ArcGIS

4.6 (500)
Write a Review!
Mapping & analytics system for visualizing data by location

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(500)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

500 Reviews

Francis Carolina
Francis Carolina
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The most complete and efficient tool for making maps, vector layers or raster

Reviewed on 2018/06/07

ArcGIS is a system with which people can work with on-line maps and related geographic information....

ArcGIS is a system with which people can work with on-line maps and related geographic information. With ArcGIS you can create many different types of maps. The most interesting of all are the interactive intelligent maps that show, integrate and synthesize complete layers of geographic and descriptive information of diverse origins. These ArcGIS maps provide an interactive window through which you can view, explore and analyze this information.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ease with which you can create maps or design final maps better known as layout. Unlike other similar software, Arcgis simplifies the process, in addition to providing aestheticity and harmony in the scale of colors and labeling of toponyms. In addition, the work with ArcGIS encourages the use of geographic databases (geodatabases) in the management of our data. With the way to create projects in arcgis, not only allows us to store the styles and properties applied to the layer in the project, but creates a geodatabase associated with it in which we can physically include the layers that we use as Feature Class. Although we can also add a previous geodatabase to the project, as it used to be done a long time ago.

Cons

Arcgis licenses are expensive. It was not always possible to count on the availability of ESRI products for acrgis. In addition, it is not very versatile in the consumption of data, that is, a different protocol must be applied to open each file according to its type. Likewise, with the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) services connection, it is necessary to download and install the Data Interoperability extension, unlike other softwares that this process refers to one clicks.

Chanchala
Chanchala
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Science of Where – Definitely it is in ArcGIS!!

Reviewed on 2022/06/20

ArcGIS is a geospatial software that facilitates viewing, editing, and analyzing geographic data....

ArcGIS is a geospatial software that facilitates viewing, editing, and analyzing geographic data. ArcGIS consists of several features such as ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcGIS Pro, ArcScene & ArcGlobe. This software is used by a wide range of users from multidisciplinary sectors.

Pros

ArcGIS is a powerful software that can use to analyze locational-based data. The Arc Toolbox has a variety of tools including spatial analyst, spatial statistics, geocoding, data management, conversion, cartography tools, etc. Those tool sets can be used for spatial analysis, mapping, field operations, data collection, and preparation. I’m using ArcGIS for raster and vector data visualization and analysis. Especially for landslide vulnerability assessment, landslide hazard and risk zonation mapping, landform mapping, and different types of data management activities.
ArcGIS supports different types of data formats including ESRI shapefiles, GeoTIFF, Images, CAD files, KML, Excel data files, etc. The important thing is ArcGIS provides a data conversion facility using a conversion toolset.
The ArcGIS model builder provides automation of our analysis process and it reduces the time consumption. This is a good platform for map-making and map layouting. There are many toolbars that support map preparation, such as advanced labeling, data frame tools, layout, etc. And there is another option called the Data-Driven Pages toolbar, that allows us to create a multi-page map series from a single map document.
There are many options in ArcGIS that you can find to solve your problems, related to geographic data.

Cons

The license version of ArcGIS is very expensive and it needs a considerable amount of memory and storage space to function properly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mapping Software

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Pros

This is one of the best in the industry, and is a niche product.

It is very robust and performs mapping well. There are alot of modules and it takes time to really learn the system.

Cons

If you are not computer savvy and don't take the time and effort required to learn the software, you won't like it. The usability has a lot to desire as things are hidden deep inside of menus. I think overall the software is expensive and bloated. You may only use 25% of the product. The KISS principle is lost on this.

Cesar A
Cesar A
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This GIS has not comparison

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

Pros

We are in front of the best GIS in the market ARCgis do anything you want to do in special analysis. With this software you can build maps, editaed, analyze raster data, make models, 3d models, terrain models, simulations, Geodesign, and so many other things. This software has incorporated the biggest data of datum and coordinates system of the world, you can virtually use ARCgis in any part of the world, and with great precision. Since the version 9.3 ESRI has incorporated the Imagery tool, that it is a layer that with internet connection allows you to have satellite images of any location of the world, it is very useful to analyze change in the enviroment and urbanization changes. ARCgis has everything, virtually everything that a people who work with maps needs, does not have comparison.

Cons

The main limitation of ARCgis it is the cost, it is a very expensive software that a little company or businees cannot afford. This a very useful tool but the cost does not allows to some people uses their potential for the spatial analysis. In some countries they offer educational licenses who help the students to know the software and work with some tools, this can be palliative for all that people who wants to work with the software but cannot afford.

Carlos
Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tool for decision makers

Reviewed on 2022/02/16

ArcGIS has permitted you to show map information in an outwardly engaging manner and give broad...

ArcGIS has permitted you to show map information in an outwardly engaging manner and give broad investigation of geographic information for an enormous scope in a straightforward manner.

Pros

ArcGIS is the best software for management of geographic information accessible for decision makers. It has a device for nearly anything compelling in treatment of a lot of vector information. The flexibility to utilize permits ArcGIS to be used in an assortment of regions: from land cadastre, cartography, topography, biology, edaphology, the management of water resources, and remote sensing. With ArcGIS you can processing of both raster and vector data, it allows map algebra, spatial analysis, editing, and showing geographic information.

Cons

You need capacitation for learning, it requires time and there are various highlights which are extremely intricate to work with.

Maria
Maria
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best GIS in the market has not comparison

Reviewed on 2018/03/01

Analyze spatyal data, satellite images, manage tables with spatyal information, edit shapefiles,...

Analyze spatyal data, satellite images, manage tables with spatyal information, edit shapefiles, make hydrology models and so on.

Pros

This GIS offers everthing that a professional that works with spatyal data needs, enormous amount of tool, a very complete interphase, the possibility to manage big amounts of spatyal data, a quality of image and video very high, and a ArcTool Box with everything you need to analyze spatyal information, The three moduls are awesome: ArcMap, ArcCatalog and ArcScene are the best in the market and everyone meets it porpuse. This is the best software in the world.

Cons

The cost is and had always been the highest limitation of ArcGIS is too expensive for individuals and small companies, so only the goverments or big companies can afford to pay for the license of this awesome software.

Tharindu
Tharindu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Best Premium GIS Platform for All Your GIS Needs

Reviewed on 2020/01/13

The ArcGIS the best mapping software available considering all available options, level of...

The ArcGIS the best mapping software available considering all available options, level of presentation and clarity of content. It is much easier to get used to compared to most open source software. Once you have gotten used to handle your files between Arc Catalog - Arc Toolbox - Arc Map components, you will notice how easy it is to organize all. The other reason that almost all the academic bodies are recommending this software is the extreme reliability and good customer support. Even with a large number of open software packages available, ArcGIS still leads the pack with some considerable advantages to its users.

Pros

ArcGIS is the Industry Standard among all available GIS Platforms out there. The ArcMap-ArcToolBox-ArcCatalog combination offers solutions for all your GIS needs. The Software stands out among the others mainly due to its very clear representation of data that suit for any kind of presentations. Also, the map composer of ArcGIS has become the industry standard that is used by many higher education bodies, universities and professional organizations.

Cons

The Software package is not cheap but it doesn't mean it is not worth it. The people who can afford it will definitely have access to the best platform that the money can buy.

Eric
Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly Functional Mapping Software

Reviewed on 2018/09/11

I use ArcGIS on a weekly basis as an urban planning consultant to graphically show and analyze...

I use ArcGIS on a weekly basis as an urban planning consultant to graphically show and analyze data, including demographic trends, transportation modeling scenarios, employment trends, and basic area mapping. Without ArcGIS, my job would be much more difficult and it would be much harder to display spatial data for the deliverables we create.

Pros

The ability to do hardcore spatial data analysis relatively easily is a huge benefit. Being able to produce high quality maps is great for my work as an urban planner. The functionality is seemingly endless and as a avid user for the past 5 years, there are still aspects of GIS that I have yet to learn. Finally, the ability to export maps to other formats is very helpful from a graphic design standpoint and allows me to modify the maps in graphic focused software to further enhance the look.

Cons

This software is very advanced and can take a long time to learn. Casual users may have trouble learning how to use the software because of how complicated it is. The graphic outputs are not as visually appealing as they could be and additional work or rendering is needed to really make them stand out, which requires additional software.

Surya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS

Reviewed on 2023/11/08

im totally love with this software. last 6 years im working with ArcGIS software.the best part is...

im totally love with this software. last 6 years im working with ArcGIS software.the best part is visualization and professinal data quality and Delivery also customer support .

Pros

ArcGIS is totally a professional Software. most favourite part of this software is the wide range of functions,tools,and also online support of ESRI.

Cons

too costly. the user interface is bit slow.need good configration system for good working condition.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ArcGIS Review

Reviewed on 2024/02/13

I highly recommend ArcGIS for users in the urbanism, geographical and territorial fields because it...

I highly recommend ArcGIS for users in the urbanism, geographical and territorial fields because it can create any cartography needed

Pros

ArcGIS is a powerful tool for creating maps and analyzing data. It is highly scalable and users can create beautiful cartographies for urban and city planning.

Cons

It can be a little bit complex for new users to understand the platform and its layers

Gabrielle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My go to for anything spatial

Reviewed on 2018/11/05

It’s been great. I once compared the functionality of ArcGIS to QGIS in a certain talks I had -...

It’s been great. I once compared the functionality of ArcGIS to QGIS in a certain talks I had - ArcGIS produced a more comprehensive outcome. I always choose ArcGIS in my research.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the most frequently used softwares for GIS. Given this, it means that most people trained in GIS are able to use the software but communicate about its functions too. Arc has created a network of GIS users which in some regard, has formed its own language. I like this because when speaking to other users, they understand me and my actions on the software.

I like the endless capabilities that Arc offers. Using the software is highly beneificial to people like myself who are involved in natural science research. It’s a tool that never fails to produce some sort of value - even if it is only a map. I appreciate the product development and like that it can utilize multiple spatial datasets in a user friendly framework.

Cons

Learning how to use ArcGIS definitely takes its time. It’s endless capabilities make it somewhat complex and so the user has to know exactly what they are looking to do in Arc in order to achieve it. I know too many people who have no idea where to start with Arc it are apprehensive to use it because of its technicality. I guess this is not a bad thing should one be trained in the software, but it’s defintwly not user friendly to the layman. Other esri products are more suited and easier for laymen - such esri online products.

In my experience, I have had ArcMap freeze or shut down numerous times. These bugs seem to still get through and it is the worst feeling when one loses their progress on a project.

I also find the tools somewhat tedious at times and it can be frustrating to have to search the help or esri online panels for solutions. However, in most cases, these problems get solved because their is readily available information on each tool.

Ricardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Esri's Arc Products are Essential Tools for Spatial Analysis

Reviewed on 2021/01/12

I have formal training in Geography and advanced GIS uses, so ArcGIS has been an essential tool for...

I have formal training in Geography and advanced GIS uses, so ArcGIS has been an essential tool for spatial analysis and spatial database creation.

Pros

I appreciate the flexibility and thoughtfulness of the software's design. There is almost always more than one way to accomplish a task in Arc products and suggestions for improvement are often met with modifications to the products to maintain their usefulness. The product is pretty much self-contained but there are patches and programs to customize the software. It also allows users to program routines to facilitate repetitive work. It also uses Python and Visual Basic, which allow users to write their own routines.

Cons

The price of this software can be prohibitive, particularly if users are looking for a full suite of services. Many of the functions are not intuitive and require a long ramp up time. The program crashes more than others on my computer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Political Organization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't Live Without It

Reviewed on 2019/02/18

Pros

Unparalled mapping features. Without a doubt if someone needs to create a map, I'll suggest ESRI. The platform allows analysis of data, different data projections, and gives the user a lot of freedom if they can write scripts. I'm just a regular, simple user who has built maps and analyzed spatial data. The tools that can be used for analysis are among the best and as far as I know, unavailable elsewhere. ESRI has truly built an empire in spatial analysis,

Cons

Over the years, ArcGIS has become much more intuitive to use. The availability of spatial data, free or not, has become huge, The biggest problems I have now are the size of the program -- it takes forever to load...well, maybe 5 minutes (it's networked). The other problem I have is in understanding how to do things. There is a Help file, but I've found Google search engines far more helpful. The good news? ESRI has been around so long and lots of people know it so well, answers to common questions can be easily found.

Dasun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ArcGIS as a mapping tool.

Reviewed on 2019/04/03

ArcGIS feels swift, smooth and reliable when generating maps of all kinds.

ArcGIS feels swift, smooth and reliable when generating maps of all kinds.

Pros

ArcGIS is a spatial analysis, Imagery and Remote sensing, Mapping and Visualization, 3D GIS and Data collection and management tool which can be used to generate, overlay maps with higher accuracy. I have used ArcGIS software for my Civil Engineering undergraduate period whenever mapping was required.
Flood mapping and generating inundation maps can be done using ArcGIS more accurately and easily than other software. Also remote sensing, real-time visualization are other key functions that can be done using ArcGIS. Also, it has the capability to link, import or export with other widely used software like Autocad, MIKE software, etc.
Therefore overall ArcGIS provides a set of important features and functions for all parties who are interested in spatial analytic tools.

Cons

Usually, ArcGIS online search from PRO is limiting the amount of information online.

Zavud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review on ArcGIS

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

Pros

I have been using ArcGIS for a year now. I am a master student studying Environmental Sciences and in this field it is very important to be able to work with geographic information systems. Although I learned a few similar software, I prefer working on ArcGIS when I have to work with maps and geographic information. The reason why I prefer ArcGIS to the other similar software is it is easier to learn as a beginner (from my personal experience). In our department at my university, we sometimes have to create maps or work with mapped information. I like how easy it is to add different geographic data collected from different sources in order to make comparisons. The software enables you to create your own map layout providing you with various features and designs. I usually work with environmental maps showing the ecological problems on my map layout for my research projects. If you design your final map properly making use of the features ArcGIS provides you with, you can make your final output look very good and simple to be understood by even people who are not professionally ArcGIS users.

Cons

As a student I am allowed to use the computers that have ArcGIS with its license at my university and its libraries. However, I cannot use it on my personal PC at home or wherever I am, since the software is extremely unaffordable for an average student I believe. What I also dislike about the software is it gives me a lot of errors when I work with larger scale while I do not get my results have as many errors when I work with smaller scales.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sophisticated map-making

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

I have very specific features that I need to show in a map. With ArcGis I am able to customize my...

I have very specific features that I need to show in a map. With ArcGis I am able to customize my maps as much as I like.

Pros

Easily imports my .csv data or gis shapefiles.
Offers a variety of basemaps including Open Street Map and Natl. Geographic. You don't have to depend on Google maps.
Converts to a file that can be read and worked on in Adobe Illustrator. Necessary for tweaking maps.
Doesn't seem too demanding on resourses.
Customer service has been great. One fellow took nearly an hour with me on the phone getting me up to speed.

Cons

Steep learning curve.
Confusing credit system. Essentially, you start out with 500 credits in my case. Every time you make an inquiry of their database, you get dinged. I used one of the ArcGis tutorials and saw my credit usage go through the roof. Called cust. service and they explained that was the issue.
When I make a route, changing the type of line is a pain and there may not be a solution. You will learn that there are lots of hidden tools under " ... " on most menu choices.

Alyson
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ArcGIS Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/30

Database management has greatly helped my company because it allows me to store data and apply it...

Database management has greatly helped my company because it allows me to store data and apply it to different projects. The ease of developing maps has allowed us to create and submit high quality maps that surpasses most in the forestry industry.

Pros

ArcGIS allows me to build and maintain databases that assist my company in the private forestry industry. As a GIS Specialist I am able to transform that data into easily readable and understood maps for forest management plans, timber harvest plans, reforestation plans, etc. I am also able to assist my field going coworkers by creating georeferenced PDF maps that they can use in other applications to collect field data which I then can post process and import into ArcGIS software.

Cons

The thing that I like least about this software is that it has a habit of crashing unexpectedly. This has been something that has been going on for years.

Kyo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great GIS Software

Reviewed on 2020/10/27

Pros

I like the ability to format and being able to change the symbology. And generally feel that they make a very good looking maps compared to other, non-premium GIS software.

Cons

The price tag Esri offers for the ArcGIS suite is a bit high for what it offers. And I am not a huge fan of their licensing options and to its extensions (adds up)

Alternatives Considered

QGIS
Brian
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product - ArcGIS Enterprise

Reviewed on 2020/01/29

We wanted to use ArcGIS Enterprise because we recently purchased an asset management software and...

We wanted to use ArcGIS Enterprise because we recently purchased an asset management software and wanted to be able to use the work order system in the field and since we are already an enterprise client we wanted to leverage it to the fullest.

Pros

We really like being able to have our Enterprise Portal look and act like ArcGIS Online. Once we got the environment set up, working in it was almost the same as ArcGIS Online.

Cons

They have an out of the box setup for one machine. I almost wish we would have gone that route, but we wanted to future proof it and put the different modules on different servers. That made setup a little more difficult.

Eduardo
Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simply the best of its kind!

Reviewed on 2018/06/12

An indispensable tool to work every day in my business, helping to manage all my spatial information...

An indispensable tool to work every day in my business, helping to manage all my spatial information quickly and easily for all my employees..

Pros

It provides an extensive possibility of resources for the spatial analysis of data. With this tool you can create, consult and analyze in a very easy way your data in the territory, combining layers easy and fast and obtain new information from that data. Amazing compatibility with most used formats and the best for analyse interpolation of data values in the space

Cons

Maybe the license, ArcGIS forces you to connect to a license to perform certain geoprocessing operations. Therefore, although it has a good geoprocessing framework, solid and broad, its license level determines which tools can be used in this tool

Parag Jyoti
Parag Jyoti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ArcGIS: My old trusted friend

Reviewed on 2019/01/21

Distribution Network Analysis for Marketing of Fertilizer
The company’s marketing strategy coupled...

Distribution Network Analysis for Marketing of Fertilizer
The company’s marketing strategy coupled with spatial and attribute data enabled us to simulate the market in ArcGIS for the identification of the most suited distribution Network.
By combining ArcGIS with workflow and a messaging system, we have automated a large portion of the marketing operation. Using reports on expenditures and success rates per location, the number of staff members is then estimated with ArcGIS and forwarded to the management for review.

Pros

Most intuitive GIS
Clutter-free menus
Bug-free algorithms
Research-oriented design
Built on a best-in-class database engine
Documented guidance for every feature and option
Never fails to deliver

Cons

Should have been free for students
Should have minimum pricing for academia

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GIS Powerhouse but could use some updates

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

ArcGIS provides a suite of programs that create incredible map visuals and can integrate huge...

ArcGIS provides a suite of programs that create incredible map visuals and can integrate huge amounts of data or simple tables for different projects I work on.

Pros

ArcGIS is packed with tools for 2D and 3D, Raster and Vector, and small scall and large scale. It's tool set provide an incredible array of options to a trained user.

Cons

This software is very expensive and it's obvious ESRI is trying to make this a legacy product when it should be their biggest investment. It was a big disappointment that ESRI chose to only put python3 into ArcGIS Pro and left the ArcGIS suite alone. Once python2.7 becomes officially unsupported this program will be much less useful even after costing so much.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Mapping Software Out-there

Reviewed on 2019/01/02

My use of ArcGIS has ranged from an academic setting - where I was trained to use the product - to...

My use of ArcGIS has ranged from an academic setting - where I was trained to use the product - to using it for mapping water pipelines in the water utility industry. The software is incredibly effective and can handle just about any map product that someone wants to make. However, it does require time and effort to become a master of ArcGIS and it cannot be accomplished in a few hours.

Pros

If you can dream it up, ArcGIS allows you to do it. This software has every function imaginable. Plus, it's super easy to input and export data. One major thing that makes it the best software and the most widely used, is how easy it is to combine different maps together into one product. During graduate school, I worked on a map with a couple classmates combining data to create a map of Nigeria that featured hospital locations, sites of conflict, and areas of concern for food security. We had an incredibly easy time inserting all the data, generating a map that looked how we wanted it to look, and correctly labeling all the different pieces of information.

Cons

You need to know what you're doing before you use this software. Make sure to either watch some YouTube videos, invest in a textbook that teaches you how to use the software, or hire an individual who has experience with the product in an academic or professional setting. While you really can do anything you want with the software, it does require some knowledge to be able to achieve the desired end result. If you forget how a certain function works, make sure to doube check how to do it and do not wing it because you can very easily mess up the map product (one classmate of mine did this and deleted her entire map that took three months to build).

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust but expensive

Reviewed on 2022/04/27

ArcGIS is the go to for everything geospatial. If you have access to a licence. It can interact...

ArcGIS is the go to for everything geospatial. If you have access to a licence. It can interact with a wide range of workflows, and rarely is there a geographic analysis that ArcGIS cannot solve.

Pros

ArcGIS offers a full suite of various programs for working with geographical data, ArcScene, ArcView, ArcMap, ArcGIS Pro.
If you have a need, ArcGIS can solve it.

Cons

The annual licence for ArcGIS is extremely expensive. If you are willing to put in the extra time, you can find free alternatives that fit within your workflow. For example, QGIS, if you need a GUI, or Python if you or a team member are comfortable coding.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Most Powerful and Complete Mapping Tool

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

I first used ArcGIS during an internship at the Department of National Parks and Wild Life where I...

I first used ArcGIS during an internship at the Department of National Parks and Wild Life where I was a Research Assistant. We used ArcGIS to create maps from GPS points the Wild Life Police Officers obtained during routine Wildlife Monitoring routines. ArcGIS made this kind of work very easy even though I had to be trained for me to be able to use it. Then I used ArcGIS for my dissertation project. I used it to create a map for my study area, form grid lines and formulate and select sampling points. ArcGIS made my research look professional and presentable

Pros

Esri's ArcGIS has the best features, options and functionality when it comes to scaling, geoprocessing, and topology. Its cartographic capabilities when it comes to printing maps is also very good. I also love the fact that now ArcGIS has introduced ArcGIS online for web maps and mobile phone apps

Cons

ArcGIS is quite expensive especially for individual use. The only best way to get value for money is to buy as an organization.