MemberSuite Reviews

MemberSuite

Cloud-based AMS for associations & member-based non-profits

4.3/5 (15 reviews)
Matthew L.

MemberSuite: customizable, user friendly, and the best CRM/AMS I've used.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

I'm the database administrator for a member-based non profit organization. We've been on membersuite for about a year and a half, coming off an AMS that seemed to break a little more with each patch. The difference in getting switched over was immediate and a huge improvement for our employees and our members/customers. We have a large number of business functions that we used to outsource to third party vendors because we lacked the ability to do them well in our old database, including event/exhibitor registration, abstract submissions, award nominations and judging, and email marketing campaigns. Since switching to membersuite, we've brought all of these back in house, since membersuite's tools and functions are easily as good if not better than the vendors we would use. We've also been able to automate a huge number of business functions that used to take hours of staff time daily/weekly. Overall, membersuite has streamlined many of our functions and processes, improving them greatly from where we came from, and allowing us to expand our thinking of what's possible through our CRM/AMS. I have no regrets about making the switch and I've gladly recommended membersuite to other database admins/IT professionals.

Pros

The reporting tools are the best I've ever used: it's incredibly easy to filter and tune reports towards exactly what you need for any given data set. Customizing your database's back end towards your needs is really easy and makes the system incredibly versatile. Users have reported a much better experience with membersuite than our old database, particularly in terms of online purchasing and event registration.

Cons

The lack of a spreadsheet import can be a hindrance. Also, there's no way to copy merchandise or most other objects in the system, which would be really helpful when creating a lot of inventory.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Shaun H.

Access and adaptability enabling

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

MemberSuite runs the core of our business. There are several modules and systems that have been centralized, and the system is the primary system in which all member accounts and systems are referenced against. This centralization of our member ecosystem allows us to more efficiently and effectively manage our records with the staff resources we have.

Pros

A competitive advantage MemberSuite has over other providers is the flexibility of its API and ability to integrate with other systems and its ability to customize fields and data import/exports to manage data. This makes the system scalable and allows for a more customized fit to meet business processes of the organization, while staying on a core product.

Cons

MemberSuite knows it cannot be a one-size fits all or one-stop-shop for what dedicated systems provide, which is why integrations are important; however, there is basic functionality in the finance and marketing modules that if given a little more love could be decent baseline modules without the additional brute-force staff time it takes to make them operate efficiently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michael L.

Pretty darn good & getting better

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

We are a membership association and we have an additional group of subscribers and stakeholders/ interested parties and we are able to manage all of that data and those relationships in MemberSuite. We have see significant improvement in the usability of the system and the responsiveness of the staff at MemberSuite since new CEO took over 9 months ago. Cudos to the Board for making the change. The release of Portal 5.0 will be a great leap forward and the expansion of the INSIGHTS reporting tools is huge as well.

Pros

The software is easy to use. The training went well and we are able to self manage our entire database and customer relationships with a very small staff. The reporting package is good and getting better and there is a new layer of reporting software that provides even more granular information.

Cons

We came on the system at a time of significant growth at Membersuite and they were challenged to keep up with us and all the other new clients. Their culture has improved from a developer driven mentality to a customer facing mentality and that change, while welcome, has taken 24 months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Chris S.

MemberSuite One year in

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Since using the billing process through MemberSuite, invoicing takes much less time for staff to process and our members are paying their dues more quickly since they can download an invoice from an email and pay online. We have also found the e-marketing included with MemberSuite so easy to use, we are canceling the contract we have with another e-marketing platform and sending all our emails through MemberSuite.

Pros

It is intuitive to use. There are links and instructions all over the software to help you navigate and get the informaiton you need. Additonally, any information your organization puts in the AMS can be pulled out in reports. This was not the case in our previous software.

Cons

There are reports included with the AMS and they are very helpful but they don't inlcude exaclty the information we'd like to see. We have been able to create reports to pull the information the way we want. However, I believe MemberSuite is working to make these reports more customizable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Lakisha B.

MemberSuite is a perfect fit for us!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/18
Review Source: Capterra

We are a small staff of 10 that services almost 3,000 members. We needed a system that allows us to customize pages and site easily. We use MemberSuite as our central "hub" for all things related to our association. We utilize API to link our registration company, our online journal and our technical papers. This API allows for SSO (single sign-on) and our members to use their one login to access all sites. We went live in 2015 after transitioning from a different AMS. The transition was really smooth and the customer service has been great.

Pros

The ability to customize and the price point was perfect for us compared to other systems. The customer service is really good as well.

Cons

We have been anxiously awaiting the roll-out of the new customer portal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Susan M.

Engage your members with ease of use in MemberSuite

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience overall and the customer support is top notch!

Pros

The ease of having our events visible in the member portal makes for easy interaction with members for registering for events and updating information. The standard and custom reports available in MemberSuite have been very useful in our accounting.

Cons

There are a few reporting and financial issues that we are still working through so I wish all issues could be resolved in a timely manner but I do think most of our issues are resolved quickly. I also wish we could have two bank accounts within MemberSuite.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Laura V.

Web based, highly configurable system that allows us to manage most aspects of our association.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Highly configurable with the option to customize if needed.

Allows us to run almost every aspect of our association with one system.

Ability to integrate through a robust API.

Only pay for the modules you use and need, with an unlimited amount of users.

Cons

The user experience in the portal is clunky and not as intuitive as it should or could be.

The length of time it takes for bugs to be fixed. If they are system wide, they are addressed quickly, but if they only impact a small amount of customers, they take quite a bit longer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Michelle M.

I've noticed a huge improvement in MemberSuite since our implementation over three years ago.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that it is web-based so all I need is an internet connection and I can access our database from anywhere. I like the attentiveness of our customer success manager and the support team. The search feature is very useful when we need to pull data on our members, event registrations, awarding continued education credits, etc.

Cons

The current portal has some limitations, but those will hopefully be addressed with the upcoming upgrade. The flexibility to enhance the product to fit our needs comes with a steep customization cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Overall, this has been a disappointing experience.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/27
Review Source: Capterra

I learned that we should have picked something else?

Pros

Their sales pitch is good. There are a lot of ways to customize the software and, for the right association with a very complex organization is can be customized to be a great tool.

Cons

This expensive software is sold as a "one stop shop" solution, but many of the features do not work well or are no longer supported. For instance, we were told that the built in CRM was great and just like Salesforce or dynamics with an outlook plugin. But there is no pipeline, no way to track communications with members, and the plugin for outlook is no longer supported/

Several things we were told would be rolling out with new versions have not happened and it has been over a year. I was interviewed about a new UX several times in late 2016 and early 2017, but there has been no change to the tool.

At the 2016 conference, new analytics features were announced and a lot of hype was made. But when these were released, they were for an additional cost, which would almost double the annual software cost.

Our implementation was terrible and we are still finding things that do not work or were set up incorrectly. Despite walking through billing runs and discussing renewal emails, this was never set up and took more than 5 hours of customer support and paid training to get set up because it is so convoluted.

Lastly, members complain because it is not intuitive or easy for them to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Candice Z.

A Good All-In-One Resource for Associations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Even though each association is different, MemberSuite is highly customizable--events, awards, certifications, member directory... they can cover it all.

Cons

Our company has been a client since 2011 and over the years we've had some challenges with Support but this has become much better recently. Our CSM has been a very valuable resource.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Brian B.

Flexible, configurable AMS System

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Flexibility of the software - it is highly configurable
Very open API
Great access to data

Cons

I would like the console to be a little more user friendly/intuitive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Samuel L.

Very robust software, sometimes confusing as to how it works.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software will do most anything needed, sometimes it can be difficult to configure to the associations business practices.

Cons

I wish it had better documentation in how options work, so that I could just look up the answers myself without having to go to support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Tina A.

I like how they take the time to walk you through anything and the constant improvements!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

All in all a learning experience

Pros

MemberSuite is always making improvements and looks to its customers for feedback. The customer service support is great!

Cons

Some of the reporting isn't intuitive but it is getting better for sure. As I learn the easier it gets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

MemberSuite was Sweet

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

I formerly used MemberSuite and was relieved to have a powerful system with excellent reporting capabilities. Every system has it's strengths and REPORTING is the best part of MemberSuite. I trusted my data and was glad to set up reporting as I needed and not have to depend upon "canned" reports.

Pros

I appreciate their highly customized reports.

Cons

The system would go down at an inconvenient time, although perhaps this has been resolved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Michelle W.

MemberSuite - Good Association Mgmt Tool

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

MemberSuite is easy to use and can be accessed from anywhere. One of the best features for my place of employment is that it gives unlimited user access. It's also highly customizable.

Cons

User experience in the portal is not as intuitive as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10