117 reviews

OmTrak

Project management solution for builders & facility managers

4,2 /5 (117 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Value for Money
3,9
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
4,3
82% recommended this app
117 reviews
Deepu N.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Omtrak for Construction Closeout

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Very good.

Pros

Easiness in use and user friendly.
Unique Assets schedule that can be build under parent child relationship.
Access to all concerned parties makes the documentation easy.
Very fast servers for accessing and retrieving data.

Cons

Personally all features and well kept benefiting one way or other.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Wendy T.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

it is very clear instruction and easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

it is very good for documentation purpose. it makes job a lot easier and faster.

Pros

I like the set up (easy to follow) and functional well,

Cons

you can't change when you make mistake, and have to contract WebFM people to unlock before make changes.

Response from WebFM

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for the great review.

We are in the process of getting feedback from our users to make improvements to the software. I will let our IT team know that you would like some flexibility with correcting mistakes.

Thanks again and let us know if we can help you with anything else.

Kind regards
Hayley
OMTrak Support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mike D.
Industry: Design
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

NZ Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I don't consider Omtrak to have any advantages over the Aconex system that I have had more experience with

Cons

Some terminology (e.g. the use of the term 'manuals' in project design stages) is inconsistent with common industry practice in NZ.

The indexing/scheduling arrangement of correspondence is not very intuitive to me

Lacks document format options and features

I work on multiple projects, often with different management systems. It is challenging to effectively switch between them. I find Omtrak to be less intuitive than Aconex which I use more frequently.

Response from WebFM

Hi Mike,
Thanks so much for leaving us a review. We really value your feedback. OmTrak's true benefits are apparent to the owners at the time of handover, when thorough and compliant Operations & Maintenance Manuals and Design Reports are required. This is where OmTrak shine's and owners can really see the value in the software with the quality of the information and digital format. Sometimes this part of the process is difficult for contractors working on the project to appreciate - particularly as they are the users of the system and doing the work - it can seem pedantic. However, it is of high value to the owner in the running of the facility.

We would love to get more of your input. Ryan Chappell our New Zealand BDM would love to talk to you more about this. Please feel free to contact him directly on [email protected] .

We have sent your feedback to the IT team to consider when they do their next update.

Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards
OmTrak Support

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Aaron S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Construction Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Omtrak has been excellent for uploading of Construction manuals for one of our main clients and the site works option for defects is very handy and easy to use.

Pros

The system works very quickly when uploading documents etc. The job set ups are simple and very easy to use.

Cons

Some items / descriptions in drop down boxes are not relevant to the project you are working on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Darren T.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Omtrak review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

In my role as Building Services Manager and working very closely with the trades and suppliers, the Omtrak system provides the perfect platform to assist in the format, upload, capture of the required certifications, as constructed documentation and asset data. Combine this with the multi level review process for makes for an more controlled and managed review process.

Pros

Structured and informative layout that provides the framework for our supply and trade partners on the project to upload the drawings, data sheets, maintenance requirements and capture the asset data. Review and reporting process is simple and managed allowing client visibility and review throughout the process.
Once captured and approved, the data can be presented in a soft copy O+M or ported across to the FM platform or other FM data system.

Cons

Once you have used the Omtrak platform on a number of projects, returning to a project with 'paper hard copy manuals' makes you wonder why you did not use the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

OMTRAK - Used for completion documents at Grafton Hall

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is ok. Could have been much better if we had proper training on how to use the system before we were 6months into the job. It has to be implemented at the start and there be a training with consultants and subcontractors. There generally is no issue with consultants and main contractors working out how to use the system but its the workers onsite that are not mobile phone savy and find it very difficult to show where a defect is on the site works app on your phone when he can barly work his phone in the first place..

Pros

1) Everything is done electronic - if set up correctly - automatic notifications get sent to subs.
2) Very good for defects - Good feature where you can print the QR codes for each room to stay on top of defects

Cons

1) Needs more colours - most people like things in different colours so its visually easier to see - it is just Blue and white.
2) There needs to be a function where the main contractor can upload pdf files on behalf of a subcontractor without having to change the settings all the time but still shows who uploaded that pdf - this is due to subcontractors not keeping up with the technology.

Response from WebFM

Hi James,
Thanks for the review! You have given us some fantastic feedback. I will send this to the IT Department and our OmTrak team. kind regards, OmTrak Support

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Document Control

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very intuitive software, easy to work with when properly set up.
Efficient system of notification and reminders for items that require action
Useful analytical capabilities, with various review processes
Great support team
Online viewer works good and very useful
Effective Defect Management tools

Cons

Can be confusing if complex systems not set up properly and main users not properly trained. Needs close monitoring

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Anne-marie C.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Om Trak Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/11
Review Source: Capterra

Way of having in writing proof of repairs needed for our ward and date of when repairs were listed to show our maintenance dept.

Pros

Ease of use. Proof of written material. Easy way of having maintenance review every repair we need.

Cons

Can't think of anything at the moment, I find it easy to use

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brad P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

RATINGS

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

There customer support is very good, straight onto any emails raised.

Pros

Easy to Use and navigate around, good customer support

Cons

Question about robot at log in stage when it ask for it three times

Response from WebFM

Thanks so much for the review Brad! We are glad you like our customer support. We are working on the robot issue, thanks for letting us know. Kind regards OmTrak Support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stewart S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Tracking DLP/Manual

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/11
Review Source: Capterra

Able to track onto maintenance and DLP

Pros

Importing and exporting information into the manual

Cons

If the structure of the manual is not set up correctly at the start you did not have the option of selecting other and provide info

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Omtrak for Defence Projects

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

This platform was mandated in our client contract. It would help those that are not very familiar with the Defence completion process. I would suggest when engaging Omtrak, get them to be responsible for adding in all the assets and asset information required for Defence. That process along took allot of work and Omtrak originally offered that as a service to us, although it wasn't stipulated in the contract agreement. Our project contact from Omtrak changed a number of times over the 2 year project period and the level of support varied from individual to individual.

Pros

The user interface is very intuitive and does not take allot of training. Phone and email support is normally very responsive, although your level of support at project level can vary depending on who is assigned against your project.

Cons

1. Every time you login, you have to press "I'm not a robot", every single time, this gets very annoying and when you look at other platforms that still meet compliance requirements, this is only done on rare occasion.
2. Reporting ability does not allow for flexibility. You'll find yourself using "Content & Status Summary" and creating your own dashboards in Excel.
3. No ability to create dashboards with multiple reporting graphs.
4. You can only apply one filter at a time against a report.
5. In work list, display does not show the location the works were signed against (which it does for example in maintenance schedules view), this created allot of heartache for us when using this for maintenance.
6. When you export to PDF, there is no opportunity to customize the title of the exported PDF.
7. There is limited ability to copy and paste asset attributes to save time.
8. Can not "copy and paste" folders from one project to another. Can not "Copy and Paste" more than one section within an folder at one time. This is a big draw back if you have projects and buildings that are identical.
9. When you export a section, any attachments are not downloaded within the PDF, they require web access to Omtrak. This is a drawback if you want to send a stakeholder a section. The only times the documents are included is when Omtrak burn the hard disks at the very end.
10. Understanding the error reports within Omtrak can be confusing.
11. You are limited to only a 3 step review

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Steve P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Use of Omtrak for Defects and O&M's

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, very fast customer service (we're constantly reacting to subbies needs in the field and Omtrak are all over this). Flexibility of exporting and ease of information received.

Cons

Only able to apply Defects to one subbie, for example some issues need two or three subbies to complete a job. Need to create defect workflows.
Exporting PDF's can take time when Omtrak says "you will receive a link"

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pete M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Omtrak - Defects Management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Providing an easy to use system, it has helped us to manage our defects through simple notification and clear advice around management of same. This has provided a great help in closing out defect issues, and assisting in management of client relationships through prompt action.

Cons

A fair amount of subcontractor training is required at the beginning of their use, however OmTrak does provide a simple and easy to use help and training section.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Graham P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

OmTrak-Start to Finish

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

We have used OmTrak on numerous Instituitional, Government, Commercial and Residential Projects in Australia and Asia and found it consistently superior to other alternate document control software.

Pros

The ease that documents and project communications can be written, uploaded and delivered/reviewed

Cons

Nothing comes to mind in regard to negative issuses

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Defect management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

For a person in my position (out in the field) OmTrak is the perfect way to manage defects on the go.

Pros

OmTrak is a clear cut way to manage defects - the defects can be broken right down from different areas of the project right down to specific rooms. This makes allocating defects along with closing them out a simple process

Cons

The application for mobile devices is easier to use than the computer programme

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steven T.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easy to use and understand

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Omtrak was used by our team and the building contractors. It was used for identifying defects and reporting to the builder for rectifications. On many occassions, simply calling was not an option. We could open Omtrack and get an almost immediate response. I was very pleased with the simplicity.

Pros

The redeeming feature of this software is it's ease of use. Anyone can easily navigate and implement this software. I found that is is much more refined and user friendly than the programs that are used by my company. We used this software during our DLP ( Defect Locating Period). Correspondence between my team and the contractors was enhanced by speed and eliminated the game of phone tag.

Cons

I cannot say there was anything negative about my experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ross D.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best on market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Document control, awesome manuals and accurate site defect management

Pros

Manager of several large projects, with some operating OmTrak and another competitor product. Hands down winner is OmTrak document, manuals and site works. Recommend it and miss when I can’t have it

Cons

Happy with this product

Only con is other projects choosing inferior competitors products

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cameron L.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

OmTrak Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

The idea of the software works is good. However the program needs a complete redesign to make it more user friendly.

Pros

One stop shop for Operation and Maintenance manuals.
Takes the pressure off contractors to organise OMMs for Defence regarding GEMS etc

Cons

The program is very clicky.
The program doesnt give you enough features or functionality.
There are times where ill be in a section and the pop up text box will pop up on my screen but there will be no scroll bar.
Basic text editing is needed.
Having the ability to resize text boxes is needed.
Let project admins add users. Simple task and will take pressure off WebFM
Asset section so clunky and clicky. Not very user friendly.
Needs to be compatible with multiple resolution/screen sizes.
Remove the pop up text boxes all together and have a drip down system. When you click on something - it opens a section on the same screen - with all functions still accessible. Not a pop up text box where you can only do one thing and one thing only.

Response from WebFM

Hi Cameron,
Thanks for your review. Our IT Team is upgrading the UI in the next 3 months. Your feedback has been sent to the Developers to assist in the UI upgrades.

We look forward to showing you when it is complete.

Kind regards,
OmTrak Support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Barrie G.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Landscape maintenance manuals

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Our only involvement is reviewing operational manuals submitted at Practical Completion of landscape projects. The manuals are submitted by builders, landscape contractors or irrigation contractors for approval. These are often incomplete and it is frustrating to get responses from contractors when portions of manuals are rejected.

Pros

Nothing. Note that we don't choose to use OmTrak - the choice is made by builders that we work with.

Cons

We are currently administering a landscape contract with a 12 month maintenance period after Practical Completion. We are sent a monthly OmTrak submission even when there have been no changes made.
The program is not easy to navigate for an occasional user.

Response from WebFM

Hi Barrie,
Thanks for writing a review. We are constantly trying to improve our software and make it easier for contractors to navigate the user interface - so we appreciate your feedback. It would be a great help if you could tell us what would make the UI easier to navigate so that we can use your feedback for improvements. We already have a mobile app for onsite access and training opportunities with our Business Managers. In relation to your frustrations with the other parties using the software, there has been a lot of industry talk around compliance and stricter rules for Builders managing their O&M Manuals and Building Information. I dare say that stricter compliance will mean contractors need to be on the ball when it comes to submitting complete and accurate operations manuals. Understanding and following the process to meet industry guidelines will increase responsiveness in this matter.
Thanks again Barrie
Kind regards,
OmTrak Customer Service Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Mitch W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

OmTrack Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Great for defect management, shop drawings and manuals.

Pros

Easy to use and understand. Uploading manuals and drawings is simple and fast.

Cons

Viewing uploaded drawings and documents using the online viewer is quite slow. Much faster to download and view

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

John V.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Intuitive to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Had OmTrak been used from the start of the project the benefits would have been even greater with respect to document management and communication protocol. It's easy to track emails, RFI's. We love the Siteworks module for managing defects

Pros

Really like the SiteWorks module for managing defects as it is live and requires no additional input to manage and track.

Cons

On our project the O&M manual sections should have been tailored more

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Louie E.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Fantastic tool for the construction industry

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Defects management is easy, photographic reports are easily and quickly generated and the close out experience is streamlined and efficient, saves a massive amount of hours for for defects management And collation of Manuals and as builts

Pros

The ease of use of this platform, the pre-saved information that is tailored to your client is a huge time saver and makes our job to track drawings, as builts and defects management along with each reporting tool makes it extremely simple To track each and every element easily

Cons

Could definitely use a dashboard visual
Upgrade

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Will T.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Simple yet Sophisticated

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive, much less frustrating than some other defect management software

Pros

Mobile use and application was easy to set up and use
The ability to customise defect reports by multiple fields was very useful also

Cons

We had over 45000 defects and probably 100k accompanying photos which slowed the system towards the end of the job

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris H.
Industry: Design
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent Construction Document Review Tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/08
Review Source: Capterra

Not really solving a business problem but ease of use for reviewing construction operation and maintenance manuals and as built drawings and maintaining a status review with the OmTrak package eliminates a lot of time wasting utilising other methods.

Pros

The OmTrak document review package is an excellent package for Builders/Clients to enable review of manuals etc. by their design team.
It is easy to use and manage the review process from submission to approval/acceptance.

Cons

The only issue is the constant weekly/monthly status reviews forwarded following completion of a project.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Site administration comments

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The flexibility to use for multiple fields. Time saving to issue to users and the ability to add photos

Cons

Not knowing when someone has not accepted an invitation without checking

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10