89 reviews

MantisBT

Open source web-based bug tracking system, written in PHP

4 /5 (89 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
81%
recommended this app
89 reviews
Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

If you want to control bugs, MantisBT is the best solution.

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Pros

Suitable software to track errors, inform the team through fault reports. It is important to highlight that MantisBT has a free license that allows multiple options to carry the day to day of the software that is already in the test stage. For the user, it has a nice interface and the team can be notified of each stage of the test cycle.

Cons

Your options are limited when it comes to customizing and creating new reports and more accurate tracking of manual test cases. Does not allow direct interaction between users.

Bharat S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Bug tracking tool

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

Pros

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

Chetan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mantis-Nice Bug tracking tool

Reviewed on 2017/02/10

Mantis BT is really good bug tracking tool. Its open source, web-based, free and very useful tool for managing bugs. Life cycle of an issue can be easily managed and tracked.
Health of the project can be view by checking the status of bugs. Send E-mail to each individual on status change of the task. A good tool to in a project.

Sanjeev K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for issue tracking

Reviewed on 2017/10/13

Pros

This product is good for small projects to track the issue. By using this, we can generates the reports on different filter basis. Also, log the discussion points during the progress of task.

Cons

Filter is not customizable. But i will recommend this because it will give us a productive working facility.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Rock solid Bug Tracker

Reviewed on 2018/03/09

Pros

- Simple installation and use.
- Allows customization to address different project needs.
- Useful integration with Testlink allowing to assign bugs to test cases

Cons

- UI is very outdated.
- The reporting tools are limited.
- The installation files lack any kind of documentation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It is a simple bug tracking tool and can be used in more than one project

Reviewed on 2019/06/07

Mantis is a good bug tracking tool, it is free and can be used in several projects.

Pros

It is free, easy to use and has a simple workflow to track the bugs.

Cons

The interface could be better to have a better user experience. Sometimes the icons get me confused.

Kirti K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

User friendly bug tracking tool

Reviewed on 2017/08/31

Pros

Mantis is open source and highly customizable bug tracking tool. It is very user friendly and has a simpler GUI.A must have tool for any project

Cons

Reporting can be improved, user customization can be enhanced and integration with othet project management tool can be added

Syed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Syed Mantis Review

Reviewed on 2016/12/13

I have been using Mantis for my current company for almost 4 years. This software is being used for tracking and assigning issues/tickets to the team for different projects and you can follow up with your team members by manually going into the specific ticket what is due for that day etc. I gave Mantis 3 stars because there are limitations and have some boundaries.

Pros

Easy to use. User friendly

Cons

You don't have a way to track stuff automated way. Where you should receive notification if a person did not touch the ticket and the deadline is near. You have to go in and track all those things manually. Where a person who assigned the case and the person to whom the case is assigned both should receive automatic reminders and warnings.

Chad B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A great tool for keeping track of various bugs and issues.

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

The best part about Mantis is that it's free and open source. Our team of developers where able to implement it rather quickly into our information system to use as a bug/issue tracker. We like it so much we plan on widening the scope to use it for an online helpdesk ticket system for our district.

Cons

With it being open source there are a few bugs here in there of it's own accord. Sometimes access permissions can get kind of wonky and there isn't an easy way to delegate only certain amount of access to a single person.

Rajesh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bug tracker with categorization

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

It can be more interactive with more real status.

Pros

It is awesome tool to track bugs and display them with bug level.It gives you clear picture of critical bugs and shows current status.you do not need to manage excel as it is more interactive.

Cons

Multiple users can not add summary as it provides only a single section.User interface can be improved.

Melina G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Mantis Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/05

To sum up, my experience with Mantis was pleasant and I think it is ideal for a small business that is starting to have software development procedures.

Pros

When I used Mantis is was pretty simple to work with it and understand how to do everything.

Cons

I'm not sure if it was a wrong administration of the tool or just a restriction, but different profiles could modify bugs when they shouldn't.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to involve the costumer in tracking of issues

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Pros

What i like most about this product is that is easy to use when you need to track issues associated to a software development so the client is easily involve and help you in the process, you get to see and issue since it's first spotted to the resolution state

Cons

There are a lot of differente states to an issue that could be the same, i'm not sure if that is customizable or it comes with that out of the box

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tracking and having control of issues in one place

Reviewed on 2018/08/05

Pros

When i have used this software I loved that i get to see all the states an issue ever had, to whom it was assigned and everything.

Cons

Some options in the selections list are not clear or seem like duplicated i think that it is something that could be checked

Pedro M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great free tool for project management

Reviewed on 2017/08/08

A basic project management tool, really great to start!

Pros

*Open source.
*Easy instalation and use.
*Unlimited number of users.
*Very flexible.
*Have roles
*You can use custom Fields

Cons

*Don't have local documentation in the installed version.
* The search is not available with custom fields

Victor B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very nice tool

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

This is a very nice free solution for bug tracking. Even tough the looks aren't that pleasing, the functionality is there and gets the job done and more importantly, it's free!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Mantis is used by my company to track issues that require resolution

Reviewed on 2018/04/07

Pros

It is fairly simple to use and new employees pick it up quickly which is great, not a lot of training is required.

Cons

The user interface feels a little old and could use an upgrade! Also, the easier it is for a user to fill out an issue, the more likely they are to do it so I would suggest more multiple choice options!

Parveen G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mantis - The simplest tool for beginners

Reviewed on 2017/02/10

Mantis is one of the simplest bug tracker tool. It goes well with if somebody with no background of any tool starts working with any tool. Although lacks some features that takes it behind the other tracking tools, can be improved a lot by adapting of more collaborative approach.

Pros

simplest tool

Cons

Lack of collaboration

Deepak G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Not User Friendly and no support.

Reviewed on 2016/03/21

Very bad experience. Very painful to use.

James T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product with lots of funtionality

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

I used this for my old place of work! and must say at the time it was easy to use, With tons of features!
I like the drop down list for different departments (sites) and how easy it is to track faults open or closed with different colors for different states!

I now use a program called Team support, which I have found easier to use, With the Sam functionality! unsure on prices of either product as I'm just a user!

but mantis is definitely a handy little program that I would say is focused more on the technical user!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality

Cons

Looks a bit more technical for the nontechnician minded

Maria agnes C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

Pros

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

Cons

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

Esther C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My first issue tracking and bug development tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/21

Pros

Mantis was the first issue tracking software that I used several years ago . It was easy to install, setup and deploy through all departments involved from development to QA release of product.
As all open-source tools is widely maintained by the community

Cons

I love free version of MantisBT, but professional version is really expensive comparing to other options on the market

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mantis Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/15

overall it good for small companies

Pros

Good Bug tracking tool.
Can be integrated with other tools easily.
Can track multiple project at the same time
Different roles for different users
search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

Cons

Boring UI
Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

Warren james B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Was not hard software to learn and work through

Reviewed on 2018/03/14

Pros

You can tack jobs logged relatively easily. Works well in a software dev environment where you are tracking bug related jobs and creating release notes for techs.

Cons

Every now and then the job submitted would not log properly and you would have to start the whole log again.

Mike lester R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

If you are looking to kickstart with a FREE bug tracker, go with Mantis

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

What i really liked about MantisBT is the simple and straightforward approach to tracking and squashing those pesky bugs! It is a real monitoring tool to keep track and address issues in the development or post-go-live of the project. Not much after that.

Pros

What I liked about MantisBT is the simple workflow it requires of the user to report, track, and update "bugs" in your projects (software). Instead of keeping track on the old and clunky offline Microsoft Excel, we deemed it best to implement a simple bug tracking system to quickly address issues in our software development project.

Cons

What I liked least about the software is that it is very limited in terms of its features and being an Open source solution, lacks the commercial support of similar paid software.

Dealdiane D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good but feels dated

Reviewed on 2018/04/25

Pros

Very easy to setup and straightforward to use. The user interface is simple but gets the job done plus it's free and open-source.

Cons

The user interface, although has been refreshed, still feels dated compared to some of the more popular alternatives