8 reviews

Carestream Vue PACS

Web-based Picture Archiving Communication System software

3,9 /5 (8 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,9
/
5
Value for Money
3
Features
3,6
Ease of Use
3,4
Customer Support
3
75% recommended this app
8 reviews
Ilia D.

Important tool for my day to day practice as a medical doctor checking a diagnostic images

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Resolution of images, speed of respond, also like the features to adjust the image, compare between differnt images and modalities.

Cons

A little bit clumsy and old fashioned interface. Sometimes it has mistakes and crashes while loading.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Charlotte B.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Allows Accessibility to Multiple studies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is great in the Radiology department for comparing prior exams and syncing with a dictation system. You can search a patient's MRN and you will see all the exams that were loaded onto Carestream. You have the option to adjust your screen to your most used tabs and create folders for different searches.

Cons

Something that is a con with this software is that you cannot erase something once it is in the system. In the scenario a wrong annotation goes through or any other error during imaging, you cannot adjust it yourself. You have to call support to have any adjustments made which leaves room for more error the more time that goes by before correction.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Needs some additional features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I find it easy to use, but I get frustrated quite often with it, and I hope the engineers there take heed and make some adjustments. With some fine tuning this could be a much better program.

Pros

There are a few features I like. First, there is an option to "pin" a list of the patient's studies and to "pin" the reports on the left and right side of the screen, respectively. This lets you keep the list and/or reports handy as you scroll through images.

Most of the graphics are clean, and it's a somewhat intuitive platform.

Cons

There are bugs to work out with this software and it is in strong need of additional features and physician input.

First, it crashes all the time. I don't know if this is a software or hardware issue. But when you're trying to review films on multiple patients and this program crashes, it can literally ruin your tumor board or case discussion.

If you don't pin the patient's studies and reports as described above, they will move into the screen if you accidentally bring the mouse over the left or right side of the screen. No problem right? Except the bar I use to scroll through the images is on the right side, so when I'm scrolling, I keep getting interrupted by the report unless I pin it. If I pin it and I am using a small monitor it takes up a tremendous amount of real estate. If I don't pin it the report text (or even just something saying there is no report yet!) keeps popping up. Not helpful.

It is also very difficult to get rid of empty studies in CareStream. A lot of times two people will order the same test, and it gets done once, but if you don't know which accession to click you get an empty screen. There NEEDS to be an easier way to clear out tests that were ordered and not complete.

The search function is quite wonky too. I have put in a patient's name only to get films for multiple other patients loading to my list.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Bill M.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

An Adequate PACs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

Carestream has improved our ability to view and read images, but it could stand to improve it's ability to multitask.

Pros

I like the ability to open all available imaging studies for a patient from the taskbar. It's easy to toggle between tools for measurements, windowing.

Cons

When switching between patients, it is cumbersome and takes time to open a new viewing portal. It adds time when trying to load multiple patients and keep on schedule when reading studies.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Chase O.

I have enjoyed my experience overall with Carestream and its overall simplicity of use.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I enjoy the simplicity of use when it comes to the carestream software that I have and it is easy to access from multiple computers in my clinic.

Cons

The program doesn't offer all the tools that would make the program that much easier to use. I can still get the data I need from the current tools but makes it less convenient overall.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Good product, poor service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Excellent PACS product easily integrated into our existing EPR estate

Cons

Awful customer service and support, CareStream staff have lottle concept of change control

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Y. R.
Industry: Veterinary
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Awful customer service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Awfull
Very expensive for what it is

Pros

Fast access to images
Quite complete set of tools

Cons

Very very slow customer service. 2 years after installation, some features are still not available (online access to images for patients owners). None reactive customer service. Inefficient technicians

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Nigel B.

Lite client for quick simple views

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Light and effective, simple to deploy and simple for desktop admins to administer. Basic functions are available and easy to learn,

Cons

Required browser and security integration which on some health platforms is more complex than it sounds however this is not really the vendors fault.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10