Kimble PSA Reviews

Kimble PSA

Intelligent Professional Services Automation

1.5/5 (10 reviews)
Peter R.

End-to-End Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/24
Review Source: Capterra

Implementing Kimble helped us with Resource Planning, Revenue Visibility and Forecasting, Increased Utilization, Time Capture. As a small services company, it forced us to really step up our game. But that's what's needed to grow...and not lose sleep due to guessing at resource availability, and also revenue/cost/margin projections.

Pros

Kimble lets you create templates for how you sell and deliver your services. You begin using it during the selling phase. Who will be your resources? What skills do they need? When will those resources be scheduled? The process follows all the way from the original proposal, through delivery, time and utilization tracking, and on through to invoicing. The unique thing about Kimble is that it's forward looking and forward planning.

The goal of any consulting company, and how Kimble is designed, is to reduce bench time and feel confident in taking on and planning delivery of products down the road. And as you do all that within Kimble you'll have a forward-looking financial picture as well. For us it's all about balancing the supply and demand. All project time, revenue, and costs for a project are mapped out for as far forward as your projecting. Usually you have extra FTEs doing just that work.

Take the time to do a proper implementation, and you'll need to dedicate plenty of time to testing all your use cases. There is a lot of knowledge transfer that has to happen, and we've had to resist the urge to rush through the implementation.

Cons

Not a dislike, but know that this is a tool to manage your business, and as such you'll want your delivery managers using it daily. You've got to engage with this product and it's process. If you don't, then it's just backward-looking time entry. Since you're reading this review I'm guessing you've had enough of that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Cian M.

Automating our E2E business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

Kimble has been fundamental to our growth. As we've scaled, it's helped us with tasks that were simple when we were only a few people:
- Understanding our sales pipeline
- Knowing resource availability
- Tracking project financials
- Month end and billing
- Recording client information and conversations

Pros

Kimble supports the bulk of our business, from first conversations with a client, to resourcing and from managing a live project, to invoicing. Kimble automates what would otherwise be laborious manual processes and rewards up front effort. For example, resourcing information entered during the sales process allows you to quickly find the right person for that role based on availability and skill set and consultant's timesheet entries become invoicable items that finance can quickly process.

Cons

The user interface could be improved. Kimble has a complex data structure, which makes it really powerful but somewhat confusing to the standard user. A friendlier, more intuitive interface would help users get up to speed quickly and properly benefit from the tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kieran C.

PSA that allows you to look ahead not in the real view mirror

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

We manage our entire consulting business in Kimble and could not easily run our business without it.

Pros

Kimble integrates really well with Sales Cloud giving us end to end visibility of our Sales Forecast, Revenue Forecast, Team utilisation, Project Billing, Invoicing, Project and Business Unit Margin in Real Time. We can look forward and see issues before they occur when we can still take action. The solution supports all our Pre Sales, Sales and Delivery operations as well as being tightly integrated to our salesforce platform.

Cons

Kimble has a lot of functionality and as a result it can be hard to find what you are looking for if you are not in the tool every day. It has a complex data model to support all this functionality which can make writing new reports trickier than on vanilla salesforce however Kimble supply a vast array of reports out of the box which address everything we need without building additional reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ingo R.

"Feature Rich & Powerful PSA That Supports Our Growth"

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

For us the most important functions are revenue recognition and resource utilization. Our current systems tend to view metrics in smallish chunks, utilization was inaccurate and based more on word-of-mouth. We needed a complete picture, most systems can tell you what happened, we need to see what "is" going to happen and how that will impact our revenues and personnel. Our growth is explosive and we need a proven tool to help us effectively manage it.

Pros

Functionality is complete and well thought out with the flexibility to meet all the use cases we could throw at it. Administration has been simplified albeit you need to familiarize yourself with some of the terminology first. Ongoing technical support was important to us, we didn't want to feel like it was a "a one and done" project and so far they have met our needs.

Cons

It's important to devote a significant amount of time to learning, practicing and testing during your implementation which has always been a pain-point for us. I wish it could be faster but I understand the flexibility of the application and our tribal knowledge of the PS team required the effort.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Emily G.

Thoughts on Kimble

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It would be great if some fields were auto-populated. For example, as a recruiter, I need to manually type in my name, my Business Manager's name, and location every time I create a new resource record. It should automatically fill these fields out for me with the ability for me to override when needed.

Pros

Kimble does what our Management Consulting firm needs it to do. It tracks opportunities and resources, and has reporting functions.

Cons

This software tool could be much easier for users, it requires tons of manual data entry which is very administrative in nature.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10
Peer A.

"best in market PSA"

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

easy billing process
realtime view on project success
easy to use time & expense
better organization of resources

Pros

all in one solution for ALL relevant business processes in a typical consulting company

Cons

would prefer if Kimble could highlight the most important and most needed features (update 2018: this became much better with the new user interface)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Bob B.

Poor experience for the implementation specialist

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Project management suite built on SalesForce that can make the project management experience great for a project manager. Give good overall view of different reporting aspects such as time based revenue reporting.

Cons

Painful experience as a project member. Trying to understand workloads and projected hours can be difficult with the generalize way of assigning hours to workers. Isn't a great for time management entry and can be difficult to report on hours.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Femi A.

Kimble is nimble

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Full functional Automation in a box, if you can flow chart any process you can automate it on Kimble.

Cons

I don't have too much of complains, but you need to invest a lot of time and energy to fully master Kimble

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Alex F.

Time and expense on mobile that works

Reviewed on 2017/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

Been doing all my time and expense via the Kimble app for 3 years. Love it. Intuitive and reliable - no more receipt keeping. Integrates perfectly with sales force.com

Pros

Simple UI

Cons

Could be a bit smarter to reduce taps - like defaulting today's date to expense claims!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Stacy C.

Awful ATS

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We use Kimble to track our applicants and all the stages they go through. I can't find anything good about this.

Cons

It's cumbersome, there are several steps to push a candidate through the process, and it takes forever to enter anything and save it. NOT A FAN

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use