RSMeans Data Online Reviews

RSMeans Data Online

Estimating software for the construction industry

Overall rating

4,2 /5
(303)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
3,8/5
Ease of Use
3,6/5
Customer Support
4,2/5
Sort by

303 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great For Estimators of all Levels

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

I think RS Means is a valuable tool for various levels of estimating, from the non-experienced...

I think RS Means is a valuable tool for various levels of estimating, from the non-experienced estimator to the very qualified estimator. From any level, RS Means can provide a sanity check or baseline of putting together a comprehensive estimate. Used with caution, it is a great tool.

Pros

Easy to navigate and understand. Software contemplates so many different scenarios that it can be easy to obtain the information you are looking for. I really like the factoring for various city indices.

Cons

Provides general information. Need to use the software with caution. Understanding the factors of the various line items is key in developing accurate and reasonable estimates.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Estimating for Computer Dummies

Reviewed on 2019/06/20

I have been using RSMeans since 1984. I started in college with the book, then eventually to a CD,...

I have been using RSMeans since 1984. I started in college with the book, then eventually to a CD, and now online. My business could not survive without it. Its is the best program on the market. I have tried other programs as samples and they cannot compete with RSMeans. And as to technical help, RSMeans is the best I have ever dealt with, if you have a problem they are great with helping you.

Pros

It makes my estimating easier and faster. It would be impossible to estimate a project without RS Means. Its also gives me an advantage to check subcontractors quotes. In addition, I can bid projects in different areas around the country, which has open vast business opportunities in the construction industry that I would not be able to accomplish before I had the program.

Cons

I wish program had virtual "Cortana" like Microsoft. Sometimes I need to find an item and I don't know how to ask RS Means what the item is and all I get for a response is that there is no line item. Also, I wish they had more items to chose from and good example is ceramic tile such as: 12" x 24", 18" x 18", 24" x 24". These items are becoming more prevelent. RSMeans needs to keep up with HGTV as items are changing with the times.

Gail
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not happy with service or customer service.

Reviewed on 2019/09/19

RSMeans did nothing but cost a lot of money and provide inaccurate information.

RSMeans did nothing but cost a lot of money and provide inaccurate information.

Pros

Unfortunately it is hard to like much about the software. Many of the assemblies are inaccurate. I am still waiting for a response from the technical service department for a "ticket" that the sales rep put in 5 months ago about inaccurate calculations.

Cons

The customer service is almost non existent. Emails and the website advertise that their is customer service available until 10 PM. After speaking with a very unpleasant gentlemen, named Kireee, that responded to me by saying "oh my god, reeeally", I discovered he didn't know how to do anything more than sign on to the program. He was the same individual that promised I would get a call back from the training department 8 hours earlier, because he doesn't know anything about construction, only how to log on to the program. He had no idea how to even start an estimate. When he offered to sign on to my computer screen, the software program he used was too outdated for my computer which gets updated regularly. Needless to say, no one from the company ever contacted me. When I called back to speak to a different customer service rep, another "at home" person, named Athena, answered with a hostile attitude. Her only response was to also have someone call back.

Ahmed
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

RSMeans Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/19

I teach an online class every year during a 10-weeks summer quarter at the University of Washington....

I teach an online class every year during a 10-weeks summer quarter at the University of Washington. During the class period, I bring the students to know and learn most of the details about RSMeans in order to let them know how to use it to do cost estimating for heavy civil projects. Later on, they let their companies know about it and possibly have full subscription (i.e. I am marketing on behalf of RSMeans). However, students have to pay one-full year of subscription to use the software for 10 weeks. They have been blaming me for the high cost for the short period of time use!
I would not be able to use the educational version that you offer because it is limited and will not be helpful for my graduate class.

I would highly suggest offering a tailored product in which data is tailored to the need of education, for a limited time for a partial cost. McGraw Hill offers educators to make e-book from a combination of chapters of several books. The ebook is purchased for a partial price for a limited time.

Alternatively, i would highly suggest offering a prior year data at a discounted cost to be used for a limited time. For example, offer subscribing to 2017 or 2018 base data (without quarter update) at a discount. This would help students getting to know how the software work and use the old data to do the estimates.
You could offer access that expires after certain date. Teachers could supply student names in an online form that you used to verify the subscription.

Pros

Organization of the estimating items based on the Masterformat.
Comprehensive list of the estimating items.
Ability to verify estimates using the crew listing and the crew production rates.

Cons

Some estimating items should be available in both the commercial and heavy civil products, but it is only available in the commercial offer.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

shared Data Base

Reviewed on 2018/10/24

Pros

The access to all the trades and the ability to match items to specifications has been a great help. also being able to retrieve old proposals and have them update quickly

Cons

I also have the JOC software from RS Means which no one at RS Means seams to understand and they have tied my passwords to the same account but if I am locked out of one I can not get in the other one.
Then all the tech know how to fix this is delete all your cookies. these are place markers for other programs and be cause of the failed IT side of this it makes it hard to accept it as a leader.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

RS Means at our Firm

Reviewed on 2020/02/05

We provide our customers with budgetary estimates during our design processes.

We provide our customers with budgetary estimates during our design processes.

Pros

Ability to line item choose from all RS Means disciplines we subscribe to. Ability to customize our output reports. RS Means have the majority of the systems that we need to provide accurate budgetary estimates.

Cons

I administer our RS Means account, but I very, very seldom use it myself. As the account admin, I am forced to be one of the user accounts; therefore, I have to allow staff to log on with my e-mail and password to use the online cost estimating. We have determined that we do not need more than two simultaneous accounts and our preference would be to assign the licenses to who needs them, when they need them. I can do that with the non-admin license, but not with the one assigned to me. I’d prefer not to have staff logging on as me (administrator).

Elstein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

RS Means

Reviewed on 2019/02/22

I was tasked to gather reliable quotes for new construction and renovations to buildings, wastewater...

I was tasked to gather reliable quotes for new construction and renovations to buildings, wastewater treatment plants and other items based on a provided damage report and memo. I found that RS Means was exceptionally reliable in providing quotes for buildings (i.e. drywall, receptacle, windows, doors, lighting etc.). My main problem and realization with RS Means were that I had to contact manufacturing and distributing companies to gather quotes for the larger more expensive equipment that are housed in wastewater facilities. I can only image that RS Means do not have a major need to have those types of quotes, but it would help to fully round out a great software tool. My overall experience with RS Means was positive regardless of the minor limitation.

Pros

I liked the ease of picking up the software functionality for gathering reasonable quotes for new and renovations to buildings, streets and treatment plants.

Cons

At times I found that the software was lacking in overall speed when loading requested search items. I was able to minimize this issue by refining my search request as best I could but for new users attempting to compare all items of a requested search it will slow down RS Means, and you would have to wait until the system loads the various items. This was mainly an issue when I had over 700 results for a single search.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Conceptual Estimating

Reviewed on 2019/06/17

Pros

RS Means is extremely helpful in creating conceptual Budgets. It offers me an array of building models to start with and a comprehensive library of assemblies to add, subtract, or change the model to fit the particular building that I am estimating. The end result is a quick and accurate conceptual budget, with a detailed summary of the estimates assumptions.

My set sum estimating on projects is also enhanced by allowing me to search RS Means data to compliment our in-house historical data. This virtually eliminates planning bias when pricing items within a project that we do not have historical data for.

Cons

I had a little trouble getting knowledgeable feed back from the rep that called for the renewal. I probably should have contacted customer support with my question but I received the renewal call before I had a chance to. The rep was very nice on the phone.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

RSMeans Online

Reviewed on 2018/10/12

Overall it is good data and good software and we have been using it to get reasonable estimates for...

Overall it is good data and good software and we have been using it to get reasonable estimates for our jobs.

Pros

The data is updated regularly and is relevant to the local area

Cons

One has to consider the estimate given by the software for reasonableness. Sometimes their numbers are obviously not correct. For the work done most often this is not the case. For some less common work efforts, their data is questionable.
The way they name the tasks is sometimes arcane. it seems like people are organizing the data that have not done the work before. Maybe they could use pointers to give something multiple entry points for different ways of saying it. They seem to have "maintenance" relatively often on the weekends, making it hard to use at that time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RS Means for Cost Estimating

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

I use RSMeans to do cost estimates for building repairs, retrofits, remodels and equipment...

I use RSMeans to do cost estimates for building repairs, retrofits, remodels and equipment replacements.

Pros

The outline style breakdown helps with finding what you are looking for in a timely manner

Cons

The search function is tough to get the wording just right to find what you are looking for

Don
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RS Means is essential in the Design/Construction market

Reviewed on 2021/09/28

Pros

Its accuracy across the US, both current and historic data.

Cons

Wish it was easier to search for specific data. Occassionally requires rewording topic multiple times.

Response from Gordian

Hi Don - Thank you for your feedback.

Have you checked out the Help Center? In the User Guide, there is a lot of information on "Searching our Data", specifically on the Index Search function. The Index search filter suggests sections from the catalog as you type (2 characters minimum). Once a suggested section is selected the search will take you straight to that section within the catalog (works for Units and Assemblies)." I hope that is more helpful when you are searching costs going forward.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Means Online Does Not Update Quarterly

Reviewed on 2021/09/23

We are currently looking for alternative Estimating & Database solutions

We are currently looking for alternative Estimating & Database solutions

Pros

ability to find items, ability to find items

Cons

The Purchased Means Database does not work with our PROEST SOFTWARE:
- Does not update Quarterly
- Inconsistent cost results
- Does not allow for Union vs Non-Union pricing
- Assemblies are not easily modified, and Units are almost never Industry Standard Units for Assembly

Ali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Project Cost Estimating

Reviewed on 2019/06/20

I'm doing cost estimate for mining projects. The projects covers work of many disciplines like...

I'm doing cost estimate for mining projects. The projects covers work of many disciplines like civil, electrical, mechanical, piping...etc. RS Means provides reasonable support in terms of cost estimating for mining projects but not enough details and this is why I use usually another database for comparisons and fill the gaps not provided by RS Means.

Pros

The software is easy to use and has a good details about required man hours for tasks and the pricing of materials and equipment.

Cons

It covers only commercial projects and has minimal support for industrial projects.

Rebecca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease the headaches of Costing

Reviewed on 2018/10/12

Pros

One of my favorite features with this software is the locator. Having the costs customized to your location is so handy and much more accurate than applying a general multiplier to each item.

Cons

My least favorite feature about RSMeans is the subcategories. I love having all of my HVAC costs in one category but I find the subcategories hard to navigate and find exactly what I'm looking for.

Jared
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Standard for Construction Cost Data

Reviewed on 2019/06/13

Overall, RS Means is an excellent to to use for the base of construction cost estimating. As a...

Overall, RS Means is an excellent to to use for the base of construction cost estimating. As a professional estimator, you must still keep a pulse on the markets, and specifics of your projects, as well as understand how to properly apply the cost data presented in RS Means.

Pros

I appreciate the extensiveness of the cost data library

Cons

I wish there was a better way to build/ develop your own assemblies

Rita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need Improvement in Certain Areas

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Contract requires RSM pricing. This makes it easier

Contract requires RSM pricing. This makes it easier

Pros

It is so much easier than the books! You can search but need to narrow it down for speed.

Cons

I can't search as fast as I would like and can't customize the export into Excel to match my contract spreadsheet. Also exports into Excel that have certain symbols, do not work

Dallas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

What RS Means means for me

Reviewed on 2019/06/20

Overall I really like the online portal. My only frustrations come when I know that it can do more....

Overall I really like the online portal. My only frustrations come when I know that it can do more. I feel like it is a good tool that could truly great.

Pros

The fact that it is reactive to current costs and I know that the cost I am seeing online is reflective of the current pricing world. I love the assemblies tab and wish that it would grow. I really appreciate the search feature. I like that fact that it is digital and saves me from hauling a book or books around and I believe that most of the time it saves me time versus looking it up in the book.

Cons

The search feature is too rigid often only searching one area when there can be multiple terms for the same item. I would love to see the assembly section grow. There are many other tasks that would be an incredible time savings if they were in the assembly section. I would like to see more explanation of what all is included in a line item. explain the processes more thoroughly that help decide one category v another.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Worth it

Reviewed on 2019/06/13

Pros

Large database and still able to enter customized line items that fit our needs.

Cons

Even though the database is large there are lacking items for residential remodeling. Some areas are robust whereas others have very few and require more leg work creating line items.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RSMeans Data Online Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/13

RS Means establishes a State standard for building costs for our regulatory board. The Illinois...

RS Means establishes a State standard for building costs for our regulatory board. The Illinois Health Facilities and Services Review Board relies on the Gordian Group/RS Means to establish construction/modernization standards for health care facilities in the State of Illinois, and they do it very well.

P.S.: Sorry about the Bruins, they played a good series. Go Blues!

Pros

The ease of use, the functionality of the online subscription service. The customer support.

Cons

Periodically, the system will "mini-crash" causing me to re-enter data for one particular project. Small price to pay for the end result.

Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

How RS Means Affects The Estimating For Elcan & Associates, Inc

Reviewed on 2021/10/05

Overall it does the job we need it to do. However, I am not overwhelmed with satisfaction.

Overall it does the job we need it to do. However, I am not overwhelmed with satisfaction.

Pros

How I can break down my estimates into individual lines items

Cons

The process of changing the city/state locations

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Some suggestions

Reviewed on 2019/06/27

Generally good - we are satisfied with the product. Customer service is great too.

Generally good - we are satisfied with the product. Customer service is great too.

Pros

Detail of the data, and ease by which we can pull an estimate together. As an A/E firm on the front end of a lot of projects the first question is usually how much does it cost. RSM consistently hits the mark with the bid results.

Cons

- a 80" computer monitor would work best to try to see everything with all the scroll bars
- it would be nice to have an A/E fee adder % like we have for markups, instead of adding a % to every line item. The current option makes the math work but makes for a very messy output in reports.
- have the Excel report outputs match the appearance of the PDF outputs. The PDF's are super clean but obviously lack any ability to augment or add things like A/E fee %, contingency, etc. We have to hand-edit them, which is fine, but if we change a number then we have to hand-edit everything again.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A reference library I use on a periodic basis. Helpful but expensive.

Reviewed on 2019/06/26

Pros

The content is fairly comprehensive and helps me get a better idea what costs may be for certain tasks or items. It also gives me the ability to see what the costs are through the different regions of the country. That is helpful because we service clients nationwide.

Cons

Sometimes I find it clumsy to navigate around. Also it never fits on my screen. I always have to scroll to the right. At times when I'm searching for an item I may have difficulty finding it. Even simple things.
The reports are flat out terrible .

Jun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Thoughts as a user

Reviewed on 2019/06/13

Pros

Easy to search for the data
Many tips available to do the cost estimate (e.g. how to do the quantity take off regarding foundation, spread footing)

Cons

RS Means sale various versions - Heavy Construction, Concrete & Masonry, MEP, Commercial renovation Cost. I have all of them and found out only a few added data-base specific to the title, not much worth to pay for.

Abbreviation dictionary: It has most of the abbreviation but does not cover all. I have to google from time to time.

Valery
Overall rating
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great service

Reviewed on 2019/06/20

Great, but again limited in items focused for energy conservation measures.

Great, but again limited in items focused for energy conservation measures.

Pros

Useful line items, and ability to price out how much it installation is.

Cons

- Limited in terms of what items you can find and price out. We use this software to price out energy conservation measures and some technologies are just not listed which is a limits how useful it can be on a project to project basis.
- Sometimes pricing is not realistic for metropolitan areas. Worked on a project in San Francisco and spoke to someone local that said that the prices were nowhere near what RS Means was saying, they were much higher.
- need to create every time i want to put together and export pricing for something small. Sometimes I get small requests for pricing and instead of being able to put a couple of items together, export it and send it out, i have to create a project and then put it together to export.

alan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hudson Budgeting/Value Engineering

Reviewed on 2019/06/21

quick and easy

quick and easy

Pros

the 2019 on line service brings up 2nd, 3rd, 4th level data a lot quicker than in the past. I use the production info and modify for projects and the materials costs are extremely helpful. searching from the search bar is quick.

Cons

upon opening the divisions are open. when working on a laptop it is harder to close the section. it would be good to have a setup button to determine whether we want that open or not.