Showing 33 reviews of 23

The VIP Test Modeller

Model-Based Test Automation. Create rigorous tests and data.

4,5 /5 (23 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
Showing 33 reviews of 23
Francis J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Integration with Test Modeller to accelerate lowcode automated testing

Reviewed on 2021/01/25

Test Modeller is a major accelerator in setting up automated test processes for clients and has a positive impact on the quality of the delivered applications.

Pros

Our company Omnext is working together with Curiosity to implement automated testing for clients in lowcode environments such as Mendix and Outsystems. Omnext is providing data about the lowcode application, which is imported in Test Modeller via an interface. Testmodeller provides seamless integration with external data sources. The capability to import external data sources and generate out-of-the-box automated test cases, which can be run in different testing tools is a major accelerator for the testing process of the client.

Cons

We have not experienced significant issue while working with Test Modeller. Omnext and Curiosity are working on further improvements of the exchange of data and other lowcode environments.

Robert B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Personal Review VIP Test Modeller

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

My experience with the VIP Test Moddeller tool is very positve. Its easy to learn, easy to implement and integrate and of huge value in the communiation with your stakeholder.

Pros

- the model based approach! Visualizing your test and business flows!
- the many ways this tool can be integrated in other tools
- the many develop languages its support to do automated testing
- The great great great support behind this tool!

Cons

The look and feel can be improved on some areas. But keep in mind, the tool has been developed in less than a year!

Marcel M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great help for our development proces!!!

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

I was using ARD before, but now switched to Test Modeller, because it is next level. Specially the test automation and recording part, are proven very helpfull!

Pros

- easy to use
- models help you to give good inside in quality of the software
- great support
- makes life more easy!!!!

Cons

- I had some questions, but by having contact with the support team.. all issues are solved. So, i in my case there are no open issues anymore :-)

Gareth W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The test automation tool you didn't know you needed

Reviewed on 2020/01/09

Pros

Test Modeller breaks down complex test scenarios into manageable and readable BPNM diagrams giving you a holistic view of the system under test, this really allows you to bring testing forward in the SDLC. Test Modeller doesn't try and force you to create tests using specific frameworks, allowing you to choose what framework works best for your company, Test Modeller sits on top of your chosen framework enhancing the capabilities and eases implementation.

Cons

As with everything Test Modeller is not a golden bullet, as a user of the software you need to invest time into learning the capabilities and some understanding of test automation.

Marius T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great test tool for testing AND analysis

Reviewed on 2021/01/20

Pros

I really liked the whole idea of the tool. You can start with a process flow and within each step, you can add more valuable data, cases, flows, etc to make it completely customized for your goals.
I am a business analyst and not a tester, but really like this tool because I can do the testing myself without needing the help of a tester.

Cons

Because of the complexity sometimes I got lost in all the features, but I also need more experience to fully utilize all the features

Prabakaran S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

VIP Supports in Testing

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

1. Worked with API and Database testing using VIP tool support
2. Also performed ETL testing

Pros

1. User Friendly
2. Automation result will be very Fast
3. Easy to implement
4. We can perform Even API, ETL, Database & Performance Testing easilty

Cons

1. Smaller changes may affect entire script.

John P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reporting of acitivty in a PSD2/Open banking Sandbox

Reviewed on 2019/04/18

We were implementing a PSD2 sandbox to support testing of APIs for a large bank in Europe. This required detailed reporting on activity within the sandbox. Using a simple interface to VIP Test Modeller we were able to simply ship request/response pairs across to the VIP Test Modeller. VIP Test Modeller then collected the information and enabled detailed or summary reports to be created based on the provided detail. An additional bonus we got from the data was that it could be used for problem diagnosis.

Pros

It was very simple to integrate our solution to provide a feed of information to the VIP Test Modeller for post processing for reporting purposes.

Cons

To date, we have not experienced any issues with the software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Early adopter on personal experience

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

The maintenance and visibility of testing effort for automation purposes quickly tapers off. With VIP it's much easier to maintain larger sets of scripts and just regenerate the tests. That saves a large amount of time when tests have to change. This quickly amounts of 20-40% of the time spent on existing tests that are reduced. This allows the teams to focus on what matters, as opposed to the earlier tested risks.

Pros

The ability to generate optimized test scenario's with a visual interface. This allows a very direct conversation with stakeholders to see what tests cover what part of the software and more importantly why.
Then overlaying Automation and Data elements allows for a much more sophisticated way of handling the maintenance within test automation and the regeneration of tests.
The integration aspect of handling everything and the ability to interface with Excel in the background to manage data aspects makes this very easy to interlock with existing tests and various other solutions

Cons

Initial easy to learn, hard to master. Modeling software is deceptively simple and can quickly add value but it's a bit more difficult to maintain models since any model is a reduction of the reality. It's very easy to tell somebody to use this but requires a little maturity to really drive home the value.

Patrick R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better quality tests with this must have tool.

Reviewed on 2020/01/14

TestModeller, with its model-based approach, focus on the models, test design and test creation. At the moment I’m using it for testing websites but you can use it for api, performance and more. Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests. Also, it is possible to convert the created test cases to different automation frameworks. With this product you also realize the importance of test data even more. With each run of tests, it is possible to start with a new set of data. Rich and production like data. It really helps you identifying the unhappy paths and lets you think what the system under test should behave.

Pros

You can combine different models. So, less testing but more coverage.
Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests
Rich and production like test data generation
Rapid test scenario creation
You know the test coverage and can choose different levels of it.
It can be integrated with all kinds of frameworks, software and more.
Really dedicated and enthusiastic team to work with

Cons

The product is relatively unknown at the moment.
It shouldn’t.

Sander O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation

Reviewed on 2020/01/03

MBT is hyper intuitive. Great support. Testmodeller is worth the investment for just setting up automated regressiontests yet it can be utilized as the commandcentre for your CI/CD pipeline.

Pros

What tools would you like to have on you when hiking through inhospitable environment? Preferably all of them. Test Modeller is the Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation in the harsh hyper-change environment of the 21st century workplace. Testdevelopment, testarchitecture, testautomation, synthetic testdata generator, scanner, scriptconverter, recorder and more. It's everything a QA engineer might need in his quest for quality.

Cons

You don't need to be a specialist to learn this framework, yet it's not as simple as it looks. You need to invest some time and experience to really get the hang of using this tool and all the possibilities it's offering.

Jonathon W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ultimate Toolkit for Intelligent Automation (AIOps) / GATED AI testing

Reviewed on 2019/04/16

After evaluating a number of different tool vendors, Volo.ai selected Curiosity software as they provide next generation capabilities that leading vendors (i.e. Magic Quadrant) was unable to provide our landscape is testing next generation A.I platforms (e.g. Neo4J, OpenCV, Kafka / Zookeeper, MongoDB, VectorFlow) which other vendors had limited native support for any of these technologies.

The ability to generate A.I. ready test data lakes to help train and prove our algorithms and the ability to provide test data coverage and built in code dependency analysis was a game changer.

Pros

Ease of use, SaaS based modelling (MBT) capabilities, powerful robotic process automation (RPA), synthetic data generation across the platform, automatic generation of functional / non-functional artefacts (e.g. selenium, restassured, taurus, wiremock), extensive support for continuous delivery & deployment (i.e. Jenkins CI/CD) and ChatOps toolchains (i.e. Slack).

Cons

Lack of current support for container technologies (i.e. docker)

Jerome S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Video Tutorial

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

fine

Pros

It seems good to watch this video tutorial. Its easy way to under stand the flow like how to create and how to map the values etc..

Total I would rate this VIP to 3/5

Cons

Must have all videos with full set like how to add test data.

for instance: I have tried to create an automates script with this modular with the help of the video and one point I have created and mapped the variable and generated the script. but we don't know how to run. late we became to know to use the server but we didn't see the such a explanation from the videos. we would suggest to explain with set of video.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Jerome, thank you for taking the time to review The VIP Test Modeller, and for suggesting new tutorial videos.

We are constantly adding to our online library of on demand resources, and will continue to do so. In the meantime, I think that we have some videos that should be useful to you.

Video instructions on adding test data can be found as part of the following training course: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-101-videos/

Instructional videos for running test scripts and setting up the automation server can also be found in this knowledge base article: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-102/

Thanks again for taking the time to review The VIP Test Modeller!

Tomas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rapid modelling and automation

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

Pros

Lots of supporting material, e.g. videos, guides and tutorials - including a self-paced online training course.
Plenty of options for integrating with your existing CI/CD pipeline (e.g. Jenkins, Azure Devops, Jira).
The many accelerators in conjunction with the built-in Selenium wrapper enables rapid experimenting.

Cons

It's hard to find in-depth documentation for some of the concepts and options available

Sean R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great features, easy to implement and use - Exactly what we were looking for

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

Analysis and reporting for a specific project, but i can see us using this for other requirements in future projects.

Pros

The tool provided the exact functionality we required for a recent project. The Test Modeller was easy to integrate with our own delivery and we were given fantastic support from the team where customisation and advise was needed. The end user is very happy with the result and we have had no issues with the implementation.

Cons

The tool does come with a bit of a learning curve, but i wouldn't really consider it a con given the range of features and what we were trying to achieve. Any queries we had around implementation were quickly answered and explained by the support team.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A robust and versatile model based testing tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Pros

1. Ability to integrate with any given test automation framework
2. Quick ramp up time - with a minimal training a user can start operating the tool and build models
3. Have a test automation framework of its own
4. Can build automated tests for web based and backend appslications
5. Ability to automate performance testing

Cons

Would be good to have more training videos to help users gain knowledge on its versatility

Pothiraj T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software for Test Case and Test Data generation

Reviewed on 2019/03/07

Pros

User friendly
No more automation skill requirement

Cons

Nothing to say
Some technical skill required

Narayanan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Process automation at its best

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Pros

The very idea of automating the process is quite captivating. Adding icing to the cake is the visual modeller which helps to model the process easier and the ability to import from standard formats is a bonus.

Other than automation VIP helps to streamline testing process by supplementing the test data generation. This will help to produce better quality test cases which are easy to produce and maintain.

Cons

The learning curve is not steep thanks to video tutorials and the Trello board. However the knowledge base articles are not easy to navigate to and fro especially when you like to start reading something which are arranged in sequence of articles.

The forum and community support seems to be missing at least to me. All the questions during learning phase and trivial issues cannot be answered by support always and having a forum which will address this will help a lot not only to generate new ideas but also to minimise FAQ and request for clarifications.

Dhinakar K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Test Modellor io Plugins

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

Pros

Recording and Scan features and help us to draw the flowchart in Test modellor.io

Cons

Integration to automation tools feels bit difficult . Need step by step process video to integrate to automation tool.

Test modellor io plugin should be used in all browsers

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Dhinakar,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The VIP Test Modeller.

This is just a short response to let you know that we do have a series of step-by-step videos on integrating The VIP Test Modeller with existing test automation frameworks. You can find the instructional videos on the Curiosity Knowledge Base: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-102/

I hope you find these videos useful, and thanks again for your review!