Team App Reviews

Team App

FREE App for sports teams, clubs, leagues & associations

4.7/5 (67 reviews)
Brenton W.

Web and App syncing makes Team App a great choice for time poor clubs.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/17
Review Source: Capterra

Team app has simplified the job of communicating and interacting with our players (senior and junior + parents) our members and supporters. It's assisted at least in part, in promoting our brand beyond the club into the community with benefits in sponsorship attraction and media interest.
Any small club administrator should seriously consider this product, even just the basics are a benefit.

Pros

As a volunteer run organisation, our Australian Rules Football Club (The Unley Football Club) has similar challenges as other such enterprises when it come to available human resource. There is no IT department, no PR guy and no advertising division to promote our brand and communicate with members.
As the sole "Communications Officer" I lead a team on one - me.
Prior to team app, I had to maintain a website, and, in trying to keep up to date with mobile technology, developed a smartphone app using another platform. Due to design limitations there was limited uptake, so after trialing for one season the app was ditched.
But almost on cue, Team App appeared on the market. And at once the benefits were obvious.
- The web platform and admin interface were easy to set up.
- Content on the web platform automatically sync's with the app.
- Push notifications allow events and news to be communicated in real time or scheduled.
- Customization of content available via the app
- Personalized design options
- Purchase of the ad banners to promote own sponsors.
The latter one is a fabulous way to take control of the app's advertising banners. The fee is very reasonable, and we promote the option as a way to encourage higher level sponsorship, our larger contributors getting the additional coverage.
The website also allows for "Custom Pages" which can allow for the creation of additional content as you'd find in any website.
It's simplified the communications role enormously.

Cons

Whilst the App is overall a boon, the app interface has space for 12 active buttons to access the information relevant to what you want. Some of these are automatically linked to web content such as news and events, and some to external links etc. Content that you want to make accessible to website visitors needs to be reflected in an active button on the app, other than the custom pages.
It simply means if you want to have certain content accessible via the website, you tie up a button you might otherwise have used for one of the other exciting features (such as the gallery, the chat rooms etc).
In essence, the degree of customization available is good, but not extensive, which requires a little bit prioritization of what you want available.
There are some fantastic features available which would be great to activate, but the button limit gets in the way. Additionally, some of the optional features would be a bit time consuming to fully capitalize on, eg, player profiles can't be added to or edited by the players themselves.
Despite these issues, the app is a great tool, and the support available can help you get over most issues satisfactorily.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Cameron W.

Perspective of an administrator review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this app has been a major asset for our league and we are very glad we began to use it for this season. It makes a lot of administration requirements really easy to achieve. We look forward to usng the app for many years to come.

Pros

- encapsulates every platform in one: newsletters, social media, websites, uniform stores, calendars etc.
- really user friendly
- simple to use all features
- can tailor it for what your own specific organisation needs

Cons

- exporting uniform payments: i think the excel spreadsheet that is exported from stores can be simplified. In the spreadsheet it shows each individual item purchased as one row each, i believe it would make it a lot easier if it had one row per person and in an individual cell have each item they purchased.
- attendance feature of an event: we have 9 coaches who are restricted admin, and at the end of training each coach gets kids to come and tick off their name. However, Team App only saves the attended umpires as the ones who were ticked off by the LAST coach to click save. Furthermore the the 8 coach's lists of names they ticked off are scratched and it appears that those umpires did not attend the event.
- news items style: it would be great if you had a feature when doing news posts, or events in the description of events etc that you can be able to: bold, italics and underline the text you are writing to emphasize certain points. Also if you could put hyperlinks into the texts too.
- chat room: when scrolling up to load older comments it scrolls back to the most recent messages.
- member contact: when opening up the member profile and clicking their mobile number there is no option to copy their number (to text) it only lets you call directly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Eric B.

I've used team app as a coach and parent for over 5 years. I loved the app the first time I used it

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/27
Review Source: Capterra

I kept my players and coaches up to date on schedules, changes, and general communications. It made team coordination easy for me. It was useful for parents to have rosters and player info in the app and not have to print out and distribute information. It was fun for the players to have their own "Team App" including their bios, team photos, etc. We made up a team name and logo which reinforced brought players together as a team.

Pros

First, the product is VERY easy to set up. You can start with a very basic team app and grow it as need and time permits. The best parts is users love it, from players, to parents, to coaches. User adoption is king. Finally, you can customize it to the point it looks like a very professional app that is tailored to your needs.

Cons

No kidding, I can't think of anything I don't like about the software. I could complain about the ad model, but the app is free, and for the richness of features an can put up with the ads. Further more, if I want to pay up I can turn them off or use them as a fundraising source. Usually customer service is an issue with these types of "free" apps, but the TeamApp folks are awesome,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kristy G.

Game changer for clubs!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it's been a huge relief for our club to have Team App. Previously we had players feeling like they missed certain communications around functions etc, where now they know where all information is found, and recieve notifications and reminders about everything.
The ability to sell things in the same place has been great, and hopefully will still improve over time.
Thanks to customer rep. from Team App for always being a huge help also!
Cheers

Pros

The 2 things we like best are the ability to get a message ourout to entire club quickly and with ease, without it becoming just another email message, and secondly, the ability to apply players fees and merchandise costs direct to them and have reminders sent without the usual legwork. Has saved so much time and stress!

Cons

Inability to add stock levels to merchandise or break into sizing with stock levels. I love the store in general but it's very basic at this point.

Response from Team App

Thanks for the feedback Kristy!

We will be adding the ability to add stock levels to the 'Store' very soon and the option for you to set up automatic monthly membership payments in addition to annual for users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Thai N.

Good, but improvements to usability required!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Lots of features like putting members into separate groups and communicating with them separately or together. Shop and Payment processing, file sharing, links to external websites, scores, etc.

Cons

1. Club admin can manually enter player details into membership database (for attendance at training, etc) and assign parents/guardians, BUT then their parents can't edit/update the details! This is an unacceptable "bug" because it's logical that parents should be able to edit/update their own children's details.
2. The team selection feature is via a manual text entry box whereby you type players' names in and separate each by moving to another line? What? Why can't the team members be selected from the membership database where that player already exists?
3. App admins and access permissions - need to provide access to coaches and other admins better. At the moment, players need to be grouped eg: Under 10s, Under 11s, etc and for coaches to have access to a team list (for communication purposes or for taking attendance) they have to be a member of THAT group AND THEN granted "Restricted Admin" privileges to that group? WHAT??? WHY?? This seems like a band aid solution that results in the coach/manager being a part of the attendance list when they shouldn't need to be.

Response from Team App

Hi Thai, thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it as it helps to improve our features.

Would be great to discuss these over the phone with you.

If you can send us an email at [email protected] we can organise a time for one of our specialists to call and assist with this feedback.

Regards

Team App

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Stephen L.

Support from Team App has been fantastic. Great for sporting organisations. Love the iPhone app

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Reduction in administrative workload
Great user acceptance

Pros

There are many things I like about this software:
- website version plus iPhone / Android apps
- simple for users but powerful for website / membership administrators
- vertical integration between Clubs and parent / national associations
- Clubs / organisations can use the advertising module to generate revenue
- powerful events registration functionality
- Team Register / Lists
- News functionality
- ability to feature one or more: news items and events
- annual subs billing through Stripe - much more reliable / user friendly than PayPal
- event charging through Stripe
- integration of maps with locations
- push notifications
- opt in/out of member directory
- ability to restrict content access to specific member groups, and
- great email/phone support

Cons

There are a few areas where Team App need to improve and they have already acknowledged these to me and included them in their development pathway:
- Need to add Member Directory in web version
- Need to link the Team Register / Lists with the membership database

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Chris Y.

Could not recommend it more

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have worked with Team App over the last 2.5 years as a Media and Marketing Manager with AFL Goldfields (major football netball hub) and as a club volunteer.
Representative and the team have created something spectacular that is very user friendly and targets our club and league members immediately and efficiently.
I use Team App two to three times a day on average as a club volunteer to make sure our club members are up to date. I have since moved away from the area where my club has based but find it a remarkable resource to be engaged with all of the club's facilities.
I have recommended this software to other businesses and find it the best way to be in touch with our community.

Cons

I cannot fault anything with this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jason G.

Team App @ Chatswood Junior Rugby

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/31
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great uptake in Year 1 across the Club, eliminating or largely doing away with email communications (and the associated issues with that). It has transformed the communication within the club and contributed to an overall improvement in busy parents lives due to the information being available as and when suitable for the user.

Pros

We have used Team App for 3 seasons now @ Chatswood Junior Rugby. It has transformed the way we communicate in a two-way manner with our club members. The ability to have all the information - news, events, game draw etc. - available in a clean interface is brilliant.

Cons

The inability to 'mass' load a season draw for teams.
The alignment of the administration levels between team, age group and whole of club.
The ease of 'rolling forward' an age group from one year to the next

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Nina W.

Great customer support

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

Whenever we encountered problems or needed assistance there was always someone from Team App on the end of the phone to take our call. Their support staff were what kept us persisting with the use of the app in a non-sporting club setting

Pros

We were able to adapt the platform to use for physical activity programs run by local government. So it wasn't a perfect match but the Team App staff were amazing and listened to our recommendations.
Pros
- take bookings and enquiries
- create separate apps for each activity with all being linked to the local government agency
- ability to receive payments and transfer these funds to different providers

Cons

- The login/ registration process was not simple and intuitive. This was sometimes off-putting for people using the app for the first time.
- Would like to be able to better communicate with all members of the individual apps at one time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mike B.

This has been a great one stop shop app for all kinds of team functions.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of managing multiple teams, communication is team specific, and parent volunteer tasks can be integrated with games, practices, and coaches communication is targeted only to the necessary audience.

Pros

I like that you can integrate schedules, with volunteer assignments and communication. The best part is that it can be structured to support multiple teams, and yet, the members only need to see what they want to see, or need to see.

Cons

It is a bit complex and non-intuitive to set up and manage. With experience, it becomes easier, but it is not something you just jump in start using. Part of that complexity is what makes it great to use though too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Team App for Teams!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

It has been great and keeps me up to date with what is going on with the teams I work with as well as the ones that my kids play on.

Pros

I love the messaging feature to separate personal emails and messaging. Great features for keeping only members you allow to see news postings, schedules, photos, standings, social media, profiles and more all in one place. Can place more than one team here as well.

Cons

Not much. It is very easy to activate and great user interface. Advertising is annoying but necessary to make this affordable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jeff P.

Baseball Victoria

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

We love it, using ticketing has reduced our workload, we no longer spend hours trying to match EDFT payments or chasing payment.

Pros

Team App's ease of use is its strongest feature.
being able to create groups means we can communicate with only those we need too.
We have recently started using the ticketing as part of our events and found this excellent

Cons

These days people seem to have multiple emails, and don't always use the same.
would be nice if people could have more than one email linked to their account

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Crystal G.

As a parent and coach, I love this app. So easy to use and to monitor.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love that I can quickly contact my team to send out schedule changes, event updates, and quick reminders. This is a secure app that allows coaches the safety to contact their student athletes in relative safety. Additionally, you can attach outside schedules and websites as links within the app. Student/athletes have a safe environment to converse With adults present to monitor who can choose whether or not to interfere/intervene. Also, as a coach, you can have multiple pages depending on the number of teams that you coach. This is wonderful app for this new generation.

Cons

The ads within the app can be s bit distracting and can make the app run s bit slower, especially when running off of data in s s slower área.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Team App is a simple and effective way to communicate with a large number of people

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to have a large number of people in the database and be able to send relevant information to different groups of people within the database.
I have a range of different groups within my database including Management, Coaches, Parents, Junior Golfers, Academy, Development and Representative Squads and other interested parties.
Team App allows me to separate all the groups and effectively communicate with an individual group, multiple groups or the entire database which ensures everyone receives information that is relevant to them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Best App to remain in connect with the team

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has a great user interface that makes it easy to use. we can create one to many relationship by creating group and send messages to the team members easily and instantaneously. We can easily add members to the group. we can share Links , file sharing and external links. the app remains in sync with the Web version.we can easily add a push notification if we needed .

Cons

we need to register the Team with the membership database.
ads are the other dislike for this but its ok if we are on free version

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kevan W.

Great phone app that sporting clubs can use to communicate with their members

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/05
Review Source: Capterra

Easy for us communicate

Pros

Relatively easy to use and does allow us to bulk load member details from our sport's national registration systems both AFL and Cricket Australia.
Once in place club officials can quickly communicate with members

Cons

Like a new systems takes awhile to learn to do more detailed requirements i.e. viewing and editing members extra details.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
John C.

Invaluable. We use it for animal rescue transport

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/15
Review Source: Capterra

We are not a sports team but utilize your app to mobilize our volunteer animal rescue transport drivers to move cats from an open admission government shelter in Chicago (classified as "high kill") to state registered rescue agencies or their foster's.

We started four years ago and have conducted over 1,300 transports saving over 3,000 cats lives. In all that time we have filled every single transport request with not one fumble.

We began using team app a little under two years ago for emergency notification to our drivers when our backs were against the wall. It has proven indispensable and has been a crucial tool in helping us keep our perfect record.

Pros

It's free! Easy to use for both our admins and volunteer animal rescue drivers. Instant notification to our "zone" drivers when we have to move a cat from a high kill shelter, sometimes the same day.

Cons

Hard to say. Interface is straight forward and easily customization. I'm really hard pressed to come up with any cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John H.

Hurricanes Youth Academy & State Championships

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Team App is a great product and the support we receive is outstanding!

Pros

We are now into our second season using Team App with 270+ athletes and families, 45+ coaches, plus our own staff this App has been outstanding for linking resources, communication, documents, training schedules, and controlling advertising. This is a low cost and efficient solution for us.

Cons

There are no real problems, we would like the option of setting up 'subscriptions' for monthly payments and direct debits.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Craig T.

Amazing free app that has made my life and my teams lives so much better. Great user experience!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Free, easy to use, customization. Great customer support!! Very versatile application that has made my life and those I help manage better.

Cons

Not as easy to update/edit as admin on phone app as it is on website version.

Response from Team App

Thanks Craig, we are currently improving the edit/update ability as an admin on the app which will be available soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Team App is a necessity for managing teams!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Team App makes communicating with parents very easy. Instead of some complex email chain or sending a million texts, parents and players become trained to look at the app - so helpful.

Pros

Team App is really easy to use and intuitive. Even for the least tech savvy it can be very helpful. With modern teenagers glued to phones, it becomes essential for managing your team!

Cons

Team App means your players, coaches, parents, have direct access to you all the time. You will be bugged relentlessly! This isn't a limitation of the app, but a warning to you while using it to turn off notifications for periods and live your life!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Javier V.

Have used TeamApp to help several teams with team management and love it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use. TeamApp team always open to suggestions and or seeking new ways to make team management more effective.

Cons

It would be nice once a TeamApp is created for an organization it gave the option to allow users to create a shortcut directly to the users app.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sarah G.

Teams in control

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The training schedules, ability to set groups/teams set training reminders, contact attendees for a change of location/time. I also use the events and the ticketed events to collect information, payments, allocate tickets to functions etc. Its great on the mobile phone and allows the participants to choose what notifications they want to receive the user is in control. Love this product great for sporting teams.

Cons

Its a great product however I do feel that the reporting from the back end could be better - particularly for ticketed events an excel spreadsheet would be good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Frank S.

Love the app, Ease of set-up, Convenient, Informative

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

It keeps me up-to-date with all the events and matches for the teams i follow at local competition.
Saves me from using other apps or websites to look up information.
Frequently updated.

Pros

I like the fact the app has updated news feeds with event and scheduling.
Live scores make it easy on the go to keep up to date with the matches over the day.
Very active on social media which keeps me informed on new updates.

Cons

There isn't much i can fault with the software. The only thing i can say is that hopefully there will be more leagues and competitions added to the platform which will save me from using any other apps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Heidi M.

Team App for NT PCYC

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/19
Review Source: Capterra

Developing a consistent, unified, user-friendly portal for all our members. A tool where communicating with the members and the general public is easy. Increasing our organisation's on-line capabilities through the "Store" function.

Pros

The tracking attendance and timetable feature was an instant upgrade for us.

Cons

The integration of information between our club membership and discipline registration could have been a little easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Belinda S.

Great value for money

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/18
Review Source: Capterra

Customer support by reps and other team members has been amazing. There is nothing too hard and are great at suggesting best use options for a novice. Well done team.

Pros

It is easy to use, and is great value for money. Once they are able to set up so parents can manage their children's names within their account it will be brilliant. Flexibility to make it your own (look and feel) fantastic.

Cons

Overall pretty good, just need to set up functionality to automatically merge duplicates for outhies and give parents control over adding their children.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10