MantisBT Reviews

MantisBT

Open source web-based bug tracking system, written in PHP

4.1/5 (77 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Feature Rich bug tracker

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Proper tracking of daily tasks.

Pros

Can track multiple projects and multiple users working on it.
The filters given are really awesome, it helps a lot to track the project and user workflow.
Many functionalities are given with simplicity like forms, user tracker, project-wise tracking, road maps, user account, project details, etc.
Various User levels are given to work with, so it's easy to assign, resolve and close the issue for higher / lower level user too.
The detailing about any task gives in-depth info of any project,
in which child task, parent task functionality plays the major role.

Cons

The UI is not at all user-friendly, the non-technical person could not understand it easily.

The concept of child class/ parent class is tedious to understand in the first view.

The links for "Bug Update" page (Pencil icon) and "bug view" page (hyperlinked Bug ID) are located really very close, so while updating the task, it creates confusion.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
James T.

Great product with lots of funtionality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

I used this for my old place of work! and must say at the time it was easy to use, With tons of features!
I like the drop down list for different departments (sites) and how easy it is to track faults open or closed with different colors for different states!

I now use a program called Team support, which I have found easier to use, With the Sam functionality! unsure on prices of either product as I'm just a user!

but mantis is definitely a handy little program that I would say is focused more on the technical user!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality

Cons

Looks a bit more technical for the nontechnician minded

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Maria agnes C.

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/10
Review Source: Capterra

It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

Pros

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

Cons

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Arpit G.

Wonderful and very fast Bug tracking tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

Since it is easy to use, we are easily able to help our QA & Dev team to use the bug tracking & reporting tool. It is best option for Start-ups and new users

Pros

It provides easy bug tracking covering all basic things required fo ra Bug tracking software. It can be integrated with all the build and task management tools. We have it integrated with TFS & SVN

Cons

Reporting & Filters should be improved a lot. if both these things are improved people will find it an ideal solution for bug tracking

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Bharat S.

Bug tracking tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Esther C.

My first issue tracking and bug development tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mantis was the first issue tracking software that I used several years ago . It was easy to install, setup and deploy through all departments involved from development to QA release of product.
As all open-source tools is widely maintained by the community

Cons

I love free version of MantisBT, but professional version is really expensive comparing to other options on the market

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mark J.

Job logging software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is easy enough to use and you can log track and trace current and in progress jobs that have been created. Timelines and grades give you the capability to process logged jobs in the time frame required.

Cons

For the average user this software will not be that easy to navigate around but once thy have had enough training on it they will be comfortable enough to use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Ugly but free and works

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/05
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

Pros

Free
Has everything for bug tracking and project management
Simple enough to never break

Cons

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator
Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Amandeep K.

User friendly Open source bug tracker system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

The high functionalities fulfills the purpose of bug tracking, thus, management of a project becomes more efficient.

Pros

1. Helps team members in project collaboration and to track the progress in software development within team or with clients.
2. Automated email notification system which notifies project members regarding issues updates.
3. Issues can be filtered according to status, priority, assigned to user, date etc.
4. Each user can view his/her own unresolved issues.

Cons

Very simple interface - Can be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Mantis Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/15
Review Source: Capterra

overall it good for small companies

Pros

Good Bug tracking tool.
Can be integrated with other tools easily.
Can track multiple project at the same time
Different roles for different users
search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

Cons

Boring UI
Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Robin M.

It's an easy to use bug tracking software and can be used for tracking multiple projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customizable issue workflow , Notifications , Search and Filter tools , Various levels of users Access

Cons

It is an amazingly simple tool to install but the included download file does not contain any documentation. Instead it redirects to the on-line documentation from within the /docs/directory.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Narine B.

One of the best bug trucking systems

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

It has a good UI, amazing and adorable green mantis logo))

Pros

I've been using Mantis for a very long time, it is easy to use, user - friendly, simple and understandable.

Cons

Can't remember a thing that was not too good. I've been using Jira as well, but no difference for writing a good bug))

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Warren james B.

Was not hard software to learn and work through

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can tack jobs logged relatively easily. Works well in a software dev environment where you are tracking bug related jobs and creating release notes for techs.

Cons

Every now and then the job submitted would not log properly and you would have to start the whole log again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Abdelli S.

great tool to truck bugs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how it's easy to install and use since the interface is very simple but not modern. Also you can customize it to your needs. I highly recommend it.

Cons

there are some customisations aren't possible so you will have to change the core by yourself..

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Infiyaz K.

Extremely handy tool for the team

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It helps monitor each and every bug easily and know who is attending to it at a given time.

Cons

The end-user (who is usually the bug reporter) gets a little taken aback when it comes to the UI but I don't think this is a big deal once they get familiar with it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chetan K.

Mantis-Nice Bug tracking tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/10
Review Source: Capterra

Mantis BT is really good bug tracking tool. Its open source, web-based, free and very useful tool for managing bugs. Life cycle of an issue can be easily managed and tracked.
Health of the project can be view by checking the status of bugs. Send E-mail to each individual on status change of the task. A good tool to in a project.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mike lester R.

If you are looking to kickstart with a FREE bug tracker, go with Mantis

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

What i really liked about MantisBT is the simple and straightforward approach to tracking and squashing those pesky bugs! It is a real monitoring tool to keep track and address issues in the development or post-go-live of the project. Not much after that.

Pros

What I liked about MantisBT is the simple workflow it requires of the user to report, track, and update "bugs" in your projects (software). Instead of keeping track on the old and clunky offline Microsoft Excel, we deemed it best to implement a simple bug tracking system to quickly address issues in our software development project.

Cons

What I liked least about the software is that it is very limited in terms of its features and being an Open source solution, lacks the commercial support of similar paid software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Amit K.

Good Product for bug tracking

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am recommending to use Mantis

Pros

I've had Mantis running since last 2 year without trouble. The reporter simply logs in and reports a problem. This is very easy to use. User can log his bug and track the status very easily. Best tool for bug tracking.

Cons

I have no issue to use this product but design view is not good. Need to improve some graphical look and feel.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rushi B.

Best for the Bigger Projects and Time consuming for the smaller one

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/19
Review Source: Capterra

Its the very good software as its free and I am Technical. Don't use it if you don't have Technical Knowledge.

Pros

- Open Source and Free
- Lots of Functionality to track and maintain the Bugs
- Make the issues relationship and get the perfect estimation.
- Great Reporting for the Ongoing Projects
- Easy to upload on the server.

Cons

- Take lots of Space on the server and if its shared hosting it will become super slow
- The Layout is very much Outdated looks like 90's OLD Movie.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Sanjeev K.

Good for issue tracking

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This product is good for small projects to track the issue. By using this, we can generates the reports on different filter basis. Also, log the discussion points during the progress of task.

Cons

Filter is not customizable. But i will recommend this because it will give us a productive working facility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ross D.

Great for basic project management

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

If you are look for a basic bug tracking system for software development, this is one of the tools you might want to look at. Got all the basic things you need to start a project.

Cons

Not as feature rich and as cutomizable as some other bug tracking/project management tools like jira.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Rock solid Bug Tracker

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Simple installation and use.
- Allows customization to address different project needs.
- Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

Cons

- UI is very outdated.
- The reporting tools are limited.
- The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Arjun G.

Fantastic open-source bug tracking tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Bug testing, tracking tickets, product management

Pros

Open source, easy to configure and customize, has all the basic features we need, makes testing and tracking issues very easy

Cons

Very basic user interface, does not integrate with other tools, sometimes the configurations are too complex to bother

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kirti K.

User friendly bug tracking tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Mantis is open source and highly customizable bug tracking tool. It is very user friendly and has a simpler GUI.A must have tool for any project

Cons

Reporting can be improved, user customization can be enhanced and integration with othet project management tool can be added

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dealdiane D.

Good but feels dated

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very easy to setup and straightforward to use. The user interface is simple but gets the job done plus it's free and open-source.

Cons

The user interface, although has been refreshed, still feels dated compared to some of the more popular alternatives

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10