Cellcontrol Reviews

Cellcontrol

Contextual MDM Technology to Enforce Device Polices at Work

4.2/5 (79 reviews)
Meliss C.

Rear End Collisions Cut In Half

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Even with the lack of customer service that we experienced in the beginning, the benefits far outweighed the trouble reaching someone. The first year we put Cellcontrol in place, we had 50% less at-fault, rear end collisions with our fleet of 150+ vehicles on the road. The only factor that was changed was adding Cellcontrol, so that has to be the reason.

Pros

The software was pretty easy to learn. We like the fact that if one of our vehicles/devices are not in compliance, our management team gets an alert. We also use this to verify an employee was not using a device if they happen to be involved in an auto accident.

Cons

If we did have a question on how to pair the device to the software, it was hard to reach someone to help us over the phone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Matt K.

Matts review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall working with CellControl has been a good experience. From the initial sale, to implementation CellControl's team has been quick to respond and helpful. The software makes us MUCH more confident our team is not distracted while driving!

Pros

We have cellcontrol on about 100 phones at our company. Other than an issue I detail below, CellControl 100% meets our need. With safety being #1 priority this is a no-brianer. The cost is reasonable and customer support has been good. Some at our company say it works too well! :)

Cons

All aspects of cell control are great other than some issues with iphones. Those seem to have an on-going issue with connectivity or installing. We could give more details and would love this to get fixed! We are primarily android users but if this was not the case this would be a bigger issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Scott L.

Cellcontrol crushes distracted driving (at least with a cell phone).

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

We have reduced at fault accidents by up to 76%, and nearly eliminated aggressive driving. The Cellcontrol team does a great job supporting their product. They are always helpful & professional when we need support. Distracted driving is a real problem. I highly recommend Cellcontrol for businesses, families, and everyone looking to be safer behind the wheel.

Pros

It is easy to use, and saves our company big on preventing accidents & improving driver safety, and not just with the cell phones. With the telemetry data we collect, we are able to enforce driving policies and get a very good idea of how individual drivers act behind the wheel. We are also curbing aggressive driving and speeding, thank to Cellcontrol.

Cons

There is occasional issues with tracking (telemetry) data, but it can be resolved by making sure drivers have the most up to date version of software, and have enabled all permission for the app. Some drivers complain of slightly shorter phone battery duration because Bluetooth is always on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tyler S.

Very Solid Technology

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Overall CellControl was a good business decision and we have seen a large reduction in at fault accidents as a result of this technology.

Pros

-Detailed Info and Metrics
-Moderate-Great Customization
-Real time Speeding Alerts
-Monthly, Weekly, Daily Reports on your specified info
-Enable/Disable Handsfree for drivers
-Customize rules per group or per driver
-Dashboard can display a wide array of options for you

Cons

-Newer Software so not all is 100% fleshed out (Very close though)
-Some things take two-four clicks when they could take just one.
-Updating Android Users to the newest software is tedious
-iPhone users can turn off certain permissions (More of a fault on Apple, and you can usually see this reflected somewhere in the CellControl data)
-API is incredibly outdated
-Running Reports manually is clunky. You select a date then select "Run monthly report" and if it's not the exact day, it'll run for the incorrect month window.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Zach M.

Cell control works amazing!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

We drove over 2.5 million miles last year with 220 trucks. This app ensures that our drivers stay alert and focus on driving. The added benefit is the decreased accidents due to distracted driving and the increased safety of our drivers on the road!

Pros

The software does exactly what it is supposed to do! It blocks use of the phone while driving. Our business opted for the hardware trigger in addition to the application because of the increased accuracy and other reporting functions. It almost works too well. I say this because I was shocked at how often I reached for my phone instinctively while driving, only to be reminded by Cell Control that it is not safe. This application is changing our work culture for the better! I would highly recommend this.

Cons

It's hard for me to come up with Cons for this software. If I had to find one though, it would be the manual steps a user has to take to enable access to the phone for the application to work properly. There are sometimes 7-8 steps that has to happen for it to function. We had to write up detailed instructions for our employees in order to ensure that most could install the app properly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mike C.

Best way to protect myself and my Company

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

I solved the liability that I know is out there. Watching so many companies let their drivers talk and use their phones wile driving is disturbing. When a driver starts with us the first thing we do is go over our Cellcontrol plan with them.

Pros

It absolutely does what they say it does. It will stop all data from going to your phones. My drivers now can concentrate on driving and not being distracted. It is a piece of mind that I now have that we will not be pulled into a distracted driving incident.

Cons

They had an issue in the beginning with one of my guys phone. He contacted them and they did not stop fixing it until the matter was solved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Adam D.

Cellcontrol is the most feature rich, but with at a cost

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It includes both the ability to block phones and laptops.

Cons

They discontinued the OBDII prodcut, you are not locked into a much more expensive recurring contract, their support took months to resolve an issue regarding repetitive alerts, their web portal changes frequently and can be cumbersome to use, and it requires a lot of maintenance to stay on top of.
There are solutions out there that do individual parts of what cellcontrol does better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10
Neil V.

Useful Tech to prevent Distracted Driving

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Block distracted driving due to company issues cell phones.

Has achieved results.

Pros

If you have the APP correctly installed, it works as marketed.

Cons

- Latest CC software version restricted the Apple Maps; cannot move the map position; change any itinerary while vehicle is in motion.
- ANY cellcontrol unit on ANY other non-company truck WILL knock off our cellcontrolled phones, even if You are standing or parked near the cellcontrol truck passing.
-

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Will B.

Cellcontrol Usage

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For what we are using the product for, Cellcontrol is far easier to implement. The alternative requires hardware connected directly to vehicle OBD ports. In some cases, this has actually caused problems with vehicle on board software which the manufacturer blamed on the device itself.

When you have the ability to mount the device to the windshield the solar cell removes practically all maintenance concerns of individual vehicles. There simply needs to be a routine check on battery power which can be done via the web-based console.

Cons

We were hoping to integrate Cellcontrol in home brew software we are developing in house, however there was not an API available or at least not one made available to us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Excellent app!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent! Our at fault 3rd party incidents have gone down significantly and driver behavior change is measurable. Fantastic customer service!

Pros

Helps protect drivers from getting distracted and keeps them focused on the road. Still allows the ability to make and receive calls via Bluetooth as well as use navigation while traveling (must be set up prior to driving).

Cons

As technology changes rapidly, app has a lot of updates to keep up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Bill P.

cell control experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

It's a great way to assure your fleet is driving safe, some of our techs find it to be aggravating but it only takes seconds of distraction to have an accident. Since in place we have had 0 accidents as a result of distracted driving, money well spent!

Pros

You get alerts if any thing is tampered with.

Cons

Haven't seen any issues yet, sometimes they need a battery recharge if sitting in a dark shop idle for a while but that is simple maintenance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kevin H.

Cellcontrol makes all the difference!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

We have not had any at fault vehicle accidents since installing Cellcontrol over 2 years ago. We used to have 5-6 accidents per year with over 40 vehicles on the road. Our insurance company now loves us.

Pros

Cellcontrol does exactly what you want it to do for your drivers... stop distracted driving.

Cons

The Cellcontrol unit adhesive can not stand up to the Arizona sun. We have to re-install them using a more robust adhesive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Keith D.

CellControl Experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Cellcontrol is a good product. It is cumbersome to configure and ideally it would be nice to have an all-in-one GPS, CellControl solution.

Pros

It does block use of the phone when all installation procedures and configurations are followed.

Cons

There are issues with the software when vendors update their OS. I thought developers got advanced copies of iOS and Android to test their software against.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Sal L.

It works as advertised.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

Having CellControl in our vehicles allows us to deal with employees who have violated our zero tolerance policy regarding cell phone usage beyond termination. It also gives us an alternative to dedicating costly man-hours trying to enforce the policy.

Pros

It effectively blocks all access to telephone and texting functions. Since we use a PTT app for our two-way communications, CellControl worked with us to allow that app to run.

Cons

Because we operate in rural areas where the PTT app does not work, blocking telephone and texting is sometimes a hindrance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Frank H.

Safety & Risk Coordinator

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it does its job!
In 10 Months our vehicles have driven a total of 372,157 miles, and during those miles driven we have blocked 3,331 calls, 11,899 texts (SMS), and blocked 40,143 apps. Our Employees are not distracted with their phones while driving.
After installing Cell Control, we can confidently say that we have not encountered an "at fault" vehicle accident since then, and it is a good feeling knowing that our employees are Safer doing their job.

Pros

It is user friendly when it comes to being an Administrator for Users, Devices, and Triggers. Along with creating specific Policies, along with easy to manage adjustments through the reports.

Cons

The Tracking needs some improvement. When Data is behind the Tracking is behind.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Darryl I.

Distracted driving initiative

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

As company that strives to eliminated distracted driving, this product takes the guess work out of who may or may not be driving distracted. It has driven our numbers down over 90%. Great product.

Pros

Very easy to use, almost completely automatic which makes it easy for anyone.

Cons

Takes a little to long for it to turn off after the vehicle is stopped/turned off.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John P.

Cell Control Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Overall our experience has been very beneficial. Our preventive accidents have decreased.

Pros

I love that it blocks any access to email, texts, and the internet.

Cons

As with any technology, there are some issues with team members having units that need to have the batteries replaced, and will need to plug in their unit.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tom C.

Cell Control Project Manager Assessment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Lower level of reported incidents involving vehicles. Two hands on the wheel and eyes on the road is the key to know your surroundings while driving. Cell Control modifies driver behavior behind the wheel.

Pros

Functions and features work to limit distracted driving as advertised.

Cons

Passenger mode override is cumbersome for some users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kaija J.

Makes safe driving possible

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Makes our guys mindful of thier cellphone use in the car.

Pros

Cell control makes staying handsfree easy. It does all of the work so my guys aren't tempted to answer the phone or text someone while driving. I also like how the device is solar powered.

Cons

The app installation is a bit cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Joshua D.

Easily keeping everyone safe

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This product is easy to install and difficult to circumvent

Cons

I would like the cell control devise to replace my GPS locators in their entirety ( since cell control needs to be connected to an enrolled phone to communicate)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Managing Commercial Drivers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service and technical departments of Cellcontrol are very professional and stand behind their product.

Pros

This is easy to use and easy to manage from the back office.

Cons

After 2 years I have no complaints about the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Hunter G.

Effective market leader

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Positive support from a market leader with flexible options and a user friendly interface.

Pros

Ability to whitelist certain numbers (for calling only...all texts are blocked while driving) was a plus. They offer both a bluetooth windshield solar powered device (for when a phone should only be blocked in a specific vehicle) or a phone app that will block in all vehicles, regardless. Our sales agent and phone support was particularly helpful.

Cons

Of the 10 phones using the bluetooth windshield device, only 1 had issues with bluetooth connectivity. It kept trying to connect to the vehicle itself. I did not have time to resolve the issue.
If the windshield is ever replaced the risk is the windshield device gets lost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

The Best

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

We have solved the problem of people talking on their phones without hands free headsets. We don't have to worry about text messages coming through to our drivers and causing them to be distracted.

Pros

It is easy to set up and install. Customer service was great. Website and daily emails show me all the information I need.

Cons

I have not had any problems or dislikes so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Game Changer for Eldeco

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Perfect fit for us!

Pros

Ease of use and Setup plus passenger mode for non-driving employees

Cons

Sensitivity with the system disconnecting when not in motion. Have gotten use to it now

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Paul B.

Cellcontrol Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Customer service has been very responsive and easy to deal with.

Pros

The software was easy to configure and install.

Cons

Not capable to also serve as a GPS tracking device.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10