47 reviews

The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

4,7 /5 (47 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
47 reviews
Nick H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our 1st season with The Flybook has been great! Conversion was easy and the support is...

Reviewed on 2017/09/25

Pros

The Flybook seems comparable in front-end user functionality and back-end data reporting with the other top Res Software providers in our industry. They've got an edge in inventory (booking availability) management for efficiency of operations. We also love the pricing structure, and have had no problems passing booking fee on to our customers. Where The Flybook has really excelled and surpassed our expectations is in their client support. They answer all our many many questions very quickly, and have also proved pretty darn good at developing or customizing features that fit our business, or help us capitalize on opportunities.

Cons

We have multiple locations, and while The Flybook does have an "Enterprise" feature which lets us run some basic compiled reporting, we'd love to have all the features and functionality available at the individual location level also available at the Enterprise level.

Response from The Flybook

Appreciate your review, Nick! We are so impressed with you and your team at Edge - so on top of details and pushing creative marketing. it's been great to work with you!

Kathy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flybook is awesome! I highly recommend their product and service

Reviewed on 2017/03/28

When we started to look for a reservation system that could meet our diverse needs Flybook, who had previously contacted us, was on our list of possibilities. We reached out to support staff who LISTENED to our needs, went away and contacted us the next day with truthful answers about what they would be able to do immediately and what they could build out over the course of a few months. We were immediately impressed with the response time, attention provided and understanding of what we expected from our system. This has never stopped.
We signed up and were up and running within a month. The transition, like any transition was a bit challenging with staff being apprehensive because busy season was 3 weeks away and we had to get the kinks worked out. We flew through busy season without a hitch.
Flybook continues to listen to our needs (we have a lot of them) and work with us one on one to accommodate the intricacies of how our business functions. From sales to operations they have created processes that before Flybook we only wished for. Their development team continues to work with us on a daily to weekly basis to make sure everything is working as efficiently as possible. We are about to open a second location and look forward to Flybook helping us grow!

Pros

The development team is always working to improve the system to meet our needs.

Cons

The hardware devices that we use are limited. We would love to switch our kiosks to apple products but are unable currently.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for the review, Kathy! We so appreciate your partnership and look forward to it continuing to evolve. And regarding those Kiosks...it's in the works! We'll hopefully have an update for you next week on that.

Blake C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Flybook has greatly helped expand our operation and increase our reach to the online...

Reviewed on 2017/07/14

Pros

1. Ease of use: very small learning curve, user-friendly UI
2. Customization: The Flybook can be molded to the way you see fit, as there are many options for lodging, activities, rentals, and any other reservation type you need to implement.
3. Customer Support: The Flybook support team is very catering to your needs, and are very helpful with questions in the first few days of learning the ins and outs of the software. Fast responses, even on busy weekends.
4. Online Presence: The Flybook's user interface and corresponding widget that is implemented on your website is very user-friendly. In just a few clicks, the customer can have what they want, when they want.

Cons

There isn't much I dislike about the software. Our operation is a little larger than most recreation-based companies, as we have a lodging component, and animal encounters. Even though there were a few options The Flybook did not have, which we needed, they have accommodated us with software updates and implemented new options to create the right setup for our business.

Response from The Flybook

Blake - you have been SO great to work with. We love that we get to call Wilstem Ranch a partner of ours. Thanks for your review and for your business!

Jackie M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Flybook has been a step forward for our company!

Reviewed on 2017/07/04

Pros

The front end is super user-friendly and has a simple, sleek design. Sending our clients to our website to use this front end reservation system helps us save time and is easy for them to walk through.

Cons

I wish that there were more customizable features, like adding comments onto the calendar, combining the calendar views for our individual day-to-day purposes, and editing more invoice items for the client's view. A lot of little details but if each of us could have a little bit more control over how we use the tool, that'd be exciting!

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for the review & feedback, Jackie! We take them all very seriously. Appreciate your partnership to-date!

Jonathan Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Customer Service and Enhancements

Reviewed on 2017/07/11

Pros

Tons of features, responsive customer support, constant enhancements, and customizations to fit our company needs

Cons

Some operations require many clicks, EG to make a reservation is 10 clicks, but the details we require mean many inputs from clients.

Response from The Flybook

Thank you for your review, Jonathan! It's been really great working with Zion Guru!

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great group of folks to work with!

Reviewed on 2017/06/29

Pros

Willingness to adapt to our industry. Flybook listens to its' customers and is as eager to get better as the customer. Very attentive to support issues although they are few and far between!

Cons

They are developing the software and making improvements constantly so communication could be better...but that is a great "con" to have!

Shelby L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awesome to work with such competent and empathetic folks!

Reviewed on 2017/06/03

Pros

The experience working the The Flybook's team in getting our account set up was 5-star. This is our 4th reservation system and I can confidently say that I think we've at last found the best fit for our many intricate needs (e.g. bike rentals/tours, kayak rentals/tours -- with both single and tandem kayaks, shuttle service, hiking tours, etc.).

Cons

Because of the many intricacies (which are also a pro) there is a steep learning curve for learning to use the system. Training seasonal staff to use the system will take a bit of extra effort, though will be worth it in the end.

Response from The Flybook

Shelby, thank you for the kind words. The entire team has really enjoyed working with you. You make us want to go the extra mile! We look forward to a great partnership. Good luck with your season!

Mike D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flybook for a high volume rental, lesson and tour operation

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

After using 2 other reservation programs we switched to Flybook. They had initially reached out to us and we opted not to go with them. But when they followed up less than a year later, they had taken the feedback that I provided and made changes to the program which made it perfect for our use. I really appreciated their willingness to change and constantly improve the program which gave me the confidence that I could use this program going forward without it going stale or getting outdated.

Pros

I like Flybook's diversity and complexity of features. The customization abilities of the program allows us to use the program to best suit the variety of needs within all of our departments. The biggest positive we see from Flybook over other reservation software is the rental component which allows for a lot of customization and gives us the ability to maximize each vessel in our fleet without overbooking us at key times.

Cons

The software does take some getting used to on the back end. I'd say it has more of PC feel compared to using a MAC. It is more process based rather than intuitive flow through the program.

The other component that I think could use improvement is on the visual side of things that get sent to customers. It would be great to see a more visually appealing booking window and confirmation e-mails etc.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for the review, Mike! We really appreciate your partnership. Stay tuned on the email updates - we'll be in touch as we look to improve that area! Megan

Annemarie K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Best Option for Multi-day Tours, Single Day Tours, and Rentals in one solution

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

Pros

Our company has searched high and low for a software solution to managing out product inventory across multi-day tours, single-day tours, and bike rentals. Each of those three types of products has huge variation that also needs to be managed. The Flybook is the only software solution that has come close to working for the complexity of our business. We are happy to have the capacity to book customers online and manage our true inventory on the back end. We have a great working relationship with the team at the Flybook and they have been very receptive to feedback and relatively quick to implement changes to help solve our problems. Their customer service team is excellent.

Cons

We have watched the software improve dramatically, but there are some limitations in how effectively we are able to use it. It's not easy to extract data from the system for whatever reason, reporting, printing documents with customer booking information, or printing documents with information about a trip (start and end time, pick-up time, customer names, etc). Though some improvements have been made here, it is still a difficult point for us.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for your review, Annmarie. Getting AOAs feedback has been invaluable for us. We have some more advancements coming in reporting we'll keep you posted on!

Justin H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great service that's solved many issues we face in the fly fishing industry.

Reviewed on 2017/07/05

Pros

Flybook has streamlined our booking, deposit, and customer feedback process. The ability for our guests to receive automated emails that remind them about their upcoming trip, auto generates their invoice, and keeps them in the loop prior to arriving and after departing is a blessing.

Cons

I'd love to be able to book multiple dates at one time. We have customers who like to fish multiple dates, but I am only able to book one at a time. If we could book a date range, without having to go through the same process of booking (select number of customers, date, which activity, guide, etc) for each trip that would be a huge benefit.

Response from The Flybook

Hi Justin - really appreciate your review and feedback! It's helped us improve and continued input will keep us innovating!

Dave B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Covers all our needs and backs us up with 1st class support

Reviewed on 2017/07/11

Complete control and awareness of our rental fleet in an easy to use cloud based service platform

Pros

Easy to use, easy to configure, easy to manage our rentals. Back end calendar display of all our rentals coming & going makes operating our business so easy... From the 'quick pick' rental backend for our walk-in customers, to website integration supporting online reservations by our customers, The Flybook does it all for us. And the few times we've had a question, The support team at The Flybook immediately jumps in and shows us exactly how to get the job done - they are hands down the best support team of any vendor we work with!

Response from The Flybook

Really appreciate the great review, Dave! So glad the system is working well for you. We appreciate your partnership!

Lauren C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does everything for our rafting company!

Reviewed on 2017/03/29

The Flybook has made dozens of valuable improvements since we started with them years ago. They continue to provide good customer service and important updates - more than I can say for other companies, who we have considered contracting with. Thank you! The system works well for our rafting company,

Pros

The activity and resource calendar is great - we are able to assign boats and staff on a custom, trip-by-trip basis. Everything on the calendar is customizable.

Response from The Flybook

Hi Lauren! Thanks so much for the review. It's been great working with you!

Tonimarie S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I've been working with Flybook for five or so years

Reviewed on 2017/07/12

Pros

The software has come a long way in the time that I have been a user. I like where the company is going and the customer support that I receive from Flybook.

Cons

I would love to have a way to access (view, not necessarily change) my calendar quickly without the need for internet. The feature to download to a google calendar is nearly useless when changes on Flybook do not quickly and automatically sync in a google calendar without refreshing the links.

David E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for an outfitting business

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

More online bookings. Mobile info for my guides

Pros

Fast, affordable, good client interface. Customer support is quick, friendly, and helpful. handles most of my emails.

Cons

Too much clicking through pages to enter single reservation. Calendar needs improvement. Wish it could handle payroll.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for the review, David!! It's been great working with you and appreciate the feedback as well.

Bob W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very happy with the Flybook

Reviewed on 2017/06/29

EASe of use and peace of mind.

Pros

It always works and it was easy to scale to my needs. The guide management portion helps us keep track of when people are available and also allows us to scale our tours based on who is able to guide each day. This allows us to not over extend ourselves,

Russell S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing and flexible company to work with

Reviewed on 2017/07/21

Pros

Great for keeping track of multiple trips at a time and the mobile access to book trips out of the office

Cons

I really would say that I have nothing that I dislike about this product. Even if there is a function that I don't understand the support and customer service is above and beyond

Joseph D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awsome Product

Reviewed on 2019/08/09

Pros

lets us rent our equipment to our students and track usage across all platforms.

Cons

this software works fantastic, there is nothing not to like.

Jon S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

All has been good as we learn to use the new platform.

Reviewed on 2017/08/15

Pros

Communication with guides and guests is great. The ability for customers to engage in the reservation is awesome just wish customers used it more

Cons

Would like expanded drag and drop capabilities and ability to auto collect from multiple individuals on same reservation. Tat may be here and I haven't figured it out.

John H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A Valuable Partner

Reviewed on 2017/04/04

The transformation of our Outdoor Venture parks since we started using The Flybook has been significant. Our sold out periods during the day are now easily managed and operationally, the reservation, waiver and check-in processes are extremely smooth for our climbers. Above all else, The Flybook has become one of our closest partners. They have a vested interest in our success and not only respond to our requests, but proactively bring us ideas for using software as a tool to help grow our business.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for taking the time to review us, John! We are greatly appreciative of your partnership - you and all of your parks keep pushing us to get better.

Thomas K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very straight forward booking system for the customer. Back end setup requires a bit more...

Reviewed on 2017/07/11

The reporting tools are great and make our job easier. There are measurement tools available that help compare different facilities across our company.

Pros

This software makes bookings and checkins an automated process. Once staff master the skills needed to operate the system, things run very smooth. There is very little problem with the server for Flybook making our two years with the system a very smooth experience.

Cons

It does require quite a bit of learning to program the software to your specific venue. Once that learning occurs the system runs great. Tech support on the weekends only exists if you have very big issues. Sometimes changes in the software/system are rolled out without good information about how the changes will affect use of the system.

There should be long running youtube tutorials available on how to setup your system.

Response from The Flybook

Thanks for your review and feedback, Thomas. As always, we appreciate the partnership and look forward to continued advancements together!

Casey L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using The Flybook has completely upgraded our reservations process to make us more efficient.

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

We benefit daily from use of the Flybook. Our company could not currently operate the way we do without it.

Pros

There are a lot of great tools that make The Flybook good for us, but my favorite feature is the ability to limit resources and availability. We can input exactly what days/tours/guides are available and trust that it will not overbook on accident. We can book with assurance that we have the resources and availability to run each trip because we have set up the limitations ourselves.

Cons

The Flybook has many features that are helpful to us but there are a few items we have difficulty with. One that comes to mind is our newsletter and emails. Creating emails is not totally user friendly and requires some coding to get the formatting correct.

Ian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Long time users. Can't imagine our business without it.

Reviewed on 2017/09/26

Extra hassle in my day

Pros

The best part of this software is the automated billing and payments. We're a tiny operation so that allows us to focus on the guiding aspect of the business and let the software handle the billing and payment transfers. Also very nice that customers can book trips on their own via the software while we're out on the river.

Cons

Updates are a fact of life in today's world and we've been in business since before the internet was part of anyone's business plan. Many upgrades require us to start almost from scratch creating our profiles for trips. This is a relatively rare event but particularly painful for folks like us who specialize in fly fishing and have zero interest in being around computers.

Also, since we are so small we often do custom types of trips that have been almost impossible to set up even with great assistance from FlyBook staff. Most options for most types of guide businesses are covered but it seems like we've always found something that isn't quite possible and requires an analog workaround.

Grant R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Lots of functionality, but not intuitive.

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Flybook will allow you to automate the booking process. It will save you time on paperwork and billing. It will get you more customers if they can simply click a button on your website to book trips.

Pros

Flybook has a ton of functionality, but the software is interlaced with out of date stuff they don't want you to use. You can't simply learn it by using it. Once you figure it out, the booking software is extremely functional.

Cons

It is difficult to learn since it is full outdated non-functional stuff. Customer service has been extremely slow. I sometimes wait a week or more to get a response. Customer service should be a lot better for a small company.

Matt B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The Flybook is invaluable to our business.

Reviewed on 2017/06/30

Pros

The backend of the software makes it easy to put in a reservation. I can also keep track of guides who are working and place them with certain guests.

Cons

The front end doesn't quite work the way I would like. The beta is better but could still use some work. I sent some ideas to Casey.

Response from The Flybook

Matt - thank you so much for the review and as always, the feedback. We continue to incorporate the front end feedback and as usual - super valuable to what will be the end product!

Kelly P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely wonderful!

Reviewed on 2017/06/28

Flybook allows me to set up an control the flow of customers coming through my facility in way a didn't even know was possible.

Pros

My favorite thing about Flybook is the customer support team! Flybook has implemented many wonderful new features and upgrades since we started using it and their team has been there every step of the way to help us learn the new features. They've also listened to our suggestions for new features that would help us and that's been wonderful!

Response from The Flybook

Thanks so much for the great review, Kelly!! You guys are the best!