56 reviews

IMS Platform

Investor management for commercial real estate

4,7 /5 (56 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,7
96% recommended this app
56 reviews
Michael P.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

IMS - Excellent Investor Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

IMS has helped us communicate much more efficiently with our investors.

Pros

We have used IMS for 2 years or so and we have enjoyed working with IMS and their entire staff. The system gave us an affordable, efficient and very robust way to keep track of (CRM) our investors, raise money, make distributions, and communicate with our 100 plus investors.

Cons

I do not have any negatives to report regarding IMS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nick C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Love our IMS Portal!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

Great product! We reached out to other operators in the real estate syndication business and they said this is one of the top portals to use for investors.

Pros

Ease of use for us as admins and for our investors. We have had several compliments on how easy it is to find info about their investments and the documents associated with them. We also love the ability to have our investors do online signatures, very quick and easy.

Cons

So many features it may take some time before we learn what they are and how to use them, which is a good thing!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

IMS Simply Did Not Work for Us

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

We made every effort to make IMS work for us. We even went so far as to pay for IMS personnel to come to our offices for a few days in order to see if they could really come to undersand what the needs of our family of funds were and how we could best deploy their system in support of our investor relations goals. In the end, we got a lot of lip service and promises for system enhancements, but IMS never delivered. Ultimately, we were compelled to terminate our contract and move to a different platform.

Pros

Price point was at the low end of market.

Cons

Ineffectual support. Platform would freeze or crash frequently. We were told this was due to our fund's "large size", which was, at the time, only 300 investors. System was not intuitive to use.

Response from Investor Management Services

We are sorry that you didn¿t feel like IMS was the best partner for your firm during our brief engagement, that said, this feedback appears to be quite dated. Your experience indicates that you had left IMS prior to some significant updates to our support structure and capacity. Further, in the last year, we have rolled out extensive fund enhancements that include Commitments and Capital Calls, added additional fund-specific metrics to the dashboards, and improved our reporting abilities with the release of Investor Statements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Brett H.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great customer service, easy to use!!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, very happy that we moved over to them because it has saved us a lot of headaches and time with managing our capital partners...

Pros

I like the efficiencies and time that it saves. It also helps us to be more process oriented and in control of our touch points with investors. The software is constantly being improved and bugs are quickly fixed. Very happy with the responsiveness and engagement from customer service and our account rep! The new portal is much more design forward and it really blends in nicely as a white-labeled back end software tied to our existing website.

Cons

I didn't like that there were still some bugs to work out (which to be clear have been fixed) and there were some fixes that needed to occur after we initially adopted it. I didn't like the earlier design options since we were trying to blend it seamlessly into our branding and "look". Fortunately, improvements and fixes are always occurring and IMS has been great to work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shaye W.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

great software that is constantly getting better

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

It allows me to run lean and steam lines some of the most important back office components of my business.

Pros

It has allowed me to run my business without hiring a single coder or developer. The IMS support team is always helpful and great at passing on feedback to their development team. New features are consistently being added and existing ones are always improving.

Cons

There can be a bit of a learning curve but IMS-U as well as the support team is always helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Scott B.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: Self Employed

Great CRE Investor Portal

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

We are using IMS for investor reporting, secure document delivery and capital raising for new investment opportunities.

Pros

We are a small commercial real estate investment management company that focuses on value-add real estate deals for qualified investors. We needed a platform to enhance the investor experience and provide transparency to the operations of our investor's assets. IMS has worked very well in doing just that. In addition it offers the functionality of creating efficiency in future capital raises. We are very happy with our decision to go with IMS.

Cons

The setup of investors and assets in IMS is a touch cumbersome, but once uploaded and complete this is not an issue. This may also be a function of our small size and our lack of any in-house IT or admin personnel. This process was handled by the principal of the firm (me), who has limited technical background. The fact that we are able to get through the installation and upload process with only minimal problems can be considered a positive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sherwin G.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

RealPage AIM IMS Review

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service is awesome. Our relationship manager, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], has be great at responding to our emails and questions in a timely manner and setting up calls to go over the application. More "hands on" webinars and classes would be very helpful.

Pros

The ability to create trust and transparency with our investors by providing them information about their property and finances.

Cons

It's a bit of a learning curve to learn the application. The office hours and webinars are great and very helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Angie S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great system once you learn to use it.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent experience overall.

Pros

In terms of implementation the process was fairly easy. We had few years of data that IMS uploaded in matter of hours. Once implemented, we had few hiccups with the full capabilities of the system; however, IMS did a great job creating learning tools to help with functionality questions.
[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] served as our relationship manager. He is very knowledgeable and helped us to align our business needs with the system's capabilities.
Uploading K1s and monthly reports is extremely easy and fast. Also, the system allows the creation of monthly and quarterly reports which it has been a fantastic tool to maintain investors informed.
The ability to create email campaigns based on deal or as a portfolio is a great advantage the system offers. I would say this is one of the tools we use the most when communicating with investors

Cons

IMS integrates with few accounting systems; unfortunately, Entrata is not in the list of integrations yet. Can't wait for the integration to facilitate data transfer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris W.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Extremely happy with our IMS platform

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Although the implementation process was time consuming and difficult, I regret not having done so sooner. The platform has significantly improved our efficiency and will ultimately allow us to increase new business. I credit the implementation team that guided us through the complex process and constantly encouraged us along the way. I can't thank them enough.

Pros

Our commercial real estate company owns and operates several self-storage assets across the country. As our property count grew, so did our investor pool. IMS was the perfect solution to help manage the growing number of assets and investors. Their platform allows us to efficiently manage new offerings, document communication with investors, securely distribute documents, as well as calculate and process distributions.

Cons

The import of data and setup was daunting. Be prepared to set aside significant time to get all of the investor and asset information into the platform, and verify everything carefully. Had I know how much of our time would be necessary to get this up and running, I probably would have put the process off even longer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Travis W.
Industry: Real Estate

Very user-friendly. Helps us consolidate our many systems

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Consolidating our existing systems and platforms

Pros

Layout is easy to use, especially for investors. The visuals and charts make it simple for our clients to track their distributions and see what projects they are invested in.

Cons

Customization is limited. We would like to have more custom reports generated and more integrations with other large software such as Infusionsoft, Parsey and Zapier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jennifer W.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Due to the data captured in IMS, we are able to more easily provide data to our CPA for K-1 production. This has reduced the spreadsheets we would otherwise have to maintain. The functionality available for investors to complete Subscription Booklets online and obtain proof of Accreditation via VerifyInvestor has also been a huge improvement for us and our investors and has allowed us to raise as much as $27MM in equity in one month (fully complete/accurate paperwork; fully funded). In addition, the type of data we are able to collect at the CRM Contact level as well as at the investing entity level has helped us market to our investors appropriately whether we are doing a 506(b) or a 506(c) type of deal.

Pros

In looking at several products, the most important aspect for me is data. Is the type of data that I need to be able to search on or analyze later available for data capture? I look at functionality next. For us, IMS provides the best data out there for a company who raises Private Equity (we focus on Multifamily real estate). Although the user interfaces and functionality have not been as slick as some of the other products we have seen, upon deep review of those other products, they just do not collect the level of data we need them to. IMS has also been working to makeover their UIs to make them more intuitive and streamlined from a functional perspective. One of the other strengths in this software that I love is that IMS tends to build functionality where, as a sponsor, you can turn certain data or functionality on or off if it doesn't work for your company's processes/procedures. This provides flexibility that allows their multiple sponsors to handle certain processes and displays differently based on their specific needs. I have not seen this offered on other tools to the degree it is available on IMS. This is a great strength in this tool and huge win for the multiple sponsors.

Cons

In the past one of our biggest issues we ran into was functionality deployed that was not fully tested or where existing functionality was not fully regression tested. As a result we would run into bugs. However, this has changed dramatically in the past year. IMS is really taking care to fully test what they deploy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dan C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great tool to for both internal and investor facing purposes

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

Aside from all the pros mentioned, the experience has been very positive. The support team are very responsive and happy to assist quickly and however they can. Investors who choose to utilize the software like it and believe it adds another layer of professionalism to our investments. Looking back, I do wish I had understood the system more when initially getting our investments uploaded, as I had to end up going back and re-doing many of them, but IMS has grown since our initial partnership with them (I believe we were one of the earlier companies), and I assume the process is more transparent and streamlined. Some of the options/characterizations of the data you provide initially may seem innocent, but can actually have an affect on waterfalls, presentation of data within IMS, etc. I implore new users to maybe get one investment fully up in IMS and learn the system before continuing with the rest of their portfolio.

Pros

Internal Facing:
This software provides great internal tools for investment managers to track, promote, and analyze past, current, and future investments. While investment information is kept previously in internal accounting software and Excel files, IMS provides a centralized and efficient platform to track investments and distributions. The waterfall function is very useful in calculating actual distributions to be sent out immediately, and to run "what-if" scenarios for future sales. The document feature allowed you to keep all documentation online for each investor and investment. It is very easy to review investment and distribution history at any level in the LLC structures - whether between two equity partners, or a large group of individual investors.

Investor Facing:
Allows investors to track their investments like you would log on to an online bank account. Uploaded documents for investors can be sorted by category and/or investment.

Cons

While there is a bulk upload option through the support team, it would be useful to be able to run it internally and for more items than just K-1s. Can be tiresome sometimes uploading individual documents within a large investor group.

Still run in to some complications with changes to an existing equity struture. We have been granted the internal power now to make adjustments, but sometime it can still be easiest to just delete a project and re-build from scratch. When this is to be done, investors/investments must be deleted one by one at each level, and once done, any subsequent documentation is also deleted and must be re-uploaded.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Maureen C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

IMS Investor Portal

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

We had a very manual process quarterly which consisted of updating our allocation sheets in Excel, preparing our investment analysis in Word/Excel, and the mail merge process to send out the package to the investors. This product enabled us to automate our process and have a portal which consists of everything investor-related (from historical information, such as quarterly investor reports and K1s, to having a list of current and potential investors which will enable us to email when a new investment opportunity arises). Overall, I would highly recommend this product. The time we save quarterly along with the investor management, reporting, and analysis we gained from this product is priceless!

Pros

The IMS product has been intuitive from the get-go. My superior and I were impressed with the initial demo and pricing of the product. It was an easy decision to go with IMS!
We were fortunate to have been appointed a great implementation manager and the implementation process went smoothly (even though we encountered issues with some of the distribution amounts and ownership percentages, but representative was very responsive and supportive in a daily and timely manner).
Customer Support have been helpful so far with some of the password reset, login issues, and K1 upload.

Cons

There are some missing features specific to our company such as having custom tags in creating Custom Email and Statement Templates (right now the selection is only First Name, Last Name, Legal Name, and Prefix), which make it hard to personalize our communication with our investors. We also think a bulk printing feature would be helpful when we print out our quarterly investor statements. Lastly, it would be beneficial if it was made possible to send out email notifications when a K1 document has been uploaded (one of our investors have mentioned this to us as well prior to us having to manually email out investors with this notification).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tiffany C.

A great tool, with which I am hopeful to gain user adoption across our organization

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to house all of our investor data in one secure site. IMS really allows us to house all of investors in one convenient location.

Cons

The software is great and I am certain that will continue to be built out by the developers to include even more robust features and functionality.

My biggest frustration is the lack of support by phone. Sometimes, we just need to speak with someone for an immediate and quick turnaround that we do not have access to obtain (ie. an export of tax ID's or Bank Account information).

It would be great to have a Support Phone Line or Support Chat in addition to the Email Support structure. With some of the data and functionality still only available to IMS admins, this makes it hard to provide my supervisors, colleagues and investors with the data needed at a moment's notice, which is ultimately our main use of the platform today.

When we do get to speak with our Customer Success Manger or a Support team member, the resolution is typically a quick turn-around.

Response from Investor Management Services

Thank you for the feedback. In 2018, we have re-organized our support structure based on customer feedback and experimental learning. Post-implementation, you can initiate a live support response via phone, chat or email during normal business hours. All requests outside of that should receive a response within 24 hours, as supported by the IMS support Service Level Agreement (SLA).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Hugo F.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

IMS- One Stop Shop

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

IMS offers a one stop shop for Investor Management. I provides a comprehensive but streamlined investor portal which even the novice computer user can use. IMS allows us to notify our investors or groups of investment updates at a click of a button without having to email. One of the key requirement we required from the portal were distribution notification which IMS performs flawlessly.

Cons

Not having a customer service manager anymore has been a little annoying. All service request go through there support. I would like to see IMS go back to giving everyone an account manager.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Adam S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Overall Great Platform/Product

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/23
Review Source: Capterra

Been a very positive experience overall. Like with any implementation or roll-out of a new technology, there are speed bumps and issues that arise, but their team is awesome and will help navigate you through every problem. Additionally, what surprised us the most was the way it allowed us to control the equity raise process in an uber professional and powerful kind of way - which was truly a game changer for us since we're a small management/investment firm.

Pros

Robust CRM capabilities; great way to track performance of assets and deliver metrics to investors; professional platform to communicate updates and distribute documents to investors; can publish offerings through platform whereby investors can view the offering materials and fully subscribe with a few clicks; impressive waterfall functionality; gave us the ability to raise significant capital quickly and expand our investor network in the process.

Cons

There is a learning curve and it's not the most intuitive or user-friendly, but the implementation team and customer service team are fantastic to work with. There are also some basic things it could do better, but the good thing is they listen and are always rolling out updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A true game changer for our business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/03
Review Source: Capterra

Huge time savings through automation of many investor-related processes. We are able to have staff focus on higher-level analytical as a result. Investors love all-in-one nature of the platform and really like the UX.

Pros

From day one we have really liked ACH distributions, waterfall calculations, CRM/email campaigns. We are very excited about the investor statements and capital call features.

Cons

We were very early clients so the functionality at the beginning wasn't as robust in the beginning as it is now. They are excellent about getting client input as they roll out new features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne W.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great tool and extremely valuable

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/23
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience has been great. IMS has allowed me to be much more efficient at my job and given me back a lot of time due to all the functionality it has to offer. The customer service is great and extremely responsive and helpful.

Pros

Forward-thinking platform that provides excellent transparency for our investors and an easy means for investors to go for documents, investment performance, and new offerings.
It's also a very valuable tool from a sponsors standpoint because of the ability to process complex waterfall distributions, upload K1's in a timely fashion, and sign documents electronically.

Cons

Some of the initial setup of new offerings is not very intuitive but this is a known issue that is being addressed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nicholai L.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Customer Service & Ease of Use

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

User friendliness and investor focused. We have received very positive feedback from our investor base on the usability and ease of the subscription process and ongoing investment monitoring. The features meet exactly what we need and customer support has been stellar.

Cons

The platform is still building out additional features with some slight hiccups from an administrative side. These have been very minor but sometimes require reaching out to customer support. Customer support is extremely responsive and the issue is usually resolved in a matter of hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Pete M.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Overall IMS meets the needs of our enterprise.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Our investors use it as their go-to place for all information related to their investments.

Pros

IMS provides our investors a one-stop shop to view their investment, distributions, tax documents, as well as view new investment opportunities.

Cons

Sometimes, the functionality is a bit clunky. Customer service response time could be improved. In addition, we would like to see the software be tailored more to companies in the hospitality space.

Response from Investor Management Services

Thank you for the feedback, and please keep it coming as we continue to expand and build out our support team to deliver world class response time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Matt D.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Huge Fan of IMS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

IMS has been a great tool for our firm. Two other groups we work with adopted the software as well based on my constant cheerleading for IMS.

Pros

This helped stream line several of our processes. Additionally this allowed us to grow our platform overnight once implemented.
The onboarding team was great along with the our point man for our account.

Cons

Once you learn the pattern of how things are stored its very user friendly. I'm not the most tech savvy guy admittedly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jon B.

Overall a great experience. IMS has been very beneficial for us and for our investors.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

A place for investors to log in and view their investments, documents , etc.

Pros

The ability for the investor to have all their information and documents in one place to review. We have received lots of positive feedback from our investors about IMS.

Cons

Docusign is not a very robust system and has been disappointing. The coding abilities are lacking and it has been frustrating using it with its limitations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Frank P.
Industry: Commercial Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Real Page brings ease and convenience to the Investor Relations Industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The K-1 matching engine and the ease with which we can communicate with our clients and get them the up to date information they need.

Cons

Some of the message formatting changes from the preview page.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Wes W.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When used properly, the final product presented to investors is refined and polished. Customer service is awesome.

Cons

System requires some use/know-how before a seamless experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Benjamin L.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Product

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Fantastic product and team

Pros

Fluid customer interface for our stakeholders, NACHA files gives our team 500 hours back each year, reduction in human error for calculating distributions, and a great information/document store for investor relations administration

Cons

The data is silo'ed and can not be combined with other business programs like mailchimp or salesforce

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10