24 reviews

IFS Applications

Enterprise software for medium to large firms.

3,8 /5 (24 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,8
/
5
Value for Money
3,3
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,3
Customer Support
3,3
67% recommended this app
24 reviews
Burak C.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

IFS Applications is Perfect

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

IFS Applications can be added into Microsoft Excel as an add-on and creates a separate tab of its own on Excel. All the reports that have been generated through IFS is customizable and transferrable to Excel as well.

Cons

There are not much cons but sometimes generating a report takes some time and if there is a slight connection lost, it becomes too slow and there is no stop/execute button to stop the action.

Response from IFS

Hi Burak,

Thank you for sharing your experience of using IFS Applications. Your feedback is highly valued here at IFS.

Kind regards,

Rebecca
Global Reputation Specialist at IFS

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

IFS user since 2008

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

As with any ERP, the best way to evaluate is to talk to other companies that use it. Make sure that you talk to the users, not just the IT department or the ERP owner.

Pros

Most of our departments are using it across the company. Financials, Manufacturing, Maintenance, Sales, Logistics, Engineering, etc. Good integration options and nice programming interface. Lots of development resources to continually make improvements. Last major version seemed like the biggest one so far.

Cons

Like many ERPs, the user interface has lots of things that users will ignore or IT has to hide. If you have a weird process that isn't the norm in the industry, it will take more work to implement it. Support has room to improve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Bryanna A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Consider everything during implementation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I think IFS is a great tool for mass producers but if you custom manufacture anything then this is not the software for you. IFS works best for a standard product list with very little change. There is NO method for archiving information like a product option, customer, supplier, etc. so once something is entered in the system it is there forever and available as a selection. If your business has very little variables then this is probably the right system for you.

Pros

Good training options, support response if fairly quick. Once you learn to 'think like IFS' navigation is pretty easy.

Cons

Inflexible configuration and really only geared towards specific business types. Our custom manufacturing makes it really difficult to use many modules of the software adequately. There are a lot of things our implementation team either didn't adequately consider or configured incorrectly and we've been paying for it for a decade. Nothing is easily updated or changed and options in a drop down (or list of values) cannot ever be archived. No workflows exist in the system and permissions setup is a complete nightmare.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Tj H.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

IFS Applications

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I would definitely recommend IFS!

Pros

IFS Applications software is very intuitive and very easy to use. There is so much functionality available in the software and the great thing is, if a field is missing on a certain screen, it is easy enough to create the field that either references another field in the database, or is a free form field allowing you to enter whatever data you want into it.

Cons

I really cannot think of anything that I do not like about the software. Occasionally, there is some data that I would like to see on a certain screen, but if it is not there, it is easy enough to add it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pavan P.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

This management system offers a wide variety of features and support to streamline supply chain inefficiencies

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ability to track, locate and edit multiple stock sites within our warehouse. The ease of the search feature when searching for specific items, for example: tracking maintenance work orders not only by who the mechanic was who performed, but down to the minute by minute tracking of progress.

Cons

Search queries take long at times, and when they do take too long there's no "cancel" feature. This prompts several people to simply hard-close the program and reopen instead of waiting for the program to load. At times the program also freezes if too many features are accessed at once.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Megan A.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 2-10 Employees

IFS - interface with 17 countries

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

IFS was a great software choice if you have multiple countries that you need to consolidate. The reporting module allows you flexibility to create reports.

Cons

There was a longer learning curve with IFS than software I have used in the past. When you are dealing with multiples entities there are many steps that you need to go through.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bryanna A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

IFS User Review

Reviewed on 2016/09/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Once you are comfortable working in IFS it is very easy to navigate.

Cons

I don't know if IFS was the right choice when we selected an ERP, but after the time and money invested it is what we're 'stuck' with. Our product and processes are so specialized and IFS doesn't really work well outside the box.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Sara C.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

IFS is a very robust software.

Reviewed on 2016/09/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The vendor relationship is very good. I really enjoy the various user group meetings that are held. The product is fairly straight forward.

Cons

Our original implementation was rough. I don't feel like the consultants really understood our needs in order to help us move to our first ERP.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lee R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

A review from a Network Admin

Reviewed on 2016/09/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Once it is setup, it runs pretty smooth! I like that is a web base application

Cons

If I had one wish, I wish IFS could be either a SQL base or Oracle base product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Paul R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

IFS review

Reviewed on 2014/12/24
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The application is fairly easy to navigate through.

Cons

Too many windows and screens to use for one application.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Rich S.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Robust/Adaptable

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've never recommended any ERP system in my 25 years. I would recommend IFS. It is a solid system with a very powerful functionality and can be tailored to fit to almost any business environment.

Pros

Overall, IFS is a powerful system with a great deal of functionality. It is fairly easy to use, and to customize to specific company and user requirements.

Cons

The English used in the package at times is difficult to follow/understand. Customer support is well... Customer support and finding third party consulting firms is challenging, at least in the US.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jay G.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

IFS has been a great experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I would certainly recommend IFS to other customers.

Pros

We like the flexibility as well as the stability. IFS support has been great to work with. When we have worked with R&D, it's obvious that they care about the customer.

Cons

While it does not do everything the way we want it to, IFS is interested in making improvements so that it does.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff S.
Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

One stop shop application

Reviewed on 2016/09/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Includes everything from opportunity to product delivery. When implemented properly, there is no need for outside programs to encompass all aspects of your business.

Cons

Not always user friendly, too many times if you don't have real good knowledge of the areas you are working with, you don't know how to solve problems because you don't know where the missing/invalid data resides.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ebrahim A.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best for high volume information processing

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

User friendly
Open database structure
Ease of interface and integration
Ease of automation
Unlimited user-configurations and customized reports
Availability of a wide array of features

Cons

Extremely costly to buy and maintain
Slow customer support ticket processing
Unavailability of local support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jonathan B.
Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

IFS review

Reviewed on 2016/09/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

its ability to capture data and have historical records. I

Cons

the most trouble I had is searching for past data. once I got more experience it is easier.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer

I'm a new user, I've been using IFS since 6 month.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

It really is a gold mine for a business. Every department can work on a single software to achieve all the goals of a company.

Pros

What I like the most about this sofware is that there are so many possibilities,
Very complete software.

Cons

However, what I don't like about this software is that it is not easy to learn and to use at first.
For exemple, you need to create pick list, then print pick list, then keep the pick list number and go in the print manager to finally get the pick list... it is not efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jana V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Not Built As HRIS

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

There better options (value for the money) at the market.

Pros

Our company is using one of the IFS modules as HR management SW - storage of emplyoee data across the division (12.000+ employees).
The system is built for larger organizations, allows to keep history data, create multiple business entities and give access to different people for each entity.

Cons

Very low customization options, no employee self service access, no automated approval flows in the system, very user undfriendly interface. If you need a manual to be able to download a report, something is clearly wrong when it comes to UX design.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Lynne M.
Industry: Building Materials

IFS user Payroll

Reviewed on 2016/09/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

User Friendly, When help is needed they are available

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about the product. Easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roald B.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Bad advices from consultants

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Many functionalities that seem to do exactly what we want. IFS looks intuitive and together with the system manual you will be able to make some small steps yourselve.

Cons

Often bad advice is received, where the IFS consultants don't even know how their own system works. This ends up in our company investigating and testing ourselves how some functionalities work. Handling of bugs by IFS is not customer friendly, and even if they admit that there is a design mistake in their software it will be unlikely for them to solve it. Another big disadvantage is the lack of a large online, open community.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Ann S.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Consistently difficult for end users

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software has a wide range of features and it's proven possible to integrate it into our systems for proficiency testing; services are now tied to prepayment.

But the best thing about it is ceasing to use it for the day

Cons

As set up at this company, the user interface is appallingly hard to use and frequently generates incomprehensible error messages. Today's was "External projects must have an activity sequence" - on a pre-posting form that had _no space for an activity sequence_.

That seems completely typical.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Nain S.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Nice product and very user-friendly

Reviewed on 2014/08/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product is very user-friendly, and having loads of feature for power sectors. The most important thing is that it is easy to customize and easy to learn for users.

Cons

They take too much time for resolving issues and doing customization.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jolyane G.

Great software for multi-company projects and billing.

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

All modules are connected to one another which makes it easy for consolidations. The interface is quick and licenses are assigned to users which makes the software available 24/7.

Cons

I wish there were procedures or more support because we get alot of error messages and do not know how to fix the error most of the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Rafael L.

Fragrances market

Reviewed on 2015/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

It runs great for end-users, lean process, best technology and a powerful CRM and MRP.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dan C.

Reviewed on 2012/11/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our company has used IFS Applications for four years now. The user interface is unintuitive, arduous to use and navigate.

When our company first switched to IFS we quickly realized as users the software was not even on par with an alpha release and it has not become better over time. The IFS company will not repair shortcomings of the software unless be pay them a hansom sum.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support