113 reviews

Rocket.Chat

The Leading Enterprise Communication Hub

4,3 /5 (113 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
113 reviews
Faraan Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love for in company communication

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

To summarize, makes communicating within company very easy. Love ability to create groups, send a variety of message formats, and chat history logging.

Pros

Number one thing -> love the fact that it keeps all logs of chats saved. Very easy to message code snippets or images or any sort of file to coworkers.

Cons

Haven't found anything I disliked about rocketchat yet. It is quite a big upgrade over our last messaging tool (skype).

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Faraan,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Charlie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rocket.Chat Open Source Messaging Platform

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

We're using it just within the Systems department, and I like that it's installed locally and is completely controlled by us. We use it daily for quick messages between systems techs that don't need to be on our cloud messaging platform.

Pros

I love the simplicity and functionality of Rocket.Chat, especially for an open source app. Integration with Active Directory was quick and easy, and the mobile, desktop, and Web apps work great!

Cons

My one niggle with RC is with the way notifications work when you're logged in on multiple devices and apps. When I read a message on my desktop app, it's not marked as read on my mobile apps. I've searched high and low in the admin settings and can't find anything that I can turn on to fix that.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hello Charlie,
thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad that you're enjoying Rocket.Chat and your usage insights are very important for the continuous improvement of our platform.
If you're still facing any issues regarding push notifications, please reach out at [email protected]
We're happy to have you onboard!
Rocket.Chat Team

Mudssar A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Rocket Chat Messanger in Customer Service.

Reviewed on 2020/05/16

Effectieve business communication among clients/internal and customers. happy to use i.

Pros

easy to use, configure, can be installed on many forum like ubuntu,ocean,docker etc. Android/IOS application supported. text formatting is value aded feature. file can be sent or recieved. hence at server level restriction can be made to avoid data sharing. channel/grouping can be made. 2 step security is good option.

Cons

User cant made group, does not work with windows server active user directory, if you paste large data, it will convert it to text file, editor do not support for medium large data.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hello Mudssar,
we're glad your happy with the overall performance of our product. :)

About the problems you're facing, you can always contact [email protected] and we'll be happy to help you!

Kind regards,
Rocket.Chat Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Better to keep history

Reviewed on 2020/08/24

Its the best choice.

Pros

It is open source, easy to implement, has several applications in its marketplace.

Cons

I have no relevant criticism since the whole tool meets the company's demand.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hello Rocketeer,
thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to reach us anytime :)

Sincerely,
Rocket.Chat Team

Shashank V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review on Rocket Chat.

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

As working in an organization, we generally communicate with our colleagues in the form of some short text messages in case of any requirements. Rocket chat is very fast and it supports file sharing. When I send some data which is confidential, I can send it through rocket chat cause it provides message-level security along with private chat option. I can create separate group channels for group conversations and can communicate with clients in much faster and in an easy way. We can have video calls with the clients. My overall experience of using this software is highly satisfiable.

Pros

1) It is a free and open source chat application.
2) Privacy chat feature is available and it is more secure.
3) The incoming message is translated to English if another user is communicating in some other language.
4) We can integrate our rocket chat with chatbots.
5) Can install plugins like Drupal for theme customization.
6) Supports different types of authentications like facebook, LinkedIn
7) Rocket chat community support is very good.
8) We can subscribe to different global channels for gaining knowledge.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Thanks for your feedback!

Mbongiseni N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rocket Experience

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Its the best chat tool for organisations and its the closest you can get to slack

Pros

Its free to use
its also great for sharing files
you get emails for all rocket messages, makes it easy to catch missed messages
its open source
Its way better than sending emails to colleagues
you can host it in your own server

Cons

When its running in the background the desktop app doesn't open when you open using the shortcut icon to open it.
there is nothing to hate about this app

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Mbongiseni,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Michael F.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rock solid business chat application with strong community support

Reviewed on 2018/07/24

A free chat communication system which I can host by myself for data security reasons.

Pros

The team behind Rocket.Chat delivers an ongoing effort to improve the software and add new features. Feature requests and bug reports are handled professionally.
You can deploy the server on premises or in the cloud. It also has lots of clients (Android, iOS, Windows, Mac OSX, ... and of course web!)

Most of the admin settings can be configured via the web interface.

I use Rocket.Chat within a docker container and Traefik for SSL termination and proxy. Works like a charm.

Cons

Administration is not that easy and the documentation sometimes lacks in depth descriptions. Some functionality is not yet available in all clients.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hello Michael,
thank you for your feedback. We loved that you have such a good experience with our community version. If you have other suggestions let us know!

Sincerely,
Rocket.Chat Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

RC review

Reviewed on 2020/03/24

Pros

its very useful to chat with the colleagues and also to share certain type of files

Cons

it doesn't have a calling option to do a video conferencing

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,
we're happy to contribute to making communication - and your life - easier!

We do have a video conference integration. :) In Rocket.Chat, you can do video and audio conferences using our Jitsi integration. If you want to know more about how to do it, check our documentation: https://docs.rocket.chat/guides/user-guides/voice-and-video-conferencing

Your feedback is very much appreciated!
Kind regards,
Rocket.Chat Team

Renae J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Rocket Chat provides a user friendly experience

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I havent experienced any real issues or problems with rocket chat other that the issues posted up top. Overall i love the benefit of being able to chat and post quickly the information needed from someone and get a reply promptly if they are online.

Pros

I like this software cause it makes it easy to talk to others or post information to them. I also like the emojis that show for expressing your posts.

Cons

I didnt like the update that was done where before you could delete direct messages and now you cant. Im all for organization and dont like that i cant delete those to clean up my page.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hi Renae,

Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Will E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good open source alternative to Slack

Reviewed on 2018/01/21

Pros

Can be deployed easily on your own infrastructure. Easy to integrate with other applications, using web hooks. The fact that it's open source makes it accessible to so many companies!

Cons

Some functionality doesn't seem to be thought through, for example the colour of the room title changes based on the room title and can't be customised. It would be great if you could just pick a colour. The current threaded conversations don't stop multiple conversations in a room turning into a complicated conversation. The slackbot equivalent 'Hubot' isn't heavily worked on, so lags behind Slack in this department.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Will,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A great option for an online chatroom

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

Pros

Cost effective hosting
Good Integrations
Simple to use

Cons

Customer Support
Help documentation is a bit lacking

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,

Thanks for the feedback! We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Given our open source nature, it is sometimes difficult to keep our documentation updated, we are always doing our best to keep it updated and our awesome community does a great job in helping us with this task.

Mark T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Blast off with Rocket.Chat ;)

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

We got Rocket.Chat because we needed the ability to control and encrypt our own chat data for PCI compliance. We had Slack before and loved it, but never paid for it, and needed to be able to secure our own chat data, so we changed to Rocket.Chat.

Pros

It's a great business chat software and makes it very simple to create channels and set chat preferences.

Cons

It's not very visually appealing compared to chat software like Slack.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Mark,

Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Christophe N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Alternative to Slack

Reviewed on 2019/05/30

Great experience so far, pricing model is the only limitation for integration into our platform as we dont want to maintain our own app.

Pros

RocketChat is probably one of the best alternative to slack, it offers both the long-term support of open-source and the fast adoption cycle of a commercial cloud based offer.

Cons

Per-user pricing model is still to high for a chat, and limitation of push notifications is a problem for mobile user support. Another pricing model would be appreciated.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hi Christopher,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Luiz A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for team communication

Reviewed on 2019/04/23

The tool allows us to maintain communication with all of the team. The conversations that we have related to the projects are treated using the tool as a means of communication, which greatly facilitates.

Pros

Possibility of integration with several services and allows to install in own server of the company.

Cons

Because it is an open source project, it has some bugs.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Your helpful comment are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Ruvenss W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most complete Open Source Enterprise on premises solution for enterprise instant messaging

Reviewed on 2020/05/07

We are solving communications problems, in both ends internally and with customers

Pros

Full white label product, and Open Source solution completely separate from restrictions from US

Cons

It doesn't has dark mode, a feature that all modern software must have.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Ruvenss,
we're happy to know that you've been having a good experience with Rocket.Chat! Your suggestion will be reported to our product team and taken in consideration.

Thank you and keep Rock(et)ing!
Rocket.Chat Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Slack Alternative

Reviewed on 2019/05/24

Had a great experience during the time I was utilizing Rocket.chat for our customers. Great interface and ease of use, especially for mobile chat.

Pros

Very impressed with the features, ease of use and UI design.

Cons

Would prefer to have more control over some admin features on the hosted version.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Yamini P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rocket Chat

Reviewed on 2018/10/04

Pros

Good product for communication for smaller organisation. We can create private channels and it helps us to improve overall productivity by discussing projects as well sharing new ideas.
Best things that I like the most are audio and video conferencing and screen sharing.

Cons

Only load image files as well don't have file versioning. It is also lacking in calendar and contact sharing.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Denise M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rocket Chat with employees

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

Takes place of added e-mails to ask quick question or have communication with other Employee or even a group chat if needed. Time Saving for sure.

Pros

It helps you see which employees are on line and working and available for contact.

Cons

Have to reload sometimes, minor technical issues.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Rihards Š.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Keep up the good work

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

The main bussines problem is described in section about alternative products. Overall the experience of using Rocket Chat is good. The administration panel is way to complex (however the features are great). What bothers me currently is:
* macOS automatic app updates regularly don't work and I've to install the app manualy when new version is released.
* when issue arrises I, as a paying customer, find it challenging to contact customer support. I got to your main page, fill out many fields and get responsive in few days.

Pros

- Wide functionallity, configuration, integration options.
- Mobile apps are with good quality when I'm on the go.

Cons

- Automatic upgrades regularly don't work (described bellow in overall experience).
- Admin panel is a bit complex to configure.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hi Rihards,

Thanks for your feedback!

We have good news for you, as we speak our developer team is working on a new interface for the admin panel.

As for the support issue, we are constantly working on improving our customer support, and your feedback is very important in this process.

We will notify our developers on the MacOS app update issue as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Rocket rocks!

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

Pros

Ease to use, compatible with another apps and union of 3 others soluctions

Cons

Integrate video conference without third part and better report on livechat

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,
We are glad to know that you enjoy Rocket.Chat and you have such a positive experience.

Video calls are done through our Jitsi native integration! You can learn more on https://docs.rocket.chat/guides/user-guides/voice-and-video-conferencing.

Thank you for your feedback and keep Rock(et)ing!
Rocket.Chat Team

Rachel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great messaging app

Reviewed on 2019/10/28

Pros

This is a great tool for our small company. Great features like setting up channels.

Cons

Challenges with authentication at times.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good Slack alternative

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

We use free version, as we installed it on our server. Very easy to use

Pros

If you're building your company and don't want to spend money for chat softwares, Rocket is one of the bests !
It's very beautiful and UX is almost the same as Slack or Discord
You'll see many features to help you chat with your teams

Cons

Give the installation work to developers, or else you'll have to pay for the cloud version

Response from Rocket.Chat

Your helpful comment are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Luigi V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple and intuitive Chat

Reviewed on 2019/09/27

I always used it in a work environment, where you need a flexible and customizable chat to talk with your colleagues and organize your working day, and it's not only about work it could also be about fun.

Pros

Video chat, group channels, group conversations, this chat gives you several options to interact with your contacts in a smooth way.

Cons

The fact of being logged out anytime it gets an update is a little bit annoying in my opinion, but after a login everything is back to normality.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Our team is constantly improving the platform to offer our users an amazing team chat platform for internal and external communication. We would love to understand better the problems you are facing, would you be able to detail them and send us on [email protected]?

thanks for your feedback!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good, but could be better

Reviewed on 2020/06/30

Overall it does what it is supposed to do. It allows multiple people to chat, comment, and put emojis on posts. It also allows a private conversation.

Pros

It is easy to setup and a good alternative to slack. It is easy to start channels and hold conversations.

Cons

On the phone app you can't actually start a thread. You can however on the computer which makes the channel a little disjointed at times.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Dear Rocketeer,
Thank you for your feedback! Your helpful comments are very much appreciated.

The thread system has been updated on our release 3.4. We hope to have fixed your problem! You can learn more about it on https://rocket.chat/introducing-rocketchat-34-new-threads-omnichannel-features-more/

Kind regards,
Rocket.Chat Team

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great code for chat

Reviewed on 2020/01/01

Rocket.Chat is a reliable software and you can trust on it.

Pros

After a lot of exploring we found Rocket.Chat, it's open-source, also free and easy to setup. Rocket.Chat can be integrated easily.

Cons

Documentation is not quite good. If you want to use the Rocket.Chat marketplace, you have to go to a paid plan.

Response from Rocket.Chat

Hi Rocketeer,
Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!