for Application and what it is developed on.

Alan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Always prompt and provide solutions

Reviewed on 2017/05/19

Pros

The data validity and capability to track multiple WO against plans. Also DB structure is tight with procs and triggers.

Cons

Super confusing looking and menu names can be abstract. Solumina G8 browser is not a good fit for a G7 environment.

William W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not user friendly,

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

Central storage

Pros

The search view gets the user to almost every location for daily use. Actually very little that I do like.

Cons

Multi-media management, memory to small, not being able to adjust system setting fonts, settings that seem to make no sense like 100 character min. Word processor is outdated for the version we use. Not sure if current with best version in the market place.

Kenneth L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I am part of the Solumina integrations and test team. We are building an interface with QAD.

Reviewed on 2017/05/15

Pros

Very flexible, ability to customize to meet our needs. We are building out an interface with QAD- system seems to be working well.

Cons

Foundation is aerospace, not medical device. Many aspects are confusing or irrelevant to our industry.