64 reviews

M1

Manufacturing enterprise resource planning (ERP) software

3,7 /5 (64 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,7
/
5
Value for Money
3,2
Features
3,6
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
3,7
72% recommended this app
64 reviews
Lauren B.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

M1 Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I use the software daily. Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

Pros

Once you understand the features and how to navigate, it is a fairly easy software to use. Information is easy to find. It is also easy to query for information.

Cons

There are not any modules available that we know of that can assist in training to understand the features that M1 has to offer. There are several features that we don't use. Features that we wish we knew more about are scheduling and the possibility of integrating a bar code scanning system. Our IT admin has been working on this with M1.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 201-500 Employees

M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros

All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons

Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Grant K.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Do not use M1

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

The implementation was extremely difficult with very little support from M1. We were told 6 weeks but 14months later it was working although still many unanswered questions. Then the support for real live changes has been terrible

Pros

Excellent promises by the sales people - they never eventuate though!

Cons

Support - they are the worst

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Todd M.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Lifesaver

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For us it was really the staff that made us feel at ease with out decision, from the salesperson to our implementer to the folks in support. They have really come through for us over the time we have used M1.

Pros

M1 has helped us track serial and lot numbers effectively and allowed us to streamline many processes across the company. Have used it for five years now, we rely on the data it generates to run our business in the most efficient and cost effective way possible. Our implementer took the time to learn our business and made suggestions on how the software could assist us in areas we had not even considered. We definitely choose the right software!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kody F.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We have been using this software for 10 years and I don't know how we ever survived without it.
Product Configurators really helped us streamline our estimating and planning processes.

Cons

We have tuned M1 to a point where we have very little issues. It took some time to really figure it out but we realized that the core system didn't really need a lot of the customizations that we thought it did.
I'm not good at cons...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pam G.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ERP made your way

Reviewed on 2017/09/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

This is a great solution for a small or med sized business that feels they are unique or different. The intergration with 3rd party software(s) that are commonly used by businesses looking for an ERP system, The add on modules are robust but some are lacking, such as the purchasing planner. With any software, each has something special about them and for me, M1 has a special niche in the software customizations and ease of use.

Pros

This is the most customizable ERP I have ever dealt with or implemented. Love, Love this as it easily can modify to serve the challenges of about any size company, growth rate, and experience levels. This is the best feature of this software.

Cons

The main con from my exoperiences has been the support personnel and the lack of knowledge of the product and the response. With that said, let me say that it is not complelely fair as the compaqny has experienced a rapid growth and with that comes new personnel and the years of experiences are just not there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marie R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Try M1 First!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We replaced Global Shop with M1. We like M1 because is quick and efficient. We are working on more customized reporting and moving to the newest version - very exciting for our company!!

Cons

Getting new downloads up and running is a little difficult. Hard to coordinate M1 Support with our outside IT Consultant

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Benjamin B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good ERP System

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons

It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Pierre P.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals

My experience with this product is positive

Reviewed on 2015/04/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons

Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bill R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Cons

Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Susan S.

M1 Review

Reviewed on 2009/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

This software continues to be extremely reliable. M1 is very innovative and always increasing the capabilities of the software by listening to the customers' wants and needs. We have been able to grow with this software and will continue to do so in the future. It was the best buy we have ever made in software.

Pros

Highly customizable to fit your needs
User friendly
Tremendous search capabilities
Great service staff
Highly reliable

Cons

Quality Module. Quality module lacks reports and some linking of data, however, we can create any report we need through Crystal Reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Phillip H.

M1 User Review - Metlink

Reviewed on 2009/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

I am certainly happy we chose M1 for our ERP software. It has been enhanced and updated in line with our own business growth. One of the biggest pluses for me is that it helps communication throughout the business. For example, any user can add comments that are then available to all users.

Pros

All modules integrate together.
One ERP system covers all areas of the business.
Ability to customise for special needs.

Cons

On older computers it can be a bit slow. Especially if you have multiple windows open.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nate G.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Great support, good product

Reviewed on 2016/09/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I very much so like the ability of user customization on tables and search grids.

Cons

Some things that I was lead to believe were not true about the capabilities of the product

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Carol C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

My experience so far with ECi M1

Reviewed on 2015/10/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Most expandable system for up and coming manufacturing companies that do mixed mode manufacturing for OEM equipment. Very complex equipment that requires many different disciplines of manufacturing.

Cons

I would like more training videos for standard usages and work flows.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rex M.

M1 Very User Friendly

Reviewed on 2009/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

I would definitely recommend this product

Pros

User Friendly, Easy to implement, easy to administer, very customizable

Cons

Weak Quality module, Poor Lot number capabilities

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sean F.

Bowen & Groves Review

Reviewed on 2009/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

strongly recommended.

Pros

Very intuitive, very customizable

Cons

I can't think of any.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Angie F.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I love how easy the modules link with each other

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Very happy. I'm glad I have been brought in a job that chose this software. Everyone that I've met and spoke with through tech support is helpful and personable.

Pros

The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly.

Cons

The lack of online inquiries through the internet from fellow users that might have experienced something that isn't typical to help others figure it out. This can be technical or a way to resolve a process issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marylou C.
Industry: Mining & Metals

Awesome product ~ even better implementer!

Reviewed on 2016/02/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Vendor has awesome support. We love how it brings all of our activities together in one program. We also like how we can customize the program to fit our needs since we are a very unique manufacturer that does many products under one roof. It has many 'cross checks' so we are making sure each department is doing exactly what they are supposed to which leads to accurate financials and job costing.

Cons

I feel like some of the modules we purchased were not fully explained enough or applicable to our usage. Fortunately, they recognized this and helped us to direct our purchases in a more advantageous direction for our business. There are also adjustments in the financials that everyone could benefit from and should not be made to customize it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark P.
Industry: Plastics

Installation of ECi M1

Reviewed on 2014/12/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This ERP software is very intuitive and very flexible relative to the previous software from Made2Manage that my organization ran for the past 24 years. The input of transactions is straightforward with minimal training, and searching for almost any data is substantially easier.

Cons

The only issue we've had any challenge with so far is with the conversion of our old Made2Manage data, which was an old FoxPro version into a pure SQL format. Some data came across easily, and some data didn't come across at all. We could have come up to speed running the new software much faster if we'd have been able to convert our M2M data in a more timely fashion.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amit G.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ECi M1

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

User friendly dashboard. Advance options for all the modules. one stop solution for all the resources planning.

Cons

Not enough features for multiple platform usage. Little Slower. No report modification format for user

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

David T.
Industry: Oil & Energy

M1 a change to a real system

Reviewed on 2016/02/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I will have to compliment the trainer and the ECI Conference held in Orlando. I felt that all areas were fully addressed. Obviously as time goes on, more comfort and trust is gain in the product. Having been on Sage previously, I like how this is a real financial package although it can be cumbersome at times. I still have lots to learn about the entire package.

Cons

There is no refresh button.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Glen C.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

No Support in Australia

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Due to the poor / complete lack or support and problems with the installation we are about to change to a new ERP system. This would be the worst investment my company has ever made.

Pros

No ad-dons, no cost for view users, i.e. unlimited clock card entry PC's.

Cons

Absolutely poor support if any. Referred to external consultants as ECi M1 could not supply technical support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Cassie P.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Six month build and implement time for a growing manufacturing company.

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The cost was extremely high although we were basically building our own system the way we wanted.

Pros

Completely customizable. Access to consultants who helped us decide as a team why or why we shouldn’t run something one way as opposed to another. They were very knowledgeable and insightful.

Cons

The consultants gave employees too much reign over the server and the potential to mess up the data base we were building. Their lack of support for the payroll module.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Frank L.

M1 does everything we need and more!

Reviewed on 2009/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

We are very, very happy with M1. There are many features that we did not know we needed or wanted until we tried M1. We have no doubt that M1 was the right choice.

Pros

Works as advertised or better.
Easy to train and use.
Fast and reliable.
Simple to upgrade and backup.
Very powerful search functions and grids are adjustable by user.
Customization is available to users with included tools and then adding Crystal Reports.
Easy migration from our other software.
M1 technical support is extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Cons

Nothing negative to say.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joe F.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very user freindly and functional

Reviewed on 2017/06/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ease of use and personal tayloring to your specific needs is great. The training offered is also a very nice touch.

Cons

Really could not find any cons the system has everything we were looking for. The only con that i can think of is that we cannot go live sooner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10