59 reviews

Genius ERP

Enterprise resource planning for SME custom manufacturers

4,2 /5 (59 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,1
88% recommended this app
59 reviews
Donnalynn M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius ERP_great product for the money

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has seen many tasks that were being duplicated in various spreadsheets eliminated. All the data needed by any department is now in one place - quoting, sales, production, inventory management. All the users can see what relates to their department and share easily with others. We are still "new" to Genius, only 8 months in. We still have many things we have not had a chance to learn or put into practice but each week we are finding new ways to save time and improve our results.

Pros

Genius has many features we selected it for. It allows customizable BOMs that can continually be updated throughout the build by the engineering team. The Lifecycle engineering feature was core to our selecting the product. It has the flexibility to allow preliminary material buys before the design is complete, and still track these to the job. The material planning and control features are also easy to use and offer flexible solutions.
We integrated Genius into our business in about 8 weeks. They provide a full team of support to help get it up and running! Their support team contiues to be there when needed.

Cons

If anything is a bit weak in Genius it is the integrated accounting module. It is not as user friendly as our previous system ( QB). The trade-off though of being able to see live job or order costs outweigh any other concerns. All new products take time to get used to.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Donnalyn, Thank you so much for this review! It's great to hear that in the short time you have been using our ERP it has been working really well for you we look forward to a long partnership with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jennifer H.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

End to End Manufacturing ERP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/10
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great experience with Genius. Their product consultants who helped us implement the software focused on how to develop processes through the software that solved some bottlenecks as well as gave us much better cost and hour tracking.

Pros

We chose Genius ERP because we are a custom, make to order manufacturer, and Genius allows us to design and release parts of the machines in Solidworks as they are complete to production. This allows us to manufacture complex machines in less time by getting a jump start on long lead items using just in time purchasing and production scheduling. Genius tracks all costs to each machine which gives great visibility into our margins that we can trace all the way to our financial reports.
Genius ERP is utilized throughout all our business processes from customer order through to final shipment and invoicing and then flows through to our financial reports. With all employees working in a single integrated system, it has allowed our process flow to become smoother with less questions popping up across departments.

Cons

I would love to see them update the UI. There are lots of clicks required with each transaction.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. we are always happy to hear from our great customers like you! I am really glad that Genius ERP is helping you speed up production and making all of your business processes run more smoothly. We love learning how our customers are making Genius ERP work for them! Thanks also for the feedback on our UI. It is important for us to learn where we can improve. We really value your comments on our system, thanks for leaving us a great review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bill K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius Manufacturing Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/05
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience with Genius has been excellent. From the beginning, they have been a true partner to us at Kennedy Tank.

Pros

Genius' ERP is very easy to use. It is detailed and flexible. It connects all aspects of our manufacturing business.

Cons

To use Genius, you have to click and confirm almost everything. This is time consuming but is not too bad.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Bill, Thank you so much for the review. we are always happy to hear from you! I'm so glad that you find Genius ERP easy to use, and that we have been a valuable partner to you! We really value your feedback on our system. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin F.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Service! Friendly Staff!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extremely satisfied with the support and services that were provided through this company. Any problems were dealt with in a professional way. Anyone looking for this sort of service won’t be disappointed.

Cons

Did not experience any bad with this software, All problems were solved by Genius ERP!

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Kevin, It's fantastic to hear that you are having such a positive experience with our company, we strive to create great relationships with our customers! Thanks for leaving us a five-star review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris V.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very in depth ERP system that can be used a multiple levels of need, Helpful Customer Success Team that ensures you get what you need out of the software.

Cons

automation of material planning, New features setup checklist - step by step view of dependencies.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Chris, I'm glad to hear our Customer Success team has been helpful and you're getting what you need out of our software. Thanks for the review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ani T.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius erp

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easily to used and this is very helpful for production!

Cons

Customer support and if we need to customize the software!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yvonne A.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Hinds-Bock Corpration review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, good customer service, easy and quick implementation

Cons

Some limitations in the financial modules

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Yvonne,
I'm glad to hear that you have had a positive experience with us, and found our implementation process to be quick! Thanks for leaving us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Daniel B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Director of Operations

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

To early in the system to see the payback

Pros

We like to have data for our follow up !!!

Cons

Mobile application.
Misses about our installation field sector.
Financial sector complicated to use with our way to work

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Daniel, Glad to know you picked Genius because you think it suits your needs. Hope to hear from you again, once you have had more time to work with the system!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pascal D.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great ERP Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very customizable and complete.
Great support from staff.
Excellent time-saving features once implemented.

Cons

Lots of windows opened for all the different modules. Lack of online access to modules

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric E.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 51-200 Employees

My review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

So far, so good.

Pros

Modern version of MRP, very functional..

Cons

Some of the expected limitations, but not important.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Eric, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear that everything is working out for you so far!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Andre G.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great ERP

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Great partnership with the Genius team. Very good communication.

Pros

The ERP is flexible and very easy to use.

Cons

Not yep Available on the cloud. But it will in the near futur.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Andre,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear you find your partnership with Genius to be beneficialwe really value our relationships with our customers! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Scotty S.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius ERP

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/09/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent

Pros

Genius ERP was not the ERP we as a team selected. I do believe it would have been a good fit. If you are looking for a new ERP system, I recommend trying Genius ERP. Their software is very up to date and their sales team does a good job getting to know your company needs.

Cons

Nothing major just we were not sure how their accounting software would match up to our sister company who runs a different ERP system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jolyane G.

Easy to use

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use the software a few times every week to run reports and it's very easy to use. I like how you can link data with excel and export all sorts of info.

Cons

I don't like that you licenses are costy and are not assigned to users, but to the company and you can't log in of no license is available. Sometimes it's super slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joe K.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius ERP Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Performing a root cause analysis of the business as a whole, data re-entry errors was the root cause to many widespread issues for us. With this in mind, running the business on a relational database was the only way to break down data barriers between departments and create streamlined processes with live data. Using genius has increased our average office departments capacity over 30% that is creating time to work on more complex projects with a higher quality of work. Our integration team was amazing, they went above and beyond to understand the business and successfully customized genius to match our processes which was no small task. We were live 6 months after prototype approval, exceeded the original scope, and stayed right on budget.

Pros

The engineering lifecycle module is extremely powerful for custom manufacturers where a BOM can be adjusted infinitely with various versions. Genius runs on SQL database vs crystal or not as powerful systems. With SQL you have access to report builder, with a little bit of training you can customize your own reports easily which is incredible for small companies with technically inclined people. Being the engineer, ETM is a powerful time saving tool (see cons) creating more time for designing and less ctrl+c ctrl+v across spreadsheets.

Cons

The CAD2BOM tool (ETM) lacks in a few key areas. Overall, it is very powerful, but I feel there are a few things that would make it great. The point here is they need to keep refining it and use customer feedback and provide better customer service. Our integration with it was not great but we have made it work with various workarounds. Prepare to pay for every little thing, while a service contract has updates included in them, there are still fees for them to install those updates. Since genius is geared towards small companies, they should consider the surprise this will cause. When we were sold on the system and our budget implementation costs, we asked straightforward are there any other software’s or systems we will need to purchase for on-site deployment. We were told no, this includes everything. Come to find out there were several different types of SQL licenses required to run genius and the access for users. This was very misleading right from the beginning and started the creation of a very tense erp integration.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Joe, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's good to know that you are getting use out of our features that were designed and built for custom manufacturers like yourself. We are always trying to improve our product, and take customer feedback seriously, so I will make sure our product team is aware of your concerns. if you would like to get in touch with me at [email protected] we can talk more about your concerns. Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Claudia D.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius fits well

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

We are manufacturing charging station for electrical vehicle; Our BOM are complex because they are including many parts. Genius MRP help us to plan and organize our production floor and controlling our inventory. It help us for traceability of products and component that have been use in the manufacture it. We're using Genius MRP for 2 years when we decided to integrate the financial suite. Since all our data are grouped in a single system, it is easier to find information; to possibility of drilling down greatly improves financial analysis.

Pros

The software meets our needs; interfaces are intuitive, easy to use. People who work at Genius are competent and are able to understand our needs.

Cons

Documentation and user guide are not always up-to-date; I knew that a new customer service department was now in place. This surely will help get answers quickly to questions of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Alexander B.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Deployment was done in a professional and efficient manner. Would strongly recommend for anyone looking for this sort of software!

Cons

Haven't experienced any problems or cons regarding this software.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Alexander, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear that Genius ERP is working out well for you! We are always here to help. - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Phillip R.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius ERP

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Genius ERP software has centralized the operations at our company. Implementation has been a phase by phase project that has given us the time to adapt and learn the system from the ground up. This is coming from a company that had very primitive systems in place before hand, the Genius implementation team helped us by creating a game plan.

The software is working, roughly 6 months after starting implementation and we already are reaping the benefits.

Cons

The only cons that come to mind would be some customization was needed in different modules to satisfy some departments.The good news is that Genius was able to create these customization very quickly for us.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Philip, Thanks for leaving us a review! I will pass on to our implementation team that you have been really pleased with their work and the results that you are getting from Genius!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Guy M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Customisation of our ERP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

We have a long term relationship with Genius Solutions for over 20 years and they have give us a good support.

Pros

Genius Solutions have built custom application for us that we used. We have never see other ERP that can make what we do with Genius.

Cons

I have nothing wrong to say about genius.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Guy, it's always great to hear from you! I'm glad to hear that Genius Solutions is working so well for you. Thank you so much for the review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris A.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easily the best ERP software we have used.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its fast and accurate job costing, labor and material tracking.

Cons

There are some screens that don't seem to ever remember the user preferences and need to be re-organized every time they are opened. A small but annoying thing to do every day.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Chris,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're very happy to hear that Genius ERP is the best ERP software you have ever used! I will pass this on to our team! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Valérie R.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Genius ERP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Helpful for cost per project analysis. A lot of features so we can adapt to our own business.

Cons

Not friendly user. Need more training. The help guide is not really helpful when we do research on it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Delmar P.
Industry: Mining & Metals

You have to pay for everything all thetime; Very poor customer service

Reviewed on 2016/05/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is customizable; Quite powerful with enough work. They basically give you a software that is almost useless and then you tell them how you want reports to look, etc and then they program it for you. Since reports and even macros (automatically attaching drawings to items/WO/POs, etc) can be custom programmed it gives you great flexibility and power.

Cons

Hard to tell what I like the least; And I don't like saying bad things about any company but for the sake of others I'd like to share our experience and hopefully save others the headaches and money we've lost.
Everything runs on modules and unlike almost every other program I've ever tried, each window takes from 5-8 seconds to open. Everything seems very slow!
The vendor sucks money every step of the way. We average about double the amount on maintenance and update fees then we already pay for a yearly subscription so we can get the "free updates". It is ridiculous. You pay them (annual subscription) so you are allowed to get updates for "free" but you have to pay them for installing those updates. For real, why not make a program so the customer can help themselves? Because they want the money; their business survives on training and hourly wage working for/with the customer. (I'm not saying it's wrong - but that's the only way they make money!)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Jeffrey W.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius ERP Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation team has been very helpful and informative in getting the system configured to go live.

Pros

We like the ability of this software to be able to handle custom BOM's that we use in our manufacturing processes. This allows us to load BOM's to the system and manage our manufacturing for each course.

Cons

Nothing at this time. The software is meeting the requirements that we anticipated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christian F.
Industry: Design
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The team that helped us implement the software helped us customize the software to fit our company and best industry practices. We are really happy with the work flow of this software.

Cons

Integration was easy and the flow is great. I do wish the software had the ability to allow at lease an administrator to delete or Undo transactions that were accidentally confirmed or the ability to at lease minimally edit confirmed transactions (Dates, Text, different fields, ETC.)

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Christian, Glad to hear that the switch to Genius from Quickbooks is working out for you! Thanks for leaving us a review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mike O.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Support

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/12
Review Source: Capterra

We have really just begun to capture some data, but advantages so far are job costing, tracking/scheduling, and analysis.

Pros

Easy to navigate, comprehensive data collection and analysis.

Cons

Some fields are not readily searchable, or smart. Many softwares today allow you start typing and it knows what you are looking for - making recommendation or gray line filling in so you can simply hit enter.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Mike,
I'm glad to hear that our software is working out for you and that you have found it to be helpful, especially in terms of data collection and analysis. I will pass your comment about some fields not being readily searchable or smart on to our product teamwe are always looking for ways to improve and make our software easier to use. Thanks for leaving us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Serge L.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Genius Manufacturing Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to work with. It is a ERP system from the quote to payment of the invoice. We can use it for the manufacturing and for doing all the financial statements.

Cons

Need for API, but Genius are going to that direction.

Response from Genius Solutions

Hi Serge,
We're glad to hear that our software is very useful to you and that you find it easy to work with. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! - Jesse Linklater, Director of Marketing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10