ARCHICAD

3D architectural CAD for architects, designers & planners

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(276)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,4/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

276 Reviews

Tony
Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of my favourite pieces of software

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

It allowed me to take my business from one where clients never really understood what it was they...

It allowed me to take my business from one where clients never really understood what it was they were getting to one where they knew exactly what they were going to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is a highly functional 3D CAD / BIM system which will allow you to realise your architectural visions in the best possible manner.
It is relatively intuitive to use and it's use of 3D parametric elements makes modelling a breeze. Once you have mastered the basic 3D CAD capabilities there is also a world of BIM opportunities to discover as well. World class IFC interfaces make it easy to collaborate with other consultants.

Cons

There is not a lot to actually dislike about ArchiCAD, maybe if anything its tendency to crash occassionally. (But generally it is easy enough to recover from near where you left off...)

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

2D and 3D design application

Reviewed on 2022/11/08

Pros

the creation of a 2D plan is easy and fast because there are predefined walls, you just have to enter the dimensions

Cons

archicad has some bugs and limitations and does not have its own rendering engine

Danushka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Software favourite

Reviewed on 2020/10/31

It permitted me to take my business from one where customers never truly comprehended what it was...

It permitted me to take my business from one where customers never truly comprehended what it was they were getting to one where they knew precisely what they planned to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is an exceptionally utilitarian 3D CAD/BIM framework which will permit you to understand your design dreams in the most ideal way. It is moderately natural to utilize and it's utilization of 3D parametric components makes demonstrating a breeze. Whenever you have aced the fundamental 3D CAD capacities there is likewise a universe of BIM occasions to find too. Elite IFC interfaces make it simple to work together with different experts.

Cons

There isn't a great deal to really detest about ArchiCAD, perhaps on the off chance that anything its propensity to crash occassionally. (Be that as it may, by and large it is sufficiently simple to recuperate from close to where you left off...)

lionel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

architecture tool

Reviewed on 2023/12/22

Pros

this software is very good thanks to its rendering, and with it you don't have to draw the internal elements of a house yourself.

Cons

I find that the dashboard of the new versions of this software can disturb those who are not used to the previous versions.

Response from GRAPHISOFT

We're pleased you found CineRender in Archicad helpful! It's great to be able to create renders from the same model used for documentation. For an even better project presentation, consider using BIMx. It utilizes Archicad models, allowing clients to explore them alongside documentation and element information on various platforms (computer, mobile devices, browser). You have the option to conduct demonstrations using the gallery, which includes pre-saved views of models and documentation.
We also acknowledge that interface changes can cause challenges. Our goal is to optimize the user experience while introducing new features.
Thank you for sharing your feedback here!

Megan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love Archicad!

Reviewed on 2023/11/20

I've been using Archicad for over 6 years and plan to always use it because I like it so much. ...

I've been using Archicad for over 6 years and plan to always use it because I like it so much. Never want to use Revit haha

Pros

Can model both schematically and detailed. Like the aesthetics of the 3d window. Love graphic overrides. I'm a mac user so its nice to not have to spilt my operating system to accommodate a pc based software.

Cons

Wish its object library were more residential focused.

Response from GRAPHISOFT

We truly appreciate receiving feedback like this and hope that Archicad, along with our other tools, will nurture your talent, leading to the creation of incredible designs by you!
There are a couple of exciting ways to boost your library: you can either craft them right within Archicad or bring them in through importing. With Archicad 27, we've upped our game by integrating Param-O and Library Part Maker as built-in tools, offering you more creative freedom than ever before. And if you're leaning towards importing, all the info you need is just a click away on our partner's website: https://www.bim6x.com/post/how-to-import-3d-models-to-archicad. We're here to help make your design journey smoother and hope you find these resources helpful! Thanks a bunch for sticking with us ❤️

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

ArchiCad New User (CA Previous)

Reviewed on 2023/11/27

Super powerful tool, but not as user friendly as advertised.

Super powerful tool, but not as user friendly as advertised.

Pros

It's BimX and TeamWork Tool. Also the ability to free form design like in Sketchup.

Cons

No automatic rafter tail option, and no custom lintle tool for doors and windows.

Response from GRAPHISOFT

Thanks for your feedback! We're delighted to learn that you've delved into our comprehensive suite of tools, including Archicad, BIMcloud, and BIMx, now collectively available in the "Archicad Collaborate" Bundle. It's important to note that not every user might be familiar with BIMcloud and BIMx, yet these tools are exceptional for collaboration and showcasing projects.
Archicad can be coupled with more specialized tools such as ArchiFrame for enhanced detailing of wooden structures, allowing for even CNC output capabilities!
We're eager to offer more details and assist in discovering a solution that seamlessly integrates into your workflow and boosts your efficiency. Feel free to contact us if you need any advice on Archicad features or additional tools via Contact us form: https://graphisoft.com/contact-us

Pedro
Pedro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Archicad a good way to create architecture

Reviewed on 2021/07/21

In general this is a very good software, that i have used it for about 1 year, it took me about 2...

In general this is a very good software, that i have used it for about 1 year, it took me about 2 months to learn it and i currently use it every day, however as it is not a widely used software, i had to learn revit to some jobs.

Pros

Archicad is a software in which you can solve an entire project, from views to render, it has a intuitive and friendly interface that is easier to learn than similar softwares like Revit. Archicad has a tool called BIMcloud which is very good because it allows you to work in a team with people anywhere in the world in real time, regardless of the size of the project or the internet connection, all this available in a public or private cloud on the internet.

Cons

It is a BIM software so it is difficult to learn compared to programs like sketch up, autocad or Rhinoceros, but you can take courses that help you to learn, in addition some tools like photo rendering is a bit sketchy and you can't get high-quality images.
Another important thing is that not many people use this software in the world, so you would have greater opportunities if you learn Revit.

Joseph
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

High end Designer Software

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

Pros

I have used this software for my design needs for the last one year and the value I have gotten from it it insurmountable! The software offers a nice practical 2D and 3D experience when doing the models. It also offers numerous tools which when combined, one is able to bring out an excellent image just like a pro. With proficiency with the software, one is able to maneuver so fast and with so much ease that the software actually reduces the time required for a drawing by more than 70%. It was easy for me to learn the operations as they all are practical and well organized on the screen.

Cons

Some starters may find it challenging to work with the numerous tools the software offers. It also requires some advanced skills and knowledge about designs.

Stephen  Olawale
Stephen Olawale
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

RESIDENTIAL DESIGN MODEL QUICK AND BEAUTIFUL

Reviewed on 2019/07/06

ARCHICAD is best for my presentation 3D modeling, but not best for my rendering, if i have enough...

ARCHICAD is best for my presentation 3D modeling, but not best for my rendering, if i have enough time to create a more realistic picture i employ other rendering engines compatible with archicad.thanks

Pros

I ones had challenges with my PC storage that made me install a version of archicad, i had an urgent presentation and all i have was Archicad,my 2d Autocad drawings were allowed to import into Archicad. I was able to generate 3D models quickly, with a beautiful roof generated after selecting all my roof boundaries with slope definition, Archicad rendering might not be the best but its really beautiful and presentable that day, it saved my presentation that’s day.

Cons

I really don't have anything against this application, it’s really a good software, just that its rendering engine needs to be upgraded to give a more realistic 3D picture, and it slows down the PC, while carrying out modelling operations AND rendering on PC with low RAM installed, i had to upgrade my PC RAM so i can enjoy ARCHICAD.

Uwe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for anydesign orientated architectural practice

Reviewed on 2023/10/18

We recently made the switch from another CAD software to ArchCad and our overall experience is very...

We recently made the switch from another CAD software to ArchCad and our overall experience is very positive. Great support from the ArchiCad team too.

Pros

Easy switch between 2d and 3d information. Good render function. Great for teamwork. Easy to get qauntities.

Cons

Cost are high. There should be a plugin for price calculation of design based on location and complexity. No plugin yet for Enscape for Mac users

Babar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Critical Analysis on Archi Cad compare to Other Cad software's

Reviewed on 2022/07/25

Pros

The most Likeable part while I am using Archicad is "Its Most user-friendly software I ever come across, its easier, to use Compare to other Cad Software's in the market, Powerfully Presented 3D modeling along with its BIM features, on the same time its much easier to use with other Features like MEP,BIM,Structure, Project management Tools. Over all I am much happier while using this Software then Other Cad software.

Cons

The only Missing part or I would like to say, a Most difficult part is when you Export Archicad Pln file to Convert into Dwg, It always Gives problem who are using on Auto cad, no matter how well you set it up, I think Arch cad should make more easier way and make user friendly while Importing File to Dwg.

Tara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

"Revolutionizing the Design and Construction Process with ARCHICAD"

Reviewed on 2023/02/11

ARCHICAD makes it easier for teams to collaborate and share data, allowing more efficient design...

ARCHICAD makes it easier for teams to collaborate and share data, allowing more efficient design and construction processes. ARCHICAD provides a single source of truth for building information, reducing errors, and saving time by eliminating the need to re-enter data in multiple places. ARCHICAD's advanced 3D modeling tools allow for more detailed and accurate designs, improving overall design quality and reducing the risk of errors. In terms of benefits, users of ARCHICAD have reported improved collaboration and communication, reduced errors, increased productivity, and improved design quality.

Pros

ARCHICAD is a Building Information Modeling (BIM) software used by architects, designers, and engineers. ARCHICAD is known for its user-friendly interface, intuitive navigation, and efficient workflows. It allows users to create 3D models and architectural designs and generate 2D drawings, documentation, and visualizations from the same source. Additionally, it provides robust tools for collaboration, design visualization, and project delivery, making it a popular choice among architects and building professionals.

Cons

ARCHICAD is widely considered a powerful and versatile BIM software with a strong track record of success. However, like all software, it has some limitations and may not be the best choice for every situation. Some users may find its learning curve steep or prefer other software programs with different features or workflows. However, these are subjective opinions and vary from user to user, so it would be best to try the software out to determine if it meets your needs.

Krzysztof
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is the best software for architects.

Reviewed on 2022/12/16

I met Archicad during my studies, I was and still am impressed by the possibilities of this...

I met Archicad during my studies, I was and still am impressed by the possibilities of this program, which is still being developed. In my work, I use it to visualize interiors as they would look after renovation or home staging, it is possible because there is a large database of libraries of objects such as windows, doors, furniture, etc. This allows clients to make better decisions. I also use it to create dimensioned floor plans in 2 and 3D options. Before the meeting, customers review the plans and more specifically interested people come to the meetings, which saves everyone time.

Pros

This program has many advantages. It can be used to create simple projections, sections, 3D models and fully advanced concepts. It is intuitive, has a large database of libraries that can be expanded and interesting elements for visualization can be downloaded from the Internet, such as silhouettes of people, vehicles, plants, etc.I also like that you can import plans from other programs and use them in Archicad. The program works on Mac and Windows, supports many file export formats. Students can download the free 30-day or annual version.

Cons

You need to start with the service course. While the use of the program is not difficult, the use of the program's capabilities requires training. It is good to have a good computer, a large monitor or a touchscreen monitor in addition.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An excellent attempt in the field of design

Reviewed on 2019/04/22

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of...

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of how a structure works through visuals. It can be described as a perfect software suitable for an architect!

Pros

The software provides an interface that gives an ease of use to practicing architects as well as architecture students. The features are to the point and can be altered and used as various other elements apart from their original use, for the purposes of design communication. The best feature of Archicad is the ability to edit the structure in 3D at a very acceptable and adequate speed making visualization very simple.

Cons

The downside is the layout processing part as well as documentation. It requires a high end RAM space and quite a lot of time to update the drawings as on the working tab. The changes will appear late and it is hectic at times.

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArchiCAD Review

Reviewed on 2022/10/06

Pros

ease of use in our office with staff that have strong preferences for visual impact of drawings

Cons

This program is not the industry standard in the United States. Very frustrating.

Alternatives Considered

Revit

Reasons for Switching to ARCHICAD

Our office loves mac interface
Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

archicad helps you

Reviewed on 2022/06/20

in general it is a good program, I do not think it is the best and by far it is not the most used

in general it is a good program, I do not think it is the best and by far it is not the most used

Pros

It is easy to use, it is pleasant with the user, it has a vast library to use, it gives you a landscape more attached to 3D reality

Cons

It is not always compatible with the most used programs and not everyone has access to it, there is a similar program with the company that has the largest number of users dedicated to the 2D sector, therefore fewer users know how to handle it

Alternatives Considered

Revit

Reasons for Switching to ARCHICAD

it is the program that some clients request
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Archicad makes me a better architect.

Reviewed on 2021/11/23

I have always been glad that I chose Archicad as the software for my work. Since 1996, the...

I have always been glad that I chose Archicad as the software for my work. Since 1996, the software has evolved into a very powerful set of tools for the practitioner..

Pros

The use of Archicad and its full range of features including the 3-D window provides intuitive and organizational ways to successfully manage project development that consistently yields high quallity documents.

Cons

It is hard to incorporate software improvements into the normal workflow without some guidance on how to incorporate the new features. It is very challenging to develop new expertise rapidly enough to take advantage of improvements.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ArchiCAD: for BIM demands

Reviewed on 2019/11/16

If you are doing any construction-related drawing, try ArchiCAD for a once for the perfect 3D...

If you are doing any construction-related drawing, try ArchiCAD for a once for the perfect 3D outcome. It's priceworthy and highly recommended.

Pros

As a civil engineer, using BIM software is essential for my day to day work. Usually I'm working as a Software Engineer, still, I'm doing simple house projects for my clients as draftsmen & I really satisfied with ArchiCAD to fulfil my clients' requirements. It is simple and more powerful. Can easily handle this software If we are familiar with AutoCAD because it's pretty similar UI like AutoCAD. ArchiCAD helps us to create powerful 3D drawings with more details. We can get detailed rendering even quicker when compared to the other market available BIM software.

Cons

It's hard to find cons over this vendor. Need some stability upgrades over issues for crashing the software for working larger products. Need some RAM management improvement for this software. Other than these, ArchiCAD is perfect software.

Leonor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The program is very complete.

Reviewed on 2023/01/01

I had to learn the program through work, at a flat and 3D level, it was designed jointly, it was a...

I had to learn the program through work, at a flat and 3D level, it was designed jointly, it was a unique experience.

Pros

The program is very complete, there is a lot to learn to use it and exploit it to the maximum, designing in real time makes the work more complete and more difficult but very useful.

Cons

I used the program for plans and 3d beyond, I no longer used it, it was not easy for me to learn.

Muhammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

an all in one program

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

it was a fun program to try and use but the way the industry is going it doesnt seem to be the best...

it was a fun program to try and use but the way the industry is going it doesnt seem to be the best for me as a landscape designer

Pros

you can design plans and layouts render views and print all in one program and its much cheeper than other programs on the market

Cons

Transferring files from/To ArchiCad with other Autodesk programs like autocad and revit since most firms use it it has a problem with the conversion especially if its different versions or newer.

plus it has its own learning curve and takes time especially if you are use to Autodesk programs

Cate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ArchiCAD Review

Reviewed on 2022/02/23

Pros

ArchiCAD is very useful for collaborative work using the Teamwork project feature.

Cons

3D imaging is not the most advanced or intuitive, and there is a little lack of freedom in 3D modeling. This is good for construction documents, but doesn't lend itself well to ideation.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best CAD software for Mac users.

Reviewed on 2022/03/17

Fantastic, it has a bit of a learning curve, but I am finding new features everyday.

Fantastic, it has a bit of a learning curve, but I am finding new features everyday.

Pros

As a Mac user, this is the best CAD software available. It hosts all of the drafting tools I need to generate Architectural plans. I also appreciate how you can do both 2D and 3D elements at the same time.

Cons

Not as common of a drafting software as Autodesk products, so when we need to send files to Engineers or other groups, it does not integrate as well as we would like it too.

maxime
maxime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

excellent outil de construction

Reviewed on 2022/09/22

Pros

the fact of being able to have good quality models and renderings so it is easy to have the elements or equipment of a house such as chairs, tables, cars, window models to allow a good overview

Cons

it is not easy to understand it without having had to do some work beforehand, so not being able to have a black background is really a problem for me

Assmalick
Assmalick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best architecture software I have tried

Reviewed on 2023/02/20

Pros

I liked how easy it was to use the tools to draw. With only tutorials, you can design without difficulty

Cons

I can say that the rendering of a project remains to be desired on the quality of the image

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best 3D and 2D modelling software

Reviewed on 2022/12/09

Pros

Is was able to generate both 2d and 3d at the same time, and it saves time for both customer and the foreman, because the client can get the pictorial views at the same time the drawings produced for implementation

Cons

Rendering will need a better performing computer