Showing 59 reviews of 49

Medrio

Electronic data capture (EDC) software for clinical trials

4,6 /5 (49 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
Showing 59 reviews of 49
Stephen B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Value in EDC

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

We deal with many life science companies that have budget constrained clincal trials. There are 1000's of these studies that need, easy to use, solid EDC at affordable prices. Medrio fits this niche and then some. We have used the product for all phases and size of trials. We have many customers that require Medrio for is capabilities and budget friendly approach to EDC.

Pros

Medrio has all the features necessary to capture data for any clinical trial. They present it in an very easy to use interface that sites like to use. The design features allow for rapid setup and deployment which is key for many type of clinical studies. Make updates and changes along the way is easy and their business model if very transparent and affordable for all budgets.

Cons

The randomization capability is nice but does not handle complex study designs and trial supply management. This is an area that can be expanded.

Alex U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Overall our team enjoys the creation of our different databases and eCRFs with Medrio. The ease of use and the appealing concept of the system makes it worth selecting it above its competitors.

Pros

The ease of work. Almost anything you think of its doable within Medrio.

Cons

Sometimes you just need a tip, an advise on how to do or implement a small change and you're required to purchase a whole training session. It would be great if at least basic, guided information would be available through support.

Sandrien L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Long-term user

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

We have been using Medrio as our EDC platform since 2011 and have locked > 100 studies. We have seen some great improvements over the years as the industry changes and we are keen to see what the future holds. It really feels like we are part of their team, they listen to our feedback and we learn a lot from them.

Pros

Very flexible, user-friendly and easy to set up. Great system for our early phase studies which can be up and running in 3 weeks, including edit checks programmed in and validated.

Cons

Anything that we have any issues with gets flagged and discussed, with any possible improvements being part of their feature roadmap.

Susan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

First In House EDC

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

To date, we have had nothing but positive experiences with Medrio. That does not mean there have not been challenges and time crunches! We had oncology specific system requests that we needed addressed by Medrio. Our needs were heard and Medrio delivered with an updated release. Separately, when problems arose post updated release, and threatened to push back our first patient in timeline, Medrio again responded with tremendous effort to investigate a deployment issue. As a result, we were able to deploy to LIVE and subjects were able to enroll in our study to receive the treatment for which they were desperately waiting!

Pros

Ease and ability to configure database in a short amount of time.

Cons

System was initially lacking some key features we find common to oncology trials.
System slowness at times.

Jennifer T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great EDC system

Reviewed on 2018/12/26

Medrio is a great EDC system to use for all types of studies from pre-clinical to post-marketing. Study Admins have the ability to design a study with complete flexibility and changes are deployed without causing downtime to the EDC system.

Pros

Easy to build and use but sites, sponsors and clinical teams. Very responsive Customer support.

Cons

Lack of EDC capabilities that other EDC systems already include (Local Lab tool, true diary collection)

Brian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medrio is a Flexible, Versatile and Reliable EDC Partner

Reviewed on 2019/09/13

Pros

Building in Medrio is intuitive and quick, while still providing a powerful and flexible platform. Their customer service is the best in the industry with rapid replies to all our needs. My team can always count on Medrio as a reliable and versatile solution.

Cons

We look forward to new features like local lab and integrated IRT modules

Karon H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

KNH CDM

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

none

Pros

In the beginning it was a small team and they were very customer oriented, and just all around helpful with start up

Cons

Not enough reporting features or management of sites/monitors features

Claude T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Medrio for CROs

Reviewed on 2019/10/16

We use Medrio to capture data enter for Clinical Trials. Medrio has all the tools needed to ensure a successful submission.

Pros

Ease of use. Very easy to learn and pick up.

Cons

Limited functionality when compared to other systems.

Kruti M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Medrio- Best

Reviewed on 2019/10/15

Pros

Extremely user friendly...
System Navigation, Query resolution or data base build etc...very easy to learn

Cons

Coding Module
Would be great if we can have indication/Route populating with the coding term.
Will become much efficient while coding avoiding going back and forth

Brady G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great, User-friendly System

Reviewed on 2019/10/29

Overall, I'm very satisfied with the system. I've used it for over 10 years, and I've seen it continually improve each year. I really enjoy how easy and intuitive the system is.

Pros

It is very easy to use for both the end-users (i.e. site data entry people) and the back-end programmers. It is very quick to get a database up and running. Building the database only takes a couple weeks (counting time for review cycles and UAT). Mid-study changes can be completed in as little as a day or two.

Cons

There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module. In addition, it has a cumbersome re-querying method. That said, we've still used this system successfully for 700+ patient Phase III studies that included Risk-Based Monitoring, so those issues are not too limiting.

Rod M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Medrio Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Medrio has been a fantastic tool for us. The ease of use has allowed us to get clinical studies up and running in significantly less time than it would take with its competitors. I can't use it for every study, but I'm glad I can use it for most. Would recommend considering.

Pros

Medrio is an intuitive easy to learn and use EDC system right out of the box. Very customizable to meet most sponsors' needs. The simplicity of the system allows for lower training costs and faster build times.

Great EDC choice in most situations.

Cons

Like most EDC solutions, Medrio cannot be all things to all people. Medrio does lack a number of key 'modules' and some of the modules it does have cannot handle more complex studies.

What Medrio does, it does well, but as it continues to grow, it needs to continue to add to its package and keep the product at high levels.

Sally M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medrio Review - Great product

Reviewed on 2019/09/12

Medrio is very easy to work with in terms of building clinical trial databases from beginning to end. I've also heard that the end users are happy to use this product. The customer service is amazing!

Pros

My favorite feature in Medrio is the skip logic (field dynamics). This feature eliminates writing a large number of edit checks and aids the end user in data entry, as the fields they do not need to enter are hidden.

Cons

I would like if some of the design portions could be done in bulk, for instance copying forms and editing variables. The current release allows one variable to be edited at a time and can copy one form at a time.

Amanda B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medrio for Small CROs

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

Working with Medrio has been a wonderful experience. The ability to build a database in shorter timelines and not needing to be a programmer to build. Also, from a Data Management perspective, handling queries and data review are seamless.

Pros

Medrio is extremely user friendly and makes database building a snap.

Cons

There are still some system limitations, such as no lab norm module.

Marilee N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medrio Clinical Research Software

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Medrio is a responsive company that takes customer service seriously.

Pros

Medrio is drag and drop programming so very easy to use. Their customer support is excellent.

Cons

Medrio would benefit from faster new releases.

Nathan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medrio Evaluaiton

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

We chose Medrio as a solution to our current EDC challenges with other vendors. We wanted a reliable and well developed EDC that would be well supported by technical expertise on the support side as well as guidance as we were introduced and grew familiar with the system.

Pros

The end to end customer / user / administrator support and instruction. Ease of use - building, using, and administration.

Cons

Some small features that do not impact use and have no sway on my opinion.

Jon W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Too much like an EDC system (from the old days)

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Pros

The data points you are able to include are remarkable and easy to identify for users

Cons

Dislike the difficulty in use for some of our staff who claim it is TOO much like an old school EDC system

Angelise S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is the most user friendly, EDC system I've used.

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Overall, this is among my favorite systems to use for entering clinical research information into. All information is well organized and easily accessible.

Pros

I am able to access all of the information I need on the site and entering information into the EDC is very user friendly. IT is very easy to follow.

Cons

I found it difficult to find the printable version of the pages I entered information on. When the system was prompted to generate a file, it actually never did and I ended up having to print the webpage.

Wesley P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Medrio is easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/10/15

Medrio is an essential part of the data collection for our studies. It makes the data collection and cleaning (remotely) much more efficient than paper data collection.

Pros

Ease of use. The speed with which a study database can be set up and deployed. Also, the ease of implementing mid-study changes without affecting existing data.

Cons

Some of the configuration modules are still inconsistent in the way they look and function. Laying out case report forms could be easier.

David F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Medrio in Clincal Research Trials

Reviewed on 2020/04/09

I have been heavily involved in trial development on a variety of different indications for some time now. Medrio can be implemented quickly and get up and functional faster than other data management systems I have supported. Getting a trial up is really just a portion of the challenge - often the real challenge comes from how well the system can be adjusted once the initial study is live and mid-study adjustments are required. Medrio seems to be adjusting to these well without throwing up to many roadblocks and requiring significant re-work.

Pros

Medrio is fairly easy to learn and leverage to advantage. Many of the features are useable and configurable by relatively inexperienced users - like any software once you begin to really dig in a more focused and dedicated setup person in beneficial. That said - it is powerful and allows for a great deal of design and setup flexibility with out advanced coding or programming knowledge.

Cons

There are some interface inconsistencies that require the developer to adjust to a slightly different look and feel as you move from section to section. This is to be expected as a product matures and moves forward adding features and function. I'd like to see the incorporation of a more robust Lab Normal component (this is in development and components are rolling out with each release). I have also run into a few restrictions with Skip Logic that could benefit from a slightly more robust solution. Most of the issues are minor little things like not coming back to the same page when you complete a configuration or not being to dynamically control the number of items on a page - all minor and easily adjusted to.

Laurie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The use of Medrio in the medical device, start-up community

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

Being able to support small, start-up medical device companies in their clinical trial projects, with an EDC database platform that helps address varying needs, with short timelines, and in a cost-efficient manner is critical. The flexibility of the MEDRIO products enable me to design efficient and scalable databases to accommodate different development phases of projects from early feasibility studies through pivotal trials. I can quickly bring databases on and off-line to suit the needs of my clients, which has been a game-changer in the medical device, start-up community.

Pros

The flexibility to design and implement EDC databases that are tailored to the needs of medical device start-up companies in an efficient and economical manner is the main aspect of Medrio that appeals to me and my clients.

Cons

Does not have some of the features (i.e. dynamic fields) found in other EDC database platforms; however, this is not a must-have feature for me.

Nicholas G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, great team!

Reviewed on 2020/05/21

As a small biotech company, we needed to build our first in-house EDC systems for several upcoming studies. For our needs, Medrio has been the perfect product. Great experiences with the Medrio team all around, and I look forward to our continued partnership.

Pros

Medrio is an incredibly intuitive system to learn, much simpler to learn than other traditional EDC systems I have used. Very efficient workflow for quickly building a clinical database, with lots of more advanced features that can be leveraged as needed. Also the cross-functional team has given positive feedback about the user interface. Onboarding was smooth and easy, thanks to a series of helpful meetings and active followup from our Medrio Project Manager.

Cons

Certain features from other EDC systems have not yet been developed in Medrio (i.e. complex custom function query logic, dynamic search list fields). However, the support team was very helpful in developing workarounds in these situations and they pro-actively seek client feedback for new features to add with future product releases. Overall, Medrio EDC is a great product and will continue to get better!

Adam R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest to use, most cost effective well-recognized EDC system on the market

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

Building and running many, many EDC trials for so much less than any other system and doing so in a very time-effective manner.

Pros

It is very easy to set up and for the end-users to use. Anytime I need the system to do something that is not straightforward their help desk is able to program it and they build the feature into their next upgrade. All users can see data and reports in real-time. It is also so much less expensive than most other systems. Updating and validating the database due to protocol amendments is easy and quick. Their helpdesk is always timely to respond and answers their phone right away.

Cons

There are sometimes limited capabilities for when a trial has a unique data collection requirement, however, there has always been a workaround for when this has occurred.