Check_MK Reviews

Check_MK

Infrastructure & application monitoring software

4.7/5 (17 reviews)
Michael F.

Best monitoring solution you can find on the market.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

We deliver in a sequenced order in short interval parts to our customer (JIT/JIS). The IT systems are crucial in the supply chain to the customer. With check_mk we are able to alert an issue with this IT systems before it becomes a problem for the delivery process. check_mk is used in a highly distributed way at over 300 sites with one central configuration platform which allow us to quickly implement new monitoring solutions and standards.

Pros

check_mk is a very intuitive, easy to use and easy to setup monitoring system. It scales perfect vertically and also horizontal. it provides already a huge amount of monitoring functionalities for a lot of environments and it is quite simple extensible with own functionalities. Beside state based monitoring it has also a complete solution to integrate event based monitoring. With the Business Intelligence we are able to picture our mission critical processes in monitoring and able to simulate the impact of outages to the business.

Cons

The design of the front-end is a bit vintage style and is in hour highly distributed implementation somehow slow.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Marius P.

Best in-class IT Monitoring software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

With Check_MK we have visibility and insight into the systems and applications that power our business. We know the lifecycle and usage patterns of our systems thanks to Check_MK and this is really a powerful feature when making important business decisions regarding these systems. We do not have to do guess work, it is a matter of pulling up the right view or generating the report and looking at the details.

We have gained agility and gained operations performances by using Check_MK. In time it has showed to us usage patterns we were not aware of from that helped us fine-tune and optimise thereby reducing complexity/costs or both, it has provided us with instant fault-management and helped identify issues before they become critical as well as historical and trending information that help us budget and plan.

Pros

The software is very pragmatic and provides instant results. With Check_MK you get a solution that is focused on providing the absolute best in monitoring without getting bogged down into maintaining the solution or constantly tuning to keep it running.

Cons

There is nothing that comes to mind. The product does a wonderful job for what it is intended.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Rolf A.

Enterprise grade monitoring as it should be

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

- component based state monitoring:
-- all kind of servers (real, virtual; Windows, Linux, AIX, Solaris, ESX, AS400...)
-- all kind of network devices and appliances
-- full stack
- component based event monitoring
- monitoring of business processes by using the Check_MK business intelligence
- alarming via e-mails, ticketing tools, umbrella managers, SMS etc.

Pros

- Very fast and easy implementation
- Incredible low costs
- Very close communication with and fast feedback from the company behind Check_MK
- Almost complete API set for all automations need for an enterprise sized infrastructure
- Highly customisable, flexible and extensible by several plugin mechanisms
- A vast set of monitors already shipped with the product
- A very secure architecture
- A limit footprint on the monitored servers and devices
- No Java, no application server needed to run the product
- Much more, you have to experience Check_MK

Cons

To cut a long story short: to my and all of my customers opinions there is nothing to criticise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gerd S.

Complete monitoring for IT infrastructure of any size

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

We are monitoring IT infrastructure from UPSs over servers, hypervisors, network, SAN and NAS storage up to the operating systems and databases as well as SAP for over 80 customers with Check MK and have made excellent experiences with the tool, the technical support and also the user community.

Pros

Automates many formerly cumbersome tasks like the discovery of hosts and services (both agent based and snmp or proprietary APIs)

Offers a free open source version that packs the same checks as the enterprise version. 1700 checks for free is pretty sweet.

The whole system is extremely lightweight, 4 CPUs and 4 GB memory are more than enough for medium sized environments (~200-300 hosts).

Since it's open source you can always extend the system or look into the code to find out what it does on the most detailed level.

Cons

The available documentation on the website is sometimes outdated or incomplete (they are however aware of this and have made it a priority for 2019)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Felix S.

Perfect monitoring for heterogenous IT environments

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Monitoring complex heterogeneous IT environments and capacit management.

Pros

The best thing about check_mk is its ability to monitor all sorts of operating systems, appliances and applications in one central place. Combined with custom checks and performance data we are using it for monitoring as well as capacity management. The compatability to nagios and it's huge plugin repository made migration from classical nagios to check_mk very easy. We have been using check_mk for 5 years and are not planning to change that in the future.

Cons

The menu structure is unintuitive in some cases and the Web API does not make use of HTTP response codes (You get a 200 even if the call fails). The Agent output is not encrypted by default.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Roland S.

Monitoring has never been better

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

We scraped old nagios and HP solutions and use check_mk for everything related to monitoring since 4 years. Never looked back.

Pros

Avoids most of the headaches you get with the heavyweight solutions, that spend most of the time pumping monitoring data through a classical SQL database. Monitors eveything from network equipment, Power supply, Hardware, OS, virtualisation technology, databases, storage systems, backup and even modern stacks like docker. Also helps with automated SLA reports und software/hardware inventory. Great value for your money, there is also a community edition for tight budgets.

Cons

Because of increasing increasing popularity development of new sometimes lags behind.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Wolfgang G.

Monitoring that fits right into your existing infrastructure

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Fully automated monitoring, alerting and performance-management for > 5000 server/network systems. It was easily integrated in the existing infrastructure (cmdb, user-authentication, alerting-infrastructure).

Pros

The whole Check_MK environment has a very mature, stable foundation of supported checks and performance counters. Yet it grows almost on a daily basis. Support for new systems is being implemented very often and if you are willing to request it yourself, you can have it included in the core distribution in very little time. This agility really has no match among the larger competitors.

Cons

The Web-GUI could use a facelift, but this is already in the pipeline for the next version as I hear.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Matt C.

Lightweight monitoring program that packs a serious punch

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

Check_MK is a phenomenal monitoring program that is constantly improving while remaining flexible enough for customizing to perfectly fit your unique monitoring needs. With the ability to write your own custom plugins in Python there is truly nothing that can't be monitored according to your specification. The fact that it can do all this on a single core, 4GB of RAM Virtual Machine is mind-blowing.

Pros

Check_MK makes it very easy monitor your environment regardless of how large you scale it. By organizing you network into logical groups (folders) you can easily create a set of monitoring parameters (thresholds, alert rules, services to monitor, etc.) and any systems added to that folder automatically get those parameters applied. Need to change the CPU alert threshold for 5000 servers? Piece of cake; simply make the change on the folder and you're all set.

Additionally, Auto-discovery just works incredibly well at finding hosts and enumerating the services on your network hosts so that out of the box you have a pretty good idea of the overall health of network.

Cons

Up until version 1.5.0 the UI looked dated and navigation was counter intuitive at first. With version 1.5.0 they have overhauled the UI and it looks much better, but it could still use same layout changes to make it easier to understand and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Robert S.

A very good IT-Systems monitoring suite

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The service auto-discovery with the Check_MK agent and via SNMP. No need to configure every item that should be monitored manually.
The easy usable Web-GUI that also comes with an API for automation. But still everything is in configuration files that can be viewed and edited.
Views, dashboards, bookmarks, custom graphs and graph collections that can be customized.
Over 1700 builtin checks.
A framework where plugins can be integrated easily to extend functionality of the check engine and the web application.

Cons

There is really not much I do no like about Check_MK.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
David K.

Great monitoring platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

- Improve stability and performance of the monitored environments

- Happy users

Pros

- Low cost, excellent value

- Great monitoring feature set

- Broad range of monitoring plugins for a broad range of monitored systems

- Small system footprint; product is slim and performant

- Excellent scalability

- Quickly implemented

- Manufacturer support provided directly by experts

- Manufacturer is dedicated to his product

- Manufacturer is driven by what is helping his customers

Cons

- Some product features are not yet fully documented

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Christian M.

Most powerful monitoring solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/17
Review Source: Capterra

We have only good experiences with Check_MK. We use it in large environment without any issues. We like the huge community of Check_MK.

Pros

The distributed setup in large scale environments. The easy install and configuration via Web Interface. Interfacing to other products like Grafana or i-Doit. Powerfull API for automation.
The Rule based configuration is powerful very fast.

Cons

There are too many options to configure Check_MK.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Peter P.

Solid monitoring platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

I've been administrating check_mk for more than 3 years now. I honestly don't know better monitoring solution for huge number of servers. This thing scales insanely, notifications are customizable and there are integrations for every tool we use - slack, pagerduty, mail...
They have monitoring agent plugins for almost everything you need.

Pros

Notifications, scalability, integrations

Cons

User interface, Historical data browsing is quite bad (there is a solution for that though)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Thomas M.

Powerful tool with great support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Check_MK gives us all we need to monitor our server landscape. It's very stable and we did not notice major problems. It comes with a lot of useful graphs displaying current and historical data. It provides a business intelligence like feature, notofications, an event console and much more

Cons

Sometimes one might lose overview as the menus are quite "crowded"

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gernot S.

Perfect Tool for Monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

I started in 2016 with checkmk RAW, with no ideas for monitoring. af´ter 3 Years our checkmk is still in RAW but we are monitoring about 400 hosts and 12000 services and it works fine.

Pros

The easy Way to monitor the network and other hosts

Cons

nothing at the moment. Maybe the new theme is a little bit strange :)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sascha B.

Easy to use monitoring solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Availability monitoring
SLA / IT-Service Reporting

Pros

Autodiscovery and check aggregation
Availability monitoring

Cons

autodiscovery for hosts from VCenter or Consul

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Christian K.

Top monitoring SW

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The flexibility and the fine tuning possibilities

Cons

The difficulty to get into it. The user manual online is not complete.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best Budget monitoring software, but you get what you pay for

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

It's free, so that's great. You will sink more time into it to get it running as you like compared to other slicker monitoring programs, it's up to you if that's a fair trade off.

Pros

Lots of features and customization, very affordable

Cons

Overwhelming amount of options that aren't that well organized or explained, tricky to manage services and hosts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10