19 reviews

Cognology

Onboarding, performance, & learning management software

4,6 /5 (19 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
19 reviews
Penny J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Australian Product

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

We went from a clunky paper-based system to the Cognology system without many teething problems. They system was well received and made tracking performance and learning simple. We now have 100% compliance to performance reviews and online training. New employees comment of how good the system is.

Pros

The set up and customisation of this software to use in our organisation was relatively easy. The customer representative was extremely helpful and spent the time to train us to use the software effectively. As an administrator of your database you are able to make changes quickly and sort out any user problems effectively. The system itself is easy to use, therefore it was easy to roll out to the whole organisation.

Cons

We had some initial problems when setting up the system, however these were taken into account and often addressed in the next upgrade.

Nilu N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So easy to use!

Reviewed on 2018/08/31

Pros

What we love about Cognology is the simplistic nature of the system.
The email functionality is ace! We like the automation of emails that are sent by the system.
The reports are easy to digest, and with a few clicks of the mouse we have everything we need.
It's one central place for communication between managers, employees and values contributors. Our HR Relationship Manager is an absolute legend. She's so proactive, helpful and goes above and beyond to assist with anything when we need her.

Cons

We are happy with everything! Nothing to comment here.

Hannah C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simplify your systems

Reviewed on 2018/08/15

Using Cognology's Onboarding software has streamlined our onboarding process and allowed us to gain better visibility of a new employee's progress in the process.

Pros

We have used Cognology's Onboarding software to create a tailored Onboarding Process allowing a streamlined process for each new employee coming into the business.
It's great to have all the documents in one place then download, rather than having to email and then collect multiple documents from the new employee when they start.
Having the ability to view the progress in the Onboarding process allows you the opportunity to reach out to the new employee to follow up and see if they require assistance.

Cons

There were some limitations with the creation of processes within the software, but we found a way to work around these.

Elizabeth C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good product, great support and service

Reviewed on 2020/09/07

Service and support are exceptional, they make the product experience.

Pros

Level of customisation
Willingness of team to find solutions so that I could achieve the solution that would grow our culture not impede it.

Cons

On-boarding module could be further developed.

Kerrie C.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fantastic support team who do everything possible to help customers get value from the product.

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Pros

Customisable. The KPI library is very useful. The ability to add notes, correspondence etc is also helpful. System integration capability.

Cons

Sign off process is a little confusing. Folder management is also a bit clunky. Not possible to edit folders that are already created in some areas results in duplication. Registering new employees and creating folders are separate steps and would be easier if integrated into the one seamless process.

Anne B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Customer Service and Training

Reviewed on 2019/03/15

Pros

Once you know what you're doing (which you will do, because the training is excellent), the user interface is really good.

Cons

It's not immediately obvious where to find a lot of things.

Natalie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love Cognology.

Reviewed on 2020/02/13

I am a HR consultant and have introduced the software to a number of my customers. I have been able to configure it to meet the differing needs of each customers. New starters find the system very easy to use. Customer service is excellent.

Pros

Ease of use, cost effectivenes, amazing self configuration

Cons

Nothing. Its amazing. recommended for any size business for managing performance, learning and onboarding and other functions like 360 and succession planning.

Nicole B.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

overall a fantastic, prompt service experience.

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Pros

program is tailored to our companies needs, extremely user friendly for all levels of ICT ability. The program is branded specifically to our company. We are happy with everything so far Cognology has been able to meet all of our performance management needs and even suggest improvements based on what we are currently doing with our projects

Madeleine G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The HR Space

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

The system provides a high quality outcome for the clients we consult with. The customer service and advice is impeccable and also reliable. The reports are detailed yet easy to comprehend and provide debriefs on.

Pros

I think this software provides the user and administrator with a lot of detail. As someone who sets up the 360 assessments, I am impressed but how much detail there. You can check in, you can send follow up emails, you can see dashboard reports in realtime. It tells you who hasn't completed and selects them to send follow up emails to.

I think the quality of the report is extremely high, again the report goes into a lot of detail. It provides the client and individual with key insights and really synthesizes the detail into key strengths and development areas.

Cons

I think for as much as the software provides huge amounts of detail, it sometimes be a little overwhelming as a user. I think the steps on the home page are better to follow than the tab down the side.

Elise W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Practical and User Friendly

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

Pros

It is easy to use and very practical, easy to guide hiring managers through the onboarding process

Cons

The software doesn't integrate with our payroll system

Kristie G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Impressed

Reviewed on 2019/03/11

Exceptional, I am just regretful that I did not start using this software earlier.

Pros

Easy to use - very user friendly;
All new starters are highly impressed with the professionalism of the system;
Customer service from Cognology is very responsive.

Cons

None, there is nothing that I like least.

Kathryn K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Can't speak highly enough about the product and the support received.

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Cognology's onboarding solution has been a huge time saver for us.

Pros

The functionality of the onboarding and the overall ease of use when administering. Have also been very impressed with their openness to suggestions for improvement. The staff has loved the fact that they now can manage their employment processes online. Especially useful for as we have over 19 sites to manage employees across.

Cons

Not too much that I don't like and anything that we suggest is a problem is usually fixed. We were one of the first companies to use the onboarding and, of course, with any new product there were some minor issues to work through.

Luana K.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

We are in our first year of use and have at times found it challenging in respect of setting...

Reviewed on 2018/01/08

Pros

Provided a central system in respect of reviews and allows us to be online as opposed to a paper base review system that we previously had.

Cons

Has not been as easy to navigate as we initially thought. In hindsight we would do things differently to get more out of the software.

Roger R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Taylors Wines

Reviewed on 2019/05/17

We already had a strong Performance Management System which was manually operated.

Cognology were able to make our manual system look and feel just like it had electronically - they did a great job and all managers and employees have found it easy to use.

Pros

Its ease of use and simple configuration

Cons

we are so happy with the software we wish it had more functionality to become a full HRMS

Tamsyn P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

360 Degree Assessment Tool for Leadership Development

Reviewed on 2020/01/08

Very positive experience. Customer service from Cognology really good and the product met our needs and was easy to use.

Pros

Interface was professional looking and easy to use.

Cons

Cost of customisations and corporate branding. Cost to extend the project.

Jennifer L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cognology On-boarding and Performance

Reviewed on 2020/09/10

It's been a truly encouraging and rewarding process working with the team from Cognology. Nothing is too much trouble, everything was done in a very timely manner, including during the shutdown of Victoria during the peak Covid-19 period. We now have a streamline recruiting/onboarding system, all variations of contracts are managed using Cognology and now we're about to launch all of the performance management using Cognology,: from development planning, probations and quarterly reviews to the end of year annual review.

Pros

It's extremely user friendly and easy to navigate; integrates with our other systems and offers interactive opportunities for teams to communicate with each other and their manager. We can customize it as we grow to fit with our new requirements and it's uncluttered and a pretty system to look at.

Cons

Any features we thought could be improved or were missing, were altered to our requirements prior to launching.

Kathy M.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good from investigating our options to implementation all interaction with the team is...

Reviewed on 2018/01/08

We now have a performance management process which is structured, details are documented and all managers and employees use the software and embrace the benefits. A paper-based process is no longer needed which eliminates hard copies of files and also makes record keeping much quicker.

Pros

The best thing is that everything is in one place, the details of performance conversations between the employee and their manager and these details are not lost if one of them leaves the business. Both parties have access to the folders to review at any time, leave feedback, revisit KPI's, and record professional development activities. Also having a system such as this implemented reduces the possibility of performance reviews not happening, the reminder emails and notifications within the program keeps everyone on track and aware of the progression of reviews etc.
Managers are finding the platform great to record details of any performance management any conversations they have with their team, meaning if we have to move to more formal processes we have thorough records of previous meetings etc.
Much less paperwork!

Cons

I cannot say there is anything that we have come across with the software that we don't like.
At some times it appears to run slowly but we haven't felt the need to investigate this further as it has only been mentioned occasionally by some users.

Michelle H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cognology Performance Management System

Reviewed on 2019/06/04

Being a cloud based system it is an excellent system for business with offices and staff in multiple locations. The system has allowed us to manage to interact with our employees to enhance feedback and manage their performance to ensure they continue to develop in their roles.

Pros

The system is very easy to use and can be easily adapted to the needs of our business. The team at Cognology have been very helpful and have worked with us to develop a system tailored to our needs. If the system has been unable to perform a function we have required, the team at Cognology have worked to offer other solutions and taken the feedback on to use in the development of their system moving forward.

Cons

It is still in development and some functionalities to be able to link talent management and succession planning still need to be worked on but the team has taken these requirements and are working on them.

Noelle M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great team behind a great product

Reviewed on 2018/01/25

No more paper!

Pros

Cognology has been instrumental in realising our goal to remove paper-based induction from our company. The support team are fantastic from initial enquiry, to set up, to ongoing support. When there are features that we would like to have they are responsive to this and have added some of our suggestions to the software.

Cons

Some of it can be a bit tricky to navigate as an administrator, but support at Cognology has shown they are receptive to feedback so hopefully these will be nutted out eventually.