ISL Light Remote Desktop Reviews

ISL Light Remote Desktop

Remote support software & unattended remote access

4.7/5 (76 reviews)

Great Value Remote Support Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/14/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I used to use LogMeIn and was approached by ISL to try out there product initially I said no then the price of the other product had its third increase in twelve months which made it too expensive. Since then I haven't looked back, I can connect to my clients quickly and securely and provide the type of service my clients expect as if I was there in person. I must use the software three to four times a day on average and now most of my support work is done remotely saving journey time and fuel cost. It's made me more efficient.

Pros

ISLOnline has all the features of it's competitors but at a more competitive price. The software is continually being developed and improved and can be branded to suit your company needs. It supports remote connections to multi platform and devices and has a chat platform for you to converse with your customers which can be added to your website. Technical support is first class and they are extremely helpful when you first begin using the software. You get an evelauation period to trial the fully featured software and this can be extended if needs be so you can be sure. Did I mention the price?

Cons

I would like to see some improvements in the Remote support logging page as I use this to generate invoicing information and it takes an export of the log and some reformatting to get it in the state I need.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

We are currently developing some new features for the reports page, which will soon show the name of the computer in the list aswell, making it easier to see which computer you were connected to in a particular session.

If you have any requests which you would like to see added to the reports page (or to ISL products in general) please send us an email to [email protected] or visit our live chat on our website www.islonline.com!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great product and great support (lot's of extras)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/20/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Remote support to users on Windows platform. Users are working on different version of Windows (like: 7, 8, 10 and some server editions too).

Pros

Most important of course is that ISL Light delivers the goods when it's about remote support. I've looked at multiple other products (after deciding to leave Teamviewer) to find a solution that fits my requirements. One of them is remote support to individual Windows users on a virtual Windows Server. ISL Always On basically is the only product that could do this easily. Also many other products have different products (or subscriptions) for attended and unattended support. With ISL you get ISL Light (attended) and ISL Always On (unattended) and all for a very good price.

Cons

You only get one concurrent session with each licence. This might be just not as flexible as you would like. You can however add an option to allow multi-sessions. You have to pay a little extra though.
It would be nice to have a list of users that previously asked for support so you don't need a sessioncode to get connected. Than again it might be more secure this way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL is a proper tool for IT professionals / consultants to support their clients

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We actually resell the product besides using it for ourselves.
I still believe its a good piece of software, support is good and the dutch distributor DCC is very friendly and gained a lot of knowledge about the products of ISL. Way better product then Teamviewer although i keep on waiting for a better experience with mac.....

Pros

To be able to log in remotely without manual inteference from the client.

Support reacts with knowledge and content. (no auto-message nonsense)

The mobile app to give emergency support from a tablet/phone

Cons

With mac clients there is no easy way to run the software from the desktop with an icon.

Your client needs to download the software, run it and give consent, accept a securitywarning etc.. before you can actually take control of the remote PC / Mac

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

I'm sorry to hear the experience with ISL software on a Mac computer is proving to be difficult.

I have raised this issue with our team and we will look into ways of improving this functionality.

Let me know if you will have any further questions or issues!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

it does what it is designed for

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We gladly help the customer as quickly as possible by watching them, and so solve their problems immediately and quickly.
No matter what internet connection they have, or how fast the PC is.
We have found a solution in ISL that can be started easily and quickly also by less useful users.
We have been working for years with ISL (on-prem) and had never problems with it.

Pros

quick, simple, it does what it has to do.
picking up after restarting, logging off / logging in works very well

Cons

The only thing we missed in ISL Light is the option to disable using keyboard or mouse on the client side. Really super frustrating when people want to click themselves.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

We have a feature request ticket open for this functionality, the ID for this ticket is REQ-234. I have added a comment to this ticket, raising it's priority for development!

Thank you for your suggestion!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great tech support solution!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

ISL has been our remote support solution for many years, and has served us very well. We respond to chat with Pronto, group meetings and unattended connections, but by far what we use the most is connecting to customers with remote support. I never have issues with firewalls or anything - if it can connect to the internet, then I can connect to it. Audio, video, file transfer, recording - all these are great benefits to already great software. And being able to supplement licenses with Pay Per Use minutes is a great cost saver.

Pros

Extremely easy to use, versatile and scalable - ISL can handle any company from the smallest to the largest. The wide range of products ensures every area of support is covered, and with style. I love working with with software!

Cons

The cost is not super cheap, but I don't think you can find anything better for less money - and with the level of support they offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Perfect tool for our customer support !

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/21/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Also the easy way to use it on devices with (many) other OS platforms is for us a big PLUS !
The customatisation (f.e. with our LOGO + Technician Name) of the interface is a nice AND easy thing, together with the selfstarting video-recording is a great advantage. In this way we can please our customers -on a simple demand- with a video so they can replay the session and see what was done / altered to their system/device settings later-on when the stressed situation is all over.

Pros

The auto-reconnect function in a remote session, after a remote (network-) reboot was done, is for us one of the major reasons to choose for ISL online !

We've been using this for some years now and will stay to do so !

Cons

No real contras encountered so far …
We found a bug once, reported it to ISL; they loocked into it in a live session with us, and things got solved , so ... that's what counts !

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Happy with ISL Online

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/14/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Happy, affordable, does the job and only that job (remote access).
Convenient. All I want is something that gets the job done and this qualifies.

Pros

Inexpensive compared to the competition. We were using logmein Rescue at the time and when they changed their pricing policies and started jacking up prices, we started shopping around for other solutions.
ISL Online does the job well. We use ISL to service our clients who run our Email Security platform for troubleshooting purposes and so far we've never had any outages or issues with this remote access tool.
Have been using it for over 5 years.

Cons

It's not as "Snappy" as Logmein Rescue but you can't have everything.
However have tried other emergency remote access tools and they are pretty similar in terms of responsiveness.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Not cheap but reliable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The ability for our technical team to quickly remote onto customers computers for a break \ fix session quickly, easily and with minimal fuss was great. Its easy for our customers to join the session, either by visiting our or ISL's website or simply by receiving an email.

Pros

Speed of access
Makes it easy for end users to connect
Works across lots of OS's
Ability to embed in your own website
Just connects, unlike some of the others
Persistent sessions, so overcomes reboot disconnections

Cons

Price - it is expensive for what it does, but it does it SO well.
Transferring a session to another technical team member can be awkward.
Multiple sessions by multiple users = Extra cost
File transfer process not the most intuitive + if there are files you regularly use would be great to have those constantly available

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Smart choice of Remote Support tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/23/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We do customer services by ISL Online daily bases in our on premisses environment, so we are sure that our customers data and connections are in our closed environment and not somewhere in the "cloud".

Pros

Clare and reasonable pricing. Tools you might need are there for remote customers support in different channels starting from Live chat integrated remote desktop to Conferencing tool letting to do a training or technical presentation to customers remotely.
ISL Online for sure the best Remote desktop software supporting multiple devices OS, so no need for any additional tool for PC, Tablet, Smartphones or even Smart TV

Cons

There are user interface not in all languages and it might be an issue with customers who don't understand available ones.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great mult-platform remote software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using ISL for over a year with both WIndows and Mac systems. The ability to control systems over the internet easily from any device is awesome.

Pros

Ease of use
Cross platform
Ability to group clients
Able to use mobile devices for control

Cons

This is based on internet connectivity so if the internet goes down at your location you are unable to remote into computers on the local LAN.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your message!

When using cloud service of ISL, when there is no internet connectivity you will unfortunately indeed not be able to support computers in the same network.

If you are using a self-hosted service however, it's possible to set the connections up to go through the internal network so they will work even if there is no connection to the external network.

Let me know if you would need help settings this up, either by sending us an email to [email protected] or by visiting our live chat on our website www.islonline.com!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Customer support with ISL

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/15/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its easy for our customers to give our support consultants access to their systems.

Cons

sometimes we can't connect to our customers with ISL online. The customer asks us to use teamviewer to connect

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

I'm sorry to hear you are having issues connecting to some of your customers.

We will be happy to help you solve the connecting issue, so you will be able to connect to any customer with ease.

If possible, please send us an email to [email protected] explaining what type of issue occurs when connecting to the customers (can't connect to session, can't start ISL Light application, ...)

You are also welcome to join our live chat on our website www.islonline.com so we can investigate this further

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Easy to use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/21/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The product is very easy to use. I have used it for many years and prefer it to other products I have used for a similar purpose.

Cons

Sometimes the user interface can be counterintuitive such as the chat window being the session window instead of the remote desktop window. There is no way to configure it so closing the remote desktop view terminates the session. Especially if one is on a pay per use coupon, the purchased 500 minutes can accudentally get used up by forgetting to close the chat window.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

The behaviour you described with the interface being counterintuitive is similar to the behaviour of ISL Light Desk, which is an older version of ISL Light. In the older versions, the chat was indeed the main window, but this has since been improved and in the newest versions of ISL Light, the session window is now the main window.

I suggest testing out the newest version and seeing if this does indeed improve the interface: https://www.islonline.net/download/ISLLight

Let us know if you will have any additional questions or issues!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Use of ISL

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/31/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy use, the product gives a good overview of all the servers and we can act very fast

Cons

Basic report is to narrow. We would like that we receives more reporting for the same price.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

We are currently developing some new features for the reports page, which will soon show the name of the computer in the list aswell, making it easier to see which computer you were connected to in a particular session.

If you have any requests which you would like to see added to the reports page (or to ISL products in general) please send us an email to [email protected] or visit our live chat on our website www.islonline.com!

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Isl Light very good product!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/29/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our helpdesk is way less time busy on a call... the overall support of our ERP-software is valued much better by our customers cause of the direct help we can offer.

Pros

We intergrated it in our own software solution, this is very easy with ISL. When a customer presses the option remote help needed, isl starts...
Our helpdesk only has to give a number and the session is started. That easy. we can help customers much faster now.

Cons

There are no real cons, we even asked ISL to intergrate our logo in their software and they did!
Now customers trust the solution even more... very helpfull product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Always satisfied

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use ISL Light since 2005. First as cloud solution later we bought the server solution with 3 simultaneous users to run it on an own machine. We use it for supporting people all over the world or having project meetings with people on other continents. We have been never disappointed by this software. It always runs fast, reliable and with a minimum of administration work.

The best thing on ISL was that we never had to wait a long time for getting a helping hand when we had questions or problems on moving the server to a new machine within our network.

I can highly recommend this solution.

Pros

It's:
- fast, even on connections over continents
- easy to use
- it runs on our own machine, so we never hand out secret information to a cloud solution
- has the best support people ever

Cons

It has lots of parameters to administrate. So when I log in once in a while to change a parameter it takes me some time to find the right entry. But in the end the online support from ISL has always has a quick solution or tipp for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great programm!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/8/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The possibility to open a session from any any computer. The easy use of it for me and the client. Also the transfert of files is very easy.

Cons

The resolution of screen is not optimal , especially when the client has 2 screens. What would be great would be the possibility to see the two screens of the client on two screens and not only two in one.
Otherwise, a little othger negative point is the chat that is not optimal. The Windows should be shown on screen as soon as we send a message and not only blink.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL Light Remote Desktop has the best set of tools

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

In an environment with multiple support engineers working from office or home to solve hundreds of multiple customers incidents on daily basis ISL Remote Desktop really shines! It's the most reliable, manageable and scalable solution out there.

Pros

- Very well documented;
- Professional Support;
- Compatible with most of Operational Systems and platforms;
- Scalability;
- User management full of possibilities;
- The best set of tools for remote access;

Cons

- The Price is up to the product you may say.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Gets the job done

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software does exactly what we need in order to support our remote customers.

Cons

Organising systems that we have installed ISL AlwaysOn on are a bit hard to manage in groups.

Response from ISL Online

Hello,

thank you for your review!

I'm sorry to hear that organising ISL AlwaysOn computers is proving to be difficult.

If possible, could you send us an email to [email protected] explaining your scenario?
You are also welcome to join our live chat on our website www.islonline.com

Best regards,
Domen Vidmar
ISL Online Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL Light Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/20/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have used ISL for many years. We run two ISL servers in our VMWare farm on Windows servers. Three things keep us renewing every year: User friendly, excellent customer service and stable application updates on the back-end. From an IT stand point, you couldn't ask for anything more and also remember, you're supporting the smaller companies out there against those pesky large corporations.

Pros

User friendly, great customer service, stable server updates.

Cons

Would like to see their webinar solution a little more modernized.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

The better price for better usage.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

For my customer with contract i can access to all computer quickly with allwayson. this is ulimited ! I can share access with other operator.
For my customer without contract, i use live chat and the remote control to share their desktop without code !
Finaly the most important : it works !

Pros

All in one service. You can find everything you need to support customers. It works on all OS.
All is ulimited !

Cons

You need to ask to support to customize the product, but they did it quickly ...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL Light - One of the best products that we've used

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/20/2019
Review Source: Capterra

ISL Light provides us with a simple to use approach to maintaining our client's business software, and updating their servers

Pros

Low file size and ease of explanation of connection process makes it straight forward to use in the real world when we can be dealing with a variety of levels of IT familarity.

Cons

Much the same as many remote screen sharing applications, they're unable to provide the native screen scaling that Remote Desktop Connection offers. This causes issues when working on remote users desktops, in particular servers, as the overall screen size can be drastically different to your own.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Reliable, simple and affordable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/30/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use the application to help our customers quickly solve problems or provide explanations. This saves a lot of time and convenience for the customer and us.

Pros

ISL- software has proven to be extremely reliable for many years, with secure and fast data transfer. The ISL-online application is more simple en userfriendly with more reliability and more security.

Cons

We can not do any points for improvement, it is a very good application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Upsides and downsides

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/18/2019
Review Source: Capterra

A great product, at times completely indispensable. easy to use, flexible, with a variety of tools at a reasonable price.

Pros

Ease of usage, even with most inexperienced users it is easy to establish a connection and manage user's issues. Many integrated tools at disposal - can check and control remote machine effectively, as well as doing installations within own domain, restarting remote machine. Great for remote help with applications and remote installations.

Cons

Slightly harder to manage more connections at once, but again, many connections at once are rare.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL Light makes support much easier

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/29/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We use ISL Light daily to support our clients and troubleshoot whatever issue they might have. It's an indispensable tool.

Pros

the software is very easy to use and it always works. we haven't yet experienced a downtime. and it's fast, the delay is close to none.

Cons

user management could be done better. can't think of any other cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

ISL replaced TeamViewer in our company

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/24/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- easy to use even for customers who are not familiar with the product
- zero issues with connectivity or speed
- simple configuration
- supports all environments we've encountered so far

Cons

user administration is a bit limited - can't add another administrator to an account using the admin panel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10