Showing 34 reviews of 24

AppFolio Investment Management

Real estate investment management

4,7 /5 (24 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
Showing 34 reviews of 24
Will T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AppFolio IM Provides Tremendous Value at a Great Price!

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

The biggest benefits of AppFolio Investment Management are that we now look and feel more professional to our investor group, and implementing the solution was neither time-consuming or costly. On an ongoing basis, the platform reduces the time required to keep track of our growing investment and investor base, enhances our investor communication methods, keeps us closer to and more constantly in contact with our investors, and helps ensure data accuracy via integration with AppFolio Property Manager.

Pros

My investors love the portal and it makes my life exponentially easier versus manual and scattered investment tracking methods. My firm already uses AppFolio Property Manager, so it was an easy decision to add Investment Management, and the integration is seamless. We also felt that the price point was very attractive compared to other stand-alone programs, but without making any real sacrifices from our "must-haves." The customer support has been tremendous and I feel as if the software is continually evolving for the better.

Cons

Some features and functionality are still lacking, although the product team is constantly in contact for feedback and advice on new features. For some minor items, we had to create workarounds until newer functionality is fully built-out, but nothing has held me back from becoming fully operational in the platform. That said, we appreciate that the system is getting better-by-the-day and that we have a voice in future versions of the product.

Andrew F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product Development Team

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

Pros

Great user support and a very responsive product development team. The platform has robustly boosted our efficiency and streamlined our investor communications.

Cons

Like most platforms, a continuing work in progress; the development team behind the product is though, is on it... they are very responsive to user feedback and constantly adding and enhancing features.

Peter G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

On the way to a great product

Reviewed on 2020/12/07

We got rave reviews from many investors. It is a great platform and (still as of this review) costs a fraction of the leading products out there who have a few more features and are a bit more mature. However, AppFolio has been awesome in listening to reasonable requests which make the product better and hence they roll out new features often. This to me is very valuable. Try to have any of the 2-3 "leading elephants" move or change something .... Good luck. So I am very happy with the decision to go with AppFolio. It does 95% of what we need for 50% (or even less) of the price of the others.

Pros

- The Investor view is very good and easy to understand for the investor. Good overview with easy drill down.
- You can send out new investment solicitations from within the system
- Integration into Email

Cons

Still a bit rough in some aspects like file management, if you have A LOT of files. If you only have let's say up to 10 or so files per investment, all is peachy. You can have an endless amount of files, but it is not that easy to display. They are working of making that easier on the eye.

Raffaella D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Appfolio a great discovery

Reviewed on 2020/09/09

It is a great product which helps taking care of tenants and finances. I daily use it and the more I do, the more I like it.

Pros

I find easy to search everything in the top bar, the help center has been of great help during my training and solved every issue in a blink of an eye.

Cons

it is not easy to understand reports that split rents and prepayments. I wish there was a way to customize reports according to the data I need to get to fill out my monthly statistics.

George W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Centralized Platform

Reviewed on 2020/12/07

Pros

AppFolio Investment Management enables our firm to tie property management, accounting, investor reporting, and fund raising all into one platform in an incredibly efficient manner. Our favorite feature is the investor portal which allows us to keep our equity partners up to date on all of our properties. We love being able to offer our partners features such as this which prior to AppFolio would have only been available to firms much larger than ours.

Cons

We have run into very few problems with the software and anytime we identify an area of improvement the AppFolio Investment Management staff is quick to assist.

Jon P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Real Estate Investment Fund Servicing Software -

Reviewed on 2020/12/02

Our company is a smaller private real estate investment company, and have one fund at this time. We have about 100 investors in the fund.
This software allowed us to have an online presence for our investors, which is not perfect, but has been improving over the 12 months since we started using the software.
Software also allows us to take care of a lot of the back end accounting and tracking for our real estate investment, membership capital, quarterly distributions, as well as communication hub.

Pros

Cloud based
Built in CRM to track all client information. Can email directly from software to borrower.
Includes Investor portal that allows investors to track balances, history, transactions for investment account.
Appfolio customer service is great
This software works directly and integrates with Appfolio Property Manager software, which we have used for 8 years.
We have reduced our need for spreadsheets for tracking purposes by about 80%
Ability to pay, reinvest, distribute, track dividend payments right in the software- we do this quarterly, so this is a big time saver.

Cons

Improvements are needed as far as ability to customize certain areas of the investor portal, and the investor statements.
Ability to add, or remove information, headings, titles, categories from investor portal and investor statements.
Appfolio does take support requests seriously and has made some adjustments based on recommendations.

Brian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software you can shape...

Reviewed on 2020/11/20

Pros

While AppFolio's Property Management software is the industry standard, they've only recently introduced their investor management software. With this you get the resources of a juggernaut with the nimbleness of a startup. We've been using AF for over a year and have seen the UI grow by leaps and bounds. For us the 2 greatest aspects of the platform are the ability to request features, edits, requests (big or small) and actually see them get implemented. The other is the customer service. Hands down the best experience we've had with a software provider. Their responsiveness, knowledge and overall thoroughness is critical. Pair all this with a reasonable price and you can't lose.

Cons

Whatever bells & whistles other providers may offer....AF has either implemented them or has them on their horizon.

Natalie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing Experience

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

Once we are completely on line this software will allow all our investors to be able to see what is going on with their investments and will cut back on the calls I receive.

Pros

The investment features are very important to our business and upon educating myself with the help of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Team and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we are working toward utilizing the software and also having all of our investors use it. An amazing software that is transitioning as needed.

Cons

The only real problem we experienced was our upload that did not work due to comas and periods in the upload. I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] a lot with getting this process completed. This is minimal to the need for this type of software.

Jeremy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greatest business enabler so far

Reviewed on 2019/06/01

We were using email and conference calls to communicate investment information previous to AppFolio IM. Every time we had a call or sent an email different content was shared and it was a labor intensive process that we couldn't keep up with. Even worse, our accounting team managed investor reports via Excel reports which were cumbersome, time consuming to create, had errors, and we weren't always sure which was the latest version. Using AppFolio IM we can add all investors to a prospective opportunity and launch fundraising with one distribution... and we never attach files to emails that used to get forwarded far beyond where they were intended. And our accountants save whole days worth of time. In numerical terms, we have probably 10-20x our equity raise from the time we started to just 4-6 months forward. And we were able to hire new staff to help raise capital and know they could rely on our pushing information out through the portal consistently and quickly to their new prospects. We've quickly moved past 6-figure investors and well into 7-figure investors.

Pros

Very intuitive and user friendly from an administrator's perspective to get up and running quickly and with only limited time available. Our customers report back we are a stand out among peers and everyone has commented that accessing the site and using the features was simple. The support from the AppFolio IM team is unparalleled; they adapt the program in response to feedback and are always available to help answer technical questions. You never get a "help desk" type experience!

Cons

No complaints yet. New features are added all the time which is great. We are also a user of the AppFolio Property Management site. We evaluated many options and this was the easiest and quickest way for us to launch.

Morris G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Investment Management Software

Reviewed on 2020/12/03

Pros

It makes me much more efficient in what I do everyday. It has transformed the way I do my business and how interact with my customers

Cons

Can't think of anything. Appfolio is always improving the product....it seems almost weekly they and new features

Gary B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AppFolio is great

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

Pros

Easy to use. Intuitive. AppFolio team is very responsive and implements my feedback. Secure way to distribute K-1s and other sensitive info.

Cons

It's a new thing, so they're still working out some kinks and bugs, but nothing big.

Giulietta T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Time Saver

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

The initial experience converting data could have been better managed. We were provided with limited information and had to rely on customer service to get through the early stages. Our experience with customer service has been exceptional. They are attentive and respond back quickly. Over the past year we have worked with members of the different product teams. They have been able to adapt IM so it meets our needs. We have a few more outstanding items but with time we know these too will get resolved. Overall great product.

Pros

Saving so much processing time. Our quarter end process and K-1 year end reporting went from days to hours/minutes. It is so beneficial having all our investor information consolidated in 1 system compared to many separate excel spreadsheets. We also use AppFolio Property Manager and both systems work well together for accounting purposes.

Cons

Not having all the capable functionality available to us. We have an active fund and the functionality we would benefit using is only available to "New Offerings" The Investor Statements still need work before our company can utilize them.

Jerry G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Watermrq Capital Partners

Reviewed on 2020/12/08

We were very impressed with the smooth transition, customer service is outstanding. A big shoutout to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] always responsive and attentive to my concerns. A great team to work with!

Pros

The ability to be transparent with our investor and have all our investment history neatly in one place added a tremendous confidence that our investor have with our firm.

Cons

Would love to see more built-in option to make larger distributions.
Would be great to have more internal reporting features for current and past deals.

Karri-lynn D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Company

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

Easy to use, support is super helpful with a quick response time.

Pros

Keeps all of our investors, their information, their documents all in one spot.

Cons

When you are in for example investing entities and you are working with someone with the letter P and need to go back to S, you have to go back and scroll through the entire list.

Amy W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly and Intuitive Design

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

The onboarding process with AIM's team was incredibly easy and efficient. We've also received wonderful feedback from our investors regarding the owner portal.

Pros

AIM is extremely user-friendly, and the software's intuitive design made the onboarding process a breeze. The integration with AppFolio Property Manager also allows for increased efficiency and accounting accuracy. AIM offers a wide range of functionality without over complicating the backend process. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I could do in the software with minimal training.

Cons

The waterfall calculation could use some added levels of complexity.

Devin E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy we made the switch

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

Pros

Pricing, ease of use, responsiveness of support

Cons

Digital signatures were very basic when we started, they have since been improved

Frank K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Real estate portal

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Pros

Great customer service! Administrative burden significantly reduced through on-line portal with electronic signatures on documents.

Cons

Could improve the ability to remove investors and put investments into active status.

Jerry G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

great investor software

Reviewed on 2019/10/07

Pros

Appfolio being new to this field gave us leverage and flexibility as we already used their property management software. Since we started using the software in March they have made dozens of changes to add additional features and features.

Cons

Basically, nothing as we new to automating investor management

Atticus L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding Product

Reviewed on 2020/05/19

After spending an hour or so driving the features with the assistance of an AppFolio representative, it became easy to use and navigate. Whenever I have questions I receive thorough answers promptly, which is very helpful.

Pros

Easy to use, investors love it, and it is a great and efficient way to communicate with investors and distribute tax information.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to send emails from a no-reply address, but not a big deal, and Appfolio is constantly improving the features and functionality.