Showing 27 reviews of 17

OpenClinica

Electronic data capture & clinical data management software

4,6 /5 (17 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
Showing 27 reviews of 17
Catherine M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I used OpenClinica for ~3 years and found it a flexible and reliable system.

Reviewed on 2017/10/13

Pros

The study build is straightforward, validation/derivation procedures were a breeze to create, and data extractions easy to set up and quickly provide to my statistician. Mid-study updates/amendments were a simple process and the audit trail versioning was excellent and easy to track.
There is a learning curve for the novice data manager when building CRFs. But after the first few CRFs build from scratch, it became very easy. Also the training program I took was very good (1 week face-to face-class). I was comfortable building studies on my own within a couple of weeks of taking the class. The online user community was extremely helpful and a great resource.
As I was the only DM for some time, the site/user administration was easy to manage.
As I performed all end user training, most CRAs & CRCs were pleased with the system's ease of use for the end user. I built ~13 production studies and these functioned well as traditional EDC as well as in-house double DE databases. I found the query email function was a very helpful tool.
Customer support (using Enterprise Edition) was second to none. My questions were usually addressed within a few hours after submitting the ticket. Any unexpected issues were addressed and usually corrected that same day.

Cons

The data load process was a bit challenging. I would recommend an easier method for non-programmers to perform this task. For complex types of reports, additional tools are needed as the included extracts can be a bit cumbersome to join (depending on the report) however I was able to utilize Excel for the majority of the reporting tasks I performed.

L M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Research Study Database

Reviewed on 2016/12/01

Pros:
Automated audit log tracking,
structured subject matrix for visits for visualization of longitudinal follow-up,
capability to link subject co-enrolled in two different studies,
exportable datasets,
Some metadata / information about study protocol incorporated into the database for documentation (helpful for new employees in future),
Built in discrepancy tracking which can be linked to a specific variable

Cons:
Rigid user roles/privileges,
Import of data into system can be challenging because of structure,
Need IT background for initial setup/installation if you are setting up on own server and not using the cloud

Wishlist for future improvements:
Easier, built-in import mechanism of data into existing projects,
Make cohort groups usable within system,
Build in more scheduling features and functionality (for example, printable list of subjects expected to arrive on a particular day according to scheduled visit dates) or create reasonably priced product for this aspect which can be used as add-on,
Make user roles more flexible/al a carte,
Allow aliases for user roles as user role titles do not match structure of every organization

In my experience, many are hesitant to adopt an open source product because they may have concerns about security, reliability or functionality. After using for around 3 years and for hundreds of participants, I have found this to be a very high-quality database and certainly worth considering for small academic research organizations.

Pros

Automated variable level audit log/change tracking

Cons

Difficult to import lists/data

Jia F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User-friendly OpenClinica version 4

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

Pros

I have been using OpenClinica for years, and really love the new features in OpenClinica4. The web-based interface is user-friendly, and the new features of real-time queries, and auto-saving features really improve the user experience for data entry persons. The new study/form building tools, and click-button publishing studies to test/production environments make the database design much easier.

Cons

We have users report compatibility issues with different browsers. It would be great if this can be fixed, given the users are from different locations, and with different preference for browsers.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for your review Jia. We work hard to make the complex, easy. It's great to see the word easier. Browser capability is absolutely key ... I'd like to get more details from you to make sure this is addressed.

David M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenClinica 4 makes setting up new studies a breeze

Reviewed on 2020/10/01

I have been using OpenClinica for nine years, the majority of which I have used OC3, which performed well (and still does) but was lacking features other alternative products offered. However, since the release of OC4 that has all changed. OC4 is a exceptional product and a significant improvement from OC3. The ease of use has saved countless working hours but also produces high quality eCRFs - a product the OpenClinica team should be immensely proud of.

Pros

OC4 is extremely user friendly for both administrators and users. The study build is straight forward, allowing for powerful eCRFs to be designed, developed and validated with ease. Excellent customer support.

Cons

Some more search functionality when trying to find users and sites. Ability to archive studies.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for your review David. It's wonderful to hear how you have embraced OC4 and recognize the work that the team has done in optimizing the experience for our users. Your improvement suggestions are much appreciated as well.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've been using OC3 for 10 years, transitioning to OC4 has been painless. The knowledge...

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

Pros

OpenClinica has listened to their customers and it shows with this new product. Being a user for 10 years, I see the features I have personally requested in OC3 appear in OC4. The people behind the product have passion for their product.

Cons

I have trouble with using it on different internet browsers. Seems to be optimize, in my experience, for Firefox.

Andrew M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful form designs that compete with products ten times the price.

Reviewed on 2020/10/10

Pros

Having worked with OpenClinica and other EDC systems for several years, OpenClinica puts all the others to shame when it comes to customer service; their team bends over backward to help train, explain and fix. The software is continually improving based on user feedback.

The forms are very powerful and have almost every feature you might need: conditional display, modern responsive interface, touch friendly, lots of question types, conditional requirement, programmable notes to users.

The new version (OC4) is considerably easier to develop than OC3: no coding required, if you can write Excel functions then you can use even the moved advanced features. SDTM compatible examples of the most common OpenClinica eCRFs are readily available.

It's much cheaper than alternatives and has some features that I have only seen on the most high end products: question libraries, one-click deployment, advanced user inputs (eg drawings, VAS), localisation features, customisable ID generation etc.

Cons

The older version (OC3) requires coding experience to make the nost of it. I recommend avoiding OC3 and using OC4 instead.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for your review Andrew. It's great to hear from a seasoned data manager. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our team's diligent work toward greater usability and capability.

Ranjan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Moving in the right direction

Reviewed on 2020/11/03

Overall switching to OpenClinica has brought numerous benefits to our data collection methods. The learning curve for some employees has been steep, however, a few months in I can claim that it was worth the effort. I look forward to whatever new features/updates OpenClinica team has planned in the future.

Pros

OpenClinica offers a wide array of features for electronic data collection. Specifically the customizability of the forms and events when designing a survey has benefitted us immensely.
Additionally, the OpenClinica team members work hard to both understand what their users need and proactively update the software with new features.

Cons

Sometimes there are minor delays on some customer support requests.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for your review and candor Ranjan. We remain steadfast in our mission and passion to reduce complexity while maintaining powerful capabilities.

Nick A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible and agile design with robust webservices-OpenClinica delivers

Reviewed on 2020/10/12

We took offline and paper-based processes and moved them onto the platform which has obvious efficiencies and significant improvements in audit.

Pros

Our business requires continuous frequent changes to study design. The OpenClinica design tools make it easy for non-technical resources to make, test and then deploy changes while maintaining compatibility with previous iterations. In the event that the required form logic is really complex, OpenClinica professional resources are there to assist.

The webservices allow us to enroll participants and schedule events in OpenClinica programmatically which is a significant time saver. This also made integration with existing systems and business processes much smoother.

Cons

Not applicable: OpenClinica professional services have been responsive to our needs. Our development requests over the past 18 months have been added to the roadmap and delivered on, although sometime later than expected. I consider the timeline slips the nature of development, and most importantly, the quality of code has been really solid.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for your review Nick. It's great to hear that our RESTful API has been a significant efficiency driver. The myriad software enhancements can only be facilitated through the agile methodology. Our dev team does a remarkable job aggregating, orchestrating, and delivering advancements.

Yama G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I use OC 3 for over five years and found it a good electronic data capture system

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

OC is a great application for clinical trial research projects. It is easy to use and easy to build CRFs. The user support team is very helpful and there is a big community of people who could be helpful. The new version of the application OC4 seems to be very promising and the team has done a great job with interdicting new functionalists.

Pros

OC there is an excellent application for clinical trial projects.

- It is easy to build a CRF, and one does not need a technical background to develop a CRF.
- It supports multi-site studies.
- It supports multi-event studies
- It supports multi CRFs per event studies
- Support multi-section (tabs) and multi group CRF
- Supports repeating events
- Support grid layout questions which is helpful (e.g. if you wont record participant's medication history)
- User-friendly interface
- compatible with Firefox, internet explore and Chrome
- Good user support
- Easy to install

Cons

- OC 3 interface is not responsive ( OC4 is responsive)
- No offline data entry capability
- Programmer skills are needed to implement complex validations during CRF design

Vicente A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenClinica makes it simple. Flexible, reliable and easy to use

Reviewed on 2017/11/21

Flexible, reliable and easy to use

Pros

I have had a great experience using OpenClinica EDC during the last 3 years with several studies (Observational studies, Registries and Clinical Trials). It´s a web based solution to build and manage multi-sites clinical studies.
It´s a powerful platform, great user support, Data Entry and DM capabilities makes everything simple.
The study build and CRF designer allows re-use across studies. Updates and amendments are a simple process. Audit trail is excellent and easy to track and data extractions are available in several formats whenever is needed for the statistician.
Data management capabilities improves data quality and productive monitoring. Most CRAs were pleased with the system.
OpenClinica offers Cloud Services. No need IT skills for installation and setup.
Super User Training is very helpful for data managers when building CRFs.
If regulatory submission is required, the Regulatory Support Package service is highly recommended.

Cons

Programmer skills are needed to implement complex validations during CRF design. Complex reports should be customized in Excel after data extract.

Patrick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, stable for many years, always incorporating new features, great support, open...

Reviewed on 2017/08/23

Solid platform, great user support, query system, design is currently spreadsheet based which appeals to the minds of programmers, lots of options for data export, have used it in multi-country clinical and observational trials.

Pros

Great interface for sites to enter data for their subjects, repeating rows for AEs and con meds, validated system, automatic data exports, robust querying system, dynamic display of questions on one form based on answers from another form, great visual cues for data entry staff (colors, icons are meaningful), calendar control is powerful and easy to write data cleaning checks for, version control of forms, strong data integrity (can't change pre-programmed answer sets for questions without adequate control), great user support including option to contract for development at reasonable prices, built-in support for double data entry of paper forms, stable over the 7 years I've used it for clinical and observational trials, incredible user community which makes 3rd party tools available, yearly international conferences to keep users up to date, patient PRO module is very feature laden, patient PRO module creates solid link between site CRF data and patient PRO data, I have used it for 7 years and have never lost a data point.

Cons

Would like to have patient compensation built-in to patient PRO module, more reports needed but are coming based on user feedback.

Ade idowu M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open-Clinica 4 (OC4)

Reviewed on 2019/01/31

Data validation and data management are one of the most critical aspects of Clinical Research as they portray the end result of a study. With open-clinica,you can expect to capture a high quality dataset which has been pre-validated and monitored.

Pros

The software is very user friendly and yet embedded with very powerful functionalities for creating a study. It also allows the extraction of datasets in various formats in a very well organized output with some being pre-coded for ease of use.

Cons

Still a few limitations with customizing the user interface, but a great improvement from the previous versions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Personalization options are impressive

Reviewed on 2018/04/30

OpenClinica makes it easy to us to keep track of a huge number of patients in the same place and query it for studies.

Pros

I continue to be impressed by how many ways we can personalize OpenClinica to our clinic setting. We were able to select the different categories we want completed for each patient, as well as unique drop-down options for everyone.

Cons

The version of OpenClinica we use does not look very modern. It doesn't affect the functionality of the software, but could be nicer to look at.

Response from OpenClinica

Thank you for the candid and encouraging review. Let us help you transition to the latest release, OC4. You'll find the ultra-modern (and ultra-powerful) UX you deserve! https://openclinica.com/contact-openclinica/

Ahmed K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great system

Reviewed on 2015/03/02

all free functions are great with good security as a web application and acceptable free suport.

Paul T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Difficult to use for doctors (maybe easy for programmers)

Reviewed on 2017/02/28

This program is a difficult program, which I tried to use for my clinical trial. Building the case report form took ages, and a lot of frustration. Furthermore, using the CRF is not intuitive at all. I am quite disappointed.

Pros

nothing

Cons

the lack of ease of use

Evance O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I have used OC to successfully manage more than 5 clinical trial studies.

Reviewed on 2015/07/10

Compatibility with browsers other than IE is a major problem.
In-Flexibility in changing CRF versions.