58 reviews

Schoolbox

LMS, Community Portal & Engagement Platform for K-12 Schools

4,6 /5 (58 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
58 reviews
Victor D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Schoolbox helps make learning personal

Reviewed on 2019/10/27

Schoolbox as a Learning Management System has made and is making Continuous Reporting a reality. Being able to mark attendances directly out of Schoolbox, which integrates with our SIS, and being able to maintain Pastoral Records and communicate with parents from the LMS means that Schoolbox is being used by many teachers as a 'one stop shop'.

Pros

Schoolbox is designed from the ground up to be intuitive, allowing the novice or the seasoned digital pedagogy practitioner to jump in and building learning activities and courses. In particular, the Schoolbox team listens to its user base when planning its product development road map: this has led to a feature set that supports personalised learning, including rich assessment rubrics, student self-reflection and feedback, modified assessments, social learning, as well as a survey tool that supports Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Cons

The support for Learning Analytics and the analytics around teachers' use of the product is still fairly nascent. One has to instead look to third party tools to provide this capability.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks Victor for your review and for taking the time. We've had a ball working with you, your team and your school thus far!

We are very keen to continue evolving how Schoolbox reports on student learning, as well as integrations into external reporting systems.

We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Joanne R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Schoolbox has delivered what was promised. The product continues to improve. Support is excellent (both via phone and ticketing system), support staff knowledgeable.

Pros

Connects to our Student Information System, we have set up our dashboards so timetables show on student and teacher dashboards.
Easy to use, Schoolbox's training is always available, the forums are active. Schoolbox staff are active on the forums. Product enhancement, upgrades are drawn from user forum posts and requests. They listen to their customers.
One place for student learning, notices, news and staff/parent information.
Professional appearance.

Cons

My answer a few months ago would have been that users needed to check multiple locations for news, but now all news is shown on the dashboard.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Jo. Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! We really love all the support you and your team provide us. Thanks for hanging out with us in our online help centre and forums, and at our offline events. We're excited to be working with you into the future! Cheers.

Jason P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Schoolbox has worked with a range of other software providers to support integration. From a user perspective, we have used Schoolbox as the one stop location for access to all of the systems each user is approved for. Our users go well beyond employees and extend to students and their parents and the ability to make Schoolbox the central landing space with singe sign on for all of our platforms and the central communication space was a key reason we chose it.

Pros

Schoolbox at a basic level is easy to use. Teachers can set up courses and pages, collect assessment and mark quite easily. Parents and students also use the system as the central source of truth, whether that be housed in Schoolbox or a link to another package.

Cons

Often you don't know what you don't know but the support from schoolbox and the schoolbox network has assisted with this.

Debra W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great LMS for schools

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Schoolbox has very good customer service and allows both the delivery of content and collection and marking of work easy.

Pros

Drop box, onLine marking, links with TASS, analytics

Cons

Changes being made with no prior warning

Lori S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Pros

Schoolbox provides the College with an excellent on-line information portal for all members of our community including students, staff and parents.

Cons

Some of the features could be developed more.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Lori, thank you for taking the time to review us and provide your positive feedback.

We're honoured to have the opportunity to continue partnering and supporting your prestigious school. As you know well, we're very open to feedback and aim to respond to ideas to improve the core platform's features through future software updates. I am sure you already have, but you can always influence our roadmap by making your thoughts and ideas for improvements public, via our community forums in our Help Center.

Once again, we really appreciate you being an active member of our growing community. Don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Andrew N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A game changing tool

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Schoolbox has enabled our College to shift significantly towards a more student-centred approach to learning. We have implemented continuous reporting in our Senior School and engaged parents across all year levels by integrating our systems using Schoolbox and providing an engaging parent portal.

Pros

The system integration with 3rd party platforms, continuous reporting opportunities and ease of content creation.

Cons

We are looking forward to additional functionality that will provide enhanced learning analytics capability.

Victor D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best LMS + Portal + Intranet solution

Reviewed on 2014/11/13

Schoolbox is the best-of-breed on premise Learning Management System Loyola College has come across. Over a three year period the College trialed and implemented two other leading systems, both good in their own right, but their critical impediment to success was slow teacher uptake of the technology.

Then, last year after extensive research we invited three other LMS vendors, Schoolbox being one of them, to demonstrate their products to us. Our review panel voted overwhelmingly in favour for Schoolbox, which presented firstly as a user friendly, platform agnostic, intuitive and modern interface, and secondly it was a system that could integrate natively with our Student Information System (SIS).

After spending one semester trialing Schoolbox, our user acceptance testing survey data convincingly shows that this is indeed the Learning Management System that staff, students and parents will want to use and which will help to drive our students' learning outcomes upward.

Schoolbox's on premise, externally accessible solution guarantees data privacy while insulating teachers and students from the Internet bandwidth bottlenecks that can be associated with Cloud-based data download/upload events.

The Schoolbox interface is instantly familiar to a digital native, accessible from any browser and any device, and its native integration with the College's SIS means teachers can communicate with parents and mark assessments without even having to leave the LMS.

Schoolbox pretty much ticks all the boxes for Loyola College.

Response from Alaress

Thanks so much for the great review and testimonial Victor

Kevin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

Pros

Ease of use and configuration.
User customisable skin.

Cons

Unable to completely synchronize user data with our SMS but I am told it is coming in Q2 2020

Anita M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Whole-School Learning and Engagement Platform

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

I was the project lead required to recommend either a new virtual learning platform, or extensive upgrade costs to the previous product. After contacting and visiting numerous schools in Queensland, I was convinced of the value Schoolbox offered. Almost two years later, teachers and students are embracing Schoolbox and looking forward to what lays ahead, particularly in whole-school communications.

Pros

There are three standout features of Schoolbox:
1. It is an all-in-one solution for teaching and learning, staff intranet and school communications
2. It is an Australian product, built by Australian educators for the Australian school market
3. The Schoolbox community is highly skilled and generous with their knowledge

Cons

Queensland curriculum compliancy remains an issue

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Anita. Thanks so much for your review!

In regards to meeting the QLD curriculum (QCAA) requirements, student rubric result pages in Schoolbox can be printed to PDF for submission.

The QCAA requirements require a teacher to select 3 students, one from the top, bottom, and middle of the class for verification.

Here's the details of what's required:
https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/prep_electronic_submissions_advice.pdf

Here's the checklist of what's required:
https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/snr_qa_verification_submission_checklist.pdf

To meet this requirement, we recommend schools collate the information into a single folder doing the following steps:

1. Print to PDF the 3 students' rubric results pages (this will include the task details, grade, rubric and and feedback)
2. Download the students' submissions.

Put together in a folio for submission using QCAA's proposed folder structure.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Paul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox LMS

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

This company actively cultivates a very personalised relationship with the company which has enabled them to continually evolve as the needs of their customers grow and change. This high level of responsiveness continually makes a good platform better.

Pros

The platform brings together many systems that we previously maintained separately. For example, calendar, news, communication, teaching resources, gradebook, assessment calendar and collaborative tools are now in one place. This has significantly streamlined workflow for everyone but is also a lot more intuitive and has allowed us to create stronger systems. For example, online submission of due work means that all work can be submitted electronically on the one day, is automatically checked for plagiarism, feedback can be delivered and fed back immediately and marks entered automatically into the gradebook. There is also much greater oversight on an individuals total workload and the ability to more effectively manage this. The platform has significantly changed some core workplace systems and in some cases has positively impacted on the culture of "how things are done". It's a "one stop shop" for school communication, collaboration, grading, resources, assessment and feedback.

Cons

There are still some areas of the gradebook which we would like tweaked for the platform to work ideally for us. In an LMS with such a wide scope, there will always be some features which are not 100% tailored to an individual school's needs. Over a 6 year relationship, we have found the company to be wonderfully responsive and adaptive to the needs of the users and are confident that this area will soon be addressed by the software engineers.

Ian H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox: A modern solution to managing complexity in schools

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Success in the introduction of an LMS is dependent upon the quality of the product and the quality of leadership and implementation. The product has to be good but I suggest you prioritise leadership and implementation. You will have a better experience and outcome with a good product and excellent implementation than you will with an excellent product (however that might be judged) and poor implementation. I think Schoolbox is a very good product and we are doing our best to achieve an excellent implementation - it is not a small undertaking.

Pros

The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. We have only just started out with Schoolbox but already I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent opportunities to learn from company representatives and from the experience of colleagues in other schools. The software itself has enormous functionality, spanning a wide range of school operations. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to mange complexity in schools.

Cons

The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder. That concept and process lacks a bit of 'stickability' for busy teachers so it is important to support teachers through training. Once teachers have a grasp of this aspect of Schoolbox, there is no stopping them.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Ian. Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time.

It's always a challenge to bring new processes to a team and to ingrain new concepts into a school. As per your suggestion, the course is eventually grasped and that learning can be retained and shared across the team and to new teammates.

We're always keen to here feedback in order to evolve Schoolbox and feedback such as this helps us gain insight into problem areas that we can address.

Thanks again!

John T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Schoolbox Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/25

Schoolbox is now a critical platform solution for our business and educational needs. Without it we would not be able to operate efficiently. This has been a system that has grown and developed in its sophistication with us and our journey into the digital learning space.

Pros

Our Schoolbox instance is fast, reliable and readily available. Our School has been able to embed Schoolbox as our Learning Management System, Community Portal, Continuous feedback and is now our main communication platform.

The support of the software (both technical and professional learning) is timely with high resolution success. The team is knowledgeable, friendly and responsive.

Cons

We have had extensive requests by our school community to allow for printable reporting functions - specially in the Grades and Feedback modules.

Feature requests on the core components can be time consuming as the process involves a voting system by other Schoolbox customers for buy in. Being a long term customer and user of the system we find ourselves more advanced than other School's who may not be ready for other feature request changes.

Response from Schoolbox

Cheers John for your helpful feedback & review. We're always listening to our schools and their requirements in reporting on student learning. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne).

We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Thanks for taking the time to review us John!

Benjamin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Forward thinking

Reviewed on 2019/10/23

As mentioned above, the customer support is excellent. A registered user can call the support team and be onto a human working on a solution with almost no waiting on hold. The owners and management are approachable and willing to discuss changes even if their original opinions differ with the customers. They have built solid partnerships with other service providers and are always looking for additional partners.

Pros

- customer service is excellent. They are always able or willing to work to resolve an issue
- their road map is inspiring and focuses on the educational benefit of using an LMS
- willing to customise the base product for a fee
- not afraid to share data location in the schema

Cons

- supporting custom work. After paying for custom work to the base product, any future releases on the base product may impact the custom work. This incurs an additional cost on the customer to adjust the custom work to meet the changes. Please note Schoolbox is very clear about this before agreeing to any custom work.

Response from Schoolbox

Hey Benjamin. Thanks so much for your awesome review and for taking the time to complete it and provide this helpful feedback. As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We are grateful that schools like Meriden are partnering with us to build custom features that enhance your unique requirements, while inspiring improvements to the product's core feature set, for all schools to benefit from, as we journey down our feature roadmap. Thanks again for supporting us. We're looking forward to continuing working together. Cheers.

Gaynor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox Review

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Schoolbox support is outstanding, and the team are always open to suggestions, improvements and the needs of clients.

Pros

Schoolbox is a comprehensive system that allows us to interact with all members of the College community, in all aspects of College life. Curriculum and co-curricular information is easily shared with Students and Parents, as well as having the added benefit of providing ongoing assessment feedback and results.

Cons

Understandably, Schoolbox has been designed to cover the broadest spectrum of needs for its users. This has meant that have been aspects that have not been suited to the needs of our College. So the aspect we have liked the least, is in having to find workarounds for some aspects.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Gaynor. Thanks very much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to review us and provide us feedback.

As you point out, it's a challenge to accommodate all the unique scenarios and ways in which schools operate. Schoolbox's comprehensive platform means schools can get quite detailed solutions to their problemsit's a matter of understanding the requirement and then customising the platform to suit the school.

As always, our team are here to help, so always feel free to reach out to us for assistance.

Thanks for your support.

Mary-lou O.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We've been a client now for 8 years & Schoolbox was the game changer for us.

Reviewed on 2018/05/03

Pros

We've now had a long working relationship with Schoolbox & we love its flexibility & the teams responsiveness. At the 5 Yr mark we had 100% take up by staff, so it's now just very much part of our culture & is a basic expectation of all teaching staff.

Cons

The only pain point is our specific customisations that often break with updates, so avoid customisation when you can.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks Mary-Lou for taking the time to provide such a great review. We really appreciate the feedback. It's been such fun working with you and your team over the years.

As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We do appreciate schools like MGG partnering with us to support custom features that enhance your unique workflows, and that inspire our product's evolution. Thanks again for all your support. We're looking forward to continuing working with you and your team. Cheers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Always evolving and well supported. Overall this product functions well.

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Pros

Notifications, News, SSO.
Communication has improved.
Provides us with a central place to launch off to other packages.

Cons

Security / Permission settings, Grade groups.
In general this product has more hits than misses.
Worth looking at.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks for your review. We'll certainly take on board your feedback and continue to evolve how we work.

We certainly take security very seriouslyit's the utmost importance to uswhere we believe security is a culture, not a test. Our code review process & architecture is designed around a Security First model & we welcome Security Audits, we regularly participate in customer Security Audits, & encourage customer feedback. Also see our article on Privacy Legislation: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/news/225.

We also have a few requests to allow better control over grade groups, such as for different campuses, and we'll continue to review this area of Schoolbox. Thanks.

Pathum T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent support

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

Pros

Easy to use and excellent customer support

Cons

I find that the reporting or exporting from schoolbox is lacking.

Robq B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

feedback

Reviewed on 2019/11/14

Pros

different learning tools available to cater for different teaching styles and student needs

Cons

Unable to import results from an excel spreadsheet
Need to be able to produce a report for parents

Kylie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

New to Schoolbox

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

Our teachers are extremely happy with the interface for marking the roll and accessing student contact details. We still have many parts of Schoolbox to explore and implement.

Pros

The user interface especially when utilising our database.

Cons

The lack of support when our plan changed and we didn't receive training for the new verision. Also the issues with email and HTML code to access specific areas of our database.

Kate M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox has transformed learning, teaching and communication at our school.

Reviewed on 2019/11/11

We are merging dozens of online systems and several communication channels into one place. We are minimising numerous risks (for example, loss of intellectual property and loss of class time) by using Schoolbox.

My College has nothing but praise for Schoolbox! Now we have it, we cannot imagine life without it.

Pros

There are so many things to love!

Schoolbox has positively changed our entire culture of our College. Our communication has been dramatically streamlined. The thousands of parents in our community receive their messages from one point and are happier than they were when we used a SharePoint instance.

The ability to bring all of the online systems that we use to one place (our Schoolbox instance) is saving us time. Schoolbox allows us to create templates of our pages, and so our community know where on the page the information they are looking for is no matter what page they are viewing. These two factors alone have saved us thousands of hours in our classrooms.

Our staff love the fact that the courses are saved and reused from year to year. They love the drag and drop nature of content creation and the fact that the existing work can be dragged into Schoolbox. It means that they do not have to start everything from scratch. They can still use the content that was existing before we went into Schoolbox. Of course, they are also using the new implementation as a way to audit the existing content and refresh it as they need to.

The ability to offer secure group spaces to our extra-curricular groups such as student clubs and parent groups is a feature we have never been able to provide before.

Finally, I have to offer praise to the Schoolbox Support Staff who work hard to support us in making our Schoolbox instance very successful in our College.

Cons

The administration area can take a little while to learn. It is a very complex area. However, only superusers use this space, so most users never have to deal with it. There is a lot of support available to assist superusers. Schoolbox Support staff and the Professional Services Team are only a phone call away if I ever need help.

Julie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Implementing and Using Schoolbox

Reviewed on 2019/11/20

Schoolbox has been an excellent LMS for what we were looking for. We wanted a product that provided virtual learning spaces and it does this well.

Pros

Schoolbox is easy to use for staff, to set up their pages, and for students to use. It is facilitating a shift in practice, initially for assessment, and now we are focusing on how it can enhance learning. Parents regularly access student assessment information via an App.
The company provide good service technically, and are open to listening to teachers and schools as to what they want to improve the product. In the few years we have been using it, many initiatives have been added in response to school and teacher feedback. They also run an annual Meetup conference for users which is very useful as well.
The company supported the school through the implementation process and their ongoing product support is very good.

Cons

We find the Markbook facility useable but inflexible. We can't set up subfolders which is how we have previously worked with another Markbook. This is the feature staff find most frustrating.
Technically, it has taken some time to smooth out the link between our SIS (PCSchool) and Schoolbox. Getting the two software systems to talk to each other has been a technical challenge. It is now working relatively well, but we do not have a live connection which would be possible if we used Synergetic. The fact that we have to do manual updates is time-consuming and a bit frustrating for the ICT team. Note though that the issue is more with our SIS than a fault of Schoolbox.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks for your feedback Julie. We're always looking to improve our SIS connectors and are working on new tech that is being slowly rolled out to existing connectors to make them cloud ready and cover more data points. We also appreciate that your school was first to partner with us on the PCSchool integration. New SIS integrations are challenging given the work involved from all three parties, but we feel it's worth the effort for long term automation.

Regarding your Markbook frustrations, each class has a Markbook, however there is no way to group these in folders. However, we now have a Course Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2427) which groups classes by Course in a single view. We also recently added the much requested Rubric Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2476/textBox#component107129). Check out these great features, hopefully they can assist you and your staff achieve your goals.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Alison S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox - connecting my learners and challenging my pedagogy

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Schoolbox is a great company to deal with. They are responsive and timely in attending to issues, and I really appreciate their focus on improving their product. They actively listen to their customers and the forums on the Help site provide a wonderful avenue for users to find support, to generate ideas, and to feel that their voice is being heard by the company.

Pros

I really appreciate the philosophy behind the software. Schoolbox as a company is working hard to provide schools with sound pedagogical practices, not just gimmicks. As a teacher, I particularly appreciate the ability to track student learning and keep records of that learning through the Course Outline. I love the surveys and polls components for feedback on the learning process, both for students and for my own reflective practice. As an administrator of the platform, I particularly value the connectedness that can be built for the school community through targeted and individualised notifications and groups. All stakeholders, whether they be staff, students or parents, are getting a bespoke experience with information that is relevant to them.

Cons

There are a couple of integrations that probably don't work as well for us yet. The similarity check isn't comparable to another product we currently use; this presents some difficulties in getting staff to move to Schoolbox, but other features counteract this.

Deborah H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Schoolbox delivers for student centered learning!

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

Pros

We are finding that Schoolbox is helping our client schools improve consistency and quality in curriculum delivery, assessment and feedback to both students and their parents. It is also providing a community portal that only only delivers news and events, but keeps parents in touch with their child's learning, due dates, results and co curricular schedules....all in one place. The interface can be customised to suit the branding of the individual school, which is a bonus!

Cons

Some of the information and data system integrations and set up processes were a bit tricky initially, but they provided plenty of support.

Chris H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning Management for K-12 Schools

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Overall, Schoolbox is a fantastic platform that has an active development team that works to improve the software and respond to the needs of schools.

Pros

The software has the right balance of flexibility and constraint so that teachers can efficiently engage with students by creating and disseminating content.

Cons

A trade-off for more flexibility is greater complexity and need for training staff. Flexibility also means that there are sometimes several ways to implement a feature, which can be confusing for some staff.

Response from Schoolbox

Hey Chris! Thanks so much for the great review and feedback :D

It's always a challenge to deliver tools that cater for a wide range of schoolsall which are complex institutions requiring comprehensive solutions for easing painpoints and cater to many workflows; hence, why training on how to use the Schoolbox platform is proving to engage/empower users/schools to get the most value from your school's investment.

We are always keen to improve on Schoolbox's features and its ease of use and we're grateful to have so many helpful schools who give us feedback and assist with Schoolobx's product development.

Thanks again Chris.

Jim C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

School box use as a teacher

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Great and easy platform to use and operate

Pros

Easy to use with my classes, especially the collaboration tools available

Cons

Not being able to easily copy componments between class pages

Response from Schoolbox

Hey there Jim. Thanks very much for the great review and thanks for taking the time.

Copying content can lead to quite a few headaches. On one hand you make it easy for users to replicate existing content. On the other hand you open up the ability to allow a huge amount of duplicate content that is unmaintainable. You'd face the common problem where you have 10 copies of something without knowing which copy is the most up to date/current/accurate etc., causing a nightmare of a situation that will decrease search effectiveness, reduce content value, and make management harder.

We recently improved the templates to allow greater content options/control inbuilt inside them. Templates will help solve 90% of cases. Hopefully we can deliver more improvements to templates in future.

You can also use the 'alternate source linking' ability where you have one master version and reference that master version many times, which when updated, will update all linked references.

Cheers. :)