239 reviews

Trainual

Easy onboarding and training software for growing businesses

4,8 /5 (239 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
239 reviews
Maggie D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Decision we have made this year!

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Using Trainual we are able to organize the content with have and share it consistently with our associates
at all properties.

Pros

Trainual is simple, user-friendly and fits our business needs perfectly. We are in the process of switching over from training our teams inconsistently to organizing and standardizing our processes with Trainual and we couldn't be more pleased with the product and service.

Cons

We need more "getting started" support - starting with a blank platform is a bit overwhelming.

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the review, Maggie! Our L&D Lead will be happy to help you with onboarding. Just email [email protected] with any questions.?

Rhonda B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual Enabled our Agency to Systemize our Processes

Reviewed on 2021/03/15

My team and I are enjoying using trainual. Highly recommend!

Pros

I love the ease of use in setting up subjects, topics, and steps and adding users to subjects. It has changed the way our agency systemizes our processes and trains our team.

Cons

I would love the ability to tag subjects so users can sort by tags.

Response from Trainual

Hi Rhonda! Thanks so much for your amazing review. We're happy to hear that Trainual has been easy to use, and that it's helped to systemize your processes! And we appreciate the feedback on subject tagging. We're working on ways to improve our subject organization, so stay tuned for that! If you have any questions, always feel free to reach out and we'll be glad to help.

Kathryn B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Positive Experience

Reviewed on 2020/08/24

Overall my experience with Trainual has been positive and made policy and procedure writing a little easier and even fun!

Pros

Trainual has been great for getting us organized and having all our policies in one location. Assigning subjects and ease of use for employees has been really helpful.

Cons

I would like a signature page option for the agreements and handbook acknowledgement receipts.

Response from Trainual

Hi Kathryn! Thank you for the thoughtful review of your Trainual experience. We definitely understand your need for a signature option, and we'll be sure to let our Product Team know. We appreciate your continued support! Let us know if you have additional feedback or questions for us!

Sarah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So far so good!

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Our team has given us really good feedback about Trainual, and it makes a great first impression on new team members.

Pros

It's simple, pretty, and functional. No real complaints.

Cons

There are some nitpicky features and functions that I wish were available or that don't work quite the way I'd want them to. The search functionality gets on my nerves sometimes as it seems to load exactly the search result I'm looking for immediately but then a second later SEVERAL results load and the one I actually want (that's most relevant) jumps further down the list. If you are a speedy clicker and try to click it before the rest of the search results load (like me), it will take you to something completely different as the rest of the results will load right as you click. I do like that it *has* search functionality and when we have had to make wide-sweeping changes it is really nice to be able to hit the enter key and see not just results in whatever category you're in but in every aspect of your company. We have used other comparable software in the past and have never had true search functionality like this before.

Response from Trainual

Thanks so much for the great feedback, Sarah! I will be sure to pass this along to our product team.

Perry P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Changed how we grow our business

Reviewed on 2020/08/24

Incredible. I wouldn't be without it now

Pros

The ease of creation is immense. Tests really ensure the team consume AND understand what they are learning.

Cons

Hmmm I genuingley cannot think of any cons right now

Response from Trainual

Hi Perry! Thank you for taking the time to leave your Trainual review. We're so happy to hear that Trainual has been impactful to you and your business! Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have additional feedback or questions for us.

Renee U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual Review

Reviewed on 2020/05/14

Its a great overall training program for all of our staff to access. It makes it easier for us to hand over this program to new staff and for them to work their way through each module we make. Its a great system that we love using!

Pros

I like how easy the program is to use. It makes learning quick & efficient for all of our staff. It's also set out really well where we can pick subjects we need help with & get a step-by-step instruction guide. It's extremely helpful!

Cons

Nothing noted at this stage. Everything is very easy and straight forward.

Response from Trainual

Hi Renee! We can't thank you enough for the kind words. We are so excited to hear that you are loving Trainual and we'll be here to help out every step of the way.

Oleg P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All-in-one platform for processes documenting

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

It was not easy to find a service to write down all the processes to delegate and share them. To organize company's wiki.

Pros

Roles management and access levels, course/position tracks, useful templates.

Cons

UX and ease to use may be improved. But they are adding more features regularly.

Response from Trainual

Hi Oleg! Thank you for sharing your Trainual review. We appreciate your feedback about UX and hope to continue improving your experience. Please let us know if you have any questions or additional feedback for us! We would always love to hear from you.

Oryan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Tool, needs more flexibility

Reviewed on 2019/05/30

Pros

I love how easy it is for our employees to learn how to use it. new employees can just sit down at their desk on their first day and go through the trainual and be onboarded in an organized way.

Cons

Theres not a lot of flexibility in terms of look and format. I would love for the UI to be more fun and engaging so our employees dont just feel like theyre flipping through pages of text. I think typeform is a great example of engaging and fun UI that would be a great fit for trainual. Think turbotax also. We want our employees to enjoy training, but we are extremely limited in what we can manipulate in trainual.
I would also like to see more types of content than just text and tests. I want surveys, i want feedback forms, or at the very least, a non graded test.
I also would like to be able to generate a report of all the freeform test answers from a specific subject.

Response from Trainual

Hi Oryan -- Thanks for the review! We would be happy to hop on a call and discuss your feedback if that would be helpful. Just email [email protected] and we'll get that coordinated!

Michelle M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly so you won't pull your hair out

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

I love having everything in one place and organized into "need to know" sections when onboarding (both as a new hire and later, a manager). As a growing start-up, we were constantly adding to the training content, and bringing new superstars into the fold was easy because they're getting a consistent and thorough rundown of our company history, SOPs, and tools we rely on to function. BIG PERK: even as the Founder/top dogs get busier, the flow of information isn't disrupted for new team members. I wish Trainual existed years ago!

Pros

Simple user experience w/ clear navigation for both trainers and trainees, prompt response from Trainual staff if there's an issue, and it takes away the excuse of "I didn't know" as new staff onboards (the admin dashboard with progress reporting is magic!)

Cons

Nothing to note at this point. Any hiccups or new feature suggestions are always acknowledged quickly by the team...which isn't a bad thing at all!

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the review, Michelle! We're so happy to hear Trainual has helped your company train as you grow.

Zachary H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent product for building out your companies training program

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

its great we do enjoy using it and its really helped us a lot

Pros

Very easy to use and track progress. Also very easy to add and move subjects and sections from various courses to other courses. in other words easy to build and easy to reorganize when needed as changes in the company occur.

Cons

sometimes difficult in the way things are laid out, wouldnt mind if it were a bit more intuitive on the home screen for reps to navigate through

Response from Trainual

Hi Zachary, thanks for sharing your Trainual review. We're thrilled to hear that the platform has been helpful to your business! We appreciate your feedback about usability and will be sure to note it for our Product Team. Please let us know if you have any other feedback or questions!

Danielle B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Training Sote

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

It’s been a great tool for both our employees and managers. We’re really glad to have Trainual because it was our missing link. It’s the perfect to house ‘us’ for training and have a place for employees to refer back to when they need a refresher.

Pros

Trainual is extremely user friendly. Our team has been able to collectively use this site to help create new training for staff, onboarding for new employees, roll out new policies, and more.
We love that it can be branded, how everything autosaves, and the ease of us for our employees.

Cons

The only thing I wish this had is a way to order training for our employees. Some hires should start out with a different course than others, so we’ve been making our training schedules manually—however, it’d be great if the site came with a training scheduling system.

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the review, Danielle! You can your feature requests (like the awesome one about training order) to trainual.com/ideas.

Emily R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual cares about their customers!

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Took a bit to get going, as with any LMS, getting your outline and content in there is the longest part. Then once you get going, keep diving into the features to make your content even better. My overall experience has been really positive.

Pros

Really excited to use the Gusto integration. Trainual makes it easy to share knowledge with people on my team and get new hires up to speed, quickly. The new Google extension and search feature make it convenient for those already on-boarded, to reference a past article. They do a great job of being in communication with their customers regarding feedback and overall great customer service.

Cons

Newer software with some missing features, but the team is working to make them available and are even sharing a roadmap to let us see what features are in the pipeline.

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the review, Emily! Happy that you know about the roadmap, too. ?

Scott B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual is great!

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Trainual, although time intensive on the front end, has been a great tool for our company to further our goal of training our employees to provide exemplary service. It has allowed us to centralize company policies and procedures and make sure they are consistent across multiple stores and managers.

Pros

-Mobile App
-Ease of Use for learners
-Consistent training across stores

As a strongly seasonal company, trainual has allowed us to create consistency in training across stores for all of our new hires. This is our first season using it, but so far so good!

Cons

It takes a lot of time to build out all the training to begin with.

Response from Trainual

Hi Scott! Thanks for leaving such a candid review of your Trainual experience. We hear you when you say it takes time to build up front, but we're glad that it's been worthwhile and beneficial to your stores. Please let us know if there's anything at all we can assist with moving forward!

Violet M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual

Reviewed on 2020/05/08

Great

Pros

The program is very informative . It is very hands on and easy to maneuver through

Cons

I wished it worked on Android phones . Not everyone has i-phones

Response from Trainual

Hey Violet! We love that you have found Trainual easy to use and informative! We recently released an Android app as well that is now available to all users.

Julissa Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Another Satisficed Customer

Reviewed on 2020/08/31

Pros

The content takes you step by step and explains it so simple that anyone could understand.

Cons

Nothing I can complain about. The software is great.

Response from Trainual

Hi Zavala, thanks so much for sharing your Trainual review. We're happy that it's been easy to use so far, and we hope you continue to see its benefit. Let us if you have additional feedback or any questions!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very helpful for training, never got fully implemented

Reviewed on 2020/09/23

Trainual is a great platform for setting up training modules. You need to have content to make it work best, and have somebody who leads the implementation. Overall, it was a very positive experience with Trainual.

Pros

Trainual seemed like the perfect fit for training our employees across departments. We only got it half implemented before adopting some other tools, but I loved the start to it. The administration is straight forward and simple. The user interface is easy to learn and intuitive for users.

Cons

The setup required a bit more work than was ideal, not because it was difficult, but due to not always understanding where you were in the setup, what was published/not published, and what certain users had access to.

Response from Trainual

Hi there! Thanks so much for leaving your Trainual review. We're thrilled to hear that it's been easy to use, and we definitely understand it can feel like a lift up front. We're glad you gave it a chance and we hope it continues to be impactful to you and organization. Let us know if you have additional feedback or questions!

Clayton K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streamlined our Onboarding

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Super easy company to work with. We've been in touch about issues or bugs and have heard back inside the same week that their team had fixed those issues!

Pros

This software helps break down all of our processes into super-digestible steps for both new employees and current workers keeping up with current processes. Being able to include videos and screenshots is huge as well.

Cons

The only difficult part is having to type out all of your own processes!

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the review, Clayton! Hoping to have our templates live soon. ?

Jaime L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Tobacco
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for our small business

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Having this software opened our eyes to many areas of improvement. It allows the user to break down each job in each department. We have struggled with this for a while and this software has helped us identify and improve on our pain points especially for on boarding.

Pros

Very easy to navigate, they have sections built in to help minimize time spent on creating categories.

Cons

Have not found a reason to not like it so far

Response from Trainual

We're so happy to hear Trainual has helped your business document what you do! We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review.

Amanda R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use!

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Trainual has made it so much easier to implement global changes in training. Our old training practices took a whole day and were always interrupted by meetings, phone calls, etc. With Trainual we can take the courses on our own time, save and come back if needed, and make sure we really learn the material.

Pros

I like the way the courses are set up -- there's reading material first, and then a quiz on the material you just learned. It's easy to use and intuitive. The dashboard shows what courses you still need to take, and how far you are into completing each course.

Cons

When an incorrect answer is chosen the software will tell you that the answer is wrong, but not what the correct answer was. I believe this would be helpful in the learning process.

Response from Trainual

Thanks for the feedback, Amanda - Glad we were able to bring some flexibility to your training process!

Chris N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Weekly Training For Plumbing Contractor

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

Training and material. Guys lose material and guides. This program keeps it onsite and anyone could access it.

Pros

The program is easy to use. Once you have your content ready then laying everything out is super easy. By allowing the Techs to go back and look over at any time has made it very useful.

Cons

Nothing at this time. So far all features I could want or need is available.

Response from Trainual

Happy we could provide a centralized platform for your training, Chris!

Victoria I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Use Training System

Reviewed on 2020/11/19

Pros

I like that it gives you a percentage when you complete a course.

Cons

Sometimes it will take some time to load.

Response from Trainual

Hi Victoria, thank you for sharing your Trainual review. We're glad to hear that percentages have been useful! We appreciate your continued support and would love to hear from you should any questions or additional feedback arise.

Megan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trainual take off

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Pros

I like the ability to assign topics and exams and the fact that I am alerted the results and progress of employees.

Cons

I least like some of the set up restrictions

Response from Trainual

Hi Megan, thanks for leaving a review of your Trainual experience. We're happy that assigning subjects has been beneficial to your business! We hope you continue to see that platforms impact. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or concerns for our team!

Matthew S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Online Training Tool to Scale Your Business

Reviewed on 2020/11/30

Pros

The ease of use and testing features are great as are the auto layouts of the manuals.

Cons

Nothing ... it’s great. I’ve liked every feature

Response from Trainual

Hi Matthew! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your Trainual review. We're thrilled to hear that you're enjoying the platform so far, and we hope you continue to see its impact. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to help as you're getting started.

Suraj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great resource for our global teams

Reviewed on 2021/03/22

Pros

I love how easy it is to create new SOPs and onboarding training materials for our global remote teams to work through.

Cons

I would like to selectively turn off access requests as an admin for Trainual's that I have not created

Response from Trainual

Hi Suraj! Thanks so much for leaving us a review. We're happy to hear that Trainual has been easy for you to create training materials and house your SOPs. We're excited to continue working with you. And thank you for your feedback on turning off access requests for Trainual's you don't own. That helps us focus on areas we can improve on, as we're always looking to do so. If you have any questions for us, always feel free to reach out!

Miguel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/24

very good very easy to use and has an app

Pros

Great system easy to navigate and use and has an application for your phone or tablet

Cons

nothing its a very easy system to use no issues

Response from Trainual

Hi Miguel! Thanks for your Trainual review. We're thrilled to hear that it's been a great experience so far, and that you've utilized the mobile app. We're always here if you have additional feedback or questions!