71 reviews
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,4
96% recommended this app
71 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Budget management and monitoring made easier

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

The IDU system has addressed the major issue of accountability and ownership of the budget by managers in the organisation. It has also forced managers to take the process seriously as the budget team has better tools to analyse all submission.

Pros

Takes the responsibility of costing away from the budget office and makes the cost centres take accountability for their budget. The budget process is reduced as there is no longer a need to utilise spreadsheets. What is also appreciated is that requests for customisation are always accomodated

Cons

No cons, complaints from users relates to mon ability to copy and paste information that was captured incorrectly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Grant R.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Idu has real depth of functionality

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

The system is helping us drive business ownership of budgeting and reporting processes

Pros

The software has many levels of detailed functionality to deal with most budgeting and reporting scenarios

Cons

The screen layout and design is fairly dated

Response from idu Software

Hi Grant
Thank you for writing a review of idu-Concept. By driving ownership of the budget process within an organisation it leads to greater buy-in and accountability. I am sure your team are experiencing this.

We are constantly updating and upgrading the features, functionality and look and feel of our product. We will send more information as these enhancements are released. Hopfully you will find the design and layouts more engaging.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Natashia N.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Idu Financial reporting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

overall the Idu team has always assisted and help resolve my queries , so a good experience

Pros

it is user friendly , once you understand the sytem navigation is easier.

Cons

Updateting users acess in every Fiscal set

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Willie S.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great budgeting tool!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

automated budget tool. this assist the organisation during the budget process

Pros

easy to use as well automated process. the interface with SAP also assist in ensuring that the data we utilise for reporting is accurate.

Cons

I do not have much to report on. We have just introduced the project reporting module. we will provide feedback at a later stage.

Response from idu Software

Dear Willie
Thank you for your great review. It is really important to us that our software is easy to use and understand and so it is great to hear it.

We are sure that you will find the functionality in the project bugeting module very useful. We look forward to hearing your experience of it.

Please do not hesitate to contact our helpdek or your account manager if you have any queries.

Thanks again
The IDU Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Fatima A.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

UCT Feedback

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service provided by IDU is excellent. Their staff are always willing to assist and find ways of satisfying the customer needs. The staff are very knowledgable, friendly and quick to respond to queries. Implementation of IDU has definitely improved our budgeting process, and we look forward to now working on the reporting side of it.

Pros

It is web-based so therefore easily accessable. Takes away the need for planning in excel and then transferring those plans to your source system. Minimal clicks to get to where you need to be. Prepopulation of employee data before the budgeting cycle has cut down the time to input employee budgets - the same for depreciation.

Cons

We would like to get to line item detail from a summary cost center group and not have to drill down to each cost center to get to this data. The client must also be able to get to this level and view the total budget in line item format, not only at budget type level.

Response from idu Software

Dear Fatima

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of idu-Concept, we really appreciate it. We are so delighted to have received 5 stars for customer support. Thank you, I will pass on your compliments to our team.

I have also passed on your comment about not being able to get to line item detail without having to drill down to each cost centre to our consulting team. They will be in touch to see how we can assist with this.

Kind regards
The IDU Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sian A.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Empowered managers and improved financial acumen across the organisation

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

It has been terrific, I am glad I pushed for the implementation of IDU. I look forward to seeing my organisation improve its use and use this tool to manage the changing education environment with valuable information at their finger tips.

Pros

The real time access to financial information across our organisation as changed the financial acumen of all managers, they are more accountable for their actual results. There is increased ownership of budgets. the finance team has seen a decrease in requests for reports and more time for the finance team to send on analysis of results.

Cons

The maintenance of the security access for me cost centers has become a huge task, I believe there are rules which could in place to automate this process. I also find the remuneration and employees section a bit tedious with the amount of duplication in reports.

Response from idu Software

Dear Sian
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of idu-Concept. We really appreciate the feedback. We are also delighted with the positive changes you have noticed since using the tool.

You mention you have experienced some frustration wtih the maintenance of security access for cost centres. I believe your consultant has been in touch with you in this regard and that our development team are busy working on an enhancement that should solve this problem for you, and we believe will actually benefit all other IDU Administrators as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Delfina D.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

IDU - is great!!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

We had a successful implementation. IDU's customer service is really good. IDU consultants supported us well and IDU staff are solution oriented.

Pros

It intuitive and easy to use. Running reports is quick. It was easy to integrate with our processes.

Cons

There are a number of customised reports and one needs to go through quite a long list to see what is relevant for needs. Perhaps group into headings.

Response from idu Software

Dear Delfina

Thank you so much for your review of idu-Concept, and specifically for your comments about having received great service. I will pass on your compliments to our team. Thank you also for the suggestion about the grouping the reports under headings. Our development team will look into how we can make this easier for you.

Kind regards
The IDU Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Antoinette V.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Not looking back a second!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

It is very user friendly product, easy to understand and maintain. The dashboards in the admin and user sites are very helpful. I've never met a team that is so proud and excited about what they are doing, keeping up with the latest developments in the software environment and their clients needs. In the more than 11 years working with the IDU team I never experience once a negative vibe or unwillingness to give assistance and support.

Pros

The adaptability of the product, it can be easily adapted to your needs when it is coming to budgeting and reporting.

Cons

There is no features that I like least. I would like for us to investigate the option to do workforce planning via IDU.

Response from idu Software

Dear Antoinette
Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. I have shared your kind words with our team. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms all the hard work we put in every day. We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Meeschal G.
Industry: Printing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

IDU software review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Really happy with the product and there is always new updates and innovation.

Pros

- Easy interface
- Good reporting and budgeting features
- Now integrated with Draftworx making statutory financials easier
- Great support from IDU

Cons

- Front end interface not easily customisable.
- No standard historic cash flow report.

Response from idu Software

Dear Meeschal
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept.
It was great to read that the Draftworx integration is making your statutory financials easier. It really works well and is a very useful tool.

I have also passed your feedback with regards to customer service on to our team. They will be delighted with the positive response.

I have asked our team to look into assisting you with your concenrs over the front end interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ramin S.

Good product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Really is not easy to find budgeting and expense application which provides good quality tools like idu-Concept. It's being used for forecasting and budgeting purposes by our organization for 1 and half year. And it was one of the must application in any companies.

Cons

Besides the good features and services, the product has lack of the customer care and email integration. I think with little improvements and updates it can become the beast in market.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Maria M.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Journeying with IDU

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Started using the system in 2014. It is a user friendly system with amazing functionalities. It has really made our work processes more efficient. The support/helpdesk is very efficient as Users' needs/queries are addressed as soon as possible.

Pros

The analytical reporting and the Recodes and Accruals are excellent functionalities available on idu Version 5. The idu-Concept Administrator is very user friendly which makes it easier for any person to manage the admin environment, no IT/system developing skills required hence no support agreement is needed.

Cons

No cons that I can think of, the system offers functionalities that meet the needs of businesses. It is responsive to business needs especially the latest Version 5 has made a significant move in addressing business needs. The system provides value for money and its implementation cost is reasonable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amanda A.
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best add-on to you financial system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

IDU has made reporting, budgeting & forecasting an administrative dream for my department. I would highly recommend IDU for any business, big or small.

Pros

Easy to use for non-financial users.
Ability to adapt and customize system to suit our business on a continuous basis.
Easy to understand system & use it in our day to day business for reporting & decision making.
Admin ability to create, change or update anything, without depending on IDU consultants.
Feedback & assistance from Helpdesk & Consultants are always fast & effective!

Cons

That I cannot see 'back-end' rules to make sure it is in line with my expectations.
IDU is very fiscal set restricted (causing duplication of work & errors to occur).
Structures is also very specific, again duplication of work (would be nice to have a 'main' set up where all structures feed from).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Masana M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

IDU User - Corobrik

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have been working on the IDU programme/software for the last four years and i am impressed with the programme and all the functions that are offered. We mainly use it for our budgeting process and i am quite happy with how everything is structured. We recently upgraded to the latest version of IDU and there are some features that are no longer available and most people struggled to find their way on how to go about using the programme but the overall experience has been awesome and the wonderful team at IDU KZN has been very helpful.

Pros

The reports, i think they a have been designed in such a way that they even if a person has never worked on the IDU programme, one can easily interpret the information.

Cons

We always have to email our queries and not communicate our queries over the phone. I think IDU should introduce team viewer to be able to see on our screens what issues we have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Fadwaa S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Monthly management review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

It save me time and analytical reviews. Reports are on hand with a click of a button.

Pros

Easy to read and understand reporting, able to extract information and easy to drill down and roll up. Export and import function is awesome for quick fix and analytical reviews.

Cons

Our company had a restructure and of which all systems were not aligned for the integration hence reporting was difficult to extract and review

Response from idu Software

Dear Fadwaa
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for sharing your experience of idu-Concept.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Hayley H.
Industry: Events Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Moving from Excel Macros to idu-Concept

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

Using idu-concept in our last annual budget setting process allowed the process to be more efficient. With staff able to concurrently access their project areas and add comments or make changes as needed, a reduced timeframe was needed for the process and as well as being less stressful for all!

Pros

The direct integration and daily refresh from our accounting system into idu-concept allows non Finance managers and staff to proactively monitor and manage their areas of responsibility on an ongoing basis, reviewing results against budget without having to wait until manual excel based reports are run by Finance or month end reports are sent out.

Cons

The excel reports do need more tailoring to ensure they are set up to provide the information we need in the format we need

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Moses H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Budgeting

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/28
Review Source: Capterra

The IDU system is a cost saver

Pros

The IDU software is very reliable and efficient software

Cons

I can not really think of any problems at the moment

Response from idu Software

Dear Moses
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.
10/10 - we couldn't have asked for a better rating!
Thank you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dylan L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

IDU Software - Excel

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Love the excel reporting, and the customising of the reports. the use of mutiple account structures and cost centre structures are use full as well.

Cons

We have restriction with the break down of department data within the Sales grouping.

Response from idu Software

Hi Dylan
Thank you for writing a review of idu-Concept. We are so glad you love the ability to customise reports and the use of multiple cost centre and account structures.

I have passed your comment with regards to your issue with the breakdown of departmental data through to our consulting team. We will see if can assist you with this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lauren T.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 51-200 Employees

IDU Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Great tool but additional development / maintenance to be done to enjoy all the benefits

Pros

Excellent tool with lots of potential and capabilities

Cons

A lot of back end clean up required and need to use it to its full potential

Response from idu Software

Hi Lauren

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of idu-Concept. We appreciate the compliment on the tool and on its potential and capabilities.

Your frustration with the backend clean up process has been noted, and as far as I am aware our consulting team are workng with you to resolve this issue.

Hopefully you will be enjoying IDU and using it to its full potential very soon.

Kind regards
The IDU Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mirjam M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

IDU software review MMM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

support is excellent nad consultants are friendly

Pros

A very user friendly software, versatile, great for both financial and non financial managers

Cons

the software is customised to your preference,

Response from idu Software

Dear Mirjam

Thank you very much for taking the time to review idu-Concept. We are so happy that you and your team are finding it so easy to use. I will pass on the compliment about our team and customer support on to our consultants.

Kind regards
Rochelle

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sivegan N.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Simple and efficient Budgeting tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

It has been a very good experience and quick to learn its unique features and capabilities

Pros

It is brilliant in this niche space, catering for all budgeting and forecasting needs companies may have. Keeps things simple and easy to use

Cons

lack of out-of-the-box integration adapters

Response from idu Software

Dear Sivegan
Many thanks for writing a review of idu-Concept. It is important to us that our software is easy-to-use and understand, so that this can be used by both financial and non-financial managers involved in the budgeting process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Katlego T.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The Best Budgeting Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

With various departments, IDU has assisted with budgetary control - spend monitoring. Looking forward, we hope to have the managers query financial transactions for more accurate management reporting.

Pros

The fact that its excel based makes it easy to use. The user flexibility and customization makes IDU perfect for reporting.

Cons

Still trying to figure out how the CAPEX tracking can work best for our organisation (reporting especially). If IDU can have the ability to assist in CAPEX spend tracking it will be superb.

Response from idu Software

Hi Katlego

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on idu-Concept it is much appreciated.

Your IDU Account Manager will be in touch with you to assist with your CAPEX query.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emmanuel M.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

IDU software review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

The effectiveness of doing the Budget in IDU, having to move away from very long excell sheets

Pros

idu is very adapting to the forever changing environment for example activity based budgeting module can be modeled in such way that it can our needs most of the time.

Cons

as administrators we still have a lot of manual intensive work to maintain the tool

Response from idu Software

Dear Emmanuel

Thank you for writing a review. We are delighted that you gave us such amazing ratings. It is much appreciated.

Kind regards
The IDU Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rene H.
Industry: Printing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Leader in Budgeting and Reporting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Idu has revolutionised the way we budget and report in our business.

Pros

Idu has revolutionised the way we budget and report in our business. Our requirements change often and it is dynamic and easy to handle with all our changes and reporting requirements.

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about idu.

Response from idu Software

Dear Rene
Wow! What an incredible review, we are blown away. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We really appreciate it. I will pass your amazing feedback on to our team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Monty S.

IDU's great budgeting tool will help make the right decisions!

Reviewed on 2016/03/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The budget & forecast application is user friendly and supports driving responsibility for managing budgets to the budget owners, and assists the Finance team to effectively monitor budgets and forecast accurately. IDU has a great culture - the team have the right skill sets & knowledge / experience, understand the budget process (not just good application developers!), and fully support you from day one through to successful implementation and beyond. This is the experience a customer wants with a product and the service!

Cons

There is nothing to complain about - really! Whilst one can always improve on a product and service, I always get the impression that IDU are already one step ahead planning for the next improvements to their product when as a user you suggest an improvement.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Willem D.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

A brief testimonial of Idu-Concept

Reviewed on 2016/03/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Proudly South African, developed with our unique requirements and collective character in mind. Keeping up with the latest technological as well as other related developments at all times, responding positively to the requirements of individual clients as well as clients within a specific industry (in our case, the Higher Education (HE) sector). Finally, a helpdesk as well as other technical and client support services operating at the speed of light.

Cons

Nothing, really! I can simply not think up anything!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10