71 reviews

LoadMaster Load Balancer

Load balancers powering an always-on app experience [AX]

4,7 /5 (71 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,5
Customer Support
4,7
97% recommended this app
71 reviews
Eljakim S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Reasonably pricey, but customer support is excellent

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

Our high load solutions are very scalable; enabling HTTP/2 was literally checking a single checkbox.

Pros

The KEMP load balancers just work. For our purpose where we have about 25.000 concurrent users working on various web applications, it's a simple and easy solution that makes the entire application much more scalable.

Cons

The KEMP has a built in feature to do caching. I would like to be able to specify exactly which file types I want to specify; KEMP has it the other way around where you can specify certain things NOT to cache.

Also, the way to temporarily disable real servers is a bit weird; you can disable a real server, but the system will keep sending existing users to that server, yet it won't show in the statistics how much traffic is going to the server.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christine N.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Loadmaster - An economical investment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

This is an affordable alternative to F5 and some of the more expensive load balancers on the market.

Pros

Kemp's pricing makes this product much more affordable than other options on the markete.

Cons

Lack of some advanced features other competitors have

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ken W.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best value and support that I have seen in a long time!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

Took only a few hours to set up and now it just runs and we forget about it!

Pros

The virtual load balancer was inexpensive and very easy to install and create/use but the technical support is excellent! I emailed a setup question in for the free trial load balancer and received a answer within an hour! I was then asked to do a remote session so they could check what I had done so far and also offered the help finish the setup! I elected to finish on my own to learn the software and the support tech would email me asking for updates and if I needed any additional help all the way through the trial and licensing of the complete software!
This level of support has not been seen in years, please keep it up!

Cons

So far have not been able to find a single con.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dalibor M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Load balancer with great features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Ever since it run in our production, LoadMaster virtual load balancer is serving us really good and without any hustle. The product is stable, easy to setup and maintain, and is doing it’s job amazingly well.

Pros

Virtual load balancer with great set of features, supports many protocols, stable, intuitive, not too complicated to setup and maintain, competitive price

Cons

Haven’t had any trouble since first day, there are no disadvantages that I am aware of

Response from KEMP Technologies

Thank you Dalibor, we're delighted that LoadMaster is meeting your requirements and that you've had a problem free deployment!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kent R.

Had the VLM200 up and running production work in about 30 minutes.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use and affordable loadbalancer with ongoing development and support.

Pros

Very easy to use. Configuration options follow a logical flow. Monitoring options provide useful information.

Cons

Would be nice to have options to sort or search the information on the statistics menu. Was difficult to come up with something I could say is an issue...

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Richard R.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The easiest to use load balancer on the market for the price

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The load balancer took me 15 minutes to set and another 15 minutes to have my first application running through it. No other load balancer has been this easy to setup.

Cons

the kemp load balancer required features for HA that we currently could not meet. We will be implementing updates to our systems to support load balancer HA

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Edward H.
Industry: Law Enforcement
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Kemp LM-X3

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The Kemp load balancer software is simple to use.

Cons

There is nothing not to like about Kemp's Load Balancer software.

Response from KEMP

Edward, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. And thank you for the shout-out to our support team - they'll be thrilled too!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris N.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Economical Load Balancing Option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Provides a load balancing solution at an economical cost.

Pros

Kemp LoadMaster is an economical approach for load balancers.

Cons

There aren't as many features available as the more expensive alternatives.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Chris V.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

I have been using for many years. I have always had great support experiances

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and intuitive interface. Expansive feature set and the ability to monitor and send notifications when there are any problems.

Cons

My only real complaint about this software is the lack of the apply button for many options. When changing a Virtual service if a mistake is made or something is changed inadvertently it is not easy to cancel or roll back.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Scott L.

Senior Software developer

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use via API. We use the API to manage the load master in order to deploy with no customer interruptions during the day.

Cons

Updating automatically changes ciphers in groups and can be difficult to troubleshoot if you had a VS using a set of certain ciphers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tuan D.
Industry: Computer Hardware
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Feature

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/22
Review Source: Capterra

problem with protocol support for L7 and L4: gRPC..., feature for UDP health check or support health check form third party (AWS route 53)..I can't find API to check device'status ok or not ok

Pros

easy to use, cost and support, suitable for small enterprise

Cons

support other protocol (as: gRPC,..) and support health check form third party (AWS route 53)..

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Save Your Money - Use KEMP

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Handles everything we need it for... primarily load balancing various server applications, including SharePoint, JDEdwards, RFSmart

Pros

GREAT free solution. We went from F5 to KEMP and haven't looked back. Easy to set up, responsive, fills our needs completely

Cons

We have yet to see any downfall of using KEMP over any other load balancer

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stephan N.

Was hard to get used to at first, but once you see how everything comes to together, it's easy.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's simplicity once you pass the learning curve on it if you're using it for the first time and/or never done any load balancing or used load balancing applications like F5. Also, major props to the support staff.

Cons

The learning curve (at first) and the quality of documentation regarding the product. However, this is balanced out by the amazing support staff.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nathan E.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great load balancers for the cost. Watch out for potential sudden steep price changes, though.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Great load balancers for our Microsoft Exchange mail systems at an affordable cost.

Pros

Very flexible and affordable load balancers. They work great, with very little hands-on maintenance required to keep them running smooth.

Cons

Kemp unexpectedly raised the prices on their maintenance plans, and they now cost double what they did a few years ago. This was quite a shock to us since we had not received any sort of warning that their maintenance prices were going to be increased, and they had no flexibility on this price change. We had already budgeted for the maintenance renewal based on a budgetary quote they gave us a few months before the price change, and as a result we had to go severely over budget in order to keep our equipment covered.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Excellent product and value for money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The user interface is very straight forward and does not need any special knowledge to configure. Also it is very flexible and there are a lot of customization you can do to address most of our needs.

In addition the support is immediate and to the point so I consider KEMP as very reliable.

I have been using KEMP from 2012 and had no issues whatsoever and all services were 99.99999% up.

Cons

Transparency to the connection is a bit complex to achieve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael B.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Kemp Loadmaster

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

We are using it for Microsoft Exchange, Citrix, RDP and Rule Engines. With it we are realising High Availability and it works perfect!
It is easier to use and more costefficient then Citrix NetScaler.

Pros

Price/Cost Value is very good
It is reliable. We had almost no Trouble with the boxes over years and no complete failture of a box.
Enough power for all businesses.

Cons

It is not easy to configure. You have to book a Course to learn it.
Kemp Schoolings in Germany very rare. Got one over 500km from my Office.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Guy K.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

ITManager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with the product for several years and very satisfied with it.
Efficient and easy, very fast When you switch between mail servers and you do not feel downtime

Pros

Work perfectly with ms lync server, exchange and AD

Cons

Maybe in the future we can block access to the product by a global location like a specific country and not just by an ip address that updates once a day.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good product and support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

The LM-X15 did a good job to balance the traffic to our SharePoint front end servers.

Pros

The pricing of the load balancer and support subscription is affordable for a small-sized company. The LM-X15 meets our need to balance the SharePoint front end servers, and their support rep is knowledgeable.

Cons

The LoadMaster portal is great to use and contains the useful information about our front end servers, but the UI could be improved a little.

Response from KEMP

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're delighted the LM-X15 meeting your needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Kemp has been a great asset to our company and has simplified the load balancing we do.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best part of the software is that it is intuitive and easy to use. I really enjoy the interface.

Cons

There's really not much I dislike about the product. I have found that all aspects have been very useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

A reliable unit with excellent Support,

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

We used the LoadMaster to replace our Microsoft TMG.

Pros

Once setup it simply just works, support is excellent.

Cons

Sometimes its hard to trace through errors, to find out why something is not working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Oliver G.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 201-500 Employees

convinced

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

easy to use for an newby, no problems with updates or change from hardware to VM, fast boot.
At all no big problems at all until now

Pros

- relatively simple to use
- clean GUI
- great support

Cons

- some missing features (access control subvs)
- not all configuration segments included in backup (access control list)

Response from KEMP Technologies

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and we appreciate the feedback, which we'll bring to our product teams. David.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration

load balance for exchange

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

minimal interaction with appliances, there up and stay up, the management interface is easy to use and understand ...

Cons

required 3rd party support to fix how appliance works with exchange server when exchange server was reloaded

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tushar D.

It is a great load balancer. We just got three of these

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like it's ease of use. I got around to learning all the important features very quickly. It has L7 capabilities. HTTP header modification. A central console to manage multiple Kemps at the same time. Loads of good features!

Cons

Nothing. I really like Kemp and have no complaints about their product. It is a very good product!!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Andrew C.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Load Master Review

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easily integrates with VMware Horizon View for VDI

Cons

There were really no drawbacks on the software that I have encountered.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good product, needs to be setup properly and will work as expected

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

We improved outlook performance and stability for the end users, during daily business but also reduce service interruptions during maintenance windows. The load master is built as a virtual appliance and we set it up in a cluster, so that it is fully redundant. We are looking into using it also to balance other applications, which Kemp can do as well.

Pros

KEMP have a partnership with Microsoft in order to load balance Exchange which was a great plus for us while selecting the right product since we wanted mainly to loadbalance Exchange for the Outlook client in order to minimize interruptions during maintenance windows or simply to balance connections. The great thing is also that the virtual appliance allows you to load balance your application but without the need of adding hardware to your datacenter. this is a great approach and the technology has proven to work as expected without issues.

Cons

There is a well written administration guide which needs to read extensively before setting up services. This is not a product where complexity is taking away from the administrator. Lots of options, sometimes a matter of try and retry before all works. UI could be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10