ISL Light

4.7 (708)
Write a Review!
Remote support software & unattended remote access

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(708)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

708 Reviews

Xiping
Xiping
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This tool have everything our school need

Reviewed on 2023/12/22

I recommend it to anyone looking for an alternative to the expensive remote connect apps. I used...

I recommend it to anyone looking for an alternative to the expensive remote connect apps. I used many other remote connection software and did extensive research, and I think this is the top one.

Pros

My experience with ISL Light has been great, especially in terms of its performance and reliability during remote sessions. The speed and stability of the connection were top-notch, allowing me to connect to our computers in distant administrative campuses. Being able to use it on various devices made my work much more convenient. ISL Light's robust features and smooth operation are what I liked most about it.

Cons

I think the design can be improved and there are some ways to be a little more friendlier.

Alternatives Considered

Remote Desktop Manager and Supremo Remote Desktop

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Price and features are the main reasons.

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Price and features are the main reasons.

Response from ISL Online

Hi Xiping, your valuable feedback means a lot to us! We're glad to see ISL Online fulfils your needs.

Stephan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2023/12/18

Pros

Reasonably priced product and works very well

Cons

Lack of immediate prompt for admin rights
Having to switch into restart mode to get back on after restart

Alternatives Considered

Splashtop

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

TeamViewer have been hiking their prices by an unreasonable amount year on year to the point where it became unaffordable.

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

We tested both products and preferred ISL.
Silvester
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Isl

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

Pros

Easy to access many computers from one console.

Cons

When you add computer it's hard to tag computer.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote

Response from ISL Online

Silvester, thank you for your feedback.
Regarding computer tags, you have the ability to define them while setting up unattended access for a computer. Please refer to this brief guide: https://help.islonline.com/44234/306294

Kris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Real thoughts on isl

Reviewed on 2023/12/19

Pros

I love that you can self host ISL and your license comes with everything without a bunch of addons. The service has been super stable and easy to administrate/update with no real issues.

Cons

The biggest drawback with ISL is that third parties have literally 0 support for it. I work with Apple computers and MDM servers have nothing setup meaning you have to setup everything from scratch. I also have not found much documented about this from ISL.

Response from ISL Online

Hi Kris, we appreciate your feedback, thank you!

Jonney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good Solid Product

Reviewed on 2023/12/29

Good company to deal with and proactive account management from ISL when dealing with us

Good company to deal with and proactive account management from ISL when dealing with us

Pros

Easy to use - easy to white label for our business and easy for our customers to use and interact with

Cons

No problems encountered with using this product

Response from ISL Online

Jonney, thank you for the feedback! We're glad to know that ISL Online meets your expectations!

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for looking after our customers

Reviewed on 2023/12/19

Pros

Ease of use for our customers, great support (chat based).

Cons

No cons, it's brilliant. We self host it and it's never let us down.

Alternatives Considered

LogMeIn

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

The cost was fair, it is easy to use, and by self hosting we can avoid the blocks some IPs are putting on remote support software.

Response from ISL Online

Andrew, we appreciate your feedback, thank you!

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It Works !

Reviewed on 2023/12/20

We have used the product for a number of years, with great success. A major client also uses the...

We have used the product for a number of years, with great success. A major client also uses the product. The product provides the required functionality, at a realistic price.
Not bloated with unwanted features and cost

Pros

Lightweight, easy to use, and inexpensive

Cons

sending invitation directly from ISL inconsistent, so use own email

Response from ISL Online

Philip, thank you for sharing your experience! The issue you've encountered with the invitation email is certainly not the expected behavior. We kindly invite you to contact our live chat support. If you could also consider sharing any pertinent log files with our team, it would greatly assist in their investigation and resolution of this issue. Your cooperation is invaluable to us.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ISL - The remote to go for MSP's

Reviewed on 2023/12/20

Pros

pricing and support is great,
deployment and use is easy and straightforward ,
it just works !!

Cons

would expect some more features for onboarding silently
but sometimes less is more

Response from ISL Online

Ben, thank you for choosing ISL Online, and for sharing your feedback!

Martin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best Remote Support products out there

Reviewed on 2023/12/20

Very happy with product and what it is able to do for us aiding remote management and emergency...

Very happy with product and what it is able to do for us aiding remote management and emergency support for client computers.

Pros

This is so easy to install and has a very light footprint on the Computer it is running on and is great that it works on a Mac or a Windows PC or Server.

Cons

Nothing as this product provides all the required functions we need.

Response from ISL Online

Martin, thanks a lot for your valuable feedback!

Gil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best and most secure solution on the market.

Reviewed on 2023/12/11

Pros

Its easy to use and its a fantastic product.
I works fast and its very secure.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Tested all alternatives and after a long test we decided it us the best.

Response from ISL Online

Gil, thank you for sharing your experience. Your review is a source of motivation for our team!

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ISLOnline easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/10/31

It allows me to support my customers 24-7 not just Monday-Friday 9-5. It saves site visits and...

It allows me to support my customers 24-7 not just Monday-Friday 9-5. It saves site visits and allows me to quickly fix a problem.

Pros

Easy to setup and supports multiple platforms. You can add multi sessions for a fixed fee. Flexible subscription I started off with a price per use with a few customer then upgraded when the I built a larger customer base. Recently I have started to use the Web Conference feature for hosting online demos.

Cons

I would prefer a drag and drop to specific folder when transferring files. I would also like remote printing

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

One of my suppliers used ISL and I like the pay per use license as I initially had very few customers

Response from ISL Online

The newest ISL Light version added support for our new File Manager functionality. This functionality will allow you to simply transfer files between the local and remote computer by drag and dropping files in a simple-to-use graphical interface. Currently, the File Manager functionality is available for ISL AlwaysOn connections, as well as on-demand sessions where the remote client is a Linux or macOS machine. For on-demand connections with Windows remote machines, by default, this functionality is not available. However, if you would require this functionality in such a session, it is possible to instruct the client to download the ISL Light application instead of the ISL Light Client, then in the ISL Light application choose Options -> Join and join the session this way. Then, the File Manager functionality will be available in this session as well.

Boštjan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

True workhorse for remote work, support, help, monitoring

Reviewed on 2022/04/20

It's a like a swiss knife, it's a first thing you grab for any remote work. Hard to image working...

It's a like a swiss knife, it's a first thing you grab for any remote work. Hard to image working without it.

Pros

It's easy to use, it's very reliable, plenty of useful features

Cons

Missing option to create sort of VPN between client and support while having ISL session active so support tech can reach any device on client's LAN. Initiating a session with parameters so that client does not have to confirm or allow anything - preset full access, so client only runs the app and nothing more. Proper file manager (like total commander) to work with files between computers.

Response from ISL Online

Hi Bostjan.

We offer the option of using custom tunnels, but we currently do not support VPN. Our help page on how to create a custom tunnel can be found here: https://help.islonline.com/56320/374639 

Initiating a session
For initiating a session so that client does not have to confirm or allow anything we would suggest setting ISL AlwaysOn on the client's computer (if you are connecting to the client's computer regularly): https://help.islonline.com/19808/1220044

File manager
We already have our file manager, here are the instructions on how to use it: https://help.islonline.com/20345/170574

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Couldn't do without it!

Reviewed on 2022/10/12

Pros

As a Charity we are always looking to find the best software at reasonable prices. The team at ISL have been fantastic for us compared to another competitor we used for years. The software is quick and easy to use for It techs and users. It is our main tool that is used everyday on the helpdesk. we particularly like the remote shutdown and restart feature and how it automatically reconnects to the same session.

Cons

As of yet we haven't come across anything we don't like.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote and Zoho Assist

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

ISL provided Charity discount which was excellent value for money and the software is just as good if not better.

Switched From

LogMeIn

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Had the features we were after (shutdown and resume) and cost.
Elvis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My review

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

We use it only for remote support, but we know that there are a lot of other functionalities.
It is...

We use it only for remote support, but we know that there are a lot of other functionalities.
It is perfect for our use, it is offer all what we need and it is easy to use.

Pros

It just work almost everywhere. It is also very easy to configure some next generation firewalls as in most cases, you can just tell that you are using ISL.
Very friendly for helpdesk and for customer.

Cons

Maybe downloading client. Some customers sometimes have a problem to find where is located this download.

Alternatives Considered

TeamSupport and AnyDesk

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Price and quality of product

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

It is complete and secure solution and because is a Slovenian product
Tomaž
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ISL Light brings light to admins lives

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

We use it for remote support, it's brilliant!

We use it for remote support, it's brilliant!

Pros

It's very easy to use, the origin is from Slovenia, we can have own server to connect to.

Cons

There is nothing we don't like about ISL Light.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Annoying "always upgrade/newer version", wanted own server to connect to.

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Ease of use, origin, own server, annoying "always upgrade/newer version" with TeamViewer

Response from ISL Online

Tomaž, we're grateful for your insights and we love the excitement you express for our product. Thanks!

Martin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete solution

Reviewed on 2022/12/06

Pros

IT is easy to use, it is easy to integrate, it have all solutions what we need

Cons

The solution is not widely used and many customers need to be explained how to use it.When using it for the first time, it is necessary to click several times

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote, Microsoft Teams and AnyDesk

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

While your solution halve Web live chat

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

We made integration with Microsoft Business Central, if you want we can provide it you.
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A solid industry tool suited to IT professionals and easy enough for any company to use

Reviewed on 2022/10/12

We selected ISL to replace TeamViewer, as it was becoming too costly to use TeamViewer.

We were...

We selected ISL to replace TeamViewer, as it was becoming too costly to use TeamViewer.

We were pleased to have a super-quick onboarding with ISL, with good support and guides to getting things setup and secured approaching

Pros

For our business ISL helps ensure that we have secure and logged access to PC's, servers, and mobile phones of the clients that we support. Able to quickly and easily guide even the most IT challenged individual to downloading the client and enabling a connection is a huge plus.

Cons

Copying and pasting data within the tool isn't perfect, it sometimes pastes backwards when pushed into SQL Management Studio, and sometimes it refuses to copy and paste data between ISL and the local PC

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for on-demand remote support

Reviewed on 2022/10/13

Pros

Work's great for us - we have a link on our website for customers to use which takes them to a branded ISL page for them to enter the support code. Has the ability to take full admin access as well which is great for those locked down scenarios. The new iOS/Android option is fantastic for supporting mobile apps!

Cons

No real issues from our side - if our help desk staff were able to easily see who is using the sessions that would help us. (Occasionally someone might leave a session open which uses a license)

Roman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Remote support tool which works really well

Reviewed on 2022/10/12

Single solution for supporting many platforms

Single solution for supporting many platforms

Pros

Unattended and on demand support have easy start of sessions or setting up access + other features, all for reasonable price.
Being able to see or even control mobile devices is a great benefit.

Cons

Connecting to Macs would be nice to get some notice that the customer needs to set their privacy settings instead of black screen and have a button to to retry viewing screen once the customer allows in their privacy settings (currently can stop screen sharing and start sharing again which usually works or start a new session but could be simplier)

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote and LogMeIn

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Cost and features

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

More cost effective for all features available
Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable product, competitively priced, easy to use

Reviewed on 2021/11/08

This allows our team of 4 to easily support hundreds of end users each day with all manner of...

This allows our team of 4 to easily support hundreds of end users each day with all manner of issues. We are able to integrate the download from our website as well as invite our clients to support sessions via email.

Pros

Easy to use on Windows devices. Good information fed back through dashboard. Quick, reliable connection. Spans all screens for remote computer.

Cons

If the extra cost for multi connections per user were cheaper we would definitely go for it. However we do appreciate that the overall cost is very competitive vs other products.

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Cost

Switched From

LogMeIn Rescue

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Cost
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Adhoc support tool, webchat and more

Reviewed on 2020/07/08

Our technical support team love it, as it just works no firewall issues or horrendous end user...

Our technical support team love it, as it just works no firewall issues or horrendous end user experiences as we can create a session send an email invite or ask the user to visit the our branded ISL landing page.

Pros

We first came to use ISL after having experienced the ease of connection many years ago with one of our suppliers. We loved the fact that the end user just had to enter a session number download and run. It also allowed us to host live web chat facilities on our website, which was another separate service we were paying for.

Cons

The webchat isn't as proactive as some other services, informing you when there are visitors on your site. But the remote desktop support makes up for this.

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Better end user experience, quicker RDP sessions and combined 2x services - remote chat + remote desktop into one service which saved us money.
Michele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy and effective

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

We use ISL to give technical support on customer's machines. It is super easy to install, since the...

We use ISL to give technical support on customer's machines. It is super easy to install, since the executable files come already setup to connect to company account. Connection is reliable and fast.

Pros

Lightweight executable, can be used in all platforms.
User management interface very effective.

Cons

Some issues in RDP tunnelling on MacOs.
Tricky to set-up on auto-scaling cloud machines (not critical at the moment).
It would be great to be able to ask for help by raising a flag on AlwaysOn (so that at operator side we know which machine raised it).

Stéphane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Our use

Reviewed on 2021/01/05

Pros

It is very simple and efficient. We can use it on every machine (PC/Mac/Mobile/Tablet)

Cons

We can't create an external user with the capacity of open remote

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote and AnyDesk

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

The price

Switched From

GoTo Connect

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Because of it's simplicity

Response from ISL Online

Stephane, thank you for your review! Would you please explain more in detail what exactly do you mean with "We can't create an external user with the capacity of open remote". We may be able to help with that.

Lourdes
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceptional Service...never had an issue

Reviewed on 2023/12/19

Overall it has been an exceptional experience for the over 10 years of use.

Overall it has been an exceptional experience for the over 10 years of use.

Pros

In the over 10 years that I have been using the software, never had the need to call support. The system has never been down or unavailable.

Cons

At the moment I cannot think of any downside or con in my experience

Response from ISL Online

Lourdes, thank you for your valuable feedback! We're glad to be an integral part of your business for over 10 years! Thank you for your continued trust and support.

Martial
Martial
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 2020/03/18

Pros

Very Quickly and simple for our customer

Cons

Multiuser management and shared AlwaysOn Connection

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer Remote and GoTo Meeting

Reasons for Choosing ISL Light

Pricing and functionnality

Switched From

TeamViewer Remote

Reasons for Switching to ISL Light

Pricing and functionnality