ProPresenter

4,6 (1 855)
Live presentation and worship solution for churches

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(1 855)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

1855 Reviews

Simon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Whether you're a gathering of 6 or 60,000 people, ProPresenter scales very well!

Reviewed on 2022/04/30

From the time we decided to take the plunge to having used it for years now, working on ProPresenter has been such a great delight. Given that most services depend on volunteers, it was becoming increasingly difficult to have the manpower required to run these different systems. Using ProPresenter to integrate into our current production rig, saves us both time and resources.

Pros

The biggest advantage of using ProPresenter for us was the ability to have multiple outputs to multiple displays. Having the ability to add and subtract layers on the fly is another great advantage of using this great software.
The ability to integrate it with our present music production software (Ableton Live) is what made it possible to automate our audio and lighting scenes. This is far ahead of what the competition offers at the moment.

Cons

The barrier to entry is probably the price and yearly subscription. While it may not be a lot, the possibility of a very small congregation or international audiences not being able to afford it, is a likelihood.

Alternatives Considered

OpenLP and EasyWorship

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Though OpenLP provided great flexibility, we are not developers by profession, which made creating custom display out a little too tedious. ProPresenter comes built with great customization options that are ready to use.

Switched From

OpenLP

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

ProPresenter provided the most features that we were looking for. Multiple display options with custom display layers is something that we needed that most others have not been able to do well.
Albert P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The Next Level of Presentation

Reviewed on 2022/05/05

My overall experience has been nothing but positive. For the price point you get an amazing product that will meet most if not all of your presentation needs. The video tutorials are excellent and I have been able to get support via chat and talking to a live person as well, which is fantastic it today's world. I am still discovering new capabilities and how to implement them and the constant improvements and updates are well received.

Pros

ProPresenter 7 enables our relatively small church to present professional looking graphics to our online and in house worshipers. Even though the initial learning curve is relatively steep, there are plenty of tutorials and videos available to make the learning detailed and easy. Once I learned the basics, I was astounded at the simplicity and complexity of the program. You can do basic presentation with ease and quickly master more complicated ways of utilizing the capabilities of ProPresenter more fully. One of the best and most helpful features is the ability to create different themes that can be applied to text. This saves you so much time. Separating media, slides, announcements, video input etc. into different layers that can be selected or cleared gives you many different options and features in using the product. Being able to send the same text to a display in house on a full screen and at the same time as a lower third on a live stream is a very useful feature. Another great feature is that your work is immediately saved as you work on a presentation. No need to worry that you will lose your work if you forget to save. This is also not a stagnant one time buy, but a product which evolves and improves all the time with new features and the latest ideas for application.

Cons

For whatever reason the program takes a while to load on a computer. More so than most other software programs. Even though there is an app available that can serve as a remote to control the program from a phone or tablet, as apposed to a computer, the design is poor and the functionality is limited. Propresenter recently released a plug in for stream deck, which is also available as an app, which will probably make up for the lack of a good remote. As far as I am aware of, there is no physical remote that will work well with ProPresenter.

Steve S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good, but not as good as it could be.

Reviewed on 2019/06/27

We use ProPresenter 6 weekly to sequence our worship lyrics and other service visuals except for the weekly teaching portions. Our teachers prefer Proclaim due to its integration with Logos bible software. We also use Proclaim to record our teachings - audio with synced visuals - for uploading to our website. For general worship visuals I prefer ProPresenter 6 by far. While our two graphic-op volunteers are fairly new to worship graphics software, I have been creating presentations using computer graphics software professionally since 1983.

Pros

ProPresenter 6 is good at sequencing images, allowing videos to be used as backgrounds, and the database of user created material works well. The weekly task of creating the worship flow for our services is easy and works relatively well. I like that you can click on graphics and text images to make visuals on the fly. We have used ProPresenter with PowerPoint, Keynote and Proclaim software concurrently and switch between them with almost no difficulties.

Cons

In our particular setup - iMac with a Kramer VGA video splitter, in 4:3 - 1024x768 res. - ProPresenter 6 does not correctly initialize the screen buffers causing us to quit and restart the program almost every time we use it. We don't have this problem with PowerPoint, Keynote or Proclaim. Also, for the price, the image (slide) editing functions are clunky - usable, but not good. Apple's Keynote software (free with every Mac) is a great model for easily creating high quality visuals.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout and EasyWorship

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

I used ProPresenter at another church in our area for special events and liked the ease of setting up sequences.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

Works on Mac, familiarity with product, ease of switch from PowerPoint.
Erik B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Next Level Presentations

Reviewed on 2022/05/02

We use this software at our church to structure our service. What I love about this entire thing is that its relatively pretty easy to use and also to load any type of media into the presentation. The features on this program are well worth it, and enable our church to communicate visually in a professional and powerful way.

Pros

This software can do just about anything you need it to do for small and big presentations. I love how easy it is to drag and drop whatever I need into how I want to structure our services. I enjoy how even the little things like "go to logo" are able to be displayed at the click of a button. The ability for it to link up with ccli is also amazing. Song lyrics just pop right into the program at ease.

Cons

There are times when the program can seem rather overwhelming. I forget at times where certain things are located or which buttons do what even though I use the software quite often. I wish the layout was a bit simpler. At times certain functionalities can be a bit buggy, however its usually solved by restarting the program.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

This software is better for projection and makes preparation for slides quick and easy. It's also very easy to teach others how to use it.
Roberto S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Propresenter | Best in Class for Church Presentations

Reviewed on 2022/06/23

Pros

When working with volunteers in the church environment, ease of use is paramount. Propresenter is simple to use yet powerful for in many ways.

Cons

Once you learn to use the key features it works great. However, the learning curve is quite steep once you want to take advantage of the other advanced features. More tutorials would help.

Alternatives Considered

EasyWorship

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

We wanted greater flexibility and integrations. Propresenter is integrated with Planning Center Services which is key for us.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

Scalability and integrations.
Cornell J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great, But Pricy

Reviewed on 2022/05/06

Proprsenter is great, but the cost is a bit concerning for me. When it is properly set up and functioning well, you will be pleased by its performance. So be sure to compare its features and nuances before you fully commit to purchasing it.

Pros

ProPresenter is the industry standard for churches when it comes to church presentation software solutions. There are many features to learn and make use of. There are also many Bible translations to select from as well. And lastly, there are solutions for online and live presentations as well.

Cons

Though Propresenter is the industry standard, I can be cost prohibitive for smaller churches. In addition, there is a learning curve to learning this software, especially as it pertains to conducting live broadcasts. Therefore it is critical that you (1) know what you want from this software, (2) have the necessary funds for the additional equipment that may be needed and (3) have capable individuals operating the software.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

I had already owned older versions of Propresenter. So it was a familiarity and comfort level with it.
Todd R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great piece of software for church use

Reviewed on 2022/05/12

Pros

Stability. When you doing worship services for hundreds of people on-site and many more online, it must be stable so worship is not impacted.

Cons

Templates need to be able to be exported. We keep a backup system "just in case" and moving templates to another machine is difficult at best. We have been recreating each one manually.

Brandon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Option for Church Media Presentation

Reviewed on 2022/04/29

Pros

While, at first, it seems it can be relatively complex, it doesn't take long to understand how ProPresenter works. There is a lot you can do with this software—from basic presentation to more complex service production, ProPresenter handles it all.

Cons

There are only minor things I like least about ProPresenter — mostly user preference items. I do enjoy the convenience of ProPresenter's mobile app to control the software wirelessly, but it needs improvements. I constantly face connectivity issues when I am no more than 20 feet away from the computer, even with 100+ Mbps internet speeds. The app also has responsive issues and is slightly complicated to use.

Brianna P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ProPresenter is the best of the options

Reviewed on 2022/05/09

Pros

I like using pro presenter because they make it easy to use. First of all, they connect to a gallery of common songs so you can upload lyrics into slide presentations, cutting out the work of finding the lyrics and entering them by hand. This also reduces errors on slides. Additionally, they have a variety of static or moving backgrounds that are engaging. Finally, it syncs to other software programs I use making integrations and work easy.

Cons

I like everything about pro presenter. I train in our volunteers to use it and it's always easy to explain and use.

Joel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Presentation Software for Churches

Reviewed on 2022/02/13

We are using this for 3 church services a week as our presentation software. I would recommend it to anyone. It delivers our lyrics, graphics, and Scriptures in a professional way at a great value.

Pros

Pro Presenter is easy to use. I can teach a volunteer to use the basic features within a few minutes of sitting down at the computer. The integration with CCLI to import songs is a feature that is a huge time saver. Formatting is a breeze with the toolbar. Editing spelling errors on the fly is quick and easy. Overall it is a great value for the purchase price. My team loves it, and we will continue to us it for many years to come. It is simple to make professional presentations quickly.

Cons

The only area I would like to see improved is the mobile app. It is very nice to have, but is a little slow to load things on the fly.

Alternatives Considered

Faithlife Proclaim and Proclaim

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

We partly made the switch because we were looking for a presentation software for our new Mac computer. Song Show was clunky and slow. It was not volunteer friendly. Don't regret switching one bit, 4 years in and still happy with my choice.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

After demoing both products, the choice was clear. Pro Presenter was much easier and intuitive to use.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Presents your services with ease

Reviewed on 2021/10/15

Without the great video tutorials, it would be a challenge to get started with this software, but that's why there are tutorials! Once you have the basics of this software, you are ready to go. There is a little training to understand how things work for anyone running the system. We transitioned from a different presentation software to this one and hands down are so happy with our choice to move to ProPresenter! The pricing is reasonable for even the smallest of facilities, the creation of libraries will save you time as you build them out and it is super easy to insert these pieces into your service "playlist".

Pros

The layout and design to build a service is laid out nicely. The BEST part of this product is the building of libraries and how easy it is to build a service or presentation from your libraries, even quick additions while live!

Cons

A few times while creating a playlist, we will find something added was not there when we started up the playlist later. We have still not solved this mystery but just have a note to always double-check for all presentations to be in the playlist!

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

System requirements and many little frustrations with MediaShout caused us to be in a position where we needed to upgrade and it looked like as good as time as any to switch to a software that seemed to fit our needs a little better and are hoping it's less buggy.

Switched From

MediaShout

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

Our experience with MediaShout wasn't stellar the past 18 months. The company and support team is great, but we were constantly having things to work around. The pricing was very comparable and ProPresenter had been previously used by one of our pastors who recommended we consider it if we were in the position of making a change anyway. The trial closed the deal when we saw how nicely we could set up the services and use the software with multiple volunteers who set up each service, while also keeping things consistent.
Hunter R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best presentation software for churches, and everyone else.

Reviewed on 2021/05/04

ProPresenter is volunteer friendly and a very easy to learn software with incredible flexibility. The features available in the Looks menu, Midi integration, and a simple presentation interface make this the perfect software for use in any presentation.

Pros

Livestreaming from ProPresenter was an amazing feature for them to add. When we switched our livestream over to ProPresenter, we fixed issues we didn't even know we had.

ProPresenter has unlimited output screens, so you can have 3, 6, 10, 50 individual output destinations, and ProPresenter can send your content to them all.

The slide editor is seriously powerful. There's no need to build slides in Power Point anymore. Just train your pastor to edit their slides in ProPresenter. All will be well.

ProPresenter is constantly getting bug fixes and major feature update.

NDI is built-in to the software.

Cons

Occasional bugs here and there, but I've never ran into anything show-stopping that wasn't a user error.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout and Faithlife Proclaim

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Worship Extreme was very limited on their feature set. Even simple things, like a scrolling slide show, could not be done.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

MediaShout seemed like many features were hard to find or things like simple features that I would use every day are buried 2 levels deep in menus. As for Proclaim, I didn't like the user interface. One thing I did like was the cloud integration with Proclaim. Proclaim is also subscription based, and ProPresenter is not.
Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ProPresenter for Church A/C

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

We have had a great experience and love the way we can craft both our worship song slides as well as the sermon slides and anything else we want to do. It effortlessly handles any embedded video or audio and is just a workhorse program for all our your visual applications and needs.

Pros

We made the switch to ProPresenter to have more options in our creativity, livestreaming, and general overall graphic and visual content. The options it presents the user with are limitless and great for expanding your creativity many different ways.

Cons

It would be good if there were more 'on the fly" controls to instantly duplicate slides and do more things with special characters/text.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

We wanted to upgrade and expand our capability for our visual presentations both in house and in our live streaming to Facebook Live. We also wanted a better program to work with Switcher for our livestream.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

We looked at the previously reviews for the product and also had other churches who highly recommended it to us over all the other available products on the market. We also chose it due to it noted reliability and multiple options for that type of software.
Patrick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ProPresenter is the most versatile presentation software on the market

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

I cannot recommend ProPresenter enough to anybody who needs to present content. Over my years of working with the software, any bugs I've encountered have been patched out in future updates so I have no hesitation to recommend everyone use ProPresenter.

Pros

I have yet to throw a task at ProPresenter that it couldn't handle. From its ease of use when editing slides, to the ability to work seamlessly with any number of video outputs, ProPresenter is simply the best presentation software you can find. I especially appreciate the "arrangments" feature which greatly increases productivity.

Cons

My only real complaint about ProPresenter is the fact they removed support for social media integrations. In the previous version, you could include realtime images and text from Twitter and Facebook but they have since removed the feature.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Didn't have the functionality I was looking for.

Switched From

Microsoft PowerPoint
Travis Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THE BEST Presentation Software on the market!!

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

Currently we use Pro Presenter as a House of Worship solution, and as a traveling presentation software; it flawlessly integrates with our mac mini and and 5 monitor system. The thing i love most about ProPresenter is that it is simple enough for a kid to use, and at the same time has complex feature for Pro users to indulge in like; iPad controls, Hi Definition video and audio options, social media integration and up-gradable external modules.

Pros

The ease of use. ProPresenter generally just works. It is so hassle free and is so simple that i was able to teach it to seniors and children! When i allow end users to run our system i feel confident that they will be able to create, and run a flawless presentation!

Cons

The only small gripe i have is that ProPresenter Pro License doesn't come with alot of free or embeded stock videos or images. The base price point is fair, i just wish there were more stock photos, video and sounds for the Pro license.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout, EasyWorship and Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

There were a lot of reasons that i recommended against our organization purchasing EasyWorship. The biggest reason i did not have our organization purchase EasyWorship is because its workflow is counteractive and not fluid; for example i remember trying to utilize my iTunes library and getting frustrated with how difficult it was to integrate. In comparison Pro-Presenter has a simple iTunes integration protocol and allows for users to run entire playlist from the main window!

Switched From

EasyWorship

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

We chose ProPresenter because it is simple to use, has Hi quality, Rarely has issues (i can trust that it will run and not fail during a services or meetings), If it does have small issues the customer service team is extremely helpful and detailed oriented.
Sean L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Robust Presentation Software that You'll Want

Reviewed on 2019/10/12

I and our team use ProPresenter for multiple services throughout the week as well as special events. My experience has been that ProPresenter is an exceptional and versatile software for handling any presentation needs. I use ProPresenter on a regular basis and have consistently had great experiences using it and being pleased with its capabilities.

Pros

ProPresenter is a robust and multi-function capable presentation software that has tons of great features that can make anyone's presentation a professional experience. From its ability to handle picture, video, and even web-based material putting together a worship service, a corporate presentation, or a ceremony is easily handled with ProPresenter.

Cons

There is a learning curve on building folders and presentation files as well as importing/linking files that you will use. There are helpful support pages that can assist with the learning process. Additionally, you have to be aware that ProPresenter literally takes over your computer's video and audio when it is running so that other processes don't interrupt your presentation.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

The capabilities and features of ProPresenter made it the clear choice for our needs as a church. ProPresenter handles pretty much everything we need from our presentation software and is easier to use for building presentations that PowerPoint is.

Switched From

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

For its better features and compatibility with our existing computer and projection equipment.
Jeremy F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for Church environment, and easy to train new users on

Reviewed on 2019/09/16

As a church, we need to enable the congregation to follow along with the songs we sing and the sermon that is preached. This allows us to display what we need, in a way that is both engaging AND distraction-free. The software is basic enough that my new volunteers can jump right in, but with enough advanced features that I can do more complicated slides. It also has many more features that we can use as we grow and need them without switching platforms.

Pros

Most importantly: it is a stable product that outputs w/o any issue. Next is that it is easy to train new volunteers on the basic operations of the software. Both of these are important to us.

Cons

I haven't yet got the ability to sync files to work smoothly using Google Drive; if I can ever get it to the point where I can trust it, it will allow me to remotely (from home) create and edit files when I have a few minutes to spare.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

The feature list, support available, and ease of use.

Switched From

MediaShout

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

MUCH easier to use and MUCH more powerful. I ran MS for a few years but was able to self-teach myself this and continue to grow in my ability to implement.
Justin N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Present With Excellence

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

ProPresenter has helped 2 churches I've been a part of. In the first church, ProPresenter helped us expand our media capabilities so we no longer had to rely on CD decks or external video players. Everything was in one place and quickly accessible.

The other church upgraded to full HD-capable hardware, and ProPresenter allowed us to take full advantage of our setup.

Pros

ProPresenter gives the church just about everything it needs to put on an excellent presentation on Sunday mornings, with lyrics, slides, announcements, countdowns...anything you need for service is at your fingertips.

- First, this is a rare gem to have a one-time payment software. It's an investment, but you don't have to commit to monthly or yearly payments, which is very nice.
- Lyric slides are robust giving you all the options you need to manipulate font and images.
- For sermons, you can build really nice slides in propresenter, or bring in your powerpoint slides to use as well.
- We really enjoy the lyric import tool syncing with songselect. So any new song that comes in we don't have to type up. Just import it and set it up as you want it to look on the slides.
- There are numerous options to enhance your presentation experience such as Bibles you can load on there and plugging in your Twitter feed.
- Also, media is very easy to handle. Import images and videos and pull them up easily with their "bin" system.
- Last thing I want to hit on is the playlist system is very easy to use. Build your "Sunday morning playlist" by dragging and dropping in lyrics, slides, and other media.

Cons

The only con about ProPresenter is how daunting the software can be. You are provided with tutorial videos and documentation, but with all the customizability inside, it can be easy to get lost, so you really have to watch the videos several times and go along with the software to get a feel for where everything is.

The other con is only if it's on Windows machines, I've seen it crash or freeze more often on Windows than Macs.

Jason S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great production package

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Pros

If you have ever used powerpoint, you can use this software. It's as simple or as complex as you want it to be. Great for volunteers to walk in, and be able to simply hit a few buttons to follow along with scripts with minimal training
We use ProP for weekly services and use it for both worship songs, videos and sermon notes.
Great flexibility all around!

Cons

While MANY features are implemented quickly from the suggestion forums, some just never get a response or are "ignored"

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Our prior software was too complex to let our volunteers setup/work on. The ease of use for different song and presentation setup took our prep time from 5 hours + per week to 2-3 hours or less depending on complexity of the show

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

Support forums and responses were MUCH more active Licensing for the entire range of computers both MAC and PC in our environment was much easier and cheaper to setup
Leif O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Love what ProP can do

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

We are a church with multiple services in multiple locations. With the sync (ProCloud) option we are able to keep things up to date everywhere which is very beneficial.

Plus we do a God In The Movies series and being able to adjust clips on the fly from within the program is making life a lot easier.

Pros

The ability to use content between multiple locations and various sizes of screen is huge for us.
Very robust product that we probably only use about 1/10th of.
Stable build - with only rare crashes (maybe 2 in 4 years) it is one of the most stable presentation software products I've ever used with this range of abilities.

Cons

Lack of immediate phone support on Sundays - when things go sideways you are basically on your own other than email responses. Doesn't help much when we are dealing with immediate issues.
Can be overwhelming for new staff/volunteers to utilize because it is so robust.

Alternatives Considered

MediaShout, Faithlife Proclaim and EasyWorship

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Timely syncing challenges. Multiple screen size adaptability. Multi layer slide builds for higher quality presentations.

Switched From

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

In depth video training possibilities via YouTube. Cost. Long term familiarity across a range of churches and denominations. Customer service too :-)
Rick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't imagine NOT having ProPresenter

Reviewed on 2019/07/11

I had been working with Media Shout from it's beginning. Years ago, I gave ProPresenter a try and quickly made the transition to ProPresenter. At the time, there was more of a centralized, get everything you need in the same place, feel that met our needs. And being honest, using the software was not always easy. Early on, it was very clunky and awkward in certain areas and there were moments of great frustration (no different from other presentation software, though). However, the benefit always outweighed the challenges and with every update, it seemed to get closer to what we needed it to be. Now, I consider it a mainstay in our ministry and seriously can't think of working without it!

Pros

I truly like the completeness of the software and ease of use. Through the years, it has become a crucial part of my work in that it is very easy to create a "show" from my office and have it ready for the crew in the booth to use each week. I greatly appreciate the fact that I can easily equip volunteers to interact with ProPresenter at a very basic level to advanced levels in a short amount of time. I also appreciate the fact that it just works, all the time, I don't have to worry about it causing issues for our volunteers.

Cons

Actually, the things I like least about ProPresenter have been addressed over time via updates. Since the issues are no longer issues, there's no need to bring them up. Suffice it to say, ProPresenter has evolved into an extremely robust program that is very accessible to everyone from the beginner to the professional.

Jason H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PC vrs. Mac

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

Overall, the program works. However, as I have found with my volunteers, I cannot trust them to do much within the program beyond the basics. I think they are capable, but the interface is not intuitive enough to trust them with it on their own.

Pros

I like that it is relatively dependable. I like that most of my volunteers can just click the next slide to actually run the program. I also like that it talks to other programs well enough, though I don't like having to pay for extra features like midi integration etc. I believe we paid enough for the program up front.

Cons

I have used mac pretty much my whole life. There are things that I love about it, and things that I just live with, as is the case with any operating system. However, the general consensus in the millennial worship community is that mac is the end-all for churches. And rightly so. With programs like Logic, Mainstage, Garageband, Imovie, Final Cut, etc. all under the $500 price range, it is easy to see why churches will dish out the cash for a mac when they begin shopping for high-end tech rather than sticking with free programs that can't perform as well or as reliably. The problem with Pro Presenter is that it was clearly not designed for someone who spends most of their time in "Apple World." The question is not, does PP run flawlessly on a mac, but does it feel like it should run on a mac. My answer is no. PP just feels like a program that was designed by programers, which is strange when you consider that it's primary function is to help in the realm of aesthetics. The volunteer nerds that I have running the software each week, which, I believe should represent about 80% of your clientele, do not have the ability to be trained effectively in PP because they are not working in the program enough. I can confidently say that the majority of the people actually running your program are not paid to do so, and have had little to no involvement in the design of the presentations that they control. I will continue my thoughts in the next section as I am out of space.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft PowerPoint and WordPress

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

it is the industry standard
Brian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Happy Customer

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

Over all our experience has been good.
Support has been great.

Pros

Simple to use. Communication actions. I use MIDI to unmute my soundboard channels for video clips. I also use different stage displays for different sections of the worship service. Hope to trigger some lights in the near future.
Site licence option

Cons

It seems to have some bugs. When editing a playlist it always jumps to the bottom. Or converting to lower thirds with a graphic the software will crash. Occasionally Master control on the slave computer will freeze the primary. Ipad issues with seeing the preview.
Probably the biggest complaint from Pastors is they can't see the next slide on stage display when going from the end of one item to the next. Example the end of a song in stage display show next blank slide. They would like to see the next item coming.
Sync shows that it is syncing regardless of it it is connected to the network drive or now.
Sync seems to be a little buggy. We started to export only. Delete everything from the media bin and playlist and then import fresh on the other computers.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft PowerPoint

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Function. Seemed like more churches we talked to were using Propresenter. Found we could integrate with models such as master control, MIDI / Communication control . Direct import bibles, link Song Select, layers.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

Churches we talked to & most visiting groups we had were all using propresenter so we felt like that would be the industry standard. I feel it was a great switch. Also the site licence seemed like a affordable option.
Tim P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful resource for multimedia worship

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

We were able to expedite the service preparation process incredibly with the media integration available through ProPresenter.

Pros

I love the integration of various media types and source material platforms. The SongSelect integration is by far the most useful feature for a church that relies on SongSelect for lyrics etc. Also, the multi-user features coupled with cloud sync make team collaboration so much more efficient.

Cons

The biggest issue we had was with releases/support for PC lagging so far behind Mac. Not investing in Mac hardware puts the church at a disadvantage with this software. I don't expect that to change, and it may not need to for the company to be successful, but it makes you ask if it's really better to support PC use if the support is inferior. Additionally, having cloud sync as an 'extra' rather than built into the payment model seems a bit backwards - but for a software that is bought for a larger one-time fee rather than monthly/annual subscription, it makes sense as bandwidth is not free for anyone.

Alternatives Considered

OpenLP

Reasons for Choosing ProPresenter

Our previous software had a 'clunky' interface and simple repetitive tasks took to long to perform.

Reasons for Switching to ProPresenter

We had a volunteer with previous ProPresenter experience who vouched for its ease of use.
Samuel B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A solid platform for ten years

Reviewed on 2019/07/06

A great product that does what it does very well. Version six is feeling like it’s been out for a while though! Not that I’m hankering for any major revisions except to the handling of audio files.

Pros

ProPresenter a very robust product that is particularly suited to the church environment although I have used it for other types of events as well. It has maintained its focus on the most essential tasks for media presentation a provided a good balance between complexity/flexibility and ease of use - especially when many operators are volunteers using the product infrequently.

As an advanced user I like that I can integrate the software with other major components such as lighting and video systems in a way that actually enhances the simplicity of operation - and eliminating points of failure.

While there are a few things I would like to see added or improved I appreciate the fact that the interface remains very consistent - again making it simple and reliable.

The price is right. We have a site licence and even though we are not a massive church it has proven invaluable in any space where presentations are being made.

Cons

1. I would like to see support for third party video devices from more companies such as AJA.
2. Some of the slide building features are too basic. No gradients, no ability to lock the position of text boxes while still being able to edit them. Templates limited to formatting only one text box.
3. I find the separate audio window to be clunky. I would like to see control and playback view of audio files available without having to expand the audio window.
4. There is no good way to view slides formatted for large screens which have small text. We need a third option for display of slides - not just text or side layout.
5. Some of the modules such as SDI or alpha seem relatively expensive compared to the price of the software.
6. Would love to see some way to integrate control over other software such as iTunes or Spotify. Probably being able to trigger AppleScript cues.
7. Would like to see more information about cues added to slides rather than just a generic icons. Especially for MIDI cues or stage display layout choice.
8. Would like to be able to have a cue palette that is not tied to slides - customizable additions to the clear functions etc for external triggers especially.