37 reviews

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
89%
recommended this app
37 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Mostly for reporting, needs improvement on analysis

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

Experience is overall positive, although the company does have serious issues that it needs to address to compete with other investment analysis softwares that exist. Interface / plugins need work.

Pros

Strong in terms of accounting and tracking capeabilities

Cons

Interface is dated and it is not very strong on the investment analysis side. Comparability / plugins in excel often cause issues

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Pros

Easy to use software that is very customizable. We utilize a balanced combo of out of the box features along with unique layouts to track tasks that are more specific to us. Backstop's staff and support teams are great. They are always willing to go the extra mile to solve an issue.

Cons

Reporting can be a little onerous with the sheer volume of reportable data. There is a learning curve and a little extra effort required to get the reporting to meet your needs.

Jose S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Single Family Office - Portfolio Management and Investor Reporting

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

I have been a user for almost 6 years now and I have been the software improved dramatically. They never stop innovating with the end user in mind.

Pros

Analytical tools are great. The software is also very flexible and allows for individual customization of many items.

Cons

The reporting engine is a bit outdated and the least user friendly part of the software. My understanding is they are working on a new reporting engine and we should see improvement soon.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely Impressive Software

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

I always have had a good experience with Backstop; both the software and customer service. Backstop really has allowed our firm to track everything necessary. Our representatives at Backstop have always been extremely helpful and enjoy speaking with them regularly about new features and updates to the system.

Pros

Overall maneuverability. The layout of the software makes sense. It's one of those situations where you login and as soon as you begin working with the software, you get the sense that you've already been using the software for years.

Cons

Reporting Functionality. The reporting functionality is extremely comprehensive, thus creating an increase in difficulty. There are so many fields to choose from, sometimes you are lost.

Lawrence C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Backstop

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Pros

Integration with internal logins and ability to store large data sets.

Cons

Not the best search engine, requires use of hotkeys. Duplication and structure of data, though partially due to way data entered. Reporting and overall user interface not very user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very handy SaaS solution for investment business

Reviewed on 2019/09/04

Pros

Ease of use, reporting, intuitive user interface, Rest API

Cons

Performance of the product goes south sometimes. Searchability could use some work as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ready-to-use CRM with sensible extensibility

Reviewed on 2018/07/19

A cloud-based CRM to centrally store business contacts, collaterals, qualitative and quantitative data and share amongst different departments. Combing Report Builder, Excel Toolkit and API allows end-users to self-serve business intelligence.

Pros

Backstop hits the sweet spot between features and extensibility. Out of the box, the platform meets 70-80% of our business requirements. Our firm fortunately has the know-how to use API and Excel Toolkit (ETK) to cover the last mile. Most importantly, the product team listens to its customers and continually enhances the platform based on our input. You would unlikely get such feedback loops from the likes of Salesforce, Oracle or Microsoft.

Cons

Compared to a CRM startup that has unlimited flexibility to innovate, Backstop may seem more mature and risk-averse. The UI/UX seems a little dated, and mobile-responsiveness and mobile app have room for improvements. The labeling of different data entry screens should be more standardized as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Pros

All the information is always made clear and readily available.

Cons

The run time is slow compared to alternatives which only provide simpler services.

Yossi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Backstop review

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Positive.

Pros

Backstop is to commended on its ease of use.

Cons

Nothing immediate springs to mind regarding what i like least about it.

Annie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

My review

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

Pros

Somewhat customizable. I like the ability to create your own views.

Cons

uploading and sending out email blasts. The email center is very not user friendly.

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

The wide range of functionality is a good solution for various needs across different departments.

Pros

This a good data aggregator for client information, history and data. The functionality servers a lot of different uses.

Cons

The ease of use and custom reporting is not intuitive and locating specific charts and data sets can sometimes be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quality Product in a World with Many Competitors

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

Great tool for investment team to track meetings/calls as well as manage our massive database of documents. The team has always been willing to help with initiatives we have in the system and overall, my organization views Backstop as a central hub for much of our investment management work.

Pros

Clean look, high quality search capability, strong reporting tools to extract data, very good customer support, Backstop team is always looking for ways to improve the software, overall the best CRM/document storage/high level investment management tool on the market

Cons

Still missing some vital Private Equity components, still lacking in cash management functionality, far behind in mobile app technology, would like to see more analytical capabilities rather than just high level investment information

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2018/09/13

Backstop has been my preferred CRM at four different institutions I have worked at over the past 10 years. It is very intuitive and user-friendly. The sales/support team will work with you for any bespoke request and will help you customize the product to fit your firm and team's optimal needs.

Pros

Backstop is extremely customizable and therefore can meet every clients' needs. The platform is very helpful for centralizing all existing and prospective client information.

Cons

I am not an active user of the Investor Bridge but in demo, did not find that to be very good.

Maria S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Backstop and Backstop Portal

Reviewed on 2018/09/28

Prior to using Portal we emailed all investor documents individually, now we disseminate documents to investors through Backstop Portal and use it as our website host. Backstop CRM is how we track opportunities, investors, send out emails and keep track of events. Having one system to do so many tasks makes life much easier.

Pros

Simple, easy to use, can be customized to fit the needs of the organization. Support is outstanding. Definitely the best of the dozen CRM/portal systems I've used over a 20+ year career in Finance.

Cons

Reporting is still a bit slow and cumbersome.

Julius C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

It has been great

Pros

Any changes and/or updates made are instantly reflected upon updating the website as well as various risk & return reports

Cons

More standardized risk and return performance reports

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2019/05/13

Pros

The site is easy to navigate and you are able to run reports and track investor communication.

Cons

the site seems a little outdated and not as sleek or user friendly as competitors.

Morgan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's not the worst product, but it's not the best either

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

Pros

I like the email blast feature and a lot of the capabilities it has that makes our email blasts a lot easier to maneuver and double check before sending them out to our clients and our perspective clients

Cons

It's hard to organize the data. We always have duplicates. Also theres a lot of mini shutdowns and lapses of time when the software isn't working

Kent M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy and Functional!

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

Pros

I love the simplicity and ease of use of the software

Cons

The software sometimes crashes and I am not able to accomplish work, but this is rare

Adam H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A+

Reviewed on 2018/09/28

Backstop has been a great tool for us to keep track of our contact with clients and set task reminders.

Pros

The interface is very user friendly. The tool itself can be used in a variety of ways and gives you the ability to build out your own reports and layouts. This allows us to tailor the backstop platform to our company specific needs

Cons

The software can sometimes run slowly when executing long processes

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent CRM Platform!

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

Overall, I am very pleased with the platform. Our team has come to use it in-depth and daily!

Pros

Backstop is a central hub for all of our relationships and reporting. The system is very easy to use, customizable, very robust, and the excel add-ins allow us to build sophisticated reports to match our daily needs and wants.

Cons

While the platform overall is very customizable, there are certain aspects that aren't. For example, the opportunities section under the organization comes standard, and some of the information is irrelevant to use.

Chris N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Small Hedge Fund uses Backstop

Reviewed on 2018/09/11

Great for tracking fundraising process. Simple and easy to use. We selected Backstop about a year ago after a very thorough search of all FinTec CRM Systems, including Dynamo, Imagineer and many others. Backstop was the clear winner.

Pros

Excellent support on Setup. Easily able to import/create contacts, organizations and opportunities. Import/Export capabilities are good. Security options (2FA, SSO, IP locking) are excellent, and admin capabilities are very strong. Import meetings/notes from Outlook useful.

Cons

Reporting is a bit cumbersome and slow. Customization is limited. Email integration created a huge headache, but was solved quickly. Outlook and Excel add-ins crash occasionally

Gina D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Backstop Review

Reviewed on 2018/10/02

The customer service for Backstop is top notch. Everyone is eager to assist with questions or concerns. Their coffee break sessions are helpful tutorials to stay fresh on new features.

Pros

This is an excellent software to track and monitor investor activity, communications, and account flows.

Cons

Because the software is so customizable, it takes time to build some of the reports.

Kelsey V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Always Improving

Reviewed on 2019/09/03

Great. Responsive and professional team that always seems to be working!

Pros

The effort BS puts in to customize and update our version of the software to make sure it is as user-friendly as possible and always expanding for more use purposes.

Cons

Updates seem to affect other components of the software that are not intended. When updates are made, it would be ideal that a little bubble pops up to say "this is new" to ensure the new options are utilized/made known.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've worked in this product for 8 years and am still happy.

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

We are happy with this service and see no reason to change.

Pros

This software is a great value compared to other products available.

Cons

When an update to the software is needed it can take a long time to receive an update.

Nicholas F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Backstop for Investment Consulting

Reviewed on 2019/09/02

Pros

A great place to store vehicle and account information. We export these daily in order to know what primary keys and accounst ahve already been set up. Allows us to effectively sort through this data.

Cons

Navigation can be difficult. Sometimes I struggle to navigate the links between clients plans and vehicles.