39 reviews

ECi MarkSystems

ERP software for home builders and construction businesses

4,2 /5 (39 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
87%
recommended this app
39 reviews
Joshua H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2011/07/11

version 3.1001.3

We build just over 100 homes a year and are anxious to do more. We transitioned to Mark Systems from Quickbooks and spreadsheets. As a growing company, those tools were weak and were a serious burden to our company, so we looked at home building software and decided on Mark Systems. It's an understatement to say that we needed a new software system (we weren't even using purchase orders at the time).

The implementation was difficult but that was due in large part the the fact that we were unorganized. Basically, it would have been very difficult no matter what software we chose. It's taken about 12 months from when we started using the software to utilize the majority of the programs/functions available to us.

Customer support is excellent and this is really important to us, especially since we are new customers with new software. You can imagine that at first there are many questions that come up.

This software will give us the tools to grow beyond our market and still have the control we want.

The biggest issue I have with the software is the ease of use and visual interface. I've used a lot of operating systems and programs and Mark Systems has their work cut out for them. In general, there is a lot of work to do in this department but in particular the sales system (including tracking contacts) and reports. Yes, they work, but it's not intuitive.

One feature I loved and miss in Quickbooks was the widget showing bank account balances on the home screen rather than pulling reports.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It has all you need

Reviewed on 2020/07/24

It works for what we need it to do and is relatively quick compared to others.

Pros

It is completely comprehensive and covers everything from estimating to scheduling.

Cons

The user interface is very basic. It feels like an old windows program.

Patrick J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2012/08/31

The fully integrated platform for Integrated Homebuilder is extremely powerful in connecting all operational facets of our organization. We have been live on the system since January 1, 2012 and have been able to internally handle a 40% increase in our starts with the same backoffice staff. We look forward to further developing our use of Integrated Homebuilder throughout the company as we move ahead.

The ITK portal for our Trade Partners and Field Managers has revolutionized the way we communicate with our Trades. There is a learning curve for all users, internally and externally; but once the user understands the setup and how to get the information, it is easy to navigate. Implementation is a significant undertaking, as in any software startup, make sure you have the buy in at the highest levels in order to get the needed data from all areas of the organization. There are many things we discovered once we went "live" that would have impacted how we set up the original data during the implementation and data gathering phases.

Overall, we are very happy that we took the plunge last year and invested in Integrated Homebuilder. We would not have been able to handle the business growth we experienced this year using our old systems software packages unless we added significant overhead to our company.

Daniel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mark Systems Review

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

I love using Mark Systems and working with their staff. We have never been able to keep track of our cost better

Pros

I like most about this product that it allows us to build estimates for custom houses and custom options

Cons

Not all reports allow you to select all or selected companies to print. We have about 10 different companies and have to print some reports one at a time.

Tom V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2011/07/08

We have been users of IHMS since 2002 and remain happy that we made the move.

We were using a program that had strengths in general contracting but was difficult to use for homebuilding. We identified 3 potential products after our first phase of due diligence.

We chose Mark Systems for many reasons. First, it truly is integrated under one roof and supported by one organization that stands by the product. Secondly, the overall cost control functionality was impressive. Controls and safeguards going from budgets to contracts to work orders to approval using the Internet tool kit works wonders.

Having vast control over the options is very important to us -- from having only options available to the particular plan to adjusting selling pricing in group ranges to ensuring all options chosen are paid for and paid to the subcontractor.

All newly acquired software requires a learning curve. The support staff at Mark Systems are always pleasant, available and knowledgeable. They have low turnover, if any, and we have been able to continue relationships as we make progress, adding software features to our operations.

Matthew S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Homebuilding Software on the Market

Reviewed on 2014/10/16

Pros

It incorporates all aspects of homebuilding into one system. It allows me, as a purchaser, much greater control of how I buy, and it allows a small amount of people (overhead) to manage a large number of builds in a given time.

Cons

Not much. It takes some time to implement and get over problems as you transition, but it is well worth the effort.

Amy I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I appreciate that IHMS is always looking to improve their product.

Reviewed on 2014/10/16

Pros

I appreciate the support IHMS provides. They are always very responsive and helpful.

Cons

I have had frustration with warranty reports in the past, and the tedious process of exporting the data into Excel. However, the recent enhancements have addressed those issues, and the reporting is now much improved.

John E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

IHMS Review - Estimator

Reviewed on 2014/10/15

Pros

Entering in new takeoffs is pretty easy.

Cons

The inability to easily process changes (the idea of stage-releasing as the only way to catch late-addition selections). And I don't like the idea of releasing a house without being able to review/adjust everything beforehand.

Beverly B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IHMS Review

Reviewed on 2014/11/03

Pros

I love the fact you can access everything in one software product.

Cons

It's not iPad-friendly. So during selections, we are handwriting their colors in a Word document and then inputting them into IHMS.

Stacy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My review of IHMS.

Reviewed on 2014/10/16

Pros

The software is very logical and easy to follow through the steps to accomplish a task.

Cons

Up until recently, it was hard to get a person for support.

Derek P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A somewhat decent builder software, but not 100% reliable.

Reviewed on 2014/10/09

Pros

I like how fairly easy it is to learn the basics of.

Cons

It isn't reliable. Almost every house we build has a random Work Order that was never issued. And it varies by trade. It isn't predictable, and nobody at Mark Systems can explain why it happens, but it does.

Brad M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2012/09/08

We are a semi-custom production home builder in Montana. We build unique, affordable green homes, in a community setting. We have been using Integrated Homebuilder for two years now. Previously, we used five systems to do what we are doing now with just one. We wanted to consolidate from these multiple systems to one database, and we were looking for a solution with web portals to allow communication between owners, trades, field staff, and office staff. Integrated Homebuilder has an Internet Tool Kit that accomplishes this well.

The Integrated Homebuilder team helped us through a structured implementation plan. We were up and running quickly, about 2-3 months with all data gathering, and in person support at the beginning and end. They offer wonderful support from a well trained, kind and responsive staff, customer support has been exceptional.

No software is perfect, and Integrated Homebuilder has room to grow. The system is built on a solid foundation of homebuilding best practices, refined over many years. Accounting, Job Cost (including variance tracking), Purchasing, Options Management, Scheduling, Sales, Warranty, Portals and more are all included. They're all linked together in a single database that adds significant benefits to homebuilding companies that use the system. The management team at Integrated Homebuilder is genuinely pursuing continual improvement, and is moving this product forward in exciting ways. They listen to their clients, to everyone's benefit.

After two years with this software, we are still confident that we made a wise choice for a technology product and partner to power the bulk of our operations. If you are a homebuilder looking for a great system to manage the entire homebuilding process with full support, you will certainly be pleased with the Integrated Homebuilder team.

Ron O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2011/07/15

I have used Mark Systems IHMS since 2002. Working as a Controller for three separate Developer/Home Builders, I used Masterbuilder and Timberline software prior to Mark Systems. I am so thoroughly sold on IHMS that I started my own business as a consultant to Home Builders who use Mark Systems.

It is the only construction software I found that integrates all departments in the business and reduces overhead costs while at the same time improving reporting. With a current builder I consult, we have gone from a stressed working group to a team that wants to expand operations into new markets. I worked with them on their conversion to Mark Systems when they were closing thirteen homes in a month. Now a year later they are managing without the stress and looking to grow.

Mark Systems continues to improve their product with the latest version IHMS3, a Java-based system.

Leon W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Eagle Purchasing

Reviewed on 2014/10/15

Pros

Extremely flexible. The software allows you to make it work for you and your business. The vendor is always open to suggestions and willing to work with you to benefit you the most.

Cons

There are slight inconsistencies. 1) You're not able to use the down arrow with the drop-down tabs. 2) House information isn't in the edit window for PO/WOs. 3) It doesn't allow for a review of PO/WOs between the point of generation and release. 4) It doesn't allow for a PO/WO to be put in a holding Status or under review so that it isn't moved forward in the schedule progression.

Tom R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Accountant approves of Mark Systems IHMS

Reviewed on 2014/10/09

Pros

Everything is interconnected, and reports and entries move seamlessly between modules.

Cons

I wish the custom reporting writing function was a bit more enhanced, particularly with mapping the source information.

Ayush C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very productive tool for homebuilders and property developers. Recommended.

Reviewed on 2018/03/26

Pros

1. I liked the UI and Specifications. Very fast even with slow RAM.
2. Liked the Customer Support. Helpful

Cons

Very good if it can automatically pull and update prices from Big stores and show in Dashboard .Currently department has to put everything manually . Automation is always good.

Amy R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Setup is difficult

Reviewed on 2014/10/10

Pros

The potential for the product is amazing, and I see that potential always.

Cons

Setup has been very difficult, and we received a lot of bad direction throughout the process. We are two years in and are redoing the setup for the third time to get the purchasing and job costing area correct. Support has been inconsistent, and we get different answers and advise from different people.

Valerie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Lack of training

Reviewed on 2014/10/31

Pros

I like the fact that the entire company is tied together under one program. The vendor appears responsive.

Cons

Set up was not done properly, and we have spent the majority of time since up and running fixing issues. There is a lack of training for all employees.

Heather P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MarkSystems - WoodFalls Development

Reviewed on 2020/01/08

All information is real time on MarkSystems. This makes our Purchasing and accounting run and function smoothly.

Pros

What I like most about MarkSystems is the fact that I only have 1 software that I am using for scheduling, budgets, Purchase Orders and Invoicing. Prior to MarkSystems I was working out of 3 different programs.

Cons

What I like least about MarkSystems (More of an ITK issue) is that the VPO's are not able to be emailed to vendors. Most of our vendors are not sitting at a desk so an email on their phone would be beneficial to speed up orders and processes.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Thank you for your recent review of MarkSystems! We appreciate your feedback and have forwarded on your comment about VPOs to our product team. Thanks again for being a MarkSystems customer.
- the ECI Marketing Team

Tripp H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2012/10/31

Main Street Homes is the largest privately owned home builder in the Richmond, VA area. We have 5 furnished models in different locations around the city. Approximately ¾ of our sales come from visitors to our model homes that want to select their floor plan from our portfolio and add features from a list of predetermined options offered.

We were looking for a completely integrated software package to manage our prospects, contract implementation, buyer’s standard feature selection as well as special request, purchase order system, construction scheduling, trade communication, accounting, warranty and managerial reporting to replace the software and many spreadsheets we were using previously.

The Mark Systems folks were instrumental in the setup and early operation of the system. Training was provided for each department both onsite and through webinars that allow employees to be up and running quickly. Access to key support personnel at Mark Systems specializing in the variety of disciplines required to operate our business was provided to minimize any disruption in the flow of information and process should a question arise.

We are presently on version 3.1101.2a. Our goal is to use every aspect of IHMS from prospect registration to final warranty service recording through the buyer website. Presently we have 60+ jobs in the field with 20+ active subdivisions. We offer 30+ models with an average of 3 elevations each and over 1200 options. IHMS reporting allows us to analyze all aspects of our business including the profits on a base house w/ options separate process.

The constant R&D has provided the improvements for both operational and functional efficiency. MSH has realized benefits that allowed us to streamline some of our processes which has increased the capacity of employees.

James A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kartchner Homes

Reviewed on 2014/10/21

Pros

I like the awesome support and continued updates.

Cons

The price tag is hefty. This software is worth the price I'm sure; it's just hard to stomach the cost.

Sean W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

IHMS review

Reviewed on 2014/10/28

Pros

All my information is on my iPad. There's no more searching for plans and work orders.

Cons

It's very slow to bring up individual POs thread for approval. The calendar is very jumbled and difficult to read.

Ken M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

K2C Building

Reviewed on 2016/12/07

The product is nice - longer learning curve was needed when it comes to making roof lines and 3d walkthroughs.
Stairs were a bit tricky too.

Overall the product is nice and was beneficial in terms of designing the home(s) and presenting the designs to customer(s).

Pros

Ease of installation and 3d capabilities.

Cons

WISH PRODUCT would be able to pull prices for items from big box stores (Menards, HomeDepot, Lowes) to help calculate material costs. Right now it is a lot of effort to enter these costs manually.

Aaron E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise Software that Scales as you Grow

Reviewed on 2020/01/13

Growth is very important to our company and this software has allowed us to grow beyond our previous software solution. We are continuing to grow and the software will scale with us, but as we grow our needs are expanding as well. Mark Systems will have to continue improving it's ability for management to have visibility into it's data for it stay relevant for us.

Pros

Cloud based.
Completely integrated builder software.
Customization.
Online portal for inside and outside users.
Ensure strengths of internal controls.
Complex internal cost tracking system.

Cons

Does not have metrics or dashboards included that can help management.
Some of the interfaces for entering data are slow and a little encumbering to use.

Kathy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mark Systems Review

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

Pros

We like that the software is allows us to go from cradle to grave.

Cons

There is nothing that we like least about this software