95 reviews

Google Data Studio

Interactive dashboard reporting and data visualization tool

4,4 /5 (95 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
95 reviews
Steve B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GDS makes nice reusable dashboards without the need to log in to GA

Reviewed on 2021/04/06

My go-to tool for creating packaged dashboards. It's then easy to re-use them as templates for other organisations and not just for that particular website

Pros

The dashboards are more user-friendly and appealing than many of the other competitors out there. This can be important when trying to win over less tech savvy business colleagues who want a more colourful and easy to use view. Especially if all they require is a scheduled email containing a PDF.

Cons

Occasionally a certain tweak to a dashboard isn't possible, e.g. customising a bar graph's labels so they show the percentages rather than the absolute values. In this example you have to choose a less-preferred pie chart instead.

Sasamka M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Studio is awesome

Reviewed on 2020/06/03

Data Studio is an awesome tool to visualize your data
We can get easy and reliable insights quickly on the Big data that we currently have in BigQuery
We are able to make insightful decisions based on data because of Data Studio

Pros

Ability to integrate with Big Query
Different charts that are available
ability to customize based on dates

Cons

Not user friendly initially
has a learning curve to get used to all the awesome features

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic free data visualisation tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/23

Great free data visualization tool. Fantastic for automating all advertising reports.

Pros

You can integrate it with most advertising platforms (e.g. Google Ads, LinkedIn Ads, Facebook, etc) and create dashboards which update automatically.

Cons

Sometimes the bar charts do not scale correctly. Integrations are free with other Google products however you need to buy third party data connectors to integrate with other advertising platforms. Not as advanced as Tableau.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Perfect for a ad hoc analysis

Reviewed on 2019/08/21

Pros

It has built in integrations for every Google product, so when Data Studio came out it enabled us to deprecate another tool and helped us to keep it simple.

Cons

It's not so straightforward to do some specific analysis, setting filters for example. The tool is limited for more complex analysis.

Daniel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pretty Good Dashboard Tool

Reviewed on 2020/04/01

Pros

I like that it's free and the templates available do a lot of the early set up for you. It's nice to be able to replicate these dashboards across accounts. Both for Google Ads and Analytics.

Cons

I wish that it could pull in data from more sources (i.e. Marketo, Hubspot, Sharpspring, Yelp, etc). Also, I wish there were more template options, such as templates for community management dashboard or FB/Instagram ads.

Kaslin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Studo

Reviewed on 2020/06/28

Good

Pros

Make better, faster decisions with the world's #1 operational intelligence platform. Built on Druid, scales to billions of events per day. Instant. Integrated. Accessible. Easy to get started. Types: Instant Analytics, Self-Serve BI, Fast Alerts

Cons

Long process But easy to set up that was the only problems I had

Juscell T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Google Data Review

Reviewed on 2021/04/09

Overall I would recommend this software to business owners with small to medium sized businesses.

Pros

The efficiency of the app is impeccable. I love how it makes my everyday takes effortless .

Cons

The software tends to glitch when there are too many users on it at once.

Oksana G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product

Reviewed on 2020/05/03

I truly enjoy using for my presentations at work and for college.

Pros

The features that I like the most is that when you start off there's a tutorial- where it easily explains how to use the program. Then there are so many graph and outlines that you can create fro presentations- it's truly amazing!

Cons

I believe that all of the features in this product are very manageable and easy to use.

Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Studio Review

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Overall, it's great. I'm newer to the program, but I'm in it each month. It's not very user-friendly to those who are looking to learn more about data reporting, but those who have that knowledge are able to navigate it easily.

Pros

It is great once you get the hang of it. There are issues (see below), but it is great for those using an analytical approach to their job and any who have a reporting aspect. It makes for a beautiful product when complete.

Cons

The inability to leave comments is a bummer. Every other Google product you can leave comments and tag people. Why not this one? The X and Y axis are also frustrating when trying to edit them. The bottom one isn't able to be edited for percentages, which is a lot of what I work with.

Maria Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My favorite Report Platform

Reviewed on 2019/08/25

Is my favorite platform to create reports. I just love it, it really changes the Analytics works not only for me and my team but also for my clients.

Pros

It helps me to manage, control and understand data. It´s really useful and saves me a lot of time. I can create entire campaign reports in a few hours, adding dynamic charts, text, maps and a lot of graphic elements that make my reports more attractive and easy to understand.

Cons

It took me a little bit of time understanding how it works; but once I learned everything was easier for me.

Sadiq A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Visualisation made easy

Reviewed on 2020/12/05

Pros

Google data studio is a good platform with necessary tools used for visualising data in our company, also the interface is really nice and easy to understand

Cons

It is kind of rigid and support for this platform is a bit small

Brian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value for a free tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Pros

Considering GDS is free, it's a great value. The platform has come a long way since it's inception, and in my time using it, has continued to evolve in the right direction.

Cons

There are still a number of functions which can be done in GA which are difficult or impossible in GDS. Make sure you map out your reporting before setting out.

Kamarul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

This is everything

Reviewed on 2020/07/01

Yeah, i realized that the better thing doesn't overall that always be a better thing.

Pros

The voice assistant, such a good thing to do with your voice.

Cons

About my private in this software, that this software always saved a "HISTORY".

Casey C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Definitely worth a chance!

Reviewed on 2020/07/20

Great product, highly recommend!

Pros

I love how easy this is to use.
I am not “tech savvy” so I was nervous but it ended up being very easy to use!

Cons

I didn’t have any issues. Download was easy. Signing up was easy. I over all had a great experience

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cool tool to share dashdoards from different sources

Reviewed on 2021/04/11

It's a very useful tool to build reports for live or stored data you can connect to databases, google analytics and google spreadsheets among others.

Pros

- It has a lot of integration with data providers
- It's a good way to share Google Analytics funnels with non-technical users

Cons

It takes some time to understand how to filter information, once you get it, it starts to flow on how you can build reports

Romario G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Free-to-Use tool for BI

Reviewed on 2019/09/05

Despite that it's not the best functional BI tool, it really solves a lot of data needs.

Pros

What I most liked about this tool is that it makes so easy and secure to share reports with people in my organization (we have G-Suite accounts). Also, this tool have a perfect integration for reading data from Google Sheets.

Cons

As I said, the Free-to-Use comes at a cost: it lacks a wide variety of functionalities. For example: is not possible to connect to SQL Server databases, lacks support for a wide variety of charts (gauge) and is not possible to modify chart labels.

Douaa G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good integration with other google services

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

Pros

Integrates very well with Google Analytics. It is also very easy to use and insightful.

Cons

Has limited features in comparison with other BI softwares.

Lorena D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great data visualization

Reviewed on 2020/07/23

Pros

Easy to use, it has integration with Google Ads and Google Analytics and other platforms.

Cons

The difficulty in capturing social media data.

Mary B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A way to import data and share with others

Reviewed on 2020/04/15

Pros

Easy to import figures and numbers and share results with teammembers.

Cons

There is a learning curve associated with it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SATISFIED

Reviewed on 2019/07/30

PRIVATE

Pros

ORGANIZED FUNCTIONALITY, AND THE MANNER IT RESOLVES VARIOUS KINDS OF BARRIERS.

Cons

ORGANIZED A LOT OF SECTIONS OF CORPORATE AREAS I AM WORK IN.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My favorite new Google program

Reviewed on 2019/07/31

My SEO analyst uses this software every month to deliver my website data reports and I've LOVED the reports she has sent me. They're so easy to use and understand and I highly recommend this program to anyone trying to organize and present data in an interactive way.

Pros

I like that the data is interactive, easy to understand, and so clear and organized for the viewer.

Cons

The Google share settings annoy me but that isn't specific to this program, just Google as a whole.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Google Data Studio is a great option for data reporting and exposure

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Google Data Studio was a great option to create powerful reports consuming data from our MySQL database.

Pros

It's easy to connect Data Studio into a variety of database systems and quickly create powerful reports.

Cons

The objects available on the user interface are limited when comparing with other options and I miss features like different fonts and sizes.

Eliel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must if you are using Google Analytics

Reviewed on 2021/02/09

Great so far, especially because the tools are free and is fully integrated with Google Analytics, so you don't have to code or know SQL.

Pros

As a person who doesn't work as a Data Analyst or Scientist, Data Studio allows you to create dashboards in a relatively intuitive way, as long as you have experience with Google Analytics.
I really like the fact that there are standard dashboards that you can customize to show the data that you need, just by customizing the reports and graphs you can easily recognize the variables and values because it's fully integrated with GA you can even grab the segments and apply them.

Cons

Nothing, as I have never gone deeper into the functions. But If you are not a Data Analyst or you are not into data, keep it with the premade dashboards. The options and customizations can appear a little intimidating.

Shruti S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Google Data Studio: Pretty Awesome

Reviewed on 2019/07/24

This for me is a phenomenal product. Since I have found this, I've introduced it to multiple people at work. This has been very helpful in depicting data in a simple and easy way to variety of audiences. I wish they advertised it better.

Pros

1. It is free
2. It connects to your Google account
3. It can connect to a whole variety of data sources, I have been using several Google spreadsheets
4. The ease of inserting a table, a graph, scorecard, heatmap etc
5. It is visually pleasing
6. It can serve as a live dashboard with custom and malleable date ranges
7. It allows you to easily switch around different chart versions
8. You can embed a Google spreadsheet! and scroll through the live Data Studio file!
9. All sorts of sharing settings
10. Can also download as a static PDF file
11. They have a basic training online, and there is a world of articles and youtube videos to help you
12. You can create new fields, rename them etc

Cons

1. You have to link by tab for each spreadsheet, which is tedious. It would be nice to be able to link multiple tabs and spreadsheets at once.
2. There is no option for an automatic refresh if there is a change in the base file -- you have to go to View and hit refresh (not intuitive either).
3. The legend text often gets hidden and is not easy to resize and move around.
4. I couldn't find any option for inserting headers or page numbers automatically.

Hardian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simplified Microsoft BI

Reviewed on 2020/06/11

Its ok, i use it daily to view search engine marketing performance, can create a really detailed report compared to Google Ads custom report, faster too.

Pros

- Quick and Dirty, Easy to use (only learn from intro creation youtube and learn on the go)
- Data report can be easily created matching with company branding
- can connect with any data source
- fast, is a google web app
- easy to share
- its free

Cons

- web app only and must have a google account to use.
- limited pivot? I can only add like 3 data pivot per page, but can you can add
- read only report, unless you share access
- automated data refresh interval on some data source are quite long
- limited visualization, and comparisson