50 reviews

Shopify Plus

Enterprise eCommerce platform for high volume merchants

4,8 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,7
Customer Support
4,7
100% recommended this app
50 reviews
Jason B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy To Use & Great For Small Stores!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Easy store setup

Pros

Shopify Plus is great to use for the serious business owner. It allows you to set up a shop and start selling very quickly which is very appealing to many.

Cons

Shopify seems to have been built for very small size stores. While this is great for some, it is horrible for others. They also do not have any built in way to set up shipping based on product dimensions so if you have multiple products with different dimensions this is probably not the best website platform for you. Seems that we have to use many "work arounds" just to make things like shipping work. It can be a huge pain if you have a big store.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Perfect Platform for Growing Fashion Businesses

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent platform, would happily recommend to anyone looking for nimble, stable platform for their online business.

Pros

Extremely easy to implement. Build took 3 months. Launch was anticlimactic and backlog of tasks were minimal.

Cons

There are some limitations on how much you can customize it, but it's not a dealbreaker.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Evans A.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful for businesses with high volume

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's a powerful tool for businesses with high volume. Our business leverages and integrates the platform for clients with large volume sales or visits to their e-commerce platforms. Best part? Mixing and matching online and in store inventory.

Cons

It's long to setup. It takes an experienced team. If you're not affluent in Shopify (the regular version) this is NOT the solution for you right away unless you're working with an agency or have qualified staff to work with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Luis daniel R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I love shopify plus!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how quickly you can build an online store with trusted security and speed, also being a plus+ customer allows you to get dedicated customer support and access to apps that can help you to automate your store or create very custom promos using Ruby programming language. It's a platform to scale your bussiness very fast!

Cons

from a web developer perspective, I don't like that there's no built-in GIT control over the themes, there are many external options to do that but it would be great to build some control versioning between themes inside the shopify platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shari H.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Dreamy compared to other platforms

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

So easy! Having been on a different platform for 3 years that operated on a break + fix model (something breaks, we spend money + time to fix. That in turn breaks something else, more time + money to fix, and the cycle continues), this platform operates like a dream. We actually get to optimize our site and spend time testing functions and driving the business.

Cons

some limitations as it relates to promos + discounts. Cannot use more than 1 discount code at a time. Cannot store a credit in a customer account. Cannot edit an order (now you can, but there are limitations).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ivan R.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good Before Politics Got Involved

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

Shopify Plus gets ONE STAR from me for customer service despite very good communication and support with everyone I've personally dealt with---sales, support, merchant development.

They get one star because they openly courted outdoor and shooting sport retailers for their platform, onboarding them with repeated assurances that Shopify wanted their business and would take care of them. Many of my friends in the industry preformed costly migrations to Shopify plus because of these overtures and were eager to get going on the platform.

Just a few months before Black Friday 2018, Shopify arbitrarily changed their terms of service to explicitly ban retailers offering anything to do with guns, or basically anything 'scary' like hatchets and knives. This change was not due to payment processor needs or issues of legality---all of these retailers were operating through their own gateways and were in full compliance with all applicable laws.

More importantly NO WARNING OR GRACE PERIOD WAS ISSUED. Overnight these retailers were left hung out to dry after paying tends of thousands---if not hundreds of thousands of dollars---to migrate over legacy systems and retrain staff.

This policy shift was arbitrary and counter to the repeated assurances provided retailers, and Shopify's longstanding stated positions. It was nothing less than a complete betrayal of these merchants who had believed in Shopify and trusted them with their bluishness. I'm am convinced other "purges" will follow.

Pros

Industry best user/checkout experience, industry best reliability, industry best customer support, fantastic user interface, great tools for automation, helpful merchant success managers who have experience, connections, and good advice...

The plus features are worth it and we use them daily: Flow, Scripts, Launchpad etc are so valuable to the business that it is hard to imagine going without them.

Cons

Shopify plus has been suspiciously slow to improve it's software when it will disrupt an existing "shopify app" in their app store. There are many obvious and simple optimizations that they are hesitant to implement because it will cost them money and anger software developers who rely on the income. This is a weakness in their product design strategy and holds the app store back from being as good as it could be. This attitude has slowed improvements to core functionality like Discounts, Customer Communication, Upsells etc.

Shopify (and plus) also needs to take a more active role in safeguarding user/customer data when it comes to what is truly needed by apps. One malicious developer can compromise tens of thousands if not millions of shopper's information and there's almost no recourse or prevention. In the same what mobile apps ask for too much information on purpose---there are a lot of suspicious "free" apps on the store which appear to be there just to harvest user data.

Increasing and inappropriate "politicization" of terms of service in order to bow to the personally held political beliefs of Shopify executives---regardless of legality, payment processor terms etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best In class e-commerce solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Shopify is a very powerful platform that can run any e-commerce store from the smallest startup to the largest brands. The software has many users contributing to its platform and is very well documented, making it simple to find ways to customize your store. It is a very flexible, yet easy-to-use platform that can be customized in many ways. I have looked into other various solutions but Shopify offers the most our of the door. It offers many apps that can increase the functionality of the platform.

Cons

The Shopify Plus option is much more expensive than the previous options but offers a lot for the price.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jake C.
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: Self Employed

Free Demo sold me right away!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/10
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome, if you're thinking about it, just go out and try their free demo, you've got nothing to lose. If you find it's more than you need, you can check out the other cheaper and free options.

Pros

Free demo is good to get a taste of what it's about, and it sold me right away. I've used shopify before on personal, small projects, but this gives you tools to manage a much larger revenue stream and be confident in it. The platform is super easy to use if you have even a small amount of experience with eCommerce sites and operating them. You can get up and started very quickly, post new items very quickly, it's great!

Cons

Some issues with shipping customization that I had to find a workaround for, by updating pricing instead of shipping dimensions since you cant do that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Everything you will ever need for Ecommerce!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

We use Shopify Many times a day and I personally have ran multiple store on shopify's highest paid plans and I have never been disappointed. Fantastic customer support and amazing 3rd party apps.

Pros

Everything you are looking for in an ecom platform
Great clean GUI
Easy to Learn System
Ability to scale and handle large amounts of traffic / orders

Cons

Nothing that I can think of, this blows every other ecom service out of the water

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Austin G.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great platform for ecommerce

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its well established name provides visibility on its own.

Cons

Customisation is somewhat limited, but it always works

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rene S.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 11-50 Employees

One of the best e-commerce platforms out there

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/12
Review Source: Capterra

All of our e-commerce business is being processed through Shopify Plus and everything has been running great and smoothly.

Pros

We already use shopify, we decided to upgrade to shopify plus mainly because we needed a wholesale platform to control and process wholesale orders. This does it for us. Plus it offers lower transactions fees which based on your order volume end up paying itself.

Cons

Even though the website and platform are good enough, if you try to add more detailed customization you will need a shopify developer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andre B.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to work, complete documentations and manuals, good support, best price in the market.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I most like on this platform is the community. You can easily contact and connect with someone that has the knowledge. Other point is the apps that you can connect. Several of them are free.

Cons

The lack of options in the product information and no deep log information when manage error it is something that I least liked. There is not free version of the system, that is also something to take in consideration

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Maxwell B.

Shopify Plus has been a total upgrade!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the ease of use, especially with the many new options for running reports on sales and income, top sellers, and other monthly reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Peter F.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: Self Employed

Perfect for Small-and-Medium Businesses

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

-Ease of use (my team loves the UI of the Shopify Plus back end far more than WooCommerce)

-3rd party integrations galore

-Really clean theme + shopping experience

-Integrates with Lightspeed POS + Shipstation + Accumula for a powerful omnichannel setup

Cons

-The CMS and page building leaves a LOT to be desired compared to WordPress (though that was to be expected)

-A little pricey

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shawna D.
Industry: Cosmetics
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The Best!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love Shopify Plus. It gets the job done efficiently. I appreciate how much can be customized, while still having great out of the box features.

Cons

There should be a native return application within Shopify.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Super easy unless you hit a feature wall

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/22
Review Source: Capterra

If I had thenpower to change pur business model to make Shopify work for us again, I would. If you just want to sell wisgets with a sweet custom store, look no further.

Pros

I imagine 90% of people will find that their needs are met with the out-of-the-box software. The ease of ramping up is far beyond the competition. However, if your business needs go outside of expected ecommerce patterns, you hae to buy or build a kluge of custom plugins. Eventually we had to abandon Shopify to build our own platform, but we were well-served for a long time, and frankly I miss it.

Cons

Like most off the shelf software, it can’t be everything to everyone. In our case, we couldn’t build our mixed model of hardware/software onetime/subscription billing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Excellent basic eCommerce platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Out of the box, it's everything you need to get started at an enterprise level. The app store provides you with basically everything else an eCommerce business would need to create a rounded off website experience. Love the omnichannel integrations built in - saves a lot of time.

Cons

Some of the capabilities that are apps probably should be holistic. I don't love how the native emails are laid out either. You can't create custom ones and therefore Shopify really pushes MailChimp and other integrated ESPs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Gary M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

i love shopify plus!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

i have allways wanted to start a E-com store and amazon was too much so i decided to go shopify where it was easy for a beginer like me to get started and learn more about dropshipping

Pros

as i created a dropshipping business shopify was the first place i went and i cannot say how great the platform is. very easy and user friendly

Cons

i think they could of had more background templates

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rebecca K.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I've used this product for over a year and LOVE it!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Shopify Plus has an extremely user-friendly interface. It's easy for shoppers to use, as well as account managers. It's also extremely easy to use the scripts editor when having promotional deals, which is an extremely important feature in retail.

Cons

I think overall this product is great. I don't have anything negative to say about this product, other than the price is a bit high for start up companies. They do allow for a free trial version which was very helpful in determining if this product was right for our company.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rob S.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The most user-friendly eCommerce platform on the market.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Shopify let us implement our business model with ease and we've grown from 4 employees to 40 employees using this eCommerce platform.

Pros

Shopify was one of the first few choices we made when starting the business and it has yet to let us down in its features or ease of use. It is also easy to manage products, inventory, and orders.

Cons

Almost nothing wrong with this platform because it is so easy to use and implement and you don't need a PHD to operate it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jessie B.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Helpful, efficient and informational.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

I really like using this software and how quick it is and provides the information I need to do my job.

Pros

I like being able to see customers orders and tracking all in one place. This is the go to software that we use at work to view order information. We also can view lifetime spend, whether a customer has created an account with us, and their rewards history.

Cons

The most negative factor is how often it has issues, it may be due to their server but it seems to have been happening often lately.Other than that, Shopify Plus is great and I love using this tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Elias M.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

More stable and scalable Ecommerce platform in the market

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

Our business was struggling with a bad ecomm development and we were able to relaunch with full capacities and functionalities in time record.

First month of operation we grew 10x only with our organic traffic.

Pros

Great usability
Lots of features
Scalable and stable
No errors
Best app store
Big community
Lots of documentation
Digital Marketing ready
SEO ready

Cons

It's very close in terms of checkout development or integrations.

Specially for markets outside the US is pretty hard, almost impossible to integrate alternative local payment methods.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Megan g C.
Industry: Retail
Company size: Self Employed

Great option for Passive Income

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

I started an online store and am earning passive income with Shopify ever since

Pros

I started an online store on shopify about 2 years ago. I watched a lot of videos on how to use it so the ease of use is easy because there's a lot of information available. My shopify store is my best form of passive income and the Shopify PLus software has made managing the store, orders and returns easy and fast

Cons

The learning curve may be a bit extensive for beginners but there's lots of videos to learn

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Events Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Ecommerce Stores Look No Further

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We were growing quickly and needed a better ecommerce platform than what we were using. The Enterprise version of Shopify is amazing! Uptime, speed and performance are all fantastic.

Cons

The price! It's much more expensive than traditional platforms. However, you get what you pay for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Awesome ecommerce tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to use. What I like the most is the app that allows you to use almost ALL the features on your phone

Cons

I think the price is way too high compared to some other competitors, for instance WooCommerce by WordPress

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10