11 reviews

inRiver PIM

Product information management (PIM) for eCommerce

4,3 /5 (11 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4
Ease of Use
3,7
Customer Support
4,5
82% recommended this app
11 reviews
Kimberly M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

One source of truth

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

After getting "buy-in" from the entire organization (which can definitely take some time), the experience is wonderful. Rather than having multiple, differing copies of information scattered around the company in different departments, we now have ONE source of truth that is dependable and easy to retrieve. We can give everyone their own sign on and not worry that information will be changed by accident, as we have control through permissions. I also love the fact that it is able to work with the ERP system and every night it does an "auto load" into PIM of certain fields. That is yet another way to be sure everything is up to date and accurate.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that we could set it up to contain our specific information. We were able to create fieldsets that matched our catalog and kept the organizing easy. Now we just keep packing in more and more product information.

Cons

What I like least about the software is not having more control over it within our own organization and having to find a partner to do changes for us.

Response from inRiver

We appreciate your review Kimberly and happy that your experience with us as the One Source of Truth is wonderful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Froukje K.
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very flexible PIM-system which is fit for the future

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

The major benefit is the PIM-benefit: one source of truth.
We connected our website, our media publisher, our webshops to it. And we are expanding.
inRiver can manage it all.

Pros

Very flexible system: you are able to fit any assortment into inRiver. Because it is relation based, you can link anything to eachother.
Implementation is easy and intuitive: what you see is what you get.
Changes are made quickly by Product Management, the maintenance of products is also intuitive.

Cons

I miss some way of overview of the assortment. How is everything connected to eachother? You cannot "see" it, you only experience it by clicking around.
Scoping within the system is not very easy to do. We work with different companies within one license. There is (today) no way to segment the products per division. So all products are visible for all companies. The new content segmentation feature should solve this, but we are desperately waiting for it for months.
Other annoying thing is that the Fieldsets not read only are; if someone changes the Fieldset, data can be lost (unintentionally).
Too bad, inRiver is not sharing its timeline of the roadmap. It is a guess when what will be released.

Response from inRiver

We appreciate your review Froukje and delighted to be your fit-for-future PIM partner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tangeka P.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

All in one product management

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

We went something that allowed more flexibility and was better fit for the large amount of data we have. Good for small datasets and simpler product structures. Would actually be a great option for a startup. Beneficial for workflow management as well

Pros

This is an all in one solution, though we experinented with it largely as a PIM. It is not the software we ended up going forward with but I still think it is a great solution

Cons

We only considered the PIM capabilities because we weren't as impressed with the DAM organization functions. And really the PIM was only so good because considering our large datasets, it would be difficult to manage. Also, We would have limited control and needed to contact them for every update or change

Response from inRiver

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We're disappointed inRiver was not the right fit for your organization, but we appreciated the opportunity to talk about your needs.

inRiver is truly the only enterprise-level PIM that includes syndication. Your assessment in our DAM capabilities are absolutely correct. The inRiver platform is more built for organizations looking to consolidate data sets out of the DAM and optimize their configuration for the benefits of suppliers, distributors, retailers, and online marketplaces. And we're pleased to say we've also made vast improvements in recent months in our ability to import and export large amounts of data for global organizations. We wish you luck with your selected solution and hope to have the opportunity to stay connected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Cindy C.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

inRiver PIM... Our single source of truth.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

Nothing short of awesome, in every capacity. Our relationship with the entire inRiver team only began with the sale of the PIM. They have been there for us every time we've needed business questions or technical development questions answered. They've become friends along this journey. Rep. is a stand-out representative and if you have the opportunity to work with her, you are lucky! Every single person we've met, from the developers to the President of inRiver's PIM, is top notch. No question, we made the right choice...

Pros

From our user's perspective, who are accustomed to working with spreadsheets, inRiver's ability to download product/item related data into a spreadsheet, allow users to modify their data, and then ingest the spreadsheet, updating the PIM.

From the technical side, as business evolves and critical information needs to be captured, you can easily add additional data and use it as needed.

Cons

That's a tough one... I'll let you know when I come up with something!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Johan B.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to use, fast and solves your problems

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

The biggest problem-solver for us has been the ability to store images and documents and have them linked to products so that you make sure you always have the latest version of your image/document and can easy send them to our customers.

Pros

The ability to store and link photos and documents to our products.

Cons

If you want a few extra apps it costs a bit more.

Response from inRiver

We appreciate your review Johan. We are delighted that you find our product to be easy to use, fast and solves your biggest problem of linking product to images and documents.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

inRiver PIM

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that it's creates a great tool to house all the product data that you need to bring your products to market. It's fairly easy to use and can be customization for the business that you run.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve to get a good understanding of the tools functionalities. Also, not being able to customize layouts can be a challenge.
With this too, there isn't a great tool for external users of the system. The UI isn't as friendly as other competitors within the marketplace.

Response from inRiver

On behalf of the whole inRiver team, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad that you find value in our PIM solution and are looking forward to developing our partnership and move forward together.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

PIMUser

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Cloud -based access from anywhere, at any time.

Cons

Can be difficult to manage efficiently with large datasets.

Response from inRiver

We appreciate your review of our cloud-based PIM product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Printing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

inRiver 6.3

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- all (internal) processes are very fast
- very customizable

Cons

- Initially it was difficult to get access to the code base and the documentation for the in-house developers. This has improved with the new support portal.
- There are no outbound connectors available out-of-the-box (not even simple ones with limited functionality, nor are there templates for common use cases)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Steve L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

PIMPoint Was Exciting, but On Prem Feels Left Behind

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

InRiver has helped us very quickly create a rich eCommerce experience. But the On Prem version is very far behind Cloud at this point, and that's disappointing. We feel like forgotten step kids.

Pros

I like the all-in-one nature of inRiver. We use the PIM for all our text content and as a sort of pseudo DAM, and it works great for amalgamating and tracking resources.

Cons

The Print module is extremely unintuitive and I wish I had more control over the Work Area column in Enrich.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Craig S.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Inriver Review

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience has been positive.

Pros

Its sleek modern look and feel when compared to other PIM products we demoed.

Cons

The skill required to do some functions. Your everyday type user can't just jump in and go. They need special training and often times multiple trainings to understand everything.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Caitlin G.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great PIM System So Far!

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this system will be very beneficial to our workflows. It is much easier to access product information and have everything current and in one place. We no longer have to enter information in multiple locations, which is both redundant and leaves room for error.

Pros

I love how it has really improved our process of finding, adding and editing information related to our products. The system is very modern and intelligent in terms of quickly adding information. I also like that the system "speaks" to other systems we use.

Cons

The only thing that's a little difficult to figure out is the "queries" for searching.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10