148 reviews

ARCHICAD

3D architectural CAD for architects, designers & planners

4,4 /5 (148 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,3
88% recommended this app
148 reviews
Tony F.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

One of my favourite pieces of software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed me to take my business from one where clients never really understood what it was they were getting to one where they knew exactly what they were going to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is a highly functional 3D CAD / BIM system which will allow you to realise your architectural visions in the best possible manner.
It is relatively intuitive to use and it's use of 3D parametric elements makes modelling a breeze. Once you have mastered the basic 3D CAD capabilities there is also a world of BIM opportunities to discover as well. World class IFC interfaces make it easy to collaborate with other consultants.

Cons

There is not a lot to actually dislike about ArchiCAD, maybe if anything its tendency to crash occassionally. (But generally it is easy enough to recover from near where you left off...)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nicola M.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Developing designs is a breeze

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Our developed design workflow has sped up. The ability to switch between 2d and 3d visualisations of the space allows us to pick up on issues we wouldn’t normally come across until much later in the design and mitigate them as necessary.

Pros

The software sped up our workflow significantly from 2d software and is particularly useful for conceptual and developed design stages where we are continually tweaking the design. The 3d views are particularly useful for understanding design changes as a space. Setting up quick window and door layouts is particularly easy to do and change.

Cons

The software works really well at the developed design stage but when it comes to technical design it is very difficult to apply specific products such as windows when the design is not covered by the basic archicad parameters and the company does not yet support the software in its downloads.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful piece of software that could rival Revit if Graphisoft could shift their approach

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sometimes I like that archicad is less rigid than Revit. It's easy to create what you want and to get it to look the way it should. Rendering is a breeze. Some of the tools are beyond intuitive. They function exactly the way they should.

Cons

This is BIM light. You will be piecing together your model using slabs to represent everything under the sun. You will fudge things with solid element operations that will keep you up at night. Archicad will force you to be inaccurate unless you fight it to your last breath. You'll curse Archicad's lack of ortho snaps. The inability to create "blocks" is utterly ridiculous and maddening. There are 20 ways to access every objects setting and it will confuse you to no end for the first year.

Instead of fixing problems and consolidating settings, Graphisoft has decided that their mantra is "addition." If something doesn't work right, just add features so that no one notices what they're missing. Instead of giving users what they need, modify the GUI and give them a bunch of useless crap to try to get them to buy the newest version.

This is sloppy software development at its finest. It's sad because if they spent a few years cleaning up the beast that they've created, it could be a match for Revit. As is, it's a severely bloated Sketchup pretending to be a BIM package.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Brendon G.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: Self Employed

ArchiCAD

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/30
Review Source: Capterra

I have been with ArchiCAD since V4 and watched it grow into a great piece of software for our industry. It is used nearly every day and is a great asset in our office.

Pros

With the release of ArchiCAD V23 there are a lot of new features that have increased my more flow. The integration of add-ons like TwinMotion and the new an improved coloumns and beams tools.

Cons

Not a fan of the buy the software and then pay the monthly subscription on top. Adobe and other software don't do this. They should also include more in the subscription, localised add-ons like cadimage add-ons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Danushka R.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A Software favourite

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/31
Review Source: Capterra

It permitted me to take my business from one where customers never truly comprehended what it was they were getting to one where they knew precisely what they planned to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is an exceptionally utilitarian 3D CAD/BIM framework which will permit you to understand your design dreams in the most ideal way. It is moderately natural to utilize and it's utilization of 3D parametric components makes demonstrating a breeze. Whenever you have aced the fundamental 3D CAD capacities there is likewise a universe of BIM occasions to find too. Elite IFC interfaces make it simple to work together with different experts.

Cons

There isn't a great deal to really detest about ArchiCAD, perhaps on the off chance that anything its propensity to crash occassionally. (Be that as it may, by and large it is sufficiently simple to recuperate from close to where you left off...)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sadaf G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

One of the best tools for BIM implementation

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

As an Architect, I have been able to use ArchiCAD for conceptual designs, detailed drafting, interior layouts as well as generating high-quality elevations, sections and 3D views for all my projects, including presentation drawings. In fact, 3D modelling and rendering have been made simple thanks to ArchiCAD. Visualization, (placing cameras) and gathering documentation are also uncomplicated. Rendering tools are useful and there is no need to get extra plug-ins for performing the same tasks that can be done within the software itself.
I consider ArchiCAD to be better than its counterparts, e.g. Revit mainly because it is uncomplicated to use, with the same functionality at an economical investment.

Pros

ArchiCAD is one of the most innovative platforms for BIM available in the market today. It is a powerful software that can cater to the design needs of architects, interior designers as well as landscape and urban planners. One can either import 2D drafts into ArchiCAD and work on the same to prepare a 3D model; or work on ArchiCAD on Plan mode and the software will automatically generate elevations, sections and 3D views. If the building is multi-storey, it is much easier to correct any minor deficiencies in drafting (that can be missed in the plan view) through the 3D viewer, which makes it perfect to use when trying to pinpoint any errors.
There is a wonderful feature in AutoCAD called Solibri Model Checker that can accurately analyse the BIM model to accurately locate errors along with any possible faults in design, and identify areas, where the components used, are clashing. As an Architect, I feel that it is a great tool that can be used to estimate the energy requirements of a building. Moreover, there is a plug-in called EcoDesigner STAR that offers features including energy model visualization, thermal zoning and simulations for energy performance. It is one of the better software I have used for 3D modelling and I never think of switching to any other.

Cons

As is with other similar software, ArchiCAD requires a robust system to operate with a high level of RAM especially when rendering. It does tend to slow down the system a bit especially when you are opening a data-rich file. Secondly, there is a steep learning curve with the software, which is easy to overcome with practice.
Apart from these two shortcomings, I have no other major concern that would affect my opinion of this otherwise excellent software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sai manideep B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

One of the leading BIM software, over 30 years of legacy

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/31
Review Source: Capterra

A versatile solution for BIM, with very good engagement and user experience.

Pros

The navigation is very quick which makes using this software very convenient, this also allows drag and drop which again is very smooth and does not make the computer sluggish.

Cons

The 3D model library could be better integrated and have much more options in its catalogue, parametric modelling could be vastly improved.
The Youtube channel could have much more content

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Paul B.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 51-200 Employees

ArchiCAD is a software for the independent minded

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/03/14
Review Source: Capterra

The Software is generally good for professional and home use for big and small projects. It can be used by designers, architects, Engineers and other similar disciplines. The user experience is very is very nice.

Pros

A reasonably priced software which works like a charm in the light of its low price. The 3D modeling is a breeze. The software is easy to learn and use. Even nonprofessionals can do amazing work on the software. Unlike other software in this category, it allows for complete ownership instead of renting.

Cons

Rendering is slower on large files though with a computer with high end specks this is a non-issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Geoff S.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ArchiCAD is a cost friendly alternative to AutoCAD

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

ArchiCAD allows us to use a cost-friendly alternative to AutoCAD and get rid of the high subscription fees.

Pros

The interface is familiar for those switching from AutoCAD, and the 3D modelling allows for the creation of floor plans and elevations simultaneously.

Cons

The software runs a little slow when the models have a high amount of detail, and it feels like it's not fully utilizing graphic hardware to improve the drafting experience.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mohamed M.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Watch your house before building it from A to Z with the ArchiCAD program

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/03/16
Review Source: Capterra

I think it is good enough for my and my friends' work experiences that he achieved with us a lot of structures and buildings

Pros

use of tools that are compatible with the needs of the architectural designer and with its method of work and its way of thinking, we find the tools used in the program are the same architectural elements that are composed for any construction, we find the tools contain wall tools (walls) of various types, columns, beams (all kinds) and tiles As well as general site tools such as the network that are used to create surfaces, terrain and blocks, as well as tools for dimensions and various drawing tools. One of the most important features of the GDL technology used in the program libraries
It is the language of engineering description, where Archicad comes with a huge library that contains most of the architectural elements such as doors, windows, internal furniture and structural elements
These desktop elements are distinguished by the possibility of modification not only in their dimensions, as in the AutoCAD, but in their structure in terms of encroaching on one of the dimensions only, such as length only or width only, and until the materials and components of these elements change, such as changing the type of door shutters, their handles or shafts, and these office elements are also distinguished. It is possible to take any hometown for it without the need to repaint it as it is a block that has the same characteristics

Cons

I think it is moderate in the direction of the negatives from my personal experience that it only blames the program for its poor 3D output, but the 18th version of the program has added a socket for cinema and it is expected that the 19th version will see this socket, so they want to get rid of this negativity, which I think is the most important Negative in the program for me

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

archicad for bim and 3d

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

used daily in our office, the workflow is set up very well, drawings can be published quickly and with little effort, so it definitely is worth the money.

Pros

from design to detailing we use the software in every design stage with buildings and landscape designs. 3D models and solutions can be achieved quickly and in depth.

Cons

over the years it has become very detailed and comprehensive, sometimes (stairs e.g.) it has become overbloated a bit. very expensive when used together with the yearly subscription and updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Luis guillermo G.

I have solved 3D modelling problems that I had with another software, faster and better

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/21
Review Source: Capterra

The first hand benefits obtained from using ArchiCAD, are way importants.

The way of getting familiar with the work ambient is so easy, the palletes and menus are very easy to configure, and once you get familiar with it, the worflow is almost intuitive, being this a highlight because it increases the productivity on many levels.

Another thing that is so beneficial is the project management and organization features availables on this software. It allows me to do changes, revisions and modify many things with few clicks.

I can extend on this review explaining on so many levels how this software has helped me to increase my productivity, even with my social networks, because it has helped me increase the amount of likes on my instagram profile given the quality of the renders produced on this application, but the reading could get so extense that I prefer to resume it on few words: you all should definitely try this software, and you'll see how amazing it is.

Pros

How to begin this review? This software is so delightful! Actually, this software is my first option on BIM world. The render engine quality is amazing and very likely and customizable. This is an AMAZING OPTION, an AMAZING PRODUCT, the best choose.

In its features, this software it's an adventure, the more you enter the menus and options, the more you get enchanted.

One of the best things on it, it's the fluency on the model management and the views, the control on every level of the model, the customizability on the menus.

Frankly, this is a great option.

Cons

The dislike about this software? Actually i have minimum dislikes, the only thing I'd recommend to the developers of ArchiCAD would be that the document generator could be more friendly, like other drawing CAD applications, that would make more easier the process of finishing the tasks. Oh, and another thing that I don't find very likeable is that the IOS verson of the bimx is more practical than the pc one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

An excellent attempt in the field of design

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/22
Review Source: Capterra

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of how a structure works through visuals. It can be described as a perfect software suitable for an architect!

Pros

The software provides an interface that gives an ease of use to practicing architects as well as architecture students. The features are to the point and can be altered and used as various other elements apart from their original use, for the purposes of design communication. The best feature of Archicad is the ability to edit the structure in 3D at a very acceptable and adequate speed making visualization very simple.

Cons

The downside is the layout processing part as well as documentation. It requires a high end RAM space and quite a lot of time to update the drawings as on the working tab. The changes will appear late and it is hectic at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Farral G.

Great program for architectural design

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This package is feature rich and is well supported. While there are nowhere as many users, at least in the US, as there are for the industry standard, it seems to me gaining in use - probably because of marketing to students. Cost is much more reasonable if you can manage without having the industry standard software.

Cons

It is harder to collaborate with many engineers and other consultants that typically use the industry standard. It does support files created with other CAD packages, but it will never be as seamless as having everyone on the same platform. That said, with limited or no support between versions of the same package from the industry standard, coordination can still be a pain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joseph N.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: Self Employed

High end Designer Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

Pros

I have used this software for my design needs for the last one year and the value I have gotten from it it insurmountable! The software offers a nice practical 2D and 3D experience when doing the models. It also offers numerous tools which when combined, one is able to bring out an excellent image just like a pro. With proficiency with the software, one is able to maneuver so fast and with so much ease that the software actually reduces the time required for a drawing by more than 70%. It was easy for me to learn the operations as they all are practical and well organized on the screen.

Cons

Some starters may find it challenging to work with the numerous tools the software offers. It also requires some advanced skills and knowledge about designs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kanav R.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Value for Money & Great Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

Day by day i'm started feeling more connected to the software without comprising my design, explaining my design to my clients through this medium (ArhiCAD software) is always makes my confidence level up.
It's a good way to start your career.

Thank you Graphisoft

Pros

As an Architect it is important to have a good tool with you & i guess ArchiCAD is the first choice. as a young and aspiring architect i always wanted give a meaning to my design, This software help me to get a more practical approach to my work from the beginning of my design, I can work in more details of my project while managing it's 3-D model effortlessly. More control over model while drawing in 2-D is a plus.

The more you will use it more will connect with the software.

Cons

not much but the document manager is bit more complicated, it could more user friendly it will make our more easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stephen olawale J.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

RESIDENTIAL DESIGN MODEL QUICK AND BEAUTIFUL

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/06
Review Source: Capterra

ARCHICAD is best for my presentation 3D modeling, but not best for my rendering, if i have enough time to create a more realistic picture i employ other rendering engines compatible with archicad.thanks

Pros

I ones had challenges with my PC storage that made me install a version of archicad, i had an urgent presentation and all i have was Archicad,my 2d Autocad drawings were allowed to import into Archicad. I was able to generate 3D models quickly, with a beautiful roof generated after selecting all my roof boundaries with slope definition, Archicad rendering might not be the best but its really beautiful and presentable that day, it saved my presentation that’s day.

Cons

I really don't have anything against this application, it’s really a good software, just that its rendering engine needs to be upgraded to give a more realistic 3D picture, and it slows down the PC, while carrying out modelling operations AND rendering on PC with low RAM installed, i had to upgrade my PC RAM so i can enjoy ARCHICAD.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ArchiCAD: for BIM demands

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

If you are doing any construction-related drawing, try ArchiCAD for a once for the perfect 3D outcome. It's priceworthy and highly recommended.

Pros

As a civil engineer, using BIM software is essential for my day to day work. Usually I'm working as a Software Engineer, still, I'm doing simple house projects for my clients as draftsmen & I really satisfied with ArchiCAD to fulfil my clients' requirements. It is simple and more powerful. Can easily handle this software If we are familiar with AutoCAD because it's pretty similar UI like AutoCAD. ArchiCAD helps us to create powerful 3D drawings with more details. We can get detailed rendering even quicker when compared to the other market available BIM software.

Cons

It's hard to find cons over this vendor. Need some stability upgrades over issues for crashing the software for working larger products. Need some RAM management improvement for this software. Other than these, ArchiCAD is perfect software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Darra B.
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Powerful, easily customizable CAD software for your design + construction projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Popular in Europe, ArchiCAD is the only BIM software I use in my design practice. The advantage of designing in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously allows me to be better at my job and provides an easier way to communicate design drawings to my clients. There is no comparison between ArchiCAD and AutoCAD or Sketch Up.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use and depth of project customization. Design in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously. Import and export projects with AutoCad, etc.

Cons

Not as popular as AutoCAD, fewer free and for fee objects available. Deep knowledge is required to unlock all of ArchiCAD’s powerful features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James L.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

We are a small half residential, half commercial architecture firm and use ArchiCAD exclusively.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

ArchiCAD allows the user a great deal of specificity when it comes to the 2D and 3D look of different objects, walls, doors, etc. Used in coordination with BIMx, it is an outstanding tool for combining visualization and documentation.

Cons

Given that there is such a high level of allowable customization, it is not as easy to use "out-of-the-box". Without a more highly specified internal, firm-created template, there is a high learning curve to get CDs to look the way you want them to look.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nidia F.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great for Virtual Building

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

ArchiCAD is very complete, light, intuitive and with excellent quality of representation, even because it is aimed exclusively at Architecture. But I believe that the biggest differential of it for the competitors is the freedom of customization of the project, not limiting it in design depending on the resources or by complexity, being much less bureaucratic. "

Cons

Its does not have a MAC version yet, so you need to run Parallels Windows, that can makes your computer slower

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark B.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The Best BIM software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

as an architect and professor in the University of the Visayas. I'm happy we purchased 20 licenses(Archicad 18) and i was amazed about the performance and the intuitive of the said software. Right now i'm happy because some of my students are working abroad and they're using archicad in australia and singapore. Keep it up!!!

Response from Graphisoft

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your positive review. It's always great to hear from our users and it's good to know your students are getting on well with ARCHICAD.

Best regards,
Team GRAPHISOFT

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Samantha P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very easy to install and start drafting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

If you're familiar with CADD programs and drafting environments, you'll feel right at home with ArchiCAD. It is very easy to start using, and their tutorials and help menu can answer pretty much any question you have.

Cons

It doesn't play well with other drafting platforms, so you pretty much need to choose one and work solely in that environment.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Georgia W.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 201-500 Employees

I wish the world of architecture relied on ArchiCAD

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I love about ArchiCAD is how much more integrated with the thinking mind design process it is. This software can be used starting with the design process all the way through CDs. Its competitor (though hardly one in the US) functions very poorly from a rough design standpoint. ArchiCAD on the other hand allows you to make quick, beautiful diagrams without creating a super heavy file.

Cons

What I dislike about the file is simply that it doesn't quite have all the perks of BIM - clash detection add ons, etc. It is a more simplified version of BIM, which is why i love it (doesn't feel as clunky, and feels more intuitive) but is more difficult to use to collaborate with structure, mep, civil, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jasfer A.

Easiest way to use when using architectural designs.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Review Source: Capterra

experience and skills

Pros

basically everything, from its interface, to its functions. most user friendly BIM software i used. its has its own unique functions and combination of various softwares.

Cons

so far, the least thing i like about this software is its compatibility with other engineering functions; structural, mep and other stuff.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10