Subsplash Reviews

Subsplash

Member engagement platform for churches

4.7/5 (70 reviews)
Richard M.

Solid choice for connecting your church family!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once you get used to the dashboard settings, it is surprising how creative you can get with the design of the app, without sacrificing a professional look. We love the many available features such as developing a custom Bible reading plan, accessing our Google Calendar of events, and the ability to quickly and easily give online. We've taken advantage of the Media server, and upload all our messages, complete with PowerPoint Slides, Sermon Notes and Bible Study curriculum. It is a significant tool for our church family to not only stay in touch with what's happening at the church, but to assist them in their discipleship journey with reading and study.
I also give Subsplash top marks for their technical support. I receive very quick and helpful replies, always delivered with a friendly attitude.

Cons

The software seems to be fairly robust, but it is a bit slow in starting up, and there is a slight delay when making updates. There is a bit of a learning curve in understanding the Dashboard. I feel the team has done a great job in general at making it as accessible as possible, but there are still a couple of things that I would not consider intuitive (such as working with the menu system, lists, and media series). The custom Bible reading feature is great, but I wish we had access to other translations beyond ESV.

Response from Subsplash

Hello, Richard. We are thankful for your kind review and feedback. It is an honor to serve you and Glencairn Mennonite Brethren Church!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Brent P.

Subsplash makes mobile apps easy!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We've used Subsplash for our church's app for years now. Here's the deal, while other custom app builders may be appealing to not lock you into a box on design, no one will give you the support staff or custom attention like these guys. They DO offer many templates and such for mobile apps, so the box is large, but it is still a template based system (box). But if you don't want to custom code your own app, you are going to land in a box somewhere. This is the best I've seen yet. On top of that, they have giving platforms, podcast platforms, etc... and if you need something they don't have, just ask! They are open to feedback and have (numerous times) created solutions that didn't exist before because we asked for them. Great people. Great products.

Cons

If I have to find a negative here, I'd say... the mobile app templates are totally usable and such, but aren't the prettiest or most custom in the world. Admittedly this is probably on us for not spending more time on ours. :-P I've seen some great apps on the platform and a large portion of ours not being stellar is on us.

Response from Subsplash

Brent, thank you so much for the kind words! It's our pleasure serving you and your team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Karen S.

Custom app quality without the hassles

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

We decided 3 years ago to create an app for our church to enhance the weekend service experience, and to expand our outreach to the global audience of app users. Subsplash enabled us to do both — at a very reasonable price. We had an ambitious vision for the functionality that would be included, so we originally considered using a custom app developer. But ultimately we landed on Subsplash because of the great work they had done for other large church clients. I am SO glad we did. Our experience has been excellent. If you are a church, I recommend their app product without reservation.

Pros

Subsplash gives us a top quality app product at a price point that is doable for churches. They do all the work behind the scenes to continually improve the user experience and submit updates to all the major app platforms. They are constantly rolling out new features. Our congregation especially loves the Fill-In Notes feature. It has enabled us to provide the message outline each week, with space to type in your own notes.

The online dashboard is easy to use; we are able to have a volunteer make all the weekly updates to the message library and outlines.

Cons

Working within a template structure, by definition, limits the functionality and layout options available. While we are unable to incorporate all the bells and whistles we'd like, Subsplash has been responsive to our requests and factored them into some of their updates.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks so much for the thoughtful review, Karen! We are so glad to hear that you and Elmbrook Church are delighted by the Subsplash Platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Heather C.

Review of Subsplash/The Church App

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we have been very pleased with our ongoing relationship with Subsplash. When I first began working with Subsplash, years ago, they were a fairly small company; I felt very important and really cared for as we set up our app. Over the past 12-18 months, I've really noticed a change in that type of care. I'm not naive to think that as they've grown they would be able to maintain the same level of guidance. However, I miss it and sometimes feel a bit overwhelmed and/or lost...like I'm not able to keep up or take advantage of updates in technology, maximizing user experience, etc.

Pros

What I like most about Subsplash is that it allows us to regularly engage both those who attend our church and those who have never set foot on our campus.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that I can't delete images that I upload. I know that may seem a little odd, but I wish there was a way to archive/organize uploaded images.

Response from Subsplash

Hello, Heather. We're thankful for your kind words and thoughtful feedback. We're committed to serving you and the team at Believers Church.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Michelle B.

Easy to use with great customer service.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Since most people use and have their smart phones with them, this app has made our communication and connections with our member easy for them and us. The Subsplash team understands our goals and help us to reach those goals. We have had the best experience working with this company.

Pros

The great customer service and the ease at which we can update and add items. There are training videos to help you through the process, and a responsive team that answers all our questions. Because of this app and how well it works our members have easy access to podcasts, documents, giving, important links and updates we need to communicate.

Cons

We wish they had an event registration/purchase feature for this product. We would like to have all online money payments to be under one umbrella and having an event registration would accomplish that goal.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks for the kind words! It is our pleasure serving you, Michelle.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jesse W.

Excellence In Every Way

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/26
Review Source: Capterra

My favorite thing about Subsplash is that on top of an incredible dashboard to build and customize our app, they have the best customer service I have ever experienced. Furthermore, the team at Subsplash is engaged with our organization at just the right level to be able to most effectively come along side us and add value to what we're doing. I am so thankful for all that Subsplash has done for us. I'm actually tempted to give them more money than what they're asking for!

Pros

The software is VERY intuitive. There are just the right amount of options to build and customize an app and the layout makes it incredibly easy to navigate.

Cons

The way the photos are laid out when selecting from previously uploaded photos is not the most efficient.

Response from Subsplash

Jesse, we are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform and the service you are receiving. We are honored to partner with you and the team at Heart of the City!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Caylon D.

A Solid App for your Church

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

The folks at Subsplash/The Church App have been great to work with. They are easy to get in touch with, and do a great job guiding you through the process of building your app, and troubleshooting along the way. Additionally there are regular feature updates and additions that tell you they are a company interesting in progress and maximizing the potential of their product.

Pros

The ease of use makes this app a no brained. The dashboard feature is simple, intuitive, and easy to navigate. It makes uploading your graphics, entering content, and arranging your app a snap!

Cons

There aren’t really any cons that stick out to me. But one thing I would love to see happen is the inclusion of iPad access with the basic package.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks, Caylon! We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform, and we are honored to partner with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Joseph S.

Great Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Occasionally, there are “glitches” or “bugs” that interfere with the App operating well. However, they’re Ishtar on top of it...many times even fixing it before I’m aware of it.

Pros

Subsplash made putting our church App together a breeze! Every step of the way they were there supporting me. Even after it was established they had competent, helpful and especially pleasant staff guiding me through upgrades and more! I couldn’t even think about doing this without their help!

Cons

Not much, if any, as they are open to working on and implementing suggestions into the software. Only thing I’d like better is to have a choice of Bible versions (NKJV) instead of just one (ESV).

Response from Subsplash

Thanks so much for the thoughtful review, Joseph! It is an honor to serve you and the Calvary Chapel Vero Beach team!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Elizabeth M.

Easy to Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

The Subsplash team is awesome. They are so helpful every time we reach out to them and they are always improving on the software adding more features and making it better. The best part is that you can tell it is a ministry for them as well. They are Kingdom minded and have even prayed with me over the phone for our ministry!

Pros

What I like most about the Subsplash software is that it is so easy to use and integrates the video into our existing website. I don't have any training in web design, but I was able to create an app for our ministry that is functional and people use it everyday.

Cons

I don't see any cons to this software. We have found that it meets all our needs.

Response from Subsplash

We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform, Elizabeth! We are honored to partner with you and SonShine Network Ministries.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Anthony S.

A Happy Subsplash user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Though the subsplash church app we are able to streamline our verbal communication and not make a bunch of announcements we can simply say down load the church app. We have realized increased giving as well

Pros

The giving module is amazing and has revolutionized the way we receive offerings. Not only is the method amazing it has also increased overall giving with in our congregation. Also the app does a great job of packaging and communicating information. Our people are hungry for our content and the subsplash app has been a great conduit for that content

Cons

The thing that we like least about subsplash is the back end of the app. It could be more user friendly and organized better

Response from Subsplash

Thanks for the review. It's an honor to serve you and the church, Anthony!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Clean app without hiring a developer

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I really like that with Subsplash I can make the app truly my own by designing all of my images to stay within my brand. The interface is clean and once a user is past the initial learning stages, weekly updates and repeat tasks become a breeze. Customer service is quick to respond and help as they can.

Cons

I signed up with Subsplash a couple years ago, and since then they have added new features. unfortunately, I am unable to take advantage of these features as the pricing structure has changed and I can't justify paying the higher prices. When I initially signed up I thought the price was a little high, but felt that an app was needed and knew that paying a developer is very expensive. But I had hoped some of the features they said were upcoming would still be included in my top-tier package. Now my package is not top tier, and I can't spend the money for other features. I still like my app and plan to stick with Subsplash!

Response from Subsplash

We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the our dashboard interface and customer service. We are thankful for your feedback and committed to serving you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Howard M.

Subsplash APP developing software review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

Being a company that is Christ centered is a huge plus. We are all working towards the same goal. I looked at many other companies that allow you to develop apps but most were not again, Christ centered so would allow porn apps and other things to be made which I did not want our Ministry to be part of.

Pros

We wanted to develope an APP for a long time. There were many specific things that we needed for our app but at the time Subsplash nor other companies for that matter were able to accomplish. Fast forward a few years, Subsplash having the mindset to be forward thinkers and technology catching up, they were able to meet our needs. Since then we have been very pleased to have our app hosted through them. They are easy to work with, constantly developing new aspects for the app and have good support. All things that you want from a company.

Cons

There are always things that we would like to do that cannot be done yet, but we add them to the feature request list and hopefully, eventually they will develop the ability do do it.

Response from Subsplash

Hello, Howard! It is an honor to serve you and the church. Thanks for the kind remarks!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Joshua T.

Subsplash is Gold

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

I greatly enjoy their attention to detail and ability to stay current. I would and do actively recommend them to others.

Pros

The ability to go in and make immediate changes is an amazing feature. The ease of use makes using subsplash very simple and allows you to train others quickly. They are clean on the front end and back end which not only allows for a wider creative capability but also helps you stay up to date and motivated to do so.

Cons

At times the bugs in the updates can be major and delay internal projects, it also has a tendency to look very similar to other organizations who use their platform.

Response from Subsplash

Hello, Joshua. We are thankful for your feedback and are honored to partner with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Daniel R.

Subsplash Thoughts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Subsplash has been excellent to deal with. Their customer support is good. I don't always like having to schedule an appointment to call for support, but, that's the world we live in. Subspaslh has been able to roll with changes put on them by Apple, etc. and has been able to convey those changes to the client well.

Pros

Excellent design and functionality. Easy for the user to navigate. Easy for the client to customize (within various templates).

Cons

It is rather expensive, but you get value from the app, in terms of users and usage. The dashboard can occasionally stop saving, but a refresh will clear that up.

Response from Subsplash

Daniel, we are thankful for your feedback and committed to serving you and the Christian Church of Jasper. Thanks for the thoughtful review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Vicki R.

Experience on Two Ends

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have two involvements with the software: (1) I upload our church's Sunday sermons to the App, and (2) I use the App as a church member.

Regarding the first - I like that the process has been hassle-free and that it has resulted in creating a wonderful on-line sermon library. As an App user, it puts a world of resources at my fingertips without having to log onto our website.

Cons

There probably should be a least, but there isn't.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks, Vicki! We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform. It is and honor to partner with you and the team at Fairview Road Church of Christ

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Randy R.

Great but not perfect

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Great company that offers a great product with friendly, helpful, knowledgeable support staff

Pros

Their mobile app is second to none. That is by far their greatest strength. All their features are very user friendly, simple functions which allow you to learn the procedures quickly. Very helpful and friendly tech support

Cons

They are still a very young company so some of their products are still in the developmental stages. Their website for instance as well as their on-line giving platform lacks some needed features. Scheduling a tech support call is sometimes a pain because their availability is often limited for a day or two out.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks so much for the kind review, Randy! We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Michael M.

Easy and innovative

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Subsplash is continuing to grow their product lines and features and we continue to buy into the new things they are doing. We love their app, its easy to use and learn, highly functional and on the frontlines of creativity. We have loved the app so much, we are moving our Church to their website software from Wordpress, because it to is easy to use and highly functional. Its easy to make the transition especially because their support staff and availability is stellar!

Pros

Easy to learn/use
Great tech support
Innovative, leading the way creatively
Highly functional and adaptive
Built with Church life in mind

Cons

Events/Calendaring need recurring events

Response from Subsplash

Hello, Michael. We are thankful for your kind words and thoughtful feedback. We are honored to partner with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Matt R.

Subsplash is my app crush

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

They are a wonderful company and their employees are incredibly helpful and eager to make our app/website the best it can be! We love subsplash and recommend them to everyone!

Pros

Subsplash is so user friendly for everyone on our team. From the app to the website they have built us a beautiful online presence.

Cons

Some of the connectivity to other companies we use can be frustrating.

Response from Subsplash

We are so happy that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform, Rabbi Matt! We are honored to partner with you and the Restoration team!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Erik P.

why not just use a responsive website?

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The dashboard interface is user friendly and relatively easy to navigate. You can enter a calendar feed so you don't have to update another calendar separately. They are adding some new location based notification features that sound kinda fun, but haven't looked into what they cost.

Cons

I generally only download apps if they have a feature that I can't get through the website. I have apps for messaging, taking pictures, and locating family. I have an app for my credit union so I can deposit checks. But, I don't quite get this one. We put the same content on it that we also want to put on the website, and I've found our regular website generally loads faster than the app, at least on my phone. Apparently, people are using it (wish there were more stats available about usage), but honestly I only open it to check and make sure it looks right.

Response from Subsplash

Thank you for your feedback, Erik! We are committed to better serving you and the Kingdom.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Basil C.

Great software platform - Great Company to deal with!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Just love the product and the company!

Pros

It delivers... in all our areas of need. Dynamic website embeds have made a huge impact and reduced our website maintenance significantly.

Cons

The monthly cost is quite high for us in developing countries where there is NOT a favorable US$ exchange rate. A fixed local rate would really work for us!

Response from Subsplash

Thanks so much for the kind review, Basil! It is an honor to serve you and the team at House of the Lord.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great end product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The end product is great, that is what people open up on their smart device. I love that Subsplash keeps adding new features.

Cons

It takes some time to get up to speed on using the software, and it takes more time than they tell you to keep everything updated and current. Also, the cost is pretty steep for us, and it looks like they want to increase the price with more added features. Still, so far it's worth it to us to keep up with Subsplash because the end product is very nice.

Response from Subsplash

We are thankful for your feedback and committed to serving you. We appreciate this opportunity to grow!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Brian M.

Simply the best out there.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Subsplash has always been quick to respond to any questions and have worked with me to find great solutions to any ideas I've had. Love that team!

Pros

Subsplash is VERY easy to use and the design options are simple and attractive. They give you plenty of design control, but also the ability to keep things streamlined. Their website feature is fantastic as well!

Cons

I'd love it if they had the ability to have a current "bulletin" feature directly through the app.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks, Brian! We are so glad to hear that you and the Calvary Chapel team are delighted by the Subsplash Platform!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gottfried C.

Excellent tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Subsplash helps us to accomplish our vision and to communicate to our audience online and offline. It is a premium tool to engage community and to communicate.

Pros

The easy connection and interaction with the church community

Cons

There is nothing i do not like about subsplash.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks so much for the kind words, Gottfried! It is an honor to serve you and your team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Andrew M.

Subsplash Church Ap

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how they are constantly improving the features. It is easy to use and makes managing our podcast seamless across our website, app and iTunes.

Cons

At this point, I don't really have any dislikes about the software. The original learning curve to get our app setup was a little difficult.

Response from Subsplash

Thanks for the review, Andrew!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John C.

Subsplash

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Very handy program. Very nice team.

Pros

Subsplash is great because everything I need is in one place. Events. Sermon uploads / disk space. Notifications.

Cons

You must wait until your media item is uploaded and processing to select "Auto Publish."

Response from Subsplash

We are so glad to hear that you are delighted by the Subsplash Platform, John!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10