SafeHR

Easy to use, powerful HR and payroll for small UK businesses

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(28)
Value for Money
4,7/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,6/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

28 Reviews

Andy
Andy
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Integral to how we run our small company's HR - easy to use, saving significant time and money

Reviewed on 2018/02/18

Pros

The whole of the company uses Citrus regularly whether to request holidays, signal time out of the office or claim expenses. We use the system to handle a host of other situations, whether it's maternity leave; time off in lieu; salary changes; goal setting or running appraisals.

The ready-made HR policies have proved especially helpful for us as a small business - before using Citrus, we had a mix of documents, with a number of gaps and out of date information. Having a complete set of legally compliant documents which can be adapted to fit our needs is an important, reassuring benefit.

Finally, Citrus provides excellent support from HR professionals for those occasions where we need advice regarding more serious issues.

Cons

We've fed these ideas through to the Citrus team and they have responded well to changes being made to the system.

Anna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An effective system to support this vital function

Reviewed on 2023/06/08

Prior to using CitrusHR, we outsourced our HR and payroll function under a SLA. Although this...

Prior to using CitrusHR, we outsourced our HR and payroll function under a SLA. Although this worked well, we were given 3 months notice as it came up for renewal. With their assistance, we considered a number of different options including Citrus HR. The information provided was much more about how the system worked and what it could do for us, and much less about selling us a product - the pricing structure was also very clear. CitrusHR took time to consider what we were saying we needed, and supported us to transition to the system. Our [sensitive content hidden] uses it to link to Xero for payroll and to confirm deductions and adjustments linked to SSP, pensions contributions etc. Staff have adapted to the AL booking system, and the process for managing and monitoring other leave (sick leave; parental leave etc) is simple. Advice needed for specific matters arising - issuing contracts, managing flexible work requests etc is provided quickly and with recommended pro-forma letters and contracts provided. Updated advice regarding the impact of lockdown and the need to follow government advice regarding Covid etc were particularly helpful during the prolonged impact of the pandemic. The recommended HR policies and procedures are clear and can be easily adapted to specific situations. Managers have found it easy to access additional advice as required for more complex HR matters arising - call backs from HR advisors are achieved quickly.

Pros

Easy to use; holds staff records securely with easy updating systems; adds alerts to renewals of training and other certificates (e.g. DBS checks); calculates AL entitlement for individuals and provides restricted access for different Managers and staff members (e.g. staff can add their training record, but cannot adjust their AL record without managers authorisation); facility to add volunteer details - important for us as a charity which needs to store confidential information including DBS and reference checks.

Cons

I cannot think of any. The system feels secure. The transition to the system from physical files was a time consuming exercise, but it needed to be to ensure accuracy of information transferred.

Jamie-lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Difficult and challenging

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

The support team are very friendly and try their best to help but unfortunately the 'system' does not allow such basic changes to be made, meaning the support team are not necessarily able to help with such requests.

Cons

Citrus HR are unable to amend the system, when requested by their client but sell the product as 'we can make the system suit your organisation and change settings accordingly' This is NOT TRUE!

Unfortunitly due to this fact I have to keep other files and records on my computer, meaning all our HR files and documents are not all in one place, which is why I signed up in the first place.

Helene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great HR support

Reviewed on 2023/06/13

Easy to use and a life-saver in tricky situations.

Easy to use and a life-saver in tricky situations.

Pros

Very helpful advisers who will support you step by step in tricky situations. They are proactive and will offer to send you templates without you asking.

Cons

The search function. You might not find what you are looking for but a quick email to the help desk and you will receive a step by step guide on how to do things in the software.

Response from SafeHR

Hi Helene - thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're so glad that you find the service so beneficial.

Thank you for your comments on the search function - we'll pass those over to the team to review. But it's great news that the help desk are so helpful and responsive :-)

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent support on HR advice & guidance

Reviewed on 2023/06/08

Very positive.

Very positive.

Pros

I like the response support from the team. I also like the use of plain English and real world application to policies.

Cons

Think there should be a search facility on the policy / procedure handbook interface. Think the calendar could me more nuanced, so that a person being off sick, etc. can't be openly viewed by the whole team.

Sheila
Overall rating
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant Service

Reviewed on 2023/05/30

I love using CitrusHR. I mostly use it for HR support and I'm always bowled over by the knowledge...

I love using CitrusHR. I mostly use it for HR support and I'm always bowled over by the knowledge and help given.

Pros

The extensive support from the team is excellent.

Cons

I think it will be great to have a search button.

Response from SafeHR

Hi Sheila. Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're so glad that you loving using citrus HR and that the team continue to impress!

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive software backed by real people

Reviewed on 2023/06/08

Pros

It's easy to use and comprehensive, with HR support and advice behind the scenes. Response to support is quick and thorough. Would definitely recommend - have tried a few others, but Citrus HR just does the job!It's also being constantly updated too, which shows the company is very proactive.

Cons

Cost - whilst it's not excessively priced, it is a little higher than some others. But then it is a comprehensive system backed up by HR experts at the end of a phone or email, so you do get what you pay for!

Sheena
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and support staff were fantastic at setting company up and very patient with my...

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Have already recommended Citrus to other potential users and two have ordered as far as I know!

Have already recommended Citrus to other potential users and two have ordered as far as I know!

Pros

Easy to use system and company staff records are kept up to date. Citrus excellent at keeping us informed of legislation changes and implementing where required. All support staff are very helpful when you phone with a query and quickly sort things out. HR advice very professional and easy to access consultants if required.

Cons

The system does not print out a summary sheet of all staff and does not print summary sheet for holiday leave being requested - this could of course be me and I have not found it yet!!! Will ask

Celina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Citrus online HR review

Reviewed on 2023/09/12

Very good

Very good

Pros

Ease of use and customer support. As a charity we received a discount - which is vital to our sustainability as infrastructure costs are not included in funding we receive.

Cons

I needed a lot of support with set-up. But I did receive this

Response from SafeHR

Hi Celina - thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled to hear that you got the support that you needed and are happy with the software and our customer support team!
Thanks
citrus HR

Michelle
Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

From the initial sales call to the HR support & Getting the system set up, Citrus have been...

Reviewed on 2018/03/19

Pros

I love the ease of use, it's so simple to navigate around. The visual aspect is great, it's very inviting and the whole team like using it. Being able to see the weekly/monthly calendar view with icons is so handy. Being able to record assets is a great feature so we don't have to do this elsewhere. Breadth of policies is also a plus point for a small business like ours,it's saved us so much time having these available.

Cons

I'd like some online checklist features for new starters that I can use dynamically. Other than that there's nothing I can think of that is missing.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Citrus HR Assessment

Reviewed on 2023/05/25

Very good advice on tricky HR issues. Comprehensive HR documentaion

Very good advice on tricky HR issues. Comprehensive HR documentaion

Pros

The system is comprehensive and generally easy to follow. The support is exceptional

Cons

At first, access to different features did not appear to be intuitive, but the logic is soon obvious.

Response from SafeHR

Hello Peter, thank you for your kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoy working with citrus HR and that the support is giving you everything you need!

Dominic
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great team who are very responsive and easy to work with

Reviewed on 2018/03/02

One home for all HR matters

One home for all HR matters

Pros

The software is in a very easy to read format, well laid out with each part easy to access. The ability to switch between team members to update records and save documents is simple and user friendly. The team find it an extremely useful and visible tool to use to record all contract and HR matters

Cons

Because the system is so comprehensive it is not always apparent what documents are contained on it. Some of the more detailed HR documents are generic and to bespoke these to a company approach is time consuming

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy package to use, with good features

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to train others on how to use the software. Covers a lot of the functions we used to use with paper records

Cons

You do have to monitor if annual leave allowances are correct. Sometimes there can be a glitch in the system and incorrect balances are shown. Citrus HR are able to access the system and correct these however.

Nicola
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall the experience has been good, the software does what we need it to.

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Pros

Being able to record holidays and absences online has been really beneficial. It has saved me countless hours spent on spreadsheets.

Cons

We did like to see some improvements in the reports feature. I would like to see a universal report that has all the information you need in one place.

Natalie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good small office package

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Ease of finding out holiday info at the touch of a button

Ease of finding out holiday info at the touch of a button

Pros

Everything is in one place on the system - HR, Health & Safety, contract and personal info, holidays and sickness details etc.

Cons

It is only as good as the info that is entered into it! I have come on board to find it not up to date and the holidays not auto-forwarded and this is creating a lot of work. I am sure once it is all up to date, it will be a useful tool.

Natalie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

User-friendly software which reduces paperwork

Reviewed on 2018/05/02

Pros

The software has some great features. It is easy to navigate and keeps us organized.
Employee files are easy to view and keep up to date.
Staff handbook under the documents tab is a good feature. It's great to be able to store all our documents and policies in one place.

Cons

A to-do list/set your own reminders feature would be useful for the business owner, senior administrators and managers.

Shirley
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Logging in is easy, and I have not had a bad experience so far. The citrusHR software makes...

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Pros

Being able to upload Documents to an Employee's profile is great, I also like the time tracking feature.

Cons

The layout of certain features isn't what I would choose, documents layout when uploaded does not appear how i would like it to.

Savvina
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A pleasure to work with

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

Straight forward and easy to set up and maintain. Customer service is outstanding most specifically from Ike and Jade, their prompt responses and action to all of our queries.

Cons

There is a minor glitch within the contract template feature but Ike was very quick to report to the technical team and they are currently fixing it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A fantastic support to our business, excellent support provided by the Citrus team.

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Easy access to our companies employee info and company documents and legal policies all in one...

Easy access to our companies employee info and company documents and legal policies all in one place.

Pros

Great to have a portal that is so easily accessible which holds so much of or business information which we use daily.

Cons

On one occasions some requested changes have taken some time, which I was advised was due to an issue with the software.

Kristina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fab HR Software for my small business

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Massive time saving and admin help.

Massive time saving and admin help.

Pros

It's exceptionally easy to use, and whilst I'm not yet using all the features as I'm very small (only 3 employees so far), I am happy that it does all the things we will need it to do in the future. It also handily syncs to Xero so I can record my expense claims really easily.

Suzanne
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very comprehensive and easy to use HR system for UK businesses

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

Pros

Includes HR support and full suite of HR policies. It has a clear user interface which is easy for staff to use. Helpful technical support.

Cons

I can't really find a fault with the software at this stage. CitrusHR staff have been very patient in helping us whilst we sort out existing contracts.

Hayley
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use, everything i wanted was on there, we have 15 employee and they all log in .

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

Main advantage is allowing employees to see how much holiday they have and book it themselves, we used outlook in the past and it was a bit tedious in managing holidays.

Cons

I was not sure how to work out alternate Saturday shifts for our Drivers who work one in five Saturdays.

Roy
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We are in the process of imlementing citrusHR and have found them to be extremely helpful

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Pros

The software is intuitive and easy to use. The staff have engaged with it quickly and really enjoy using it. It is saving everyone lots of time.

Cons

It would be great if the team had a clear implementation plan to help roll out some of the additional (non-core) functionality.

Ann
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We find the system very user friendly and easy to navigate around.

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Ease of use and manage all employees. We have several members who are older and have said they...

Ease of use and manage all employees. We have several members who are older and have said they don't like the idea of a purely online service but unfortunately that's the future.

Pros

User friendly, visually easy to follow. Easy to navigate around and explain to other members of staff how to access and use.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple, easy to use software

Reviewed on 2018/03/09

Pros

Visually looks great. Easy to use. Simple to show staff and staff like it. Great features. Helpful support staff.

Cons

Somethings are still in development and a few teething problems. There are a few items that need to be tweaked to make them work how we'd like them to.